DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 06/17/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant’s claims are directed to a composition/adjuvant package for use in an agrochemical composition. The “for use…” clause is an intended use which is not being given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.02 II “If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.” Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation”).
Applicant’s claims recite consists essentially of as the transitional phrase. The MPEP states, “The transitional phrase “consisting essentially of”/”consists essentially of” limits the scope of a claim to the specified materials or steps “and those that do not materially affect
the basic and novel characteristic(s)” of the claimed invention.” In re Herz, 537 F.2d 549, 551-
52, 190 USPQ 461, 463 (CCPA 1976). For the purposes of searching for and applying prior art
under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, absent a clear indication in the specification or claims of what the
basic and novel characteristics actually are, “consisting essentially of” will be construed as
equivalent to “comprising.” See, e.g., PPG, 156 F.3d at 1355, 48 USPQ2d at 1355. As
applicants have not indicated what is excluded from their composition, e.g. what would
materially affect the basic and novel characteristics of their claimed adjuvant package, the consists essentially of transitional phrase is being construed as comprising.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP4015603 (‘603).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Regarding claims 1 and 8, ‘603 teaches a fluid composition which reads on the claimed adjuvant package which contains at least 50% by weight decarboxylated rosin acid (DCR) which has an aniline point of 5-40°C according to ASTM D611 which overlaps the claimed 3-40°C according to ASTM D611 and the claimed amounts of 20 to 99 wt%([0031]) and 0.1-15 wt% of a surfactant system consisting essentially of the claimed surfactants which reads on the claimed 1 to 80 wt% (See entire document; claims; all sections cited herein; abstract; [0031]; [0018-0039]; [0044-0050]; [0051-0056]; [0016-0017]; [0004]; etc.). ‘603 teaches wherein their surfactant system can be/includes the claimed nonionic, cationic and/or anionic surfactants, and can specifically be/include the claimed fatty acids and ethoxylates, carboxylic acid derivatives, etc. which reads on claims 1 and 3 (See entire document; [0044-0050]; sections cited above). ‘603 also teaches wherein the DCR comprises one or more C=C groups, and 40-100 wt% of tricyclic compounds having 18-20 carbon atoms, and wherein the sum of amounts of tricyclic compounds as aromatics DCR and cycloaliphatic DCR in the DCR is > 55 wt.%, based on total weight of the DCR, and wherein the amount of the tricyclic cycloaliphatic compounds in the DCR is >15 wt% based on total weight of the DCR as claimed in claims 5-7 (See entire document; sections cited above and below; abstract; [0004-0005]; [0018-0039]; [0021-0023]; claims).
Regarding claim 9, ‘603 teaches wherein their DCR have the claimed molecular weight and are from the same company as the instantly claimed DCR (Kratom) and have the same percentages amounts of tricyclic compounds, etc. as discussed above and the same aniline point and other properties and as such, the DCR of ‘603 having the claimed molecular weights would be the claimed C19 species with MW of 262 or 260, or C19 species with MW 252 or 256 and ‘603 teaches wherein they are present in the claimed amounts, specifically in total amounts of the C19 with MWs of 262, 260, 256, and 252 together present in amounts of greater than 50 wt% of the DCR because the DCR of ‘603 is from the same company as the instantly claimed DCR and have the same percentages of tricyclic compounds, same aniline point, etc. and is obviously the same DCR that is instantly claimed (See entire document; abstract; claims; sections cited above; [0021]; [0020-0023]).
Regarding claims 10-11, ‘603 teaches a composition/fluid composition comprising rosin acid and surfactants and which can further comprise/does further comprise the claimed fungicides, etc. and additives, e.g. pH buffers/modifiers, defoamers/antifoams, etc. (see entire document; paragraphs cited above; abstract; [0051-0056]; claims).
Ascertainment of the difference between prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)/ Finding of prima facie obviousness--Rationale and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
Regarding claims 1-11, ‘603 does not specifically teach that the Hansen parameters are as claimed or that the Kb value of the decarboxylated rosin acid is the claimed value or the claimed Drave’s wetting time when diluted or the claimed surface tension when diluted. However, as discussed above based on the other properties taught by ‘603 for their decarboxylated rosin acid, it appears that the decarboxylated rosin acid (DCR) of ‘603 is substantially the same DCR that is instantly claimed and as such the DCR of ‘603 would be expected to have the claimed Kb value and the claimed Hansen parameter values, etc. Further, it would be obvious that when diluted the compositions of ‘603 would have the claimed properties taught by ‘603 e.g. surface tension and Drave’s wetting time because these are properties of the claimed composition which is broadly taught by ‘603 as ‘603 teaches compositions which comprise the claimed DCR and claimed surfactants with the claimed additives in the claimed/overlapping amounts. ‘603 also does not teach wherein the surfactant system has the fatty acid co-surfactant in a weight ratio of co-surfactant to surfactant system 1:10 or 10:1. However, it would have been obvious to optimize the ratio of the surfactants used in the composition in order to form the most effective MWF in ‘603 because “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).”
