DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed May 26, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-9 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objections and 101 and 102 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed February 25, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, lines 15-16; and claims 7-8, corresponding lines, “Deep Packet Inspection” should read --deep packet inspection--.
In claim 1, lines 22 and 24; and claims 7-8, corresponding lines, “department information” should read --the department information--.
In claim 9, line 1, “according to ,” should read --according to claim 1,--.
In claim 9, line 3, “organization information” should read --the organization information--.
In claim 9, line 7, “Internet Protocol” should read --internet protocol--.
Claims 2-6 and 9 are further objected due to their dependency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zorlular (US 20180183827 A1) in view of Pilkington (US 20190044969 A1).
Regarding Claims 1 and 7-8, Zorlular teaches A network system for improving computer security of an organization comprising: a security analysis assistance apparatus; a mail server; terminal devices; a communication network connecting the mail server, the terminal devices, and the security analysis assistance apparatus, a security appliance configured to output security alerts of suspicious events that occurred in the network system; wherein the security analysis assistance apparatus comprises: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to (Zorlular: Paragraph(s) 0019, 0010-0012, 0022, 0038): A security device for improving computer security of an organization that has terminal devices connecting with a mail server and a security appliance which outputs security alerts of suspicious events that occurred in the organization via a communication network, comprising; a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to (Zorlular: Paragraph(s) 0019, 0010-0012, 0022, 0038): A method for improving computer security of an organization that has terminal devices connecting with a mail server and a security appliance which outputs security alerts of suspicious events that occurred in the organization via a communication network, comprising (Zorlular: Paragraph(s) 0019, 0010-0012, 0022, 0038);
obtain the alerts from the security appliance, each of the security alerts identifying a network address of a device in the terminal devices, the device being a subject of each of the security alerts (Zorlular: Paragraph(s) 0023, 0080, 0067 teach(es) Upon processing these indicators, the warning system may determine that an event, namely an email being sent, had occurred, and may assign various attributes and properties to the event, such as, for example, the time and date of the occurrence of the event, and the users, IP addresses, computers, servers or other actors involved);
specify a relation between a mail address used in each of the terminal devices and a network address of each of the terminal devices based on data of Deep Packet Inspection (DPI) or packet capturing of a communication path between the mail server and the terminal devices or data obtained from a request of authentication from a terminal device in the terminal devices to the mail server (Zorlular: Paragraph(s) 0080-0081, 0102, 0105 teach(es) the warning system accesses indicators of a potential cyber attack related to the resource. Examples of such indicators include proxy logs, email logs, data loss prevention logs, application firewall logs, etc.; the warning system may extract various features, such as IP addresses, ports, signatures, packet headers and other characteristics, from past alerts that were determined by an analyst to be related to a cyber attack on a resource, or that were determined by an analyst not to be related to such an attack; indicators from an email server may be matched against a set of rules to determine indicators related to emails that were sent to a recipient inside the organization and that appear to be social engineering attacks against an employee of the organization);
obtain a mail address used in the device being a subject of each of the security alerts based on the specified relation (Zorlular: Paragraph(s) 0023, 0025, 0060-0062 teach(es) Upon processing these indicators, the warning system may determine that an event, namely an email being sent, had occurred, and may assign various attributes and properties to the event, such as, for example, the time and date of the occurrence of the event, and the users, IP addresses, computers, servers or other actors involved. An event may or may not be indicative of any risk to a resource);
obtain department information for identifying a department of the organization by specifying department information associated with the obtained mail address based on organization information, the department having the device, the organization information including department information and mail addresses used in the department (Zorlular: Paragraph(s) 0025, 0060 teach(es) an analyst reviewing whether a certain user's act of e-mailing confidential documents to the user's private email account represents activity related to a cyber attack against a resource may make better decisions when presented with information regarding prior, similar activity by the user, the user's department or the user's organization);
analyze occurrence tendency of the security alerts for the department (Zorlular: Paragraph(s) 0022, 0061 teach(es) the indicators may be dynamically re-grouped and/or filtered in an interactive user interface so as to enable an analyst to quickly navigate among information associated with various alerts and efficiently evaluate the groups of alerts in the context of, for example, an audit for data breach or other activity related to a cyber attack against a resource);
visualize a result of the occurrence tendency as a visualization comprising a hierarchical configuration of the organization (Zorlular: Paragraph(s) 0100, 0025 teach(es) The alert and event graph displays a graphical representation of alerts and events for the resource; displays alerts and events based on their occurrence in time and their risk score; an analyst reviewing whether a certain user's act of e-mailing confidential documents to the user's private email account represents activity related to a cyber attack against a resource may make better decisions when presented with information regarding prior, similar activity by the user, the user's department or the user's organization).
However, Zorlular does not explicitly teach switch, based on a user operation, the visualization between displaying a first hierarchy level of the department in the hierarchical configuration and displaying a second hierarchy level of the department in the hierarchical configuration.
