Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3-21, and 23-25 remain pending in the application in response to the applicant’s amendments to the rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 02/25/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 05/19/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Given the amendments to claim 1, reference to Thiel is being relied upon to teach dependent claims 3-13, 20, and 25 more-consistently with the instant claim language, as shown below.
Given the amendments to claim 1, reference to Hadjicostis is being relied upon to teach dependent claims 21 and 24 more-consistently with the instant claim language, as shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-13, 20-21, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thiel et al. (US 20130165915 A1, published June 27, 2013) in view of Hadjicostis (US 20160113633 A1, published April 28, 2016), hereinafter referred to as Thiel and Hadjicostis, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Thiel teaches a system for providing tissue analysis and visualization, the system comprising:
a console comprising a hardware processor coupled to non-transitory, computer-readable memory containing instructions executable by the processor to cause the console to (Fig. 1, processor as console; see para. 0181 – “As used herein, the terms “processor” and “central processing unit” or “CPU” are used interchangeably and refer to a device that is able to read a program from a computer memory device (e.g. ROM or other computer memory) and perform a set of steps according to the program.”):
receive three-dimensional (3D)/four-dimensional (4D) ultrasound image data, the 3D/4D image data comprising at least real-time 3D volumetric data being associated with an anatomical region of interest including a targeted tissue site and perfusion of a contrast agent therewith at least one of before, during, and after an ablation procedure being performed thereon (see para. 0184 – “The present invention is not limited to what is being monitored with the imaging devices. In some embodiments, the monitoring is imaging blood perfusion for a particular region so as to detect changes in the region, for example, before, during and after a thermal ablation procedure. In some embodiments, the monitoring includes, but is not limited to,…ultrasound imaging… For example, in some embodiments, prior to a thermal ablation procedure, a contrast agent (e.g.,…microbubbles or other suitable ultrasound contrast agent, etc.) is supplied to a subject (e.g. a patient) and the contrast agent perfusing through a particular tissue region that is undergoing the ablation procedure is monitored for blood perfusion changes.”); and
dynamically reconstruct multiple images from the 3D/4D image data to provide a real-time 3D visualization of the anatomical region of interest and targeted tissue site (see para. 0186 – “In some embodiments, the imaging data is presented as color-coded or grey scale maps or overlays of…changes in tissue perfusion, and any other tissue properties that can be measured before and after the injection of contrast material…The pixels can be color-coded, or an overlay used to demonstrate where tissue changes have occurred and are occurring. The pixels can change colors (or other properties) as the tissue property changes, thus giving a near real-time display of the progress of the treatment. This method can also be generalized to 3d/4d methods of image display.”),
wherein the visualization functionally characterizes ablation-induced tissue damage based, at least in part, on automated analysis of the contrast agent perfusion within microvasculature associated with at least the targeted tissue site (see para. 0184 – “In some embodiments, the present invention provides software designed to automatically obtain images of a tissue region (e.g.,…ultrasound imaging…), automatically detect any changes in the tissue region (e.g., blood perfusion,…etc.), and based on the detection to automatically adjust the amount of energy delivered to the tissue region through the energy delivery devices.”) .
Thiel teaches real time 3D/4D image displaying, but does not explicitly teach receiving three-dimensional (3D)/four-dimensional (4D) ultrasound image data from one of an intravascular ultrasound (IVUS) imaging device and an intracardiac echocardiography (ICE) imaging device.
Whereas, Hadjicostis, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches receive three-dimensional (3D)/four-dimensional (4D) ultrasound image data from one of an intravascular ultrasound (IVUS) imaging device and an intracardiac echocardiography (ICE) imaging device (see para. 0107 – “…an intravascular catheter having…wherein the array is configured to provide real-time imaging of the occlusion by transmitting and receiving ultrasound through the electrodes…The array may be configured to provide real-time planar (2D) or Volumetric (3D) imaging of an area distal to the distal tip.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified real time 3D/4D image displaying, as disclosed in Thiel, by receiving the three-dimensional (3D)/four-dimensional (4D) ultrasound image data from one of an intravascular ultrasound (IVUS) imaging device and an intracardiac echocardiography (ICE) imaging device, as disclosed in Hadjicostis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide high quality imaging, as taught in Hadjicostis (see para. 0005).