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the above claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP4147762 (‘762).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Regarding claims 1-2, and 8, ‘762 teaches compositions which can be in the form of a liquid which comprises 80-100 wt% of a decarboxylated rosin acid (DCR) having the claimed Kb value of 25 – 90, an aniline point of 3 to 40°C, measured according to ASTM D611, and the DCR has a δD value of 14 -18, a δP value of 3 - 6, and δH value of 7 – 10, and can comprise surfactants in amounts of up to 20 wt% which reads on the claimed 1-80 wt% (See entire document; claims; abstract; [0039]; [0036]; [0034]; [0038]; [0005-0006]; [0016-0038]; etc.) which because the defoamer composition comprises the same DCR in the same/overlapping amounts with the same surfactants in overlapping amounts would when diluted with liquid at the same concentrations have the same surface tension as they teach wherein the surface tension can be 25-50 dynes/cm which overlaps with the claimed range ([0037]; see entire document; sections cited above; abstract; claims; [0005-0006]; [0016-0038]) and as such would also have Drave’s wetting time which overlaps with the instantly claimed values.
Regarding claims 1-4 specifically 3-4, ‘762 teaches wherein the surfactants/surfactants include the claimed non-ionic surfactants, etc. (see entire document; [0041-0044]; abstract; claims) including the claimed ethoxylates, fatty acid derivatives, etc. and ‘762 teaches wherein their composition can additionally comprise fatty acids as carrier fluids (which would also function as the claimed co-surfactants) in amounts of 5-80% which can be readily optimized by one of ordinary skill in the art to be present in the claimed ratios with the surfactant of 1:10 to 10:1, e.g. 2% of surfactant to 20% of carrier oil/fatty acid ([0047-0049]; entire document; claims; abstract; sections cited above).
Regarding claims 5-6, ‘762 teaches wherein their DCR has/comprises the same one or more C=C groups and 40-100 wt% of tricyclic compounds having 18-20 carbon atoms and wherein the sum of tricyclic compounds as aromatic and cycloaliphatic in the DCR is > 50 wt% based on total weight of the DCR (See entire document; abstract; claims; sections cited above; [0005-0006]; [0016-0038]; [0018]; [0020]; [0021-0023]; [0007-0008]).
Regarding claims 7-8, ‘762 teaches wherein amount of the tricyclic cycloaliphatic compound in the DCR is >15 wt% based on total weight of the DCR, and wherein the DCR has at least one of the characteristics claimed in claim 8, specifically an aniline point of 3 to 40°C, measured according to ASTM D611, etc. (see entire document; claims; abstract; [0022]; [0027]; sections cited above; [0005-0006]; [0016-0038], etc.).
Regarding claim 9, ‘762 teaches wherein the DCR is/ can be unhydrogenated as they state that it can be hydrogenated which means that it can also be unhydrogenated and wherein it has species which have the claimed molecular weights and are C18-C20, because the DCR of ‘762 has all of the properties of the instantly claimed DCR it would have been obvious that the species of DCR of ‘762 having the claimed molecular weights in the claimed amounts would be the claimed species, e.g. the claimed C19 species in the claimed amounts, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary (See entire document; abstract; claims; [0016]; [0018]; [0021-0023]; [0068]; sections cited above, etc.)
Regarding claims 10-11, ‘762 teaches wherein their compositions can further comprise additives including the claimed pH modifiers/pH control agents, polymers and/or the claimed biocides (e.g. fungicides) which read on the claimed fungicides (see entire document; abstract; claims; [0050-0054]).
