Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 set forth in the amendment submitted 8/21/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7-12, filed 8/21/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, 14 and 16-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by TAKAHASHI et al. (Hereinafter, “Takahashi”) in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20170315672 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi ‘672 A1 in view of Kim in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20200117312 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi ‘672 A1 in view of Kim ‘312 A1, as applied to claims 1 and 14 above and further in view of HWANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hwang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20160282999 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 7, 9-13 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi ‘672 A1 in view of HWANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hwang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20160282999 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 9-12 of the remarks, filed on 8/21/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, 14 and 16-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by TAKAHASHI et al. (Hereinafter, “Takahashi”) in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20170315672 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi ‘672 A1 in view of Kim in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20200117312 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi ‘672 A1 in view of Kim ‘312 A1, as applied to claims 1 and 14 above and further in view of HWANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hwang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20160282999 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 7, 9-13 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi ‘672 A1 in view of HWANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hwang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20160282999 A1, that, “Third, and relatedly, Takahashi does not disclose "an inspection circuit configured to drive the inspection board using the touch IC" as claimed in Claims 1 and 14. Takahashi's circuit board inspection device 1 is affirmatively configured to drive the board P under test using its own internal AC power source 2, which supplies the AC signal to the connection terminals by way of selector switch SW2 (see paras. [0068-0069]: "The selector switch SW2 switches the connecting destinations of each of the connection terminals Ty1-Ty5 between the AC power source 2 and circuit ground. The AC power source 2 supplies an AC signal to the connection terminal Ty selected by the selector switch SW2."). The driving stimulus in Takahashi originates within the inspection device itself; the device of Takahashi is not configured to drive the board using the touch IC (Remarks-Page 9).
……………….
In view of the foregoing, Takahashi fails to teach all of the claimed limitations of Claim 1 and 14. Claims 3-6 and 8 depend from Claim 1, and Claims 16-19 depend from Claim 14. These claims are allowable at least by virtue of their dependence from allowable independent claims, and additionally recite further features. Withdrawal of the § 102 rejection is respectfully requested (Remarks-Page 10).
……………
As amended, Claim 2 depends from Claim 1 and is believed to be allowable for at least the reasons given for Claim 1………..
Claim 15 depends from independent Claim 14 and is believed to be allowable for at least the reasons given for Claim 14 (Remarks-Page 11).
Claims 7 and 9-13 depend from Claim 1, and Claim 20 depends form Claim 14. The dependent claims are believed to be allowable for at least the reasons given for the respective independent claims (Remarks-Page 12).”
As an initial matter, consider that Claims 1 and 14 recite "touch integrated circuit (IC) inspection device configured to detect a defect in a touch IC, the touch IC inspection device". In contrast, the rejection points to features of the touchscreen circuit board P as anticipating features of the claimed device(s); however, the touchscreen circuit board P of Takahashi is the device under test, and not at all a component of the circuit board inspection device 1.
……………
Note that the claimed inspection board can emulate or simulate a sensor layer (see para. [0146], e.g., "the inspection board IB may have substantially the same function as the sensor layer 200"); the inspection board can function as a sensor layer to test the touch ICs. This concept is absent from Takahashi. Accordingly, Claims 1 and 14 are believed to be allowable over the teachings of Takahashi.”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 9-12, of the remarks, filed on 8/21/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, 14 and 16-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by TAKAHASHI et al. (Hereinafter, “Takahashi”) in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20170315672 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi ‘672 A1 in view of Kim in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20200117312 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi ‘672 A1 in view of Kim ‘312 A1, as applied to claims 1 and 14 above and further in view of HWANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hwang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20160282999 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 7, 9-13 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi ‘672 A1 in view of HWANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hwang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20160282999 A1, as applied to the Final office Action mailed on 7/14/2026 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Because applicant has amended the claims and added the limitation in independent claims 1 and 14, “A touch integrated circuit (IC) inspection device configured to detect a defect in a touch IC that is configured to drive a sensor layer of a display device, the touch IC inspection device comprising: an inspection board configured to electrically connect to the touch IC and to perform a function of the sensor layer of the display device; and an inspection circuit configured to drive the inspection board using the touch IC and receive an inspection result of the touch IC that is obtained by driving the inspection board using the touch IC.” which necessitates a new ground of rejection. Therefore, Hung et al. (Hereinafter, “Hung”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20090251429 A1 is applied to meet at least the amended limitation of claims 1 and 14 as set forth below. Therefore Claim(s) 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKAHASHI et al. (Hereinafter, “Takahashi”) in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20170315672 A1 in view of Hung et al. (Hereinafter, “Hung”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20090251429 A1, as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is therefore moot in view of newly applied combination of references. See the rejection set forth below.
