Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed June 10th, 2026 does not place the application in condition for allowance.
The 112(b) rejections of claims 1 and 5 are maintained.
The 112(b) rejection of claim 15 is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
The rejections based over Ceria are maintained.
New rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, Applicant recites, “at least one photovoltaic panel” (two recitations), and “of the at least one photovoltaic panels” (two recitations). Its unclear from this phrasing if there is only one, or more than one, as Applicant is using the word “panel” in both plural and singular form. Appropriate action is required.
Regarding Claim 5, Applicant recites, “a pair of plates for holding end edges of the photovoltaic panels” (claim 1), and “the plate between adjacent photovoltaic panels”. Its unclear if the plate recited in claim 5 corresponds to one of the plates in the pair of plates or if it is a newly introduced distinct plate. Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-10, and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ceria (US 7,469,508 B2).
In view of Claim 1, Ceria discloses an insulated roof panel (Fig. 3) comprising:
an inner skin, (Fig. 3, #9 – bottom surface), an outer skin (Fig. 3, #7 – top surfaces including 10A-C), and an insulated material between the inner and outer skins (Fig. 3, #8) forming a panel (Fig. 3, #5 & Column 3, Lines 14-24);
the outer skin comprising raised sides forming a deck therebetween (Fig. 3, top surfaces of 10A’, 10B’, 10C);
at least one photovoltaic panel with a longitudinal axis (See Annotated Ceria Fig. 1, below) integrally adhered to the deck on the raised sides of the outer skin (Fig. 3, #14 & Column 4, Lines 14-24);
a pair of plates for holding transverse ends edge, transverse to the longitudinal axis (See Annotated Ceria Fig. 1, below) of the at least one photovoltaic panels (Figs. 3-4, #16) a clamp on each plate covering the respective transverse end edge (Fig. 4, #14A & G, these elements are present on either side of the photovoltaic panel – Column 4, Lines 33-43); and
at least one connector connecting with the photovoltaic panels for transferring electricity from the panel (Figs. 4 & 6, #14B – Column 4, Lines 13-24 & 44-67 through Column 5, Lines 1-42).
Annotated Ceria Fig. 1
In view of Claim 3, Ceria is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 2. Ceria teaches at least one photovoltaic panel has a thickness so that the photovoltaic panel exposed surface is below a terminal surface of the raised sides(Fig. 4, #14 is adhered to the deck #20 - Column 7, Lines 25-38 or Fig. 6, the plateau/notch that the PV panel rests within)
In view of Claim 4, Ceria is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Ceria teaches the plurality of photovoltaic panels are arranged in a series or parallel string connected to one another (Column 1, Lines 28-61).
In view of Claim 5, as best understood by the Examiner, Ceria is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Ceria teaches the plate between adjacent photovoltaic panels includes a clamp on each side for covering the end edges of adjacent photovoltaic panels (Fig. 4, G).
In view of Claim 6, Ceria is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Ceria teaches a junction box houses at least one connector (Figs. 4 & 6, there are wired connections coming from the PV panel Column 4, Lines 13-24 & 44-67 through Column 5, Lines 1-42).
In view of Claim 7, Ceria is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 5. Ceria teaches a junction box houses connectors from adjacent photovoltaic panels (Column 1, Lines 44-48).
In view of Claim 8, Ceria is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 3. Ceria teaches a junction box houses at least one connector (Figs. 4 & 6, there are wired connections coming from the PV panel Column 4, Lines 13-24 & 44-67 through Column 5, Lines 1-42), and the junction box exposed surfaces is positioned below the terminal surface of the raised sides (Figs, 4 & 6, bottom surface of junction box below raised sides).
In view of Claim 9, Ceria is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 2. Ceria teaches the raised sides include a standing seam (Fig. 6, 10B, where the top surface and side curved surfaces meet curved c-shaped structure is considered a “seam”).