Ascertainment of the difference between prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)/ Finding of prima facie obviousness--Rationale and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
‘762 does not specifically teach an example of the claimed adjuvant package. However, it would have been obvious to form the claimed adjuvant package when looking to ‘762 because ‘762 teaches compositions which comprise all of the claimed components in the claimed or overlapping amounts and it was known to optimize within the ranges of the prior art in order to form the most effective defoaming agent/composition and because the claimed adjuvant package for use in an agricultural composition is an intended use of the composition. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). It would have been obvious to select the instantly claimed components in the claimed amounts to form the defoaming agent of the prior art while also forming the claimed composition because the defoaming agent of the prior art can comprise all of the claimed components in the claimed amounts and as such the defoaming agent of the prior art renders obvious the claimed composition for these reasons as the composition of the prior art and the instant claims are taught that they can comprise the same agents in the same/overlapping amounts.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the above claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1- of U.S. Patent No. 11525102 (‘102) in view of EP4015603A1.
‘102 teaches/claims compositions which are obvious variants of the claimed adjuvant composition comprising overlapping amounts of the claimed DCR, having the same properties (as evidenced by/taught by ‘603 which is the related EP equivalent of ‘102). ‘102 further teaches wherein their compositions can comprise overlapping amounts of surfactants and can comprise the claimed agricultural actives, e.g. fungicides, etc. ‘102 does not specifically teach the claimed properties of their DCR or the claimed ratios, etc. claimed. These deficiencies are addressed by ‘603.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, ‘603 teaches a fluid composition which reads on the claimed adjuvant package which contains at least 50% by weight decarboxylated rosin acid (DCR) which has an aniline point of 5-40°C according to ASTM D611 which overlaps the claimed 3-40°C according to ASTM D611 and the claimed amounts of 20 to 99 wt%([0031]) and 0.1-15 wt% of a surfactant system consisting essentially of the claimed surfactants which reads on the claimed 1 to 80 wt% (See entire document; claims; all sections cited herein; abstract; [0031]; [0018-0039]; [0044-0050]; [0051-0056]; [0016-0017]; [0004]; etc.). ‘603 teaches wherein their surfactant system can be/includes the claimed nonionic, cationic and/or anionic surfactants, and can specifically be/include the claimed fatty acids and ethoxylates, carboxylic acid derivatives, etc. which reads on claim 3 (See entire document; [0044-0050]; sections cited above). ‘603 also teaches wherein the DCR comprises one or more C=C groups, and 40-100 wt% of tricyclic compounds having 18-20 carbon atoms, and wherein the sum of amounts of tricyclic compounds as aromatics DCR and cycloaliphatic DCR in the DCR is > 55 wt.%, based on total weight of the DCR, and the amount of the tricyclic cycloaliphatic compounds in the DCR is >15 wt% based on total weight of the DCR as claimed in claims 5-7 (See entire document; sections cited above and below; abstract; [0004-0005]; [0021-0023]; claims).
Regarding claim 9, ‘603 teaches wherein their DCR have the claimed molecular weight and are from the same company as the instantly claimed DCR (Kratom) and have the same percentages amounts of tricyclic compounds, etc. as discussed above and the same aniline point and other properties and as such, the DCR of ‘603 having the claimed molecular weights would be the claimed C19 species with MW of 262 or 260, or C19 species with MW 252 or 256 and ‘603 teaches wherein they are present in the claimed amounts, specifically in total amounts of the C19 with MWs of 262, 260, 256, and 252 together present in amounts of greater than 50 wt% of the DCR because the DCR of ‘603 is from the same company as the instantly claimed DCR and have the same percentages of tricyclic compounds, same aniline point, etc. and is obviously the same DCR that is instantly claimed (See entire document; abstract; claims; sections cited above; [0021]; [0020-0023]).
Regarding claims 10-11, ‘603 teaches a composition/fluid composition comprising rosin acid and surfactants and which can further comprise/does further comprise the claimed fungicides, etc. and additives, e.g. pH buffers/modifiers, defoamers/antifoams, etc. (see entire document; paragraphs cited above; abstract; [0051-0056]; claims).
Regarding claims 1-11, ‘102 and ‘603 do not specifically teach that the Hansen parameters are as claimed or that the Kb value of the decarboxylated rosin acid is the claimed value or the claimed Drave’s wetting time when diluted or the claimed surface tension when diluted. However, as discussed above based on the other properties taught by claimed and/or taught by ‘102 and ‘603 for their decarboxylated rosin acid, it appears that the decarboxylated rosin acid (DCR) of ‘102 and ‘603 is/are substantially the same DCR that is instantly claimed and as such the DCR of ‘603 would be expected to have the claimed Kb value and the claimed Hansen parameter values, etc. Further, it would be obvious that when diluted the compositions of ‘102 and ‘603 would have the claimed properties as taught by ‘102 and ‘603 e.g. surface tension and Drave’s wetting time because these are properties of the claimed composition which is broadly taught by ‘102 and ‘603 as ‘102 and ‘603 teach compositions which comprise the claimed DCR and claimed surfactants with the claimed additives in the claimed/overlapping amounts. ‘102 and ‘603 also do not teach wherein the surfactant system has the fatty acid co-surfactant in a weight ratio of co-surfactant to surfactant system 1:10 or 10:1. However, it would have been obvious to optimize the ratio of the surfactants used in the composition in order to form the most effective MWF in ‘102 and ‘603 because “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the instantly claimed composition is obvious when taken in view of the above cited combination of references especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary at this time.
