DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
35 USC 102 and 103
Applicant's arguments filed 30 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding independent claims 1, 15, and 19, Applicant argues that Volk ‘201 and Volk ‘778 are non-analogous art compared to Volk ‘133 (Remarks pp. 11-14). Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, Applicant argues that Volk ‘201 and Volk ‘778 are directed towards the field of poultry processing, but Volk ‘133 is directed towards the field of consumer retail packaging. However, all three Volk references teach using the structure for handling poultry, in addition to Applicant’s own specification (see Applicant’s Specification [0048] “In a normal carrying position, the bag 121 contains a product such as a poultry carcass”; Volk ‘133 [Col. 2 lines 45-50] “carrying handle 20 is of such design that it may be installed on turkey carcasses and other poultry carcasses”; Volk ‘201 [Abstract] “A retainer for use with a body of eviscerated poultry”; Volk ‘778 [Abstract] “A retainer for poultry hocks”). Thus, the structure of all three Volk references and Applicant’s claimed invention is directed towards the same field of endeavor of poultry carcasses. Further, the Office Action dated August 5, 2026 fully mapped the structure of Applicant’s claim limitations to the teachings of the prior art, which Applicant does not deny in Applicant’s Remarks, and it has been held that “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established” (MPEP 2112.01.I). Thus, the mapping of the structure is sufficient for a prima facie case of obviousness. Second, Applicant argues that the prior art is not reasonably pertinent to the particular problems address (Remarks pp. 12-13). Examiner respectfully disagrees because the core problem addressed by Applicant’s claimed invention and the prior art Volk ‘133, Volk ‘201, and Volk ‘778 is handling carcasses, and carcass limb immobilization (as alleged by Applicant towards Volk ‘201 and Volk ‘778) and carcass bag suspension (as alleged by Applicant towards Volk ‘133 and Applicant’s claimed limitation) are sub-components of the aforementioned core problem.
Applicant amended claims 15 and 19 to incorporate the subject matter of claim 16, which was rejected under the combination of Volk ‘133 and Volk ‘201. The amended claims 15 and 19 are rejected for similar reasons as that of claim 16, and Applicant’s remarks are unpersuasive for similar reasons, detailed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4772133 to Volk (hereinafter Volk ‘133) in view of US 5498201 to Volk (hereinafter Volk ‘201).
Re Claim 1, Volk ‘133 teaches:
A carrying handle for use in conjunction with food items that have been wrapped or bagged in an enclosure (at least [Title] “Carrying Handle For Bagged Food Items”) having an end that is closed with a retaining clip (at least Fig. 3 element 12), the carrying handle comprising:
first and second flexible arms having proximal ends and distal ends, the proximal ends being joined together at a top end of the carrying handle to form a grip portion (at least Fig. 1 element 50), wherein the flexible arms arch outwardly away from one another at the grip portion of the carrying handle and then extend downwardly and inwardly toward one another at the distal ends (at least Fig. 1 elements 51 and 52 that extend to be elements 40 and 41); and
a clamping ring joined to the distal ends of the first and second flexible arms (at least Figs. 1-3 element 30), the clamping ring being configured to clamp about a neck portion of the enclosure (at least Fig. 3) near the retaining clip such that the retaining clip is located in between the end of the enclosure and the clamping ring (at least Fig. 3 element 12), the clamping ring defining an inner space for receiving the neck portion of the enclosure, the clamping ring having an inner surface that comes into contact with the neck portion when the neck portion is received in the inner space defined by the clamping ring (at least Figs. 1-3).
Volk ‘133 does not explicitly teach:
the inner surface of the clamping ring having one or more protrusions thereon that grip an outer surface of the neck portion when the neck portion is within the inner space defined by the clamping ring.
