Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 2/4/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/4/2026.
Claim Interpretation
The following limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses means or a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the means or generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
“energy storage device” includes the generic/nonce term “device” coupled with the function of “energy storage”. A return to the specification provides “internal battery modules connected in series” [0116]. Therefor the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof.
Although the phrase “expansion device” combines the nonce term “device” with the function of “expansion” the phrase is not interpreted under 35 USC §112(f) as it is considered to have sufficiently definite meaning in the art corresponding to a structure. MPEP 2181
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “a coolant expansion device” however the fluid of the vapor compression refrigeration cycle is referred to as “a heat transfer fluid” at claim 1. The use of the term “coolant” at claim 7 is inconsistent with the disclosure and causes confusion with the “coolant loop” of claim 5, which is not expanded. Because the scope of the phrase is unclear in light of the specification the claim is indefinite.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, and 5 of copending Application No. 18762830(reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited application includes at claim 1 a “flow of air” which is operable to cool the energy storage device. Claims 4 and 5 describe the energy storage device is in direct contact with the at least one heat exchanger (the at least one heat exchanger being of the vapor compression cycle as recited in claim 1). The instant application claims that the “energy storage device is thermally coupled to the vapor compression cycle”. Thus because the cited application couples the vapor compression cycle to the energy storage device via an airflow and heat exchanger they are “thermally coupled”. Regarding instant claim 2, the cited application recites that the energy storage device and heat exchanger are in “direct contact” (claim 5) and thus are arranged “directly”. Regarding instant claim 4, the cited application recites that the energy storage device is downstream from the at least one heat exchanger relative to the flow of air (claim 4) and thus they are coupled “indirectly”.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Day et al (US 2022/0325930).
Regarding claim 1, Day discloses an air conditioning system comprising:
a vapor compression cycle having a plurality of components including a compressor (102), an expansion device (110), and at least one heat exchanger (108, 114, and 322), and a heat transfer fluid is configured to circulate within the vapor compression cycle; and
an energy storage device (328) selectively operable to supply power to one of the plurality of components ([0002] and [0047]), wherein the energy storage device is thermally coupled to the vapor compression cycle (by fluid loop 326).
Regarding claim 4, Day discloses the energy storage device is indirectly thermally coupled to the vapor compression cycle (the vapor compression cycle and energy storage device are indirectly thermally coupled by way of intervening loop 326).
Regarding claim 5, Day discloses the at least one heat exchanger of the vapor compression cycle includes a first heat exchanger (108), a second heat exchanger (114), and an energy storage heat exchanger (322), and the energy storage device is thermally coupled to the energy storage heat exchanger via a coolant loop (326).
Regarding claim 11, Day discloses a sensor for monitoring a temperature of the energy storage device; a pump arranged within the coolant loop; and a controller operably coupled to the sensor and to the pump, wherein the controller is operable to initiate the pump in response to the temperature of the energy storage device ([0008]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Day et al (US 2022/0325930) in view of Sakakibara (US 8,405,354).
Regarding claim 2, Day discloses the air conditioning system of claim 1, but lacks that the energy storage device is directly within the fluid flow path. Sakakibara discloses a similar arrangement for thermal treatment of an energy storage device (3) which may be either indirect (like is shown in figure 8) or direct (like is shown in figure 9), where the energy storage device is arranged directly within a flow path of the heat transfer fluid. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Day with direct heat exchange between the heat transfer fluid and energy storage device in order to reduce the number of system parts, i.e. the intervening heat transfer arrangement.
Regarding claim 3, Day and Sakakibara further disclose the energy storage device includes a housing having at least one flow channel formed therein for receiving the heat transfer fluid (figure 9 of Sakakibara provides a housing 32 with the heater transfer fluid passing therethrough).
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Day et al (US 2022/0325930) in view of Kolda et al (US 10,596,880)
Regarding claim 6, Day discloses the air conditioning system of claim 5, wherein the coolant loop (326) includes a thermal storage device (432) including a phase change material. Day lacks that the energy storage heat exchanger itself includes a phase change material. Kolda discloses a similar arrangement where two fluid loops are joined together by an energy storage heat exchanger (130) which includes a phase change material (4:21-54). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Day with the energy storage heat exchanger itself to include the phase change material (rather than as a separate component) in order to reduce the number of system components thereby simplifying the arrangement.
Regarding claim 7, Day further discloses a coolant expansion device (310) disposed downstream from one of the first heat exchanger (108) and the second heat exchanger (114) and upstream from the energy storage heat exchanger (322) relative to a flow of the heat transfer fluid.
Regarding claim 8, Day further discloses a bypass conduit (bypass of expansion valve at 310 includes the check valve conduit) arranged in parallel with the coolant expansion device, the bypass conduit including a valve operable to control the flow of the heat transfer fluid through the bypass conduit.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Day et al (US 2022/0325930).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Day discloses the plurality of components of the vapor compression cycle are arranged within an indoor unit and an outdoor unit (the components are necessarily either indoors or outdoors), Day is silent concerning whether the energy storage heat exchanger is within an indoor or outdoor unit. The examiner takes official notice that indoor and outdoor units are old and well known. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the energy storage heat exchanger within an indoor or outdoor unit in order to satisfy packaging requirements, reduce conduit length, or ease installation. Moreover, it has been held that the particular position of an element does not render a claim non-obvious when rearranging said element would not have modified the operation of the device. Further the particular location can be regarded as an obvious matter of design choice. MPEP 2144.04 VI. C.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al (US 12,472,796) battery conditioning and PCM
Omi et al (US 10,910,684) battery conditioning and coolant loops (thermosiphons)
/CHRISTOPHER R ZERPHEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799