Pilkington from same or similar field of endeavor teaches switch, based on a user operation, the visualization between displaying a first hierarchy level of the department in the hierarchical configuration and displaying a second hierarchy level of the department in the hierarchical configuration (Pilkington: Paragraph(s) 0047, 0058, 0067-0069 teach(es) The techniques provide for the dynamic and arbitrary, but still useful, groupings of different populations to compare different population risk scores, without limiting to a pre-defined structures such as the organization's departments; The risk score for a population may be determined at different points in time in order to visualize trends in different population risk scores, without limiting to pre-defined structures (such as the organization)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Zorlular to incorporate the teachings of Pilkington for switch, based on a user operation, the visualization between displaying a first hierarchy level of the department in the hierarchical configuration and displaying a second hierarchy level of the department in the hierarchical configuration.
There is motivation to combine Pilkington into Zorlular because Pilkington’s teachings of visualization according to organization's departments would facilitate to analyze risk scores across an organization (Pilkington: Paragraph(s) 0047, 0058, 0067-0069).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Zorlular and Pilkington teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above; and Zorlular further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: analyze the occurrence tendency of the security alerts for each department at each hierarchy level in the hierarchical configuration of the organization, and visualize the occurrence tendency of the security alerts in an aspect that reflects the hierarchical configuration (Zorlular: Figs. 5-7; Paragraph(s) 0096-0098, 0105, 0025, 0100 teach(es) Referring to FIG. 5, example user interface illustrates a network overview provided by the warning system to an analyst to allow the analyst to review the risk level of all resources on the network that are being monitored by the warning system).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Zorlular and Pilkington teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above; and Zorlular further teaches wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to visualize the occurrence tendency of the security alerts in aspect where occurrence rates of the security alerts are visualized (Zorlular: Figs. 5-7; Paragraph(s) 0096-0098, 0105, 0025, 0100, as stated above with respect to claim 2).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Zorlular and Pilkington teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above; and Zorlular further teaches wherein the occurrence rates are categorized into a plurality of classes (Zorlular: Paragraph(s) 0087 teach(es) The alerts may dynamically be grouped and filtered, for example according to different alert types).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Zorlular and Pilkington teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above; and Zorlular further teaches wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to visualize the occurrence tendency in aspect where a class of an upper department of a device with the highest class is the highest (Zorlular: Paragraph(s) 0087 teach(es) the alerts may be sorted by the risk score, for example so as to show the alerts starting with the highest risk score).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Zorlular and Pilkington teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above; and Zorlular further teaches wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to visualize the occurrence tendency in aspect where occurrence tendency visualized for each higher-level department is switched to occurrence tendency visualized a lower-level department according to an operation (Zorlular: Paragraph(s) 0100 teach(es) The show historical alerts toggle switch allows the analyst, by selecting and deselecting it, to determine whether or not historical alerts, that is, alerts that have already been responded to by an analyst, should be displayed in the alert and event graph. The show events toggle switch allows the analyst by enabling or disabling it to determine whether or not events should be displayed in the alert and event graph).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Zorlular and Pilkington teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above; and Zorlular further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: obtain, from a service server, organization information specifying at least: departments forming the organization, members of the departments, and email addresses of the members; specify, based on transmission processing and processing of email used in the organization, a specification result comprising: the email addresses and Internet Protocol (IP) addresses corresponding to the email addresses; compare the specification result with the organization information; and generate organization address information specifying at least: the departments, the members, the email addresses, and the IP addresses (Zorlular: Paragraph(s) 0023, 0064, 0067, 0080, 0110 teach(es) Upon processing these indicators, the warning system may determine that an event, namely an email being sent, had occurred, and may assign various attributes and properties to the event, such as, for example, the time and date of the occurrence of the event, and the users, IP addresses, computers, servers or other actors involved; the notification and/or notification may include a URL of a webpage (or other online information) associated with the notification, such that when the device (e.g., a mobile device) receives the notification, a browser (or other application) is automatically activated and the URL included in the notification and/or notification is accessed via the Internet. Advantageously, this keeps analysts and other interested members of an organization informed about critical development, without requiring them to periodically check the status of the warning system).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103 that “cited art Zorlular fails to teach or suggest at least the claim features "visualize a result of the occurrence tendency as a visualization comprising a hierarchical configuration of the organization" and "switch, based on a user operation, the visualization between displaying a first hierarchy level of the department in the hierarchical configuration and displaying a second hierarchy level of the department in the hierarchical configuration",” examiner respectfully argues that the combination of Zorlular and Pilkington teaches the features as stated above in the 103 rejections (Zorlular: Paragraph(s) 0100, 0025; and Pilkington: Paragraph(s) 0047, 0058, 0067-0069).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Paine (US 20180255080 A1) teaches System And Method For Cyber Security Threat Detection, teaches alert and division/department/business unit inside the organization/company.
Kraning (US 20180337941 A1) teaches Correlation-Driven Threat Assessment And Remediation.
Siadati (US 20180124082 A1) teaches Classifying Logins, For Example As Benign Or Malicious Logins, In Private Networks Such As Enterprise Networks For Example, including alert, department, organization, and visualization.
Qureshi (EP 3499839 B1) teaches Mobile Device Management And Security.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CLAY C LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3699