Dependent Claim(s) 3-6, 8 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKAHASHI et al. (Hereinafter, “Takahashi”) in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20170315672 A1 in view of Hung et al. (Hereinafter, “Hung”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20090251429 A1, dependent Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi ‘672 A1 in view of Hung ‘429 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20200117312 A1, dependent claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi ‘672 A1 in view of Hung ‘429 A1 and Kim ‘312 A1, as applied to claims 1 and 14 above and further in view of HWANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hwang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20160282999 A1 and dependent claim(s) 7, 9-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi ‘672 A1 in view of Hung ‘429 A1, as applied to claims 1 and 14 above and further in view of HWANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hwang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20160282999 A1, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly applied combination of references. See the rejection set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, 14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKAHASHI et al. (Hereinafter, “Takahashi”) in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20170315672 A1 in view of Hung et al. (Hereinafter, “Hung”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20090251429 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi teaches a touch integrated circuit (IC) inspection device [Figure 1] (a circuit board inspection device and a circuit board inspection method whereby in the inspecting of circuit boards, such as e.g., touchscreens; Paragraph [0007] Line 2-4; FIG. 1 is a block diagram schematically representing one example of the configuration of a circuit board inspection device; Paragraph [0052] Line 6-8) configured to detect defect in a touch IC (preamble of the claim and therefore not required by the claim; The recitation that configured to detect defect in a touch IC that is configured to drive a sensor layer of a display device, has not been given patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause, Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA
1951)), comprising:
an inspection board [P] (In the touchscreen circuit board P (as the inspection board); Paragraph [0054] Line 1) (The circuit board inspection device 1 illustrated in FIG. 1 is connected with a touchscreen circuit board P (circuit board) that is an inspection target; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-3; Thus, almost the entirety of the region capable of detecting a touch position (hereafter referred to as “touch region”) is covered by any of the X electrodes X1-X4 and the Y electrodes Y1-Y4; Paragraph [0060] Line 7-10); and
an inspection circuit [1 comprising 3+4+5+6] (The circuit board inspection device 1 illustrated in FIG. 1 is furnished with: an AC power source 2 (AC voltage output unit); an ammeter 3 (current detection unit); a control unit 4; a display unit 5 (notification unit); an operation unit 6; Paragraph [0052] Line 9-13) configured to drive the inspection board [P] (The connection terminals Tx1-Tx7 and Ty1-Ty5 are connection terminals configured to be connectable with the circuit board terminals Px1-Px7 and Py1-Py5. The connection terminals Tx1-Tx7 and Ty1-Ty5 are configured to be connected with the circuit board terminals Px1-Px7 and Py1-Py5 so that the connection terminals Tx1-Tx7 and Ty1-Ty5 are brought into electrical continuity with the X electrodes X1-Xx7 and the Y electrodes Y1-Y5, for example, when the user mounts the touchscreen circuit board P that is the inspection target to a predetermined mount position in the circuit board inspection device 1; Paragraph [0067] Line 1-11; The selector switch SW1 switches the connecting destinations of each of the connection terminals Tx1-Tx7 between the ammeter 3 and circuit ground. The selector switch SW2 switches the connecting destinations of each of the connection terminals Ty1-Ty5 between the AC power source 2 and circuit ground; Paragraph [0068] Line 1-6; switch of the inspection circuit connects the connection terminal with the electrodes of the touch IC and supplies signal to the inspection board. Therefore inspection circuit drives the inspection board using the touch IC) and receives an inspection result (The touchscreen circuit board P is prearranged so that when the touchscreen circuit board P is assembled into a product and used, an AC signal, at a preestablished reading frequency f0 for reading capacitance at the positions where the X electrodes X and the Y electrodes Y intersect, is supplied to the Y electrodes Y via the connection terminals Ty and the circuit board terminals Py and supplied to the X electrodes X via the capacitance at the intersecting positions; Paragraph [0065] Line 1-8; The ammeter 3 detects the electric current flowing in the connection terminals Tx selected by the selector switch SW1 and outputs the information indicating the current value I and the phase difference θ to the control unit 4; Paragraph [0070] Line 1-4),
wherein the inspection board [P] includes:
a plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] in Figure 1, each of which extends in a first direction (y-axis direction) (In the touchscreen circuit board P, a plurality of X electrodes X1-X4 (first electrodes) spaced from each other and extending along the y-axis direction (first direction); Paragraph [0054] Line 1-3) and which are spaced apart from one another in a second direction (x-axis direction) that intersects the first direction (In the touchscreen circuit board P, a plurality of X electrodes X1-X4 (first electrodes) spaced from each other and extending along the y-axis direction (first direction); Paragraph [0054] Line 1-3; Figure 1: Modified a portion of Figure 1 of Takahashi below shows a plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] in Figure 1, each of which extends in a first direction spaced apart from one another in a second direction (x-axis direction) that intersects the first direction); and
Figure 1: Modified a portion of Figure 1 of Takahashi
a plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4], each of which extends in the second direction (x-axis direction) (a plurality of Y electrodes Y1-Y4 spaced from each other and extending along the x-axis direction (second direction) perpendicular to the y-axis direction are formed on a plate-shaped transparent substrate Pa such as, e.g., glass, so as to oppose each other across the thickness of the touchscreen circuit board P (i.e., in a direction orthogonal to the plane of the drawing); Paragraph [0054] Line 4-10) and which are spaced apart from one another in the first direction (y-axis direction) (a plurality of Y electrodes Y1-Y4 spaced from each other and extending along the x-axis direction (second direction) perpendicular to the y-axis direction are formed on a plate-shaped transparent substrate Pa such as, e.g., glass, so as to oppose each other across the thickness of the touchscreen circuit board P (i.e., in a direction orthogonal to the plane of the drawing); Paragraph [0054] Line 4-10; Figure 1: Modified a portion of Figure 1 of Takahashi above shows a plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4], each of which extends in the second direction (x-axis direction) spaced apart from one another in the first direction).
However Takahashi fails to teach that a touch IC that is configured to drive a sensor layer of a display device, the inspection board configured to electrically connect to the touch IC and to perform a function of the sensor layer of the display device; and the inspection circuit configured to drive the inspection board using the touch IC and receive an inspection result of the touch IC that is obtained by driving the inspection board using the touch IC.
