DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Frus et al (US Patent No. 5561350).
Regarding claim 1, Frus discloses an electronic circuit breaker (i.e., such as electronic circuit breaker of FIG. 1; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+), comprising: an input (i.e., such as input terminal at element 32; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+); an output (i.e., such as output terminal at element 21; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+); a current path (i.e., such as current path feed line of switch 32; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) for a load current (i.e., such as load current supplied by source 17 to feed load 21; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) connecting the input (i.e., such as input terminal at element 32; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) to the output (i.e., such as output terminal at element 21; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+); a switch (i.e., such as switch 15; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) having a closed state (i.e., such as closed state ON; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) and an open state (i.e., such as open state OFF; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) arranged in the current path (i.e., such as current path feed line of switch 32; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+), wherein in the open state (i.e., such as open state OFF; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) the current path (i.e., such as current path feed line of switch 32; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) is open and blocks (i.e., such as blocks/switch 15-OFF as no current provided to the load 21; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) the load current (i.e., such as load current supplied by source 17 to feed load 21; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+), and wherein in the closed state (i.e., such as closed state ON; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) the current path (i.e., such as current path feed line of switch 32; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) is closed and allows (i.e., such as allows/switch 15-ON as current provided to the load 21; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) the load current (i.e., such as load current supplied by source 17 to feed load 21; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) to flow; a control unit (i.e., such as control unit 13; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) configured (i.e., such as block 13 is configured to ON/OFF block 15 via block 25; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) to switch the switch (i.e., such as switch 15; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) between the open state (i.e., such as open state OFF; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) and the closed state (i.e., such as closed state ON; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+); and an energy storage device (i.e., such as energy storage device 19; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) electrically connected (i.e., such as block 19 is electrically connected to the feed line between block 11 and block 15; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) to the current path (i.e., such as current path feed line of switch 32; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+), wherein the control unit (i.e., such as control unit 13; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) is configured to receive a charge signal (i.e., such as charge signal as an output line status from block 19 to be an input line to block 23 in block 13; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+), wherein the charge signal (i.e., such as charge signal as an output line status from block 19 to be an input line to block 23 in block 13; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) correlates with a change (i.e., such as change in charging/discharging status of block 19; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) in a charge (i.e., such as charging block 19; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) of the energy storage device (i.e., such as energy storage device 19; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+), wherein the control unit (i.e., such as control unit 13; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) measures (i.e., such as block 13 measures charge/discharge time via block 23 and block 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) a discharge time (i.e., such as discharge time to be measured via timer block 30 and energy sensor block 23; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) during which the energy storage device (i.e., such as energy storage device 19; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) is continuously discharged (i.e., such as continuously discharged via signal DISABLE resulted from block 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) based on the charge signal (i.e., such as charge signal as an output line status from block 19 to be an input line to block 23 in block 13; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) while the switch (i.e., such as switch 15; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) is in the closed state (i.e., such as closed state ON; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+), and wherein the control unit (i.e., such as control unit 13; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) switches (i.e., such as block 13 is configured to ON/OFF block 15 via block 25; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) the switch (i.e., such as switch 15; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) to the open state (i.e., such as open state OFF; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) when a limit value (i.e., such as limit value determined by block timer 30 and energy sensor 23; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) for the discharge time (i.e., such as discharge time to be measured via timer block 30 and energy sensor block 23; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) is exceeded (i.e., such as exceeded; for instance, an optional spark burst circuit 31 is added which alters the spark rate set by timer 30, as will be discussed in reference to FIG. 7. When the ignition (starting) sequence begins, the spark burst circuit 31 switches the timer 30 to a high pulse rate condition. After sufficient time has elapsed for a normal ignition to have occurred, the spark burst circuit switches the timer back to a lower (maintenance) rate, which can be operated continuously for safety, but without prematurely wearing out the ignitor plug. The lower spark rate may also allow the exciter components to be smaller, since they would not have as high a thermal stress as would exist with continuous high-rate sparking. More generally, the spark burst circuit 31 generates a repetition of sparks for a predetermined time period where the repetition is at an average rate greater than the average rate of repetition which continues after ignition occurs; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+), thereby preventing formation (i.e., such as preventing formation; for instance, when the inductor 27 saturates, its effective impedance is reduced, thereby providing a high pulse current at the gap which reliably ignites the mixture. Moreover, the initially high inductance provides a highly desirable extended lag between voltage and high current at the gap of the plug 21. Although a complete understanding of the spark phenomenon at the gap of the plug 21 is not appreciated in the art, applicant hypothesizes that the lag produces several