DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the claim amendment filed on 02/20/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 10 and 11 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aoki et al. (JP2010164257A, previously cited and applied).
Regarding claim 10, Aoki discloses a heat pump (see figure 1) comprising:
a compressor (1) connected to a closed-loop refrigerant circuit, wherein the compressor circulates a refrigerant through the closed-loop refrigerant circuit (see figure 1);
a source coil (6) connected to the closed-loop refrigerant circuit and disposed downstream of the compressor (see figure 1);
wherein the source coil (6) discharges refrigerant from the source coil (6) to a suction accumulator (4) disposed upstream of the compressor (1; see figure 1);
a load coil (2) connected to the closed-loop refrigerant circuit and disposed downstream of the compressor (1; see figure 1);
wherein the load coil (2) receives the refrigerant from the compressor (1) and discharges the refrigerant to the source coil (6; see figure 1);
an expansion valve (the expansion valve 3 or 5) connected to the closed-loop refrigerant circuit and disposed upstream of the compressor (1; see figure 1), the expansion valve (3 or 4) regulating supply of refrigerant to the compressor (1; see figure 1);
a discharge valve (8) connected to the closed-loop refrigerant circuit and disposed downstream of the compressor (1; see figure 1) and upstream of the source coil (6; the heat pump of Aoki is a reversable heat pump; the discharge valve 8 disposed upstream of the source coil 6; see figure 2);
a controller (20) operatively connected to and in communication with the discharge valve (8; see figure 1), the controller (20) configured to modulate circulation of the refrigerant through a cycle of evaporation and condensation between the source coil (6) and the load coil (2; see figure 1); and
wherein the heat pump is configured as an air-to-water heat pump system to generate potable hot water (the heat exchanger 2 generate portable hot water; see figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurita et al. (JP2011174639A, previously cited and applied) in view of Aoki and Lin et al. (CN112304152A, previously cited and applied).
Regarding claim 1, Kurita discloses a heat-pump comprising:
a compressor (1) connected to a closed-loop refrigerant circuit, wherein the compressor (1) circulates a refrigerant through the closed-loop refrigerant circuit (see figure 1);
a source coil (3) connected to the closed-loop refrigerant circuit and disposed downstream of the compressor (1; see figure 1);
a load coil (7) connected to the closed-loop refrigerant circuit and disposed downstream of the compressor (1; see figure 1);
wherein the load coil (7) receives the refrigerant from the compressor (1) and discharges the refrigerant to the source coil (3; see figure 1);
an expansion valve (the expansion valve 4 or 8) connected to the closed-loop refrigerant circuit and disposed upstream of the compressor (1), the expansion valve (4 or 8) regulating supply of refrigerant to the compressor (1; see figure 1);
a discharge valve (5) connected to the closed-loop refrigerant circuit and disposed downstream of the compressor (1; see figure 1) and upstream of the source coil (3; see figure 1);
a controller (16) operatively connected to and in communication with the discharge valve (6), the controller (16) comprising processor-executable instructions (see figure 2) to:
circulate the refrigerant through a cycle of evaporation and condensation between the source coil (3) and the load coil (7; see figures 1-2); and
activate the discharge valve (6) to automatically inject the refrigerant directly into an inlet end of the source coil (3) to prevent the formation of ice during operation at a certain ambient temperature (paragraphs 2-5 of page 6 and paragraphs 4-7 of page 7; see figures 1-2).
However, Kurita fails to disclose wherein the source coil discharges refrigerant from the source coil to a suction accumulator disposed upstream of the compressor; the controller (16) comprising a tangible, non-transitory machine-readable media having processor-executable instructions.
Aoki teaches a heat-pump comprising the source coil (6) discharges refrigerant from the source coil (6) to a suction accumulator (4) disposed upstream of the compressor (1; see figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the heat-pump of Kurita to incorporate the claimed suction accumulator as taught by Aoki in order to prevent flooding or slugging at the inlet of the compressor by having the suction accumulator to ensure vapor refrigerant entering the compressor.