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending application No. 19333904 (‘904).
‘904 claims additives for agricultural spray compositions comprising the claimed agricultural actives, and the claimed DCR, and the claimed surfactants in overlapping amounts to those instantly claimed and wherein the DCR has overlapping properties to those instantly claimed, e.g. sum of tricyclic compounds, amount of tricyclic compounds, aniline point, Drave’s wetting time, etc. and the claimed fatty acid in the claimed ratios with the surfactant/surfactant system and wherein the adjuvant comprising the DCR etc is diluted to the same degree as the instantly claimed adjuvant to achieve the wetting time, etc. ‘904 does not claim wherein the DCR is unhydrogenated and has at least one of the C19 or C13 species claimed in the claimed amounts. However, as ‘904 teaches DCR adjuvants for the same purpose of use with the same agricultural actives and having the same properties which are instantly claimed it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the DCR used in ‘904 is substantially the same as the instantly claimed DCR and would have the same unhydrogenation and the same C19 and/or C13 species as claimed and can comprise the same additives, etc. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the claimed composition and the composition claimed and taught by copending 19333904 are obvious variants of one another because the are adjuvants for use with the same agrochemicals having substantially the same DCR having the same properties and as such are obvious variants of one another.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12577180 (‘180) in view of US20230083455A1.
‘180 claims a fertilizer substrate comprising the claimed decarboxylated rosin acid (DCR) and a fertilizer which is one of the claimed additives. The DCR of ‘180 has the same properties instantly claimed, e.g. aniline point, pour point, flash point, Kb value, etc. and comprises the same amount of tricyclic aliphatic compounds, C=C groups, tricyclic compounds having 18-20 carbon atoms, etc. and as such is expected to be substantially the same DCR which is instantly claimed having the same properties which are instantly claimed especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary. ’180 does not specifically claim the claimed surfactant system or fatty acid or wherein the fertilizer comprises additional agrochemical active agents. However, these deficiencies in ‘180 are addressed by US20230083455A1 and .
US20230083455A1 is the application is the parent application PGPub of later issued patent ‘180 and qualifies as prior art as of its publication date and priority date. US20230083455A1 teaches wherein their fertilizer can comprise surfactants specifically the claimed anionic surface active agents, nonionic surface active agents, cationic surface active agents, and amphoteric surface active agents and can contain fatty acids and fatty acid derivatives (Which read on the claimed surfactants) and wherein the DCR can be unhydrogenated because they teach it can be dehydrogenated but does not teach the instantly claimed ratios or the specifically claimed surfactants or wherein the DCR is has the same C19 or C13 in the claimed molecular weights in the claimed amounts. ‘455 also teaches wherein the compositions/fertilizers can comprise the claimed herbicides, fungicides, etc. (See entire document; claims; abstract; [0016-0038]; [0041-0048]; etc.) Though ‘455 does teach wherein their DCR has the claimed molecular weights and components having these molecular weight can be present in the claimed overlapping amounts and as discussed above because the DCR of ‘180 and US20230083455A1 has the same properties instantly claimed it is expected that the DCR of the combined prior art is substantially the same DCR which is instantly claimed and would therefore have the claimed C19 and/or C13 components in the claimed amounts and having the other properties which are instantly claimed especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amounts of surfactants in ‘180 and ‘455 and the ratios of fatty acid to surfactant/fatty acid derivative in order to achieve the instantly claimed ratios because the instant application and ‘180 in ‘455 are using the same DCR for formulating agrochemicals/fertilizers and as such are obvious variants of the claimed adjuvant composition especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary since the components of ‘180 and ‘455 are not limited and because the instantly claimed compositions can contain fertilizers (See entire document; claims; abstract; [0016-0038]; [0041-0048]; etc.). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the instantly claimed invention is an obvious variant of the invention/fertilizer claimed in U.S. Patent No. 12577180 (‘180) in view of US20230083455A1 at this time.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/ERIN E HIRT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616