DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 is vague and indefinite. On line 2, the phrase “an assembly proof of a set plate attached to the frame” is unclear. What is the difference between the set plate set forth in this claim and the set plate set forth on line 6 of independent Claim 1? Are they the same plate or are there two different plates?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawamata (Japanese Patent No. 2014-113142).
With respect to Claim 1, Kawamata, Figures 1-11, teaches an electric fishing reel 100 comprising a drive motor 12 (See Figures 10-11) that is provided in a frame 7 of a reel main body and rotationally drives a spool 10 around which a fishing line is wound, the electric fishing reel comprising:
a motor case (outer circumference of motor 12) that houses a motor component of the drive motor and is attached to the frame 7;
a set plate 19a attached to the frame 7; and
a fitting structure 7d that fits the motor case to the set plate 19a.
With respect to Claim 2, Kawamata further teaches wherein the set plate 19a houses a deceleration mechanism 5 that reduces an output of the drive motor, and a gear 31 constituting a driving force transmission mechanism that transmits a driving force to the spool is supported.
With respect to Claim 3, Kawamata further teaches wherein the fitting structure 7d comprises a protrusion or a recess formed in the motor case and formed along an axial direction, and a recess or a protrusion formed in the set plate and into which the protrusion or the recess of the motor case is fitted, and the protrusion and the recess have a circular shape centered on an output shaft of the drive motor.
With respect to Claim 4, Kawamata further teaches wherein the protrusion formed in the motor case serves as an assembly proof of a set plate attached to the frame.
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Whisenhunt by (U.S. Patent No. 5,954,285).
With respect to Claim 1, Whisenhunt, Figures 1-5, teaches an electric fishing reel comprising a drive motor that is provided in a frame 3 of a reel main body and rotationally drives a spool around which a fishing line is wound, the electric fishing reel comprising:
a motor case (outer circumference of element 4) that houses a motor component 4 of the drive motor and is attached to the frame 3;
a set plate 2 attached to the frame 3; and
a fitting structure 25 that fits the motor case to the set plate.
With respect to Claim 2, Whisenhunt further teaches wherein the set plate houses a deceleration mechanism 12,13,14 that reduces an output of the drive motor, and a gear 11 constituting a driving force transmission mechanism that transmits a driving force to the spool is supported.
With respect to Claim 3, Whisenhunt further teaches wherein the fitting structure comprises a protrusion or a recess (See Figure 5) formed in the motor case and formed along an axial direction, and a recess or a protrusion formed in the set plate 2 and into which the protrusion or the recess of the motor case is fitted, and the protrusion and the recess have a circular shape centered on an output shaft of the drive motor.
With respect to Claim 4, Whisenhunt further teaches wherein the protrusion formed in the motor case serves as an assembly proof of a set plate 2 attached to the frame 3.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Steffan (U.S. Patent No. 4,784,346).
With respect to Claim 1, Steffan, Figures 1-5, teaches an electric fishing reel comprising a drive motor 58 that is provided in a frame 10 of a reel main body and rotationally drives a spool 16 around which a fishing line is wound, the electric fishing reel comprising:
a motor case (outer circumference of element 58) that houses a motor 58 component of the drive motor and is attached to the frame 10;
a set plate 30 attached to the frame; and
a fitting structure 42 that fits the motor case to the set plate 30.
With respect to Claim 2, Steffan further teaches wherein the set plate 30 houses a deceleration mechanism 108 that reduces an output of the drive motor, and a gear 112 constituting a driving force transmission mechanism that transmits a driving force to the spool is supported.
With respect to Claim 3, Steffan further teaches wherein the fitting structure comprises a protrusion 42 or a recess formed in the motor case and formed along an axial direction, and a recess or a protrusion formed in the set plate and into which the protrusion or the recess of the motor case is fitted, and the protrusion and the recess have a circular shape centered on an output shaft of the drive motor.
With respect to Claim 4, Steffan further teaches wherein the protrusion 42 formed in the motor case serves as an assembly proof of a set plate attached to the frame.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/WILLIAM A. RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654