Hung teaches a capacitive touch system and, more particularly, to a sensing method for a capacitive touch system (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3) and sensing methods for a capacitive touch system (Paragraph [0005] Line 1-2),
wherein a touch IC [24/26] in Figure 3 (As shown in FIG. 3, a capacitive touch system 20 uses at least two AI projected capacitance touch ICs 24 and 26; Paragraph [0018] Line 1-3) that is configured to drive a sensor layer of a display device [22] (As shown in FIG. 3, a capacitive touch system 20 uses at least two AI projected capacitance touch ICs 24 and 26 to scan a touch panel 22. The touch panel 22 has a plurality of first traces TRX1-TRX10 connected to the touch IC 24, and a plurality of second traces TRX11-TRX20 connected to the touch IC 26; Paragraph [0018] Line 1-6), the inspection board [22] configured to electrically connect to the touch IC [24/26] (The touch panel 22 has a plurality of first traces TRX1-TRX10 connected to the touch IC 24, and a plurality of second traces TRX11-TRX20 connected to the touch IC 26, of which the first one TRX11 of the second traces TRX11-TRX20 is next to the last one TRX10 of the first traces TRX1-TRX10; Paragraph [0018] Line 4-9) and to perform a function of the sensor layer of the display device (inspection board 22 perform a function of the sensor layer of the display device); and the inspection circuit (For this calculation, either one or both of the filtered ADC values will be sent to where to execute the calculation; Paragraph [0019] Line 22-24; where to execute the calculation is the inspection circuit. However, Takahashi discloses inspection circuit 1. Therefore Hung in view of Takahashi discloses the inspection circuit) configured to drive the inspection board [22] using the touch IC [24/26] and receive an inspection result of the touch IC that is obtained by driving the inspection board [22] using the touch IC [24/26] (As shown in FIG. 5, step S30 selects at least one from the ADC values of the traces prior to the boundary trace TRX10 and at least one from the ADC values of the traces behind the boundary trace TRX10. For example, the ADC values of the trace TRX9 prior to the boundary trace TRX10 and the trace TRX11 next to the boundary trace TRX10 are selected. Then, the selected ADC values are low-pass filtered in step S32. Finally, step S34 calculates the average of the filtered ADC values to produce a better ADC value as the sensed value of the boundary trace TRX10. This calculation may be executed by either one of the touch ICs 24 and 26, or one other than the touch ICs 24 and 26. For this calculation, either one or both of the filtered ADC values will be sent to where to execute the calculation; Paragraph [0019] Line 10-24; Claim 6). The purpose of doing so is to scan a greater number of traces is applied to a large scale touch panel (0004), to maintain a good frame rate, even the touch panel is a large scale touch panel (0006).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi to include a touch IC as disclosed by Hung, because Hung teaches to include a touch IC to drive a sensor layer scans a greater number of traces is applied to a large scale touch panel (Paragraph [0004]), maintains a good frame rate, even the touch panel is a large scale touch panel (Paragraph [0006]).
.
Regarding claim 3, Takahashi teaches a touch IC inspection device,
wherein each of the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes have a rectangular shape (not required by the claim) or
wherein each of the plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] and the plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y2] have a polygonal shape (The shape of each of the X electrodes X1-X4 and the Y electrodes Y1-Y4 has such a pattern that a plurality of small rhombuses with a uniform size are skewered on a stick; Paragraph [0060] Line 1-4; Every rhombus is a simple polygon and therefore first and second electrodes are polygonal shape), and
wherein a number of the plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] is a same as a number of the plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4] (Although an example containing four X electrodes and four Y electrodes is illustrated in FIG. 1 for convenience in illustration, the numbers of the electrodes may be determined as appropriate depending on the size of the touchscreen circuit board P and the accuracy of detecting positions; Paragraph [0057] Line 1-6).
Regarding claim 4, Takahashi teaches a touch IC inspection device,
wherein a first part of each of the plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4] and the plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4]are disposed on a same layer (plate shape transparent substrate) (In the touchscreen circuit board P, a plurality of X electrodes X1-X4 (first electrodes) spaced from each other and extending along the y-axis direction (first direction) and a plurality of Y electrodes Y1-Y4 spaced from each other and extending along the x-axis direction (second direction) perpendicular to the y-axis direction are formed on a plate-shaped transparent substrate Pa such as, e.g., glass, so as to oppose each other across the thickness of the touchscreen circuit board P (i.e., in a direction orthogonal to the plane of the drawing); Paragraph [0054] Line 1-10; the plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4] and the plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] are disposed on a same layer as the plate shape transparent substrate).
Regarding claim 5, Takahashi teaches a touch IC inspection device,
wherein the inspection board further includes:
a first resistor [Ry] electrically connected to one end of each of the plurality of first electrodes (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Takahashi below shows a first resistor [Ry] electrically connected to one end of each of the plurality of first electrodes);
and a first capacitor [C] connected between the first resistor [Ry] and a ground electrode (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Takahashi below shows a first capacitor [C] connected between the first resistor [Ry] and a ground electrode).
Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Takahashi
Regarding claim 6, Takahashi teaches a touch IC inspection device,
wherein the inspection board further includes:
a second resistor [Rf] electrically connected to one end of each of the plurality of second electrodes (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Takahashi above shows a second resistor [Rf] electrically connected to one end of each of the plurality of second electrodes); and
a second capacitor [Cf] connected between the second resistor [Rf] and the ground electrode (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Takahashi above shows a second capacitor [Cf] connected between the second resistor [Rf] and the ground electrode).
Regarding claim 8, Takahashi teaches a touch IC inspection device,
wherein the ground electrode is disposed on a same layer as a second part of each of the plurality of second electrodes (In the touchscreen circuit board P, a plurality of X electrodes X1-X4 (first electrodes) spaced from each other and extending along the y-axis direction (first direction) and a plurality of Y electrodes Y1-Y4 spaced from each other and extending along the x-axis direction (second direction) perpendicular to the y-axis direction are formed on a plate-shaped transparent substrate Pa such as, e.g., glass, so as to oppose each other across the thickness of the touchscreen circuit board P (i.e., in a direction orthogonal to the plane of the drawing); Paragraph [0054] Line 1-10; the plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4] and the plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] are disposed on a same layer as the plate shape transparent substrate and ground on the other side as the second part is also in the same layer as there is no separate layer).
Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Takahashi
Regarding claim 14, Takahashi teaches a touch integrated circuit (IC) inspection device [Figure 1] (a circuit board inspection device and a circuit board inspection method whereby in the inspecting of circuit boards, such as e.g., touchscreens; Paragraph [0007] Line 2-4; FIG. 1 is a block diagram schematically representing one example of the configuration of a circuit board inspection device; Paragraph [0052] Line 6-8) configured to detect defect in a touch IC (preamble of the claim and not required by the claim; The recitation that configured to detect defect in a touch IC that is configured to drive a sensor layer of a display device, has not been given patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause, Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA
1951)), the touch IC inspection device [Figure 1] comprising:
an inspection board [P] (In the touchscreen circuit board P (as the inspection board); Paragraph [0054] Line 1) configured to electrically connect to the touch IC (The circuit board inspection device 1 illustrated in FIG. 1 is connected with a touchscreen circuit board P (circuit board) that is an inspection target; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-3; Thus, almost the entirety of the region capable of detecting a touch position (hereafter referred to as “touch region”) is covered by any of the X electrodes X1-X4 and the Y electrodes Y1-Y4; Paragraph [0060] Line 7-10);
an inspection circuit [1 comprising 3+4+5+6] (The circuit board inspection device 1 illustrated in FIG. 1 is furnished with: an AC power source 2 (AC voltage output unit); an ammeter 3 (current detection unit); a control unit 4; a display unit 5 (notification unit); an operation unit 6; Paragraph [0052] Line 9-13) configured to drive the inspection board [P] (The connection terminals Tx1-Tx7 and Ty1-Ty5 are connection terminals configured to be connectable with the circuit board terminals Px1-Px7 and Py1-Py5. The connection terminals Tx1-Tx7 and Ty1-Ty5 are configured to be connected with the circuit board terminals Px1-Px7 and Py1-Py5 so that the connection terminals Tx1-Tx7 and Ty1-Ty5 are brought into electrical continuity with the X electrodes X1-Xx7 and the Y electrodes Y1-Y5, for example, when the user mounts the touchscreen circuit board P that is the inspection target to a predetermined mount position in the circuit board inspection device 1; Paragraph [0067] Line 1-11; The selector switch SW1 switches the connecting destinations of each of the connection terminals Tx1-Tx7 between the ammeter 3 and circuit ground. The selector switch SW2 switches the connecting destinations of each of the connection terminals Ty1-Ty5 between the AC power source 2 and circuit ground; Paragraph [0068] Line 1-6; switch of the inspection circuit connects the connection terminal with the electrodes of the touch IC and supplies signal to the inspection board. Therefore inspection circuit drives the inspection board using the touch IC) and receives an inspection result (The touchscreen circuit board P is prearranged so that when the touchscreen circuit board P is assembled into a product and used, an AC signal, at a preestablished reading frequency f0 for reading capacitance at the positions where the X electrodes X and the Y electrodes Y intersect, is supplied to the Y electrodes Y via the connection terminals Ty and the circuit board terminals Py and supplied to the X electrodes X via the capacitance at the intersecting positions; Paragraph [0065] Line 1-8; The ammeter 3 detects the electric current flowing in the connection terminals Tx selected by the selector switch SW1 and outputs the information indicating the current value I and the phase difference θ to the control unit 4; Paragraph [0070] Line 1-4),
wherein the inspection board [P] includes:
a plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] in Figure 1, each of which extends in a first direction (y-axis direction) (In the touchscreen circuit board P, a plurality of X electrodes X1-X4 (first electrodes) spaced from each other and extending along the y-axis direction (first direction); Paragraph [0054] Line 1-3) and which are spaced apart from one another in a second direction (x-axis direction) that intersects the first direction (In the touchscreen circuit board P, a plurality of X electrodes X1-X4 (first electrodes) spaced from each other and extending along the y-axis direction (first direction); Paragraph [0054] Line 1-3; Figure 1: Modified a portion of Figure 1 of Takahashi above shows a plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] in Figure 1, each of which extends in a first direction spaced apart from one another in a second direction (x-axis direction) that intersects the first direction);
a plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4], each of which extends in the second direction (x-axis direction) (a plurality of Y electrodes Y1-Y4 spaced from each other and extending along the x-axis direction (second direction) perpendicular to the y-axis direction are formed on a plate-shaped transparent substrate Pa such as, e.g., glass, so as to oppose each other across the thickness of the touchscreen circuit board P (i.e., in a direction orthogonal to the plane of the drawing); Paragraph [0054] Line 4-10) and which are spaced apart from one another in the first direction (y-axis direction) (a plurality of Y electrodes Y1-Y4 spaced from each other and extending along the x-axis direction (second direction) perpendicular to the y-axis direction are formed on a plate-shaped transparent substrate Pa such as, e.g., glass, so as to oppose each other across the thickness of the touchscreen circuit board P (i.e., in a direction orthogonal to the plane of the drawing); Paragraph [0054] Line 4-10; Figure 1: Modified a portion of Figure 1 of Takahashi above shows a plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4], each of which extends in the second direction (x-axis direction) spaced apart from one another in the first direction),
a first resistor [Ry] electrically connected to one end of each of the plurality of first electrodes (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Takahashi above shows a first resistor [Ry] electrically connected to one end of each of the plurality of first electrodes);
and a first capacitor [C] connected between the first resistor [Ry] and a ground electrode (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Takahashi above shows a first capacitor [C] connected between the first resistor [Ry] and a ground electrode).
However Takahashi fails to teach that a touch IC that is configured to drive a sensor layer of a display device, the inspection board configured to electrically connect to the touch IC and to perform a function of the sensor layer of the display device; and the inspection circuit configured to drive the inspection board using the touch IC and receive an inspection result of the touch IC that is obtained by driving the inspection board using the touch IC.