Lin teaches a heat-pump comprising controller comprising a tangible, non-transitory machine-readable media having processor-executable instructions (paragraph 4 of page 16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the heat pump of Kurita to substitute the controller of Kurita with the claimed controller comprising a tangible, non-transitory machine-readable media having processor-executable instructions as taught by Lin such that the control instructions of Kurita is executed with the claimed controller of Lin in order to obtain a predictable result which to prevent formation of ice on the source coil by controlling the operation of discharge valve (see MEPE 2143 section B).
Regarding claim 2, Kurita discloses the source coil (3) is an outdoor heat exchange coil (3) disposed in an outdoor environment in direct contact with outdoor ambient air (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Kurita discloses the load coil (7) is an indoor heat exchange coil (7) disposed in an indoor environment in direct contact with indoor ambient air (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Kurita discloses the certain ambient temperature is a temperature of outdoor ambient air in direct contact with the source coil (3; the sensor 14 detects the outdoor ambient air temperature; see figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Kurita discloses the certain ambient temperature is below 40ºF (during heating operation, the outdoor heat exchanger temperature become 0 oC or less as outside air temperature decrease therefore, the outside air temperature is at least less than 0 oC which is below 40 oF; paragraph 1 of page 2).
Regarding claim 6, Kurita discloses the heat pump further comprising a four-way reversing valve (2) fluidly coupled to the source coil (3) and the load coil (7; see figure 1), where the four-way reversing valve (2) is switchable between a heating mode configuration and a cooling mode configuration (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Kurita discloses the discharge valve (6) is a gas injection valve (6) and the discharge valve improves operational efficiency by preventing large load temperature swings when operated (the heating operation that does not require the defrosting operation is possible, and the comfort of indoor space can be ensured; paragraph 5 of page 6 and a decrease in the amount of refrigerant circulating to the indoor unit can be compensated and the comfort of the indoor space can be more reliably ensured, paragraph 6 of page 6; the compensated decrease in the amount of refrigerant circulating to the indoor unit prevent large load temperature swings).
Regarding claim 8, Kurita discloses the refrigerant injected into the inlet end of the source coil (3) is a hot gas phase refrigerant output from the compressor (1; see figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, Kurita discloses the discharge valve (6) prevents the formation of ice on a surface of the source coil (3) when operated in a heating mode (paragraphs 2-5 of page 6 and paragraphs 4-7 of page 7; see figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 11, Kurita as modified in detail as in claim 1 above discloses a method of operating a heat pump (see figures 1-2), the method comprising the steps of:
fluidly interconnecting (a) a compressor (1), (b) a source coil (3), (c) a load coil (7), (d) an expansion valve (4 or 8), (e) a discharge valve (6), and (f) a suction accumulator (4, Aoki; see figure 1 of Aoki) to a closed-loop refrigerant circuit (see figure 1), wherein the source coil (3) and the load coil (7) are each disposed downstream of the compressor (1), the discharge valve (6) is disposed downstream of the compressor (1) and upstream of the source coil (3; see figure 1) and the expansion valve (4 or 8) is disposed upstream of the compressor (1; see figure 1), and wherein the compressor (1) circulates a refrigerant through the closed-loop refrigerant circuit (see figure 1) such that the load coil (7) receives the refrigerant from the compressor (1) and discharges the refrigerant to the source coil (3) and the source coil (3) discharges the refrigerant from the source coil (3) to the suction accumulator (4; Aoki; see figure 1 of Aoki) upstream of the compressor (1; see figure 1);
operatively connecting a controller (16) to the discharge valve (6; see figure 1), the controller (16) comprising a tangible, non-transitory machine-readable media having processor-executable instructions (paragraph 4 of page 16, Lin) to:
circulate the refrigerant through a cycle of evaporation and condensation between the source coil (3) and the load coil (7; see figure 1);
activate the discharge valve (6; see figure 2); and
inject the refrigerant directly into an inlet end of the source coil (3) to prevent the formation of ice during operation at a certain ambient temperature (paragraphs 2-5 of page 6 and paragraphs 4-7 of page 7; see figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 12, Kurita discloses the source coil (3) is an outdoor heat exchange coil (3) disposed in an outdoor environment in direct contact with outdoor ambient air (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Kurita discloses the load coil (7) is an indoor heat exchange coil (7) disposed in an indoor environment in direct contact with indoor ambient air (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, Kurita discloses the certain ambient temperature is a temperature of outdoor ambient air in direct contact with the source coil (3; see figure 1).