desirable effects. Specifically, the ionization phase is completed before a current surge occurs; thus, the arc is formed in the plasma above the semiconductor material, and less heat is lost by surface conduction to the plug and semiconductor. Also, the less sudden application of power may result in less acoustic (shock), optical and electromagnetic radiation losses, and consequently more conversion to useful heat. Additionally, since the electronic components have had adequate turn-on time, their losses are minimized and the high current that follows will deliver a larger percentage of the total energy to the spark. Because the plasma is more completely formed, the arc resistance is low (as is the arc voltage); this results in a lower peak power and the savings is translated into a longer duration. By more evenly distributing the discharge current over time, applicant believes a superior spark is obtained in that it more reliably ignites fuel over a wide range of ambient conditions. In a unipolar ignition, according to the invention, the inductor 27 cooperates with a unidirectional device such as a freewheeling diode 29 in FIG. 1 to maintain a spark after the energy storage device 19 has been fully discharged. Energy stored in the inductor 27 during the discharge of the storage device 19 is released through the unidirectional diode 29 upon completion of the discharge by the storage device; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) of an arc (i.e., such as arc; for instance, when the inductor 27 saturates, its effective impedance is reduced, thereby providing a high pulse current at the gap which reliably ignites the mixture. Moreover, the initially high inductance provides a highly desirable extended lag between voltage and high current at the gap of the plug 21. Although a complete understanding of the spark phenomenon at the gap of the plug 21 is not appreciated in the art, applicant hypothesizes that the lag produces several desirable effects. Specifically, the ionization phase is completed before a current surge occurs; thus, the arc is formed in the plasma above the semiconductor material, and less heat is lost by surface conduction to the plug and semiconductor. Also, the less sudden application of power may result in less acoustic (shock), optical and electromagnetic radiation losses, and consequently more conversion to useful heat. Additionally, since the electronic components have had adequate turn-on time, their losses are minimized and the high current that follows will deliver a larger percentage of the total energy to the spark. Because the plasma is more completely formed, the arc resistance is low (as is the arc voltage); this results in a lower peak power and the savings is translated into a longer duration. By more evenly distributing the discharge current over time, applicant believes a superior spark is obtained in that it more reliably ignites fuel over a wide range of ambient conditions. In a unipolar ignition, according to the invention, the inductor 27 cooperates with a unidirectional device such as a freewheeling diode 29 in FIG. 1 to maintain a spark after the energy storage device 19 has been fully discharged. Energy stored in the inductor 27 during the discharge of the storage device 19 is released through the unidirectional diode 29 upon completion of the discharge by the storage device; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) in a circuit (i.e., such as circuit 31; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) when the electronic circuit breaker (i.e., such as electronic circuit breaker of FIG. 1; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) is arranged (i.e., such as arranged as depicted in the dashed line between block 31 and power line node 20/11; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) in the circuit (i.e., such as circuit 31; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) for passing the load current (i.e., such as load current supplied by source 17 to feed load 21; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) through the current path (i.e., such as current path feed line of switch 32; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+).
Regarding claim 2, Frus discloses the electronic circuit breaker (i.e., such as electronic circuit breaker of FIG. 1; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+); wherein the control unit (i.e., such as control unit 13; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) continuously monitors (i.e., such as continuously monitors; for instance, referring now to the logic circuit 13, when the energy storage device 19 has been charged with a predetermined amount of energy from the DC-to-DC converter 11, the energy sensor 23 responds by activating the trigger circuit 25 which turns on the solid state switch 15 and allows the energy in the storage device to be transferred to an output circuit which includes the commercially available semiconductor ignitor plug 21. The output circuit also includes a saturable inductor 27 and a freewheeling diode 29. The saturable inductor 27 introduces a phase lag between voltage and current such that the voltage first appears at the spark gap of the plug 21 in order to form a plasma before a current surge occurs. The freewheeling diode 29 prevents oscillation, resulting in a unipolar discharge current. The energy sensor 23 also starts a timer 30 which disables the DC-to-DC converter 11 so that the system does not attempt to simultaneously discharge and charge the storage device, and which holds it disabled to provide a delay before the next spark; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) the charge signal (i.e., such as charge signal as an output line status from block 19 to be an input line to block 23 in block 13; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) and determines (i.e., such as determines; for instance, referring now to the logic circuit 13, when the energy storage device 19 has been charged with a predetermined amount of energy from the DC-to-DC converter 11, the energy sensor 23 responds by activating the trigger circuit 25 which turns on the solid state switch 15 and allows the energy in the storage device to be transferred to an output circuit which includes the commercially available semiconductor ignitor plug 21. The output circuit also includes a saturable inductor 27 and a freewheeling diode 29. The saturable inductor 27 introduces a phase lag between voltage and current such that the voltage first appears at the spark gap of the plug 21 in order to form a plasma before a current surge occurs. The freewheeling diode 29 prevents oscillation, resulting in a unipolar discharge current. The energy sensor 23 also starts a timer 30 which disables the DC-to-DC converter 11 so that the system does not attempt to simultaneously discharge and charge the storage device, and which holds it disabled to provide a delay before the next spark; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) the discharge time (i.e., such as discharge time to be measured via timer block 30 and energy sensor block 23; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) in case of a discharge (i.e., such as discharge; for instance, the inductor 27 cooperates with a unidirectional device such as a freewheeling diode 29 in FIG. 1 to maintain a spark after the energy storage device 19 has been fully discharged. Energy stored in the inductor 27 during the discharge of the storage device 19 is released through the unidirectional diode 29 upon completion of the discharge by the storage device; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) of the energy storage device (i.e., such as energy storage device 19; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+).