Hung teaches a capacitive touch system and, more particularly, to a sensing method for a capacitive touch system (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3) and sensing methods for a capacitive touch system (Paragraph [0005] Line 1-2),
wherein a touch IC [24/26] in Figure 3 (As shown in FIG. 3, a capacitive touch system 20 uses at least two AI projected capacitance touch ICs 24 and 26; Paragraph [0018] Line 1-3) that is configured to drive a sensor layer of a display device [22] (As shown in FIG. 3, a capacitive touch system 20 uses at least two AI projected capacitance touch ICs 24 and 26 to scan a touch panel 22. The touch panel 22 has a plurality of first traces TRX1-TRX10 connected to the touch IC 24, and a plurality of second traces TRX11-TRX20 connected to the touch IC 26; Paragraph [0018] Line 1-6), the inspection board [22] configured to electrically connect to the touch IC [24/26] (The touch panel 22 has a plurality of first traces TRX1-TRX10 connected to the touch IC 24, and a plurality of second traces TRX11-TRX20 connected to the touch IC 26, of which the first one TRX11 of the second traces TRX11-TRX20 is next to the last one TRX10 of the first traces TRX1-TRX10; Paragraph [0018] Line 4-9) and to perform a function of the sensor layer of the display device (inspection board 22 perform a function of the sensor layer of the display device); and the inspection circuit (For this calculation, either one or both of the filtered ADC values will be sent to where to execute the calculation; Paragraph [0019] Line 22-24; where to execute the calculation is the inspection circuit. However, Takahashi discloses inspection circuit 1. Therefore Hung in view of Takahashi discloses the inspection circuit) configured to drive the inspection board [22] using the touch IC [24/26] and receive an inspection result of the touch IC that is obtained by driving the inspection board [22] using the touch IC [24/26] (As shown in FIG. 5, step S30 selects at least one from the ADC values of the traces prior to the boundary trace TRX10 and at least one from the ADC values of the traces behind the boundary trace TRX10. For example, the ADC values of the trace TRX9 prior to the boundary trace TRX10 and the trace TRX11 next to the boundary trace TRX10 are selected. Then, the selected ADC values are low-pass filtered in step S32. Finally, step S34 calculates the average of the filtered ADC values to produce a better ADC value as the sensed value of the boundary trace TRX10. This calculation may be executed by either one of the touch ICs 24 and 26, or one other than the touch ICs 24 and 26. For this calculation, either one or both of the filtered ADC values will be sent to where to execute the calculation; Paragraph [0019] Line 10-24; Claim 6). The purpose of doing so is to scan a greater number of traces is applied to a large scale touch panel (0004), to maintain a good frame rate, even the touch panel is a large scale touch panel (0006).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi to include a touch IC as disclosed by Hung, because Hung teaches to include a touch IC to drive a sensor layer scans a greater number of traces is applied to a large scale touch panel (Paragraph [0004]), maintains a good frame rate, even the touch panel is a large scale touch panel (Paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 16, Takahashi teaches a touch IC inspection device,
wherein the inspection board further includes:
a second resistor [Rf] electrically connected to one end of each of the plurality of second electrodes (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Takahashi above shows a second resistor [Rf] electrically connected to one end of each of the plurality of second electrodes); and
a second capacitor [Cf] connected between the second resistor [Rf] and the ground electrode (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Takahashi above shows a second capacitor [Cf] connected between the second resistor [Rf] and the ground electrode).
Regarding claim 17, Takahashi teaches a touch IC inspection device,
wherein a first part of each of the plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4] and the plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4]are disposed on a same layer (plate shape transparent substrate) (In the touchscreen circuit board P, a plurality of X electrodes X1-X4 (first electrodes) spaced from each other and extending along the y-axis direction (first direction) and a plurality of Y electrodes Y1-Y4 spaced from each other and extending along the x-axis direction (second direction) perpendicular to the y-axis direction are formed on a plate-shaped transparent substrate Pa such as, e.g., glass, so as to oppose each other across the thickness of the touchscreen circuit board P (i.e., in a direction orthogonal to the plane of the drawing); Paragraph [0054] Line 1-10; the plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4] and the plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] are disposed on a same layer as the plate shape transparent substrate).
Regarding claim 18, Takahashi teaches a touch IC inspection device,
wherein the ground electrode is disposed on a same layer as a second part of each of the plurality of second electrodes (In the touchscreen circuit board P, a plurality of X electrodes X1-X4 (first electrodes) spaced from each other and extending along the y-axis direction (first direction) and a plurality of Y electrodes Y1-Y4 spaced from each other and extending along the x-axis direction (second direction) perpendicular to the y-axis direction are formed on a plate-shaped transparent substrate Pa such as, e.g., glass, so as to oppose each other across the thickness of the touchscreen circuit board P (i.e., in a direction orthogonal to the plane of the drawing); Paragraph [0054] Line 1-10; the plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4] and the plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] are disposed on a same layer as the plate shape transparent substrate and ground on the other side as the second part is also in the same layer as there is no separate layer).
Regarding claim 19, Takahashi teaches a touch IC inspection device,
wherein at least one of the plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] or the plurality of second electrodes [Y1=Y4] have a diamond shape (The shape of each of the X electrodes X1-X4 and the Y electrodes Y1-Y4 has such a pattern that a plurality of small rhombuses with a uniform size are skewered on a stick; Paragraph [0060] Line 1-4; Other names for rhombus include diamond, lozenge, and calisson and therefore the electrodes are diamond shape).
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi ‘672 A1 in view of Hung ‘429 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20200117312 A1.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Takahashi and Hung fails to teach a touch IC inspection device, wherein inspection circuit is configured to inspect a performance of each of a plurality of touch ICs under a same condition, and to screen a defective touch IC among the plurality of touch ICs by comparing inspection results of the plurality of touch ICs.