In view of Claim 10, Ceria discloses an insulated panel roof (Fig. 1) comprising a plurality of insulated roof panels (Fig. 3) each panel having:
an inner skin, (Fig. 3, #9 – bottom surface), an outer skin (Fig. 3, #7 – top surfaces including 10A-C), and an insulated material between the inner and outer skins (Fig. 2, #8) forming a panel (Fig. 2, #4 & Column 3, Lines 14-24);
the outer skin comprising raised sides forming a deck therebetween (Fig. 3, top surfaces of 10A’, 10B’, 10C);
a plurality of photovoltaic panels, with a longitudinal axis (See Annotated Ceria Fig. 1, below), integrally adhered to the deck of each of the insulated panels (Fig. 3, #14 & Column 4, Lines 14-24);
a plurality of plates for holding transverse ends edge, transverse to the longitudinal axis (See Annotated Ceria Fig. 1, below) of the at least one photovoltaic panel (Figs. 3-4, #16) at least one clamp on each plate covering the respective transverse end edge (Fig. 4, #14A & G, these elements are present on either side of the photovoltaic panel – Column 4, Lines 33-43);
at least one connector connecting with the at least one photovoltaic panels for transferring electricity from the at least one photovoltaic panel (Figs. 4 & 6, #14B – Column 4, Lines 13-24 & 44-67 through Column 5, Lines 1-42);
the plurality of photovoltaic panels are arranged in a series or parallel string connected to one another (Column 1, Lines 28-61).
Annotated Ceria Fig. 1
In view of Claim 12, Ceria is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 10. Ceria teaches the plurality of photovoltaic panels having a thickness (Fig. 3, #14 thickness in the height direction) so that the panel bottom surface is exposed (Fig. 3, #14 bottom surface), and this bottom surface is below a terminal surface of the raised sides (Fig. 3, #14 is below the very top surface of 10A’-10C’).
In view of Claim 13, Ceria is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 10. Ceria teaches the plate between adjacent photovoltaic panels includes a clamp on each side for covering the end edges of adjacent photovoltaic panels (Fig. 4, G).
In view of Claim 14, Ceria is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 10. Ceria teaches a plurality of junction box houses at least one connector (Figs. 4 & 6, there are wired connections coming from the PV panel Column 4, Lines 13-24 & 44-67 through Column 5, Lines 1-42).
In view of Claim 15, as best understood by the Examiner, Ceria is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 12. Ceria teaches a plurality of junction boxes houses at least one connector, thus a plurality of connectors (Figs. 4 & 6, there are wired connections coming from the PV panel Column 4, Lines 13-24 & 44-67 through Column 5, Lines 1-42), and the junction box exposed surfaces is positioned below the terminal surface of the raised sides (Figs, 4 & 6, bottom surface of junction box below raised sides).
In view of Claim 16, Ceria is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 11. Ceria teaches the raised sides include a standing seam (Fig. 6, 10B, where the top surface and side curved surfaces meet curved c-shaped structure is considered a “seam”).
In view of Claim 17, Ceria discloses a method of manufacturing an insulated roof panel integrated with photovoltaic panels (Fig. 3) comprising the steps of:
forming an insulated roof panel with an inner skin, (Fig. 3, #9 – bottom surface), an outer skin (Fig. 3, #7 – top surfaces including 10A-C), and an insulated material between the inner and outer skins (Fig. 3, #8) forming a panel (Fig. 3, #5 & Column 3, Lines 14-24);
the outer skin comprising raised sides forming a deck therebetween (Fig. 3, top surfaces of 10A’, 10B’, 10C);
integrally adhering at least one photovoltaic panel with a longitudinal axis (See Annotated Ceria, Fig. 1, below) to the deck of the outer skin of the insulated panel (Fig. 3, #14 & Column 4, Lines 14-24);
positioning a pair of plates for holding transverse ends edge, transverse to the longitudinal axis (See Annotated Ceria Fig. 1, below) of the at least one photovoltaic panels (Figs. 3-4, #16) covering the transverse end edges of the photovoltaic panels with a clamp on each plate (Fig. 4, #14A & G, these elements are present on either side of the photovoltaic panel – Column 4, Lines 33-43); and
connecting at least one connector with the photovoltaic panels for transferring electricity from the at least one photovoltaic panel (Figs. 4 & 6, #14B – Column 4, Lines 13-24 & 44-67 through Column 5, Lines 1-42).
Annotated Ceria Fig. 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ceria (US 7,469,508 B2) in view of Carolan et al. (US 2012/0186633 A1).