Regarding claim 3, Frus discloses the electronic circuit breaker (i.e., such as electronic circuit breaker of FIG. 1; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+); wherein the load current (i.e., such as load current supplied by source 17 to feed load 21; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) is a direct current (i.e., such as direct current provided by DC voltage source 17; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+).
Regarding claim 4, Frus discloses the electronic circuit breaker (i.e., such as electronic circuit breaker of FIG. 1; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+); wherein the formation (i.e., such as preventing formation of arc; for instance, when the inductor 27 saturates, its effective impedance is reduced, thereby providing a high pulse current at the gap which reliably ignites the mixture. Moreover, the initially high inductance provides a highly desirable extended lag between voltage and high current at the gap of the plug 21. Although a complete understanding of the spark phenomenon at the gap of the plug 21 is not appreciated in the art, applicant hypothesizes that the lag produces several desirable effects. Specifically, the ionization phase is completed before a current surge occurs; thus, the arc is formed in the plasma above the semiconductor material, and less heat is lost by surface conduction to the plug and semiconductor. Also, the less sudden application of power may result in less acoustic (shock), optical and electromagnetic radiation losses, and consequently more conversion to useful heat. Additionally, since the electronic components have had adequate turn-on time, their losses are minimized and the high current that follows will deliver a larger percentage of the total energy to the spark. Because the plasma is more completely formed, the arc resistance is low (as is the arc voltage); this results in a lower peak power and the savings is translated into a longer duration. By more evenly distributing the discharge current over time, applicant believes a superior spark is obtained in that it more reliably ignites fuel over a wide range of ambient conditions. In a unipolar ignition, according to the invention, the inductor 27 cooperates with a unidirectional device such as a freewheeling diode 29 in FIG. 1 to maintain a spark after the energy storage device 19 has been fully discharged. Energy stored in the inductor 27 during the discharge of the storage device 19 is released through the unidirectional diode 29 upon completion of the discharge by the storage device; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) of the arc (i.e., such as arc; for instance, when the inductor 27 saturates, its effective impedance is reduced, thereby providing a high pulse current at the gap which reliably ignites the mixture. Moreover, the initially high inductance provides a highly desirable extended lag between voltage and high current at the gap of the plug 21. Although a complete understanding of the spark phenomenon at the gap of the plug 21 is not appreciated in the art, applicant hypothesizes that the lag produces several desirable effects. Specifically, the ionization phase is completed before a current surge occurs; thus, the arc is formed in the plasma above the semiconductor material, and less heat is lost by surface conduction to the plug and semiconductor. Also, the less sudden application of power may result in less acoustic (shock), optical and electromagnetic radiation losses, and consequently more conversion to useful heat. Additionally, since the electronic components have had adequate turn-on time, their losses are minimized and the high current that follows will deliver a larger percentage of the total energy to the spark. Because the plasma is more completely formed, the arc resistance is low (as is the arc voltage); this results in a lower peak power and the savings is translated into a longer duration. By more evenly distributing the discharge current over time, applicant believes a superior spark is obtained in that it more reliably ignites fuel over a wide range of ambient conditions. In a unipolar ignition, according to the invention, the inductor 27 cooperates with a unidirectional device such as a freewheeling diode 29 in FIG. 1 to maintain a spark after the energy storage device 19 has been fully discharged. Energy stored in the inductor 27 during the discharge of the storage device 19 is released through the unidirectional diode 29 upon completion of the discharge by the storage device; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) is prevented by discharging (i.e., such as discharging; for instance, the inductor 27 cooperates with a unidirectional device such as a freewheeling diode 29 in FIG. 1 to maintain a spark after the energy storage device 19 has been fully discharged. Energy stored in the inductor 27 during the discharge of the storage device 19 is released through the unidirectional diode 29 upon completion of the discharge by the storage device; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) the energy storage device (i.e., such as energy storage device 19; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+).
