DETAILED ACTION
The present application is being examined under the pre-AIA first to invent provisions. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 18 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Crook (US 2005/0217202) in view of Kelly (US 8,407,958) and Inzeo (US 6,851,229).
Crook teaches a method of covering a roof structure, the method comprising: providing strips (33,35) of heat shrinkable film, each strip having leading and trailing edges, applying the strips over a portion of a roof, attaching leading and trailing edges to respective front and rear edges (17,19) of the roof with suitable fasteners, and heating the sheet such that it shrinks and conforms to the roof (See Figures; [0022]-[0073]).
Crook does not expressly disclose battens around which the leading and trailing edges are wrapped for attachment to a roof structure.
Regarding the use of a batten, Kelly teaches a method of attaching a waterproof membrane to a roof assembly, the method comprising: wrapping a membrane (46) around a stiff member (40) and attaching the stiff member to a side face of a wall (12) with fasteners (42) (See Figs. 2A and 2B; col. 2, line 62 to col. 3, line 62). The stiff member is a batten as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that the “suitable fasteners” disclosed by Crook for fastening the leading and trailing edges of strips would include battens functioning in the claimed manner because Kelly teaches that battens were recognized in the prior art as being suitable for fastening waterproof membranes on roof structures.
Crook and Kelly teach fastening to a wall and do not expressly disclose attachment to a fascia or eaves.
Inzeo teaches a method in which a membrane is attached to a fascia of a roof by an anchor (See Figures; col. 1, line 1 to col. 4, line 45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that the strips of Crook could be attached to a fascia of a roof rather than the wall. Since it was known in the prior art to attach membranes to walls (as taught by Crook and Kelly) or to fascia (as taught by Inzeo), the substitution of one known attachment point for another would have been obvious. Furthermore, it would be a routine matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill to select an attachment point for a membrane on a roofing structure. No new or unexpected result is achieved by attaching to eaves or fascia rather than a wall. As long as the point of attachment is structurally sound the result is predictable and does not materially change the claimed invention. Therefore any attachment point, including a wall, eaves, fascia, soffit, rafters, nailers, or any other sturdy roof structure would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Double Patenting
Claim 18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,168,484. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of the instant claims are present in the reference patent with only minor changes in phrasing and order presented.
Conclusion
/CARSON GROSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746