In view of Claim 1, Ceria discloses an insulated roof panel (Fig. 3) comprising:
an inner skin, (Fig. 3, #9 – bottom surface), an outer skin (Fig. 3, #7 – top surfaces including 10A-C), and an insulated material between the inner and outer skins (Fig. 3, #8) forming a panel (Fig. 3, #5 & Column 3, Lines 14-24);
the outer skin comprising raised sides forming a deck therebetween (Fig. 3, top surfaces of 10A’, 10B’, 10C);
at least one photovoltaic panel with a longitudinal axis(See Annotated Ceria et al. Fig. 1, below) integrally adhered to the deck on the raised sides of the outer skin (Fig. 3, #14 & Column 4, Lines 14-24);
a pair of plates for holding transverse ends edge transverse to the longitudinal axis (See Annotated Ceria et al. Fig. 1, below) of the at least one photovoltaic panels (Figs. 3-4, #16) a clamp on each plate covering the respective transverse end edge (Fig. 4, #14A & G, these elements are present on either side of the photovoltaic panel – Column 4, Lines 33-43); and
at least one connector connecting with the photovoltaic panels for transferring electricity from the panel (Figs. 4 & 6, #14B – Column 4, Lines 13-24 & 44-67 through Column 5, Lines 1-42).
Carolan et al. discloses a photovoltaic panel that is integrally adhered to the deck of an insulated roof panel (Fig. 10, #20A & Paragraph 0072) and that this configuration makes it so a separate carrier for photovoltaic panels are not required (Paragraph 0070). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate Carolan et al. photovoltaic panel that is integrally adhered to the deck of an insulated roof panel in Ceria’s configuration for the advantage of not requiring a separate carrier for the photovoltaic panels.
Annotated Ceria Fig. 1
In view of Claim 3, Ceria and Carolan et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 2. Carolan teaches at least one photovoltaic panel has a thickness so that the photovoltaic panel exposed surface is below a terminal surface of the raised sides (Fig. 11).
In view of Claim 4, Ceria and Carolan et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Ceria teaches the plurality of photovoltaic panels are arranged in a series or parallel string connected to one another (Column 1, Lines 28-61).
In view of Claim 5, Ceria and Carolan et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Ceria teaches the plate between adjacent photovoltaic panels includes a clamp on each side for covering the end edges of adjacent photovoltaic panels (Fig. 4, G).
In view of Claim 6, Ceria and Carolan et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Ceria teaches a junction box houses at least one connector (Figs. 4 & 6, there are wired connections coming from the PV panel Column 4, Lines 13-24 & 44-67 through Column 5, Lines 1-42).
In view of Claim 7, Ceria and Carolan et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 5. Ceria teaches a junction box houses connectors from adjacent photovoltaic panels (Column 1, Lines 44-48).
In view of Claim 8, Ceria and Carolan et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 3. Ceria teaches a junction box houses at least one connector (Figs. 4 & 6, there are wired connections coming from the PV panel Column 4, Lines 13-24 & 44-67 through Column 5, Lines 1-42), and the junction box exposed surfaces is positioned below the terminal surface of the raised sides (Figs, 4 & 6, bottom surface of junction box below raised sides).
In view of Claim 9, Ceria and Carolan et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 2. Ceria teaches the raised sides include a standing seam (Fig. 6, 10B, where the top surface and side curved surfaces meet curved c-shaped structure is considered a “seam”).
In view of Claim 10, Ceria discloses an insulated panel roof (Fig. 1) comprising a plurality of insulated roof panels (Fig. 3) each panel having:
an inner skin, (Fig. 3, #9 – bottom surface), an outer skin (Fig. 3, #7 – top surfaces including 10A-C), and an insulated material between the inner and outer skins (Fig. 2, #8) forming a panel (Fig. 2, #4 & Column 3, Lines 14-24);
the outer skin comprising raised sides forming a deck therebetween (Fig. 3, top surfaces of 10A’, 10B’, 10C);
a plurality of photovoltaic panels with a longitudinal axis (See Annotated Ceria et al. Fig. 1, below) integrally adhered to the deck of each of the insulated panels (Fig. 3, #14 & Column 4, Lines 14-24);
a plurality of plates for holding transverse ends edge transverse to the longitudinal axis (See Annotated Ceria et al. Fig. 1, below) of the at least one photovoltaic panel (Figs. 3-4, #16) at least one clamp on each plate covering the respective transverse end edge (Fig. 4, #14A & G, these elements are present on either side of the photovoltaic panel – Column 4, Lines 33-43);
at least one connector connecting with the at least one photovoltaic panels for transferring electricity from the at least one photovoltaic panel (Figs. 4 & 6, #14B – Column 4, Lines 13-24 & 44-67 through Column 5, Lines 1-42);
the plurality of photovoltaic panels are arranged in a series or parallel string connected to one another (Column 1, Lines 28-61).