Regarding claim 5, Frus discloses the electronic circuit breaker (i.e., such as electronic circuit breaker of FIG. 1; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+); wherein the limit value (i.e., such as limit value determined by block timer 30 and energy sensor 23; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) for the discharge time (i.e., such as discharge time to be measured via timer block 30 and energy sensor block 23; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) is selected in such a way (i.e., such a way; for instance, the inductor 27 includes a saturable core, thereby controlling the discharge current which both protects the solid state switch 15 and ensures a reliable ignition of fuel under all types of ambient conditions. Initially, the saturable inductor 27 acts like a high inductance, limiting di/dt for the first few microseconds after the solid-state switch 15 is closed. By limiting di/dt, the solid-state switch 15 is given time to turn on before full current is achieved. This ensures a rate of current rise (di/dt) that will not stress the solid-state switch 15 to an extent which shortens its rated life expectancy; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) that the switch (i.e., such as switch 15; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) is switched (i.e., such as block 13 switches switch 15 via block 25; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) to the open state (i.e., such as open state OFF; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) before the arc (i.e., such as arc; for instance, when the inductor 27 saturates, its effective impedance is reduced, thereby providing a high pulse current at the gap which reliably ignites the mixture. Moreover, the initially high inductance provides a highly desirable extended lag between voltage and high current at the gap of the plug 21. Although a complete understanding of the spark phenomenon at the gap of the plug 21 is not appreciated in the art, applicant hypothesizes that the lag produces several desirable effects. Specifically, the ionization phase is completed before a current surge occurs; thus, the arc is formed in the plasma above the semiconductor material, and less heat is lost by surface conduction to the plug and semiconductor. Also, the less sudden application of power may result in less acoustic (shock), optical and electromagnetic radiation losses, and consequently more conversion to useful heat. Additionally, since the electronic components have had adequate turn-on time, their losses are minimized and the high current that follows will deliver a larger percentage of the total energy to the spark. Because the plasma is more completely formed, the arc resistance is low (as is the arc voltage); this results in a lower peak power and the savings is translated into a longer duration. By more evenly distributing the discharge current over time, applicant believes a superior spark is obtained in that it more reliably ignites fuel over a wide range of ambient conditions. In a unipolar ignition, according to the invention, the inductor 27 cooperates with a unidirectional device such as a freewheeling diode 29 in FIG. 1 to maintain a spark after the energy storage device 19 has been fully discharged. Energy stored in the inductor 27 during the discharge of the storage device 19 is released through the unidirectional diode 29 upon completion of the discharge by the storage device; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) can form (i.e., such as preventing formation of arc; for instance, when the inductor 27 saturates, its effective impedance is reduced, thereby providing a high pulse current at the gap which reliably ignites the mixture. Moreover, the initially high inductance provides a highly desirable extended lag between voltage and high current at the gap of the plug 21. Although a complete understanding of the spark phenomenon at the gap of the plug 21 is not appreciated in the art, applicant hypothesizes that the lag produces several desirable effects. Specifically, the ionization phase is completed before a current surge occurs; thus, the arc is formed in the plasma above the semiconductor material, and less heat is lost by surface conduction to the plug and semiconductor. Also, the less sudden application of power may result in less acoustic (shock), optical and electromagnetic radiation losses, and consequently more conversion to useful heat. Additionally, since the electronic components have had adequate turn-on time, their losses are minimized and the high current that follows will deliver a larger percentage of the total energy to the spark. Because the plasma is more completely formed, the arc resistance is low (as is the arc voltage); this results in a lower peak power and the savings is translated into a longer duration. By more evenly distributing the discharge current over time, applicant believes a superior spark is obtained in that it more reliably ignites fuel over a wide range of ambient conditions. In a unipolar ignition, according to the invention, the inductor 27 cooperates with a unidirectional device such as a freewheeling diode 29 in FIG. 1 to maintain a spark after the energy storage device 19 has been fully discharged. Energy stored in the inductor 27 during the discharge of the storage device 19 is released through the unidirectional diode 29 upon completion of the discharge by the storage device; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+).