However, Volk ‘201 teaches:
the inner surface of the clamping ring having one or more protrusions thereon that grip an outer surface of the neck portion when the neck portion is within the inner space defined by the clamping ring (at least Fig. 1 elements 31 and [Col. 2 lines 49-67] “A plurality of prong portions or prongs 31 extend inwardly from oblong ring”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the handle with clamping ring taught by Volk ‘133 with the clamping ring protrusions taught by Volk ‘201 with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “The relative alignment of prongs 31 facilitates placement of retainer 11 on chicken body” (Volk ‘201 [Col. 3 lines 19-25]).
Re Claim 2, the combination of Volk ‘133 and Volk ‘201 teaches:
The carrying handle of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Volk ‘133 further teaches:
wherein the gripping portion of the carrying handle is adapted for receiving at least first and second fingers of a user (at least Fig. 2).
Re Claim 3, the combination of Volk ‘133 and Volk ‘201 teaches:
The carrying handle of claim 2 (detailed with respect to claim 2).
Volk ‘133 further teaches:
wherein the gripping portion comprises at least first and second arches that are adapted to receive the first and second fingers, respectively (at least Fig. 2).
Re Claim 4, the combination of Volk ‘133 and Volk ‘201 teaches:
The carrying handle of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Volk ‘201 further teaches:
wherein said one or more protrusions comprise a plurality of protrusions having equal sizes and shapes (at least Fig. 1).
Re Claim 5, the combination of Volk ‘133 and Volk ‘201 teaches:
The carrying handle of claim 4 (detailed with respect to claim 4).
Volk ‘201 further teaches:
wherein adjacent protrusions of said plurality of protrusions are separated from one another by a predetermined distance (at least Fig. 1).
Re Claim 6, the combination of Volk ‘133 and Volk ‘201 teaches:
The carrying handle of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Volk ‘201 further teaches:
wherein said one or more protrusions grip an outer surface of the neck portion to help prevent the outer surface of the neck portion from rotating relative to the inner surface of the clamping ring (at least Fig. 1 elements 31 and [Col. 2 lines 49-67] “A plurality of prong portions or prongs 31 extend inwardly from oblong ring”).
Re Claim 8, the combination of Volk ‘133 and Volk ‘201 teaches:
The carrying handle of claim 6 (detailed with respect to claim 6).
Volk ‘201 further teaches:
where said one or more protrusions comprise a plurality of spikes (at least Fig. 1).
Re Claim 9, the combination of Volk ‘133 and Volk ‘201 teaches:
The carrying handle of claim 6 (detailed with respect to claim 6).
Volk ‘201 further teaches:
where said one or more protrusions comprise a plurality of ridges (at least Fig. 1).
Re Claim 10, the combination of Volk ‘133 and Volk ‘201 teaches:
The carrying handle of claim 6 (detailed with respect to claim 6).
Volk ‘201 further teaches:
where said one or more protrusions comprise a plurality of barbs (at least Fig. 1).
Re Claim 11, the combination of Volk ‘133 and Volk ‘201 teaches:
The carrying handle of claim 6 (detailed with respect to claim 6).
Volk ‘201 further teaches:
where said one or more protrusions comprise a plurality of hooks (at least Fig. 1. It is noted that “hook” is interpreted according to the broadest reasonable interpretation of the word to include the function of “hooking” (i.e., “gripping”). In other words, “hook” is not limited to a curved object, but any shape that can grip into an object. Volk ‘201 teaches that broadest reasonable interpretation of “hook”.).
Re Claim 12, the combination of Volk ‘133 and Volk ‘201 teaches:
The carrying handle of claim 6 (detailed with respect to claim 6).
Volk ‘201 further teaches:
where said one or more protrusions comprise a plurality of burrs (at least Fig. 1).