Kim teaches a touch screen capable of easily implementing a defect detection unit without adding masks or process steps, and a display device having the same (Paragraph [0004] Line 2-4),
wherein inspection circuit is configured to inspect a performance of each of a plurality of touch ICs under a same condition, and to screen a defective touch IC among the plurality of touch ICs by comparing inspection results of the plurality of touch ICs (Referring to FIG. 1, a touch screen 100 may include an insulating substrate 110, a touch sensing unit disposed on the insulating substrate 110, a signal input and output unit, and a defect detection unit. The insulating substrate 110 may include a sensing region 120 and a peripheral region 140. The sensing region 120 may be defined as a central region of the insulating substrate 110; Paragraph [0018] Line 1-7; Thus, the sensing electrodes 122 may be electrically connected to an external driving circuit, such as a position detection circuit, via the lines 142 and the pads 144. The defect detection unit may include an inspection line 160 disposed in the peripheral region 140 of the insulating substrate 110 and inspection pads 162 electrically connected to the inspection line 160; Paragraph [0025] Line 9-15). The purpose of doing so is to detect defects early in the manufacturing process to prevent shipment of defective display devices with low reliability and product lifetime and to detect defects early on in the manufacturing process, to prevent the shipment of a defective product through multi-stage inspection, to increase the reliability of the manufacturer's devices and to prevent consequently reputational damage due to shipment of defective products and to have the advantage of no additional manufacturing cost or process time is required to implement an additional function.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi and Hung in view of Kim, because Kim teaches to inspect a performance of each of a plurality of touch ICs under a same condition detects defects early in the manufacturing process to prevent shipment of defective display devices with low reliability and product lifetime and detects defects early on in the manufacturing process (Paragraph [0037]), prevents the shipment of a defective product through multi-stage inspection (Paragraph [0040]), increases the reliability of the manufacturer's devices and to prevent consequently reputational damage due to shipment of defective products and have the advantage of no additional manufacturing cost or process time is required to implement an additional function (Paragraph [0059]).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi ‘672 A1 in view of Hung ‘429 A1 and Kim ‘312 A1, as applied to claims 1 and 14 above and further in view of HWANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hwang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20160282999 A1.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Takahashi and Hung fails to teach a touch IC inspection device, wherein the first resistor is a variable resistor, and wherein the first capacitor is a variable capacitor and wherein the first resistor and the first capacitor are configured to adjust electrical characteristics of the inspection board to perform a function of a sensor layer of a display device.
Kim teaches a touch screen capable of easily implementing a defect detection unit without adding masks or process steps, and a display device having the same (Paragraph [0004] Line 2-4),
wherein the first resistor and the first capacitor are configured to adjust electrical characteristics of the inspection board to perform a function of a sensor layer of a display device (When the manufacture of the touch screen 100 is completed, a probe of an inspection apparatus is brought into contact with the inspection line 160 or the inspection pads 162 to measure a self-resistance value, an amount of current or an amount of charge of the inspection line 160. In a case where defects or corrosion occurs as described above, the self-resistance value of the inspection line 160 may increase, and the amount of current or the amount of charge of the inspection line 160 may decrease. Since the inspection line 160 is positioned closer to the surface of the second protective layer 170 than the lines 142, the possibility of a defect of the lines 142 may be easily predicted through a defect detected by the inspection line 160; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-13; When a change of the self-resistance value, the amount of current, or the amount of charge of the inspection line 160 is beyond a reference point, it is determined that the touch screen 100 is defective, so that the shipment of defective product can be prevented. Such an inspection may be performed not only during the manufacturing process of the touch screen 100, but also during a module state in which the touch screen 100 is assembled together with a display panel and mounted in a mold frame or a case. Therefore, it is possible to prevent the shipment of a defective product through multi-stage inspection; Paragraph [0040] Line 1-11; The touch screen 100 according to an exemplary embodiment of the present inventive concept is an example of a capacitance type touch screen. When an object such as a human hand or a pen touches the sensing region 120, a change in capacitance at a position where the object is in contact may be sensed by the sensing electrodes 122. The change in the capacitance is provided to a driving circuit via the lines 142 and the pads 144. The change in the capacitance is converted into an electrical signal so that the position of the contact input can be detected; Paragraph [0033] Line 1-10). The purpose of doing so is to detect defects early in the manufacturing process to prevent shipment of defective display devices with low reliability and product lifetime and to detect defects early on in the manufacturing process, to prevent the shipment of a defective product through multi-stage inspection, to increase the reliability of the manufacturer's devices and to prevent consequently reputational damage due to shipment of defective products and to have the advantage of no additional manufacturing cost or process time is required to implement an additional function.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi and Hung in view of Kim, because Kim teaches to include the first resistor and the first capacitor to adjust electrical characteristics of the inspection board detects defects early in the manufacturing process to prevent shipment of defective display devices with low reliability and product lifetime and detects defects early on in the manufacturing process (Paragraph [0037]), prevents the shipment of a defective product through multi-stage inspection (Paragraph [0040]), increases the reliability of the manufacturer's devices and to prevent consequently reputational damage due to shipment of defective products and have the advantage of no additional manufacturing cost or process time is required to implement an additional function (Paragraph [0059]).
The combination of Takahashi, Hung and Kim fails to teach that wherein the first resistor is a variable resistor, and wherein the first capacitor is a variable capacitor
Hwang teaches a touch screen device and a method of driving the same. More particularly, the present invention relates to a touch screen device capable of sensing a three-dimensional and/or two-dimensional touch (paragraph [0003] line 1-5),
wherein the first resistor is a variable resistor (The resistance value of the touch sensor 155 in Figure 1 is provided by an electrical or physical contact between the second electrode 132 and the elastic resistor member 150. That is, if the second electrode 132 is brought into an electrical (or physical) contact with the elastic resistor member 150 in accordance with a deformation of the second substrate 130 caused by a touch force of the user 10, the touch sensor 155 serves as a variable resistance having a resistance value determined by an electrical property of the elastic resistor member 150; Paragraph [0055] Line 1-10),
and wherein the first capacitor is a variable capacitor (The touch sensor 155 is provided for a two-dimensional and/or three-dimensional touch sensing, wherein the touch sensor 155 may selectively detect changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window 190 by the user 10; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-5; Therefore, the value of capacitance is changes and therefore it is a variable capacitor). The purpose of doing so is to provide simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity, to detect changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi, Hung and Kim in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to include a variable capacitor provides simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]) and detects changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window (Paragraph [0053]).
Claim(s) 7, 9-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi ‘672 A1 in view of Hung ‘429 A1, as applied to claims 1 and 14 above and further in view of HWANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hwang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20160282999 A1.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Takahashi and Hung fails to teach a touch IC inspection device, wherein the first resistor is a variable resistor, and wherein the first capacitor is a variable capacitor; and wherein an element value of the first resistor is adjusted to correspond to the sensor layer of the display device.