Regarding claim 6, Frus discloses the electronic circuit breaker (i.e., such as electronic circuit breaker of FIG. 1; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+); wherein the energy storage device (i.e., such as energy storage device 19; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) is a capacitor or a rechargeable battery (i.e., such as capacitor C5; see for example fig. 6, Col. 10 lines 25+).
Regarding claim 7, Frus discloses the electronic circuit breaker (i.e., such as electronic circuit breaker of FIG. 1; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+); further comprising a DC/DC converter (i.e., such as DC/DC converter 11; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) which is arranged (i.e., such as block 11 is arranged in the power feed line between block 20 and block 15; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) between the energy storage device (i.e., such as energy storage device 19; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) and the current path (i.e., such as current path feed line of switch 32; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+).
Regarding claim 14, Frus discloses the electronic circuit breaker (i.e., such as electronic circuit breaker of FIG. 1; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+); wherein the charge signal (i.e., such as charge signal as an output line status from block 19 to be an input line to block 23 in block 13; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) is a voltage (i.e., such as voltage with respect to the capacitor C5 in terms of voltage V = dv/dt; see for example fig. 6, Col. 10 lines 25+) of the energy storage device (i.e., such as energy storage device 19; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) or a discharge current (i.e., such as discharge current via block 29 with respect to the inductor 27 in terms of current I = di/dt; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+) of the energy storage device (i.e., such as energy storage device 19; see for example fig. 1, Col. 5 lines 46+).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-13 and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, Frus teaches the invention set forth above. However, Frus does not particularly teach further comprising an energy management unit which is arranged between the energy storage device and the current path, wherein the energy management unit allows the energy storage device to be discharged if a difference between an operating voltage of the energy storage device and a voltage at the input is greater than an upper difference threshold value.
Hence claim 8 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Claims 9-13 depend on objected claim 8, consequently claims 9-13 will also be deemed allowable.
Regarding claim 15, Frus teaches the invention set forth above. However, Frus does not particularly teach wherein the limit value for the discharge time is from 5 ms to 25 ms.
Hence claim 15 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Regarding claim 16, Frus teaches the invention set forth above. However, Frus does not particularly teach wherein the limit value for the discharge time is from 10 ms to 20 ms.
Hence claim 16 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 17, Frus et al (US Patent No. 5561350) substantially teaches the claim limitations as indicated in claim 1. However, Frus does not teach or suggest an electrical circuit, comprising: a voltage source; a load; and an electronic circuit breaker, comprising an input connected to the voltage source; an output connected to the load; a current path for a load current connecting the input to the output; a switch having a closed state and an open state arranged in the current path, wherein in the open state the current path is open and blocks the load current, and wherein in the closed state the current path is closed and allows the load current to flow; a control unit configured to switch the switch between the open state and the closed state; and an energy storage device electrically connected to the current path, wherein the control unit is configured to receive a charge signal, wherein the charge signal correlates with a change in a charge of the energy storage device, wherein the control unit measures a discharge time during which the energy storage device is continuously discharged based on the charge signal while the switch is in the closed state, and wherein the control unit switches the switch to the open state when a limit value for the discharge time is exceeded, thereby preventing formation of an arc in the electrical circuit.
Claims 18-19 are allowed, as they depend on allowed claim 17.
Regarding claim 20, Frus et al (US Patent No. 5561350) substantially teaches the claim limitations as indicated in claim 1. However, Frus does not teach or suggest an electrical circuit, comprising: a voltage source; a load; and an electronic circuit breaker, comprising an input connected to the voltage source; an output connected to the load; a current path for a load current connecting the input to the output; a switch having a closed state and an open state arranged in the current path, wherein in the open state the current path is open and blocks the load current, and wherein in the closed state the current path is closed and allows the load current to flow; a control unit configured to switch the switch between the open state and the closed state; and an energy storage device electrically connected to the current path, wherein the control unit is configured to receive a charge signal, wherein the charge signal correlates with a change in a charge of the energy storage device, wherein the control unit measures a discharge time during which the energy storage device is continuously discharged based on the charge signal while the switch is in the closed state; and a higher-level electronic circuit breaker arranged between the voltage source and the electronic circuit breaker, wherein the control unit sends a disconnection signal to the higher-level electronic circuit breaker to activate the higher-level electronic circuit breaker when a limit value for the discharge time is exceeded, as a result of which the electronic circuit breaker is disconnected from the voltage source by the higher-level electronic circuit breaker, or wherein the control unit activates a chopper of the electronic circuit breaker when the limit value for the discharge time is exceeded, whereby the higher-level electronic circuit breaker detects an overload and disconnects the electronic circuit breaker from the voltage source.
Conclusion
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838