Regarding claim 15, Kurita discloses the certain ambient temperature is below 40ºF (during heating operation, the outdoor heat exchanger temperature become 0 oC or less as outside air temperature decrease therefore, the outside air temperature is at least less than 0 oC which is below 40 oF; paragraph 1 of page 2).
Regarding claim 16, Kurita discloses the method further comprising the steps of: fluidly coupling a four-way reversing valve (2) to the source coil (3) and the load coil (7), wherein the four-way reversing valve (2) is switchable between a heating mode configuration and a cooling mode configuration (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 17, Kurita discloses the discharge valve is a gas injection valve (6; see figure 1).
Regarding claim 18, Kurita discloses the refrigerant injected into the inlet end of the source coil (3) is a hot gas phase refrigerant output from the compressor (1; see figure 1).
Regarding claim 19, Kurita discloses the discharge valve (6) prevents the formation of ice on a surface of the source coil (3) when operated in a heating mode (paragraphs 2-5 of page 6 and paragraphs 4-7 of page 7; see figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 20, Kurita discloses the discharge valve (6) is a gas injection valve (6) and the discharge valve improves operational efficiency by preventing large load temperature swings when operated (the heating operation that does not require the defrosting operation is possible, and the comfort of indoor space can be ensured; paragraph 5 of page 6; and a decrease in the amount of refrigerant circulating to the indoor unit can be compensated and the comfort of the indoor space can be more reliably ensured, paragraph 6 of page 6; the compensated decrease in the amount of refrigerant circulating to the indoor unit prevent large load temperature swings).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments on the Remarks filed 02/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues from paragraph 3 of page 9 to the last paragraph of page 10 that “While the Office Action asserts that Aoki discloses compressor (1), source coil (6), load coil (2), expansion valve (3/5) and discharge valve (8), Aoki fails to disclose the refrigerant pathway in the figuration described in claim 10. Specifically, "Circuit A" of Aoki generally discloses the following refrigerant pathway: Refrigerant flows from the compressor (1) to the four-way valve (9) to the water heat exchanger (2), to the first expansion valve (3), to the receiver (4), to the second expansion valve (5), to the outdoor heat exchanger (6), to the refrigerant-refrigerant heat exchanger (7) (via the four-way valve (9)) and back to the compressor (1). Claim 10 has been amended to clarify that, in the claimed device, the load coil receives the refrigerant from the compressor and sends the refrigerant to the source coil and that the source coil sends the refrigerant from the source coil to a suction accumulator prior to reaching the compressor” has been fully considered. However, the Office respectfully disagrees. First, the claimed or argued refrigerant pathway does not associated to any particular operation mode. Second, in figure 1 of Aoki, there are at least three circuits being presented. These circuits associated to different operation modes. In circuit A, Aoki clearly discloses the load coil (2) receives refrigerant from the compressor (1) and sends to the refrigerant to the source coil (6) and that source coil (6) sends the refrigerant from the source coil (6) to a suction accumulator (4) prior to reaching the compressor (1; see figure 1). Therefore, Aoki discloses the argued limitation thus, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments on the Remarks with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The teaching reference Aoki teaches the claimed suction accumulator (4; see figure 1).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KUN KAI MA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763