Hwang teaches a touch screen device and a method of driving the same. More particularly, the present invention relates to a touch screen device capable of sensing a three-dimensional and/or two-dimensional touch (paragraph [0003] line 1-5),
wherein the first resistor is a variable resistor (The resistance value of the touch sensor 155 in Figure 1 is provided by an electrical or physical contact between the second electrode 132 and the elastic resistor member 150. That is, if the second electrode 132 is brought into an electrical (or physical) contact with the elastic resistor member 150 in accordance with a deformation of the second substrate 130 caused by a touch force of the user 10, the touch sensor 155 serves as a variable resistance having a resistance value determined by an electrical property of the elastic resistor member 150; Paragraph [0055] Line 1-10),
and wherein the first capacitor is a variable capacitor (The touch sensor 155 is provided for a two-dimensional and/or three-dimensional touch sensing, wherein the touch sensor 155 may selectively detect changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window 190 by the user 10; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-5; Therefore, the value of capacitance is changes and therefore it is a variable capacitor);
and wherein an element value of the first resistor is adjusted to correspond to the sensor layer of the display device (The resistance value of the touch sensor 155 in Figure 1 is provided by an electrical or physical contact between the second electrode 132 and the elastic resistor member 150. That is, if the second electrode 132 is brought into an electrical (or physical) contact with the elastic resistor member 150 in accordance with a deformation of the second substrate 130 caused by a touch force of the user 10, the touch sensor 155 serves as a variable resistance having a resistance value determined by an electrical property of the elastic resistor member 150; Paragraph [0055] Line 1-10). The purpose of doing so is to provide simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi and Hung in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to include a variable resistance provides simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Takahashi and Hung fails to teach a touch IC inspection device, wherein the inspection board further includes: a first ground layer disposed on the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes; and a second ground layer disposed under the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes.
Hwang teaches a touch screen device and a method of driving the same. More particularly, the present invention relates to a touch screen device capable of sensing a three-dimensional and/or two-dimensional touch (paragraph [0003] line 1-5),
wherein the inspection board further includes:
a first ground layer [130] (substrate 130 as the first ground layer) (Referring to FIG. 1, the touch screen device according to one embodiment of the present invention may include first and second substrates 110 and 130; Paragraph [0035] Line 1-3) disposed on the plurality of first electrodes [112] and the plurality of second electrodes [132] in Figure 1 (The second substrate 130 may be formed of the same material as that of the first substrate 110. The second substrate 130 confronts an upper surface of the first substrate 110; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-2; The first electrode 112 is disposed on the upper surface of the first substrate 110; Paragraph [0038] Line 1-2); and
a second ground layer [110] (substrate 110 as the second ground layer) (Referring to FIG. 1, the touch screen device according to one embodiment of the present invention may include first and second substrates 110 and 130; Paragraph [0035] Line 1-3) disposed under the plurality of first electrodes [112] and the plurality of second electrodes [132] (The first electrode 112 is disposed on the upper surface of the first substrate 110; Paragraph [0038] Line 1-2). The purpose of doing so is to provide simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity, to detect changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi and Hung in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to include a first and second ground layers provides simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]) and detects changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window (Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Takahashi and Hung fails to teach a touch IC inspection device, wherein a plurality of first slits, each of which extends in the second direction and which are spaced apart from one another in the first direction, are disposed on the first ground layer, and wherein the plurality of first slits overlap the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes.
Hwang teaches a touch screen device and a method of driving the same. More particularly, the present invention relates to a touch screen device capable of sensing a three-dimensional and/or two-dimensional touch (paragraph [0003] line 1-5),
wherein a plurality of first slits (gap space) in Figure 6, each of which extends in the second direction and which are spaced apart from one another in the first direction, are disposed on the first ground layer (The touch panel 500 is disposed on a display surface of a display panel (not shown) for, for example, a portable electronic device, wherein the touch panel 500 senses a touch by a user, conductive object, or non-conductive object. The touch panel 500 according to one embodiment of the present invention may include a first substrate 510 having the first electrode 512, a second substrate 530 having the second substrate 532, an elastic resistor member 550 disposed between the first and second electrodes 512 and 532, and a support member 570 for preparing a gap space (GS) between the elastic resistor member 550 and the second electrode 532; Paragraph [0074] Line 1-11), and
wherein the plurality of first slits overlap the plurality of first electrodes [512] and the plurality of second electrodes [532] (Figure 6 shows the plurality of first slits overlap the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes). The purpose of doing so is to provide simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity and to detect changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi and Hung in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to include a plurality of first slits, each of which extends in the second direction and which are spaced apart from one another in the first direction provides simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]) and detects detect the position of a touch made by a non-conductive object (Paragraph [0007]), detects changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window (Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Takahashi and Hung fails to teach a touch IC inspection device, wherein self-capacitance of each of the plurality of first electrodes is controlled by a width, in a first direction, of each of the plurality of first slits.
Hwang teaches a touch screen device and a method of driving the same. More particularly, the present invention relates to a touch screen device capable of sensing a three-dimensional and/or two-dimensional touch (paragraph [0003] line 1-5),
wherein self-capacitance of each of the plurality of first electrodes is controlled by a width, in a first direction, of each of the plurality of first slits (That is, the second electrode 132 and the elastic resistor member 150 are maintained at the gap height (GH) by the support member 170. If the second electrode 132 is electrically (or physically) separated from the elastic resistor member 150, the touch sensor 155 has the capacitance determined by a dielectric constant of the gap space (GS) and the elastic resistor member 150 disposed between the first and second electrodes 112 and 132; Paragraph [0054] Line 3-11). The purpose of doing so is to provide simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity and to detect changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi and Hung in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to control self-capacitance of each of the plurality of first electrodes by a width, in a first direction, of each of the plurality of first slits provides simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]) and detects detect the position of a touch made by a non-conductive object (Paragraph [0007]), detects changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window (Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Takahashi and Hung fails to teach a touch IC inspection device, wherein a plurality of second slits, each of which extends in the first direction and which are spaced apart from one another in the second direction, are disposed on the second ground layer, and wherein the plurality of second slits overlap the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes.