Carolan et al. discloses a photovoltaic panel that is integrally adhered to the deck of an insulated roof panel (Fig. 10, #20A & Paragraph 0072) and that this configuration makes it so a separate carrier for photovoltaic panels are not required (Paragraph 0070). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate Carolan et al. photovoltaic panel that is integrally adhered to the deck of an insulated roof panel in Ceria’s configuration for the advantage of not requiring a separate carrier for the photovoltaic panels.
Annotated Ceria Fig. 1
In view of Claim 12, Ceria and Carolan et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 10. Carolan teaches at least one photovoltaic panel has a thickness so that the photovoltaic panel exposed surface is below a terminal surface of the raised sides (Fig. 11).
In view of Claim 13, Ceria and Carolan et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 10. Ceria teaches the plate between adjacent photovoltaic panels includes a clamp on each side for covering the end edges of adjacent photovoltaic panels (Fig. 4, G).
In view of Claim 14, Ceria and Carolan et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 10. Ceria teaches a plurality of junction box houses at least one connector (Figs. 4 & 6, there are wired connections coming from the PV panel Column 4, Lines 13-24 & 44-67 through Column 5, Lines 1-42).
In view of Claim 15, as best understood by the Examiner, Ceria and Carolan et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 12. Ceria teaches a plurality of junction boxes houses at least one connector, thus a plurality of connectors (Figs. 4 & 6, there are wired connections coming from the PV panel Column 4, Lines 13-24 & 44-67 through Column 5, Lines 1-42), and the junction box exposed surfaces is positioned below the terminal surface of the raised sides (Figs, 4 & 6, bottom surface of junction box below raised sides).
In view of Claim 16, Ceria and Carolan et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 11. Ceria teaches the raised sides include a standing seam (Fig. 6, 10B, where the top surface and side curved surfaces meet curved c-shaped structure is considered a “seam”).
In view of Claim 17, Ceria discloses a method of manufacturing an insulated roof panel integrated with photovoltaic panels (Fig. 3) comprising the steps of:
forming an insulated roof panel with an inner skin, (Fig. 3, #9 – bottom surface), an outer skin (Fig. 3, #7 – top surfaces including 10A-C), and an insulated material between the inner and outer skins (Fig. 3, #8) forming a panel (Fig. 3, #5 & Column 3, Lines 14-24);
the outer skin comprising raised sides forming a deck therebetween (Fig. 3, top surfaces of 10A’, 10B’, 10C);
integrally adhering at least one photovoltaic panel with a longitudinal axis (See Annotated Ceria et al. Fig. 1, below) to the deck of the outer skin of the insulated panel (Fig. 3, #14 & Column 4, Lines 14-24);
positioning a pair of plates for holding transverse ends edge transverse to the longitudinal axis (See Annotated Ceria et al. Fig. 1, below) of the at least one photovoltaic panels (Figs. 3-4, #16) covering the transverse end edges of the photovoltaic panels with a clamp on each plate (Fig. 4, #14A & G, these elements are present on either side of the photovoltaic panel – Column 4, Lines 33-43); and
connecting at least one connector with the photovoltaic panels for transferring electricity from the at least one photovoltaic panel (Figs. 4 & 6, #14B – Column 4, Lines 13-24 & 44-67 through Column 5, Lines 1-42).
Carolan et al. discloses a photovoltaic panel that is integrally adhered to the deck of an insulated roof panel (Fig. 10, #20A & Paragraph 0072) and that this configuration makes it so a separate carrier for photovoltaic panels are not required (Paragraph 0070). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate Carolan et al. photovoltaic panel that is integrally adhered to the deck of an insulated roof panel in Ceria’s configuration for the advantage of not requiring a separate carrier for the photovoltaic panels.
Annotated Ceria Fig. 1
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Ceria et al. does not disclose that the at least one photovoltaic panel is integrally adhered or bonded to the deck as claimed. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and points out to Applicant that Ceria et al. discloses the outer skin comprises raised sides that has deck and that the pair of plates integrally forms the photovoltaic panel to the deck via clamping (See Annotated Ceria et al. Fig. 3, below). Accordingly, this argument is unpersuasive.
Annotated Ceria et al. Fig. 3
Applicant argues that Ceria et al. does not disclose at least one PV panel with a longitudinal axis and a pair of plates for holding transverse end edges transverse to the longitudinal axis. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and points out to Applicant that Ceria et al. does not disclose at least one PV panel with a longitudinal axis and a pair of plates for holding transverse end edges transverse to the longitudinal axis.
Response to Arguments
Conclusion
/DANIEL P MALLEY JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726