Re Claim 13, the combination of Volk ‘133 and Volk ‘201 teaches:
The carrying handle of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Volk ‘133 further teaches:
wherein each of the flexible arms branches into first and second arm branches as the distal ends of the first and second flexible arms approach the clamping ring (at least Fig. 1 elements 40 and 41), the second arm branches extending toward one another as the second arm branches approach the clamping ring to define a gap through which the neck portion is pressed into the inner space defined by the clamping ring (at least Fig. 1 elements 30, 31, 32), the second arm branches being configured to flex outwardly as the neck portion is pressed through the gap into the inner space defined by the clamping ring and to return to unflexed states once the neck portion is fully within the clamping ring (at least [Col. 2 lines 10-20] “A pair of flexible arm means 40 and 41 is connected to clamping means 30. In the embodiment shown in FIGS. 1-4, the carrying handle is molded plastic and is a single piece. Arms 40 and 41 are quite flexible relative to clamping means 30 because of reduced thickness as shown best in FIG. 3. The thickness of arms 40 and 41 is 50% or less than the thickness of clamping ring 31”.).
Re Claim 14, the combination of Volk ‘133 and Volk ‘201 teaches:
The carrying handle of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Volk ‘133 further teaches:
wherein the top end of the carrying handle has a strengthening element thereon comprising a region of increased thickness where the proximal ends of the first and second flexible arms are joined to form the gripping portion, and wherein the increased thickness increases a strength of the gripping portion of the carrying handle (at least Figs. 1-3 and [Col. 2 lines 17-25] “As shown in FIG. 3, the thickness of finger-hold means 50 is at least 150% the thickness of arms 40 and 41”).
Re Claim 15, Volk ‘133 teaches:
A carrying handle for use in conjunction with food items that have been wrapped or bagged in an enclosure (at least [Title] “Carrying Handle For Bagged Food Items”) having an end that is closed with a retaining clip (at least Fig. 3 element 12), the carrying handle comprising:
first and second flexible arms having proximal ends and distal ends, the proximal ends being joined together at a top end of the carrying handle to form a grip portion (at least Fig. 1 element 50), wherein the flexible arms arch outwardly away from one another at the grip portion of the carrying handle and then extend downwardly and inwardly toward one another at the distal ends (at least Fig. 1 elements 51 and 52 that extend to be elements 40 and 41);
a strengthening element disposed on the top end of the carrying handle, the strengthening element comprising a region of increased thickness where the proximal ends of the first and second flexible arms are joined to form the gripping portion, wherein the increased thickness increases a strength of the gripping portion of the carrying handle (at least Figs. 1-3 and [Col. 2 lines 17-25] “As shown in FIG. 3, the thickness of finger-hold means 50 is at least 150% the thickness of arms 40 and 41”); and
a clamping ring joined to the distal ends of the first and second flexible arms (at least Figs. 1-3 element 30), the clamping ring being configured to clamp about a neck portion of the enclosure (at least Fig. 3) near the retaining clip such that the retaining clip is located in between the end of the enclosure and the clamping ring (at least Fig. 3 element 12), the clamping ring defining an inner space for receiving the neck portion of the enclosure, the clamping ring having an inner surface that comes into contact with the neck portion when the neck portion is received in the inner space defined by the clamping ring (at least Figs. 1-3).
Volk ‘133 does not explicitly teach:
wherein the inner surface of the clamping ring has one or more protrusions thereon that grip an outer surface of the neck portion when the neck portion is within the inner space defined by the clamping ring.
However, Volk ‘201 teaches:
wherein the inner surface of the clamping ring has one or more protrusions thereon that grip an outer surface of the neck portion when the neck portion is within the inner space defined by the clamping ring (at least Fig. 1 elements 31 and [Col. 2 lines 49-67] “A plurality of prong portions or prongs 31 extend inwardly from oblong ring”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the handle with clamping ring taught by Volk ‘133 with the clamping ring protrusions taught by Volk ‘201 with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “The relative alignment of prongs 31 facilitates placement of retainer 11 on chicken body” (Volk ‘201 [Col. 3 lines 19-25]).
Re Claim 17, the combination of Volk ‘133 and Volk ‘201 teaches:
The carrying handle of claim 15 (detailed with respect to claim 15).