Hwang teaches a touch screen device and a method of driving the same. More particularly, the present invention relates to a touch screen device capable of sensing a three-dimensional and/or two-dimensional touch (paragraph [0003] line 1-5),
wherein a plurality of second slits, each of which extends in the first direction and which are spaced apart from one another in the second direction, are disposed on the second ground layer (The touch panel 500 is disposed on a display surface of a display panel (not shown) for, for example, a portable electronic device, wherein the touch panel 500 senses a touch by a user, conductive object, or non-conductive object. The touch panel 500 according to one embodiment of the present invention may include a first substrate 510 having the first electrode 512, a second substrate 530 having the second substrate 532, an elastic resistor member 550 disposed between the first and second electrodes 512 and 532, and a support member 570 for preparing a gap space (GS) between the elastic resistor member 550 and the second electrode 532; Paragraph [0074] Line 1-11), and
wherein the plurality of second slits overlap the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes (Figure 6 shows the plurality of second slits overlap the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes in another direction). The purpose of doing so is to provide simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity and to detect changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi and Hung in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to include a plurality of second slits, each of which extends in the first direction and which are spaced apart from one another in the second direction provides simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]) and detects detect the position of a touch made by a non-conductive object (Paragraph [0007]), detects changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window (Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Takahashi and Hung fails to teach a touch IC inspection device, wherein a plurality of openings, each of which has a polygonal shape and which are arranged in the first direction and the second direction, are disposed on the first ground layer, and wherein the plurality of openings overlap the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes.
Hwang teaches a touch screen device and a method of driving the same. More particularly, the present invention relates to a touch screen device capable of sensing a three-dimensional and/or two-dimensional touch (paragraph [0003] line 1-5),
wherein a plurality of openings, each of which has a polygonal shape (Figure 6: Modified a portion of Figure 6 of Hwang) and which are arranged in the first direction and the second direction, are disposed on the first ground layer [530] (The touch panel 500 is disposed on a display surface of a display panel (not shown) for, for example, a portable electronic device, wherein the touch panel 500 senses a touch by a user, conductive object, or non-conductive object. The touch panel 500 according to one embodiment of the present invention may include a first substrate 510 having the first electrode 512, a second substrate 530 having the second substrate 532, an elastic resistor member 550 disposed between the first and second electrodes 512 and 532, and a support member 570 for preparing a gap space (GS) between the elastic resistor member 550 and the second electrode 532; Paragraph [0074] Line 1-11), and
wherein the plurality of openings overlap the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes (Figure 6: Modified a portion of Figure 6 of Hwang below shows the plurality of openings overlap the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes). The purpose of doing so is to provide simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity, to detect the position of a touch made by a non-conductive object.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi and Hung in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to include a plurality of openings, each of which has a polygonal shape provides simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]) and detects detect the position of a touch made by a non-conductive object (Paragraph [0007]).
Figure 6: Modified a portion of Figure 6 of Hwang
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Takahashi and Hung fails to teach a touch IC inspection device, wherein at least one of the plurality of first electrodes or the plurality of second electrodes have a rectangular shape.
Hwang teaches a touch screen device and a method of driving the same. More particularly, the present invention relates to a touch screen device capable of sensing a three-dimensional and/or two-dimensional touch (paragraph [0003] line 1-5),
wherein at least one of the plurality of first electrodes or the plurality of second electrodes have a rectangular shape (Referring to FIGS. 1 and 6, the touch screen device according to one embodiment of the present invention may include a touch panel 500 having a touch sensor 555 between first and second electrodes 512 and 532 confronting each other; Paragraph [0073] Line 1-5; Figure 6 shows that the first electrodes 532 and second electrodes 512 are rectangular in shape). The purpose of doing so is to provide simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity, to detect the position of a touch made by a non-conductive object.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi and Hung in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to have at least one of the plurality of first electrodes or the plurality of second electrodes a rectangular shape provides simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]), detects the position of a touch made by a non-conductive object (Paragraph [0007]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
HAN et al. (US 20160232395 A1) discloses, “SENSOR SCREEN AND DISPLAY DEVICE INCLUDING THE SAME- [0003] The present disclosure relates to a sensor screen and a display device including the same, and more particularly to a sensor screen having a fingerprint recognition function and a display device including the same. [0041] Referring to FIG. 1, the sensor screen according to the first embodiment of the invention includes a first base member SUB1 and a second base member SUB2 which are positioned opposite each other and attached to each other. The sensor screen may further include a flexible printed circuit board FPC, of which one end is disposed at one end of the sensor screen. [0045] A fingerprint sensor FS is disposed in the first bezel area BA of one of the first and second base members SUB1 and SUB2. The first embodiment of the invention describes that the fingerprint sensor FS is disposed in the first bezel area BA of an upper surface of the first base member SUB1 opposite the second base member SUB2, and the second base member SUB2 is attached to the upper surface of the first base member SUB1, but is not limited thereto. [0046] The fingerprint sensor FS is disposed in a portion of the first bezel area BA. The fingerprint sensor FS includes a plurality of first fingerprint electrodes Fx1 to Fx6, which are arranged in the portion of the first bezel area BA in a first direction (for example, x-axis direction), and a plurality of second fingerprint electrodes Fy1 to Fy6, which are arranged in a second direction (for example, y-axis direction) crossing the first direction. The first fingerprint electrodes Fx1 to Fx6 and the sea second fingerprint electrodes Fy1 to Fy6 may be insulated from each other with an insulating layer interposed therebetween. Alternatively, an insulating pattern may be disposed only at each crossing of the first fingerprint electrodes Fx1 to Fx6 and the second fingerprint electrodes Fy1 to Fy6 and may insulate the first fingerprint electrodes Fx1 to Fx6 from the second fingerprint electrodes Fy1 to Fy6-However Han does not disclose A touch integrated circuit (IC) inspection device configured to detect a defect in a touch IC that is configured to drive a sensor layer of a display device,…. an inspection circuit configured to drive the inspection board using the touch IC and receive an inspection result of the touch IC that is obtained by driving the inspection board using the touch IC.”
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858