Volk ‘201 further teaches:
wherein the protrusions comprise at least one of spikes, ridges, barbs, hooks, and burrs (at least Fig. 1 elements 31).
Re Claim 18, the combination of Volk ‘133 and Volk ‘201 teaches:
The carrying handle of claim 15 (detailed with respect to claim 15).
Volk ‘133 further teaches:
wherein the gripping portion comprises at least first and second arches adapted to receive the first and second fingers, respectively (at least Fig. 2).
Re Claim 19, Volk ‘133 teaches:
A method of making a carrying handle for use in conjunction with food items that have been wrapped or bagged in an enclosure (at least [Title] “Carrying Handle For Bagged Food Items”) having an end that is closed with a retaining clip (at least Fig. 3 element 12), the method comprising:
providing a mold (at least [Col. 2 lines 10-17] “molded plastic”.) having a first region for forming a clamping ring at a bottom end of the carrying handle (at least Fig. 1 element 50), the mold having second and third regions for forming first and second flexible arms, respectively (at least Fig. 1 elements 51 and 52 that extend to be elements 40 and 41), the mold having a fourth region for forming a strengthening element at a top end of the carrying handle (at least Figs. 1-3 and [Col. 2 lines 17-25] “As shown in FIG. 3, the thickness of finger-hold means 50 is at least 150% the thickness of arms 40 and 41”);
injecting a fluid molding material into the first region such that the fluid molding material flows from the first region into the second and third regions and then flows from the second and third regions into the fourth region, wherein the strengthening element is formed where fluid molding material flowing from the second region into the fourth region comes into contact with fluid molding material flowing from the third region into the fourth region; and curing the fluid molding material to convert the fluid molding material into hardened molding material (at least [Col. 2 lines 10-17] “the carrying handle is molded plastic and is a single piece”).
Volk ‘133 does not explicitly teach:
the first region having one or more areas for forming protrusions on an inner surface of the clamping ring.
However, Volk ‘201 teaches:
the first region having one or more areas for forming protrusions on an inner surface of the clamping ring (at least Fig. 1 elements 31 and [Col. 2 lines 49-67] “A plurality of prong portions or prongs 31 extend inwardly from oblong ring”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the handle with clamping ring taught by Volk ‘133 with the clamping ring protrusions taught by Volk ‘201 with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “The relative alignment of prongs 31 facilitates placement of retainer 11 on chicken body” (Volk ‘201 [Col. 3 lines 19-25]).
Re Claim 20, , the combination of Volk ‘133 and Volk ‘201 teaches:
The method of claim 19 (detailed with respect to claim 19).
Volk ‘133 further teaches:
wherein the strengthening element comprises a region of increased thickness at the top end of the carrying handle (at least Figs. 1-3 and [Col. 2 lines 17-25] “As shown in FIG. 3, the thickness of finger-hold means 50 is at least 150% the thickness of arms 40 and 41”).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Volk ‘133 in view of Volk ‘201 and further in view of US 5749778 to Volk (hereinafter Volk ‘778).
Re Claim 7, the combination of Volk ‘133 and Volk ‘201 teaches:
The carrying handle of claim 6 (detailed with respect to claim 6).
The combination of Volk ‘133 and Volk ‘201 does not explicitly teach:
wherein said one or more protrusions comprise a plurality of protrusions, each protrusion being substantially rectangular in shape.
However, Volk ‘778 teaches:
wherein said one or more protrusions comprise a plurality of protrusions, each protrusion being substantially rectangular in shape (at least Fig. 1-3 elements 22).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the handle with clamping ring taught by the combination of Volk ‘133 and Volk ‘201 with the clamping ring protrusions taught by Volk ‘778 with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “the flaps 22 retract in a second direction partially toward their initial flat position, lodging behind the knuckles 13 and preventing the retainer from slipping off the hocks” (Volk ‘778 [Col. 2 lines 36-47]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GEORGE SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673