Furthermore, regarding claim 3, Thiel further teaches wherein the 3D visualization comprises visualization of lesion formations in the targeted tissue site (see para. 0186 – “The pixels can be color-coded, or an overlay used to demonstrate where tissue changes have occurred and are occurring. The pixels can change colors (or other properties) as the tissue property changes, thus giving a near real-time display of the progress of the treatment. This method can also be generalized to 3d/4d methods of image display [providing 3D images of lesion formation at target site].”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 4, Thiel further teaches wherein the tissue comprises microvasculature associated with the targeted tissue site (see para. 0184 – “In some embodiments, the monitoring is imaging blood perfusion for a particular region so as to detect changes in the region, for example, before, during and after a thermal ablation procedure.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 5, Thiel further teaches wherein the analysis comprises identifying perfusion characteristics in the microvasculature (see para. 0184 – “In some embodiments, the monitoring is imaging blood perfusion for a particular region so as to detect changes in the region, for example, before, during and after a thermal ablation procedure.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 6, Thiel further teaches wherein a lesion formation is identified based on the perfusion characteristics (see para. 0184 – “…automatically detect any changes in the tissue region (e.g., blood perfusion, temperature, amount of necrotic tissue, etc.), and based on the detection to automatically adjust the amount of energy delivered to the tissue region through the energy delivery devices.”; see para. 0188 – “In some embodiments, a processor adjusts the energy delivery over time to provide constant energy throughout a procedure, taking into account any number of desired factors including, but not limited to, heat, nature and/or location of target tissue, size of lesion desired…”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 7, Thiel further teaches wherein the console is configured to correlate perfusion characteristics within a given location of the microvasculature with physical characteristics of the microvasculature at said given location (see para. 0184 – “…automatically detect any changes in the tissue region (e.g., blood perfusion, temperature, amount of necrotic tissue, etc.), and based on the detection to automatically adjust the amount of energy delivered to the tissue region through the energy delivery devices.”; see para. 0188 – “In some embodiments, a processor adjusts the energy delivery over time to provide constant energy throughout a procedure, taking into account any number of desired factors including, but not limited to, heat, nature and/or location of target tissue, size of lesion desired…” it is inherent and known in the art that perfusion characteristics (i.e., blood flow) of vasculature is correlated to physical characteristics (i.e., presence of blockage) of vasculature).
Furthermore, regarding claim 8, Thiel further teaches wherein the perfusion characteristics comprise a plurality of gradations of propagation and accumulation of contrast agent into a given location of microvasculature (see para. 0184 – “…automatically detect any changes in the tissue region (e.g., blood perfusion, temperature, amount of necrotic tissue, etc.), and based on the detection to automatically adjust the amount of energy delivered to the tissue region through the energy delivery devices.”; see para. 0188 – “In some embodiments, a processor adjusts the energy delivery over time to provide constant energy throughout a procedure, taking into account any number of desired factors including, but not limited to, heat, nature and/or location of target tissue, size of lesion desired…”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 9, Thiel further teaches wherein: unobstructed propagation and accumulation of contrast agent into a given location of microvasculature is indicative of unaffected and otherwise healthy microvasculature; and lack of propagation and accumulation of contrast agent into a given location is indicative of damaged microvasculature (see para. 0184 – “…automatically detect any changes in the tissue region (e.g., blood perfusion, temperature, amount of necrotic tissue, etc.), and based on the detection to automatically adjust the amount of energy delivered to the tissue region through the energy delivery devices.”; see para. 0188 – “In some embodiments, a processor adjusts the energy delivery over time to provide constant energy throughout a procedure, taking into account any number of desired factors including, but not limited to, heat, nature and/or location of target tissue, size of lesion desired…” it is inherent and known in the art that no perfusion in vasculature corresponds to blocked (damaged) vasculature).
Furthermore, regarding claim 10, Thiel further teaches wherein the damaged microvasculature is a result of ablation and the lack of propagation and accumulation of contrast agent into the given location is indicative of a portion of a lesion formation (see para. 0184 – “…automatically detect any changes in the tissue region (e.g., blood perfusion, temperature, amount of necrotic tissue, etc.), and based on the detection to automatically adjust the amount of energy delivered to the tissue region through the energy delivery devices.”; see para. 0188 – “In some embodiments, a processor adjusts the energy delivery over time to provide constant energy throughout a procedure, taking into account any number of desired factors including, but not limited to, heat, nature and/or location of target tissue, size of lesion desired…” it is inherent and known in the art that ablation damages vasculature, stopping blood flow (lack of propagation and accumulation of contrast agent)).
Furthermore, regarding claim 11, Thiel further teaches wherein the console is configured to characterize a lesion formation based, at least in part, on correlation of the perfusion characteristics with physical characteristics of a given location of the microvasculature (see para. 0184 – “…automatically detect any changes in the tissue region (e.g., blood perfusion, temperature, amount of necrotic tissue, etc.), and based on the detection to automatically adjust the amount of energy delivered to the tissue region through the energy delivery devices.”; see para. 0188 – “In some embodiments, a processor adjusts the energy delivery over time to provide constant energy throughout a procedure, taking into account any number of desired factors including, but not limited to, heat, nature and/or location of target tissue, size of lesion desired…”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 12, Thiel further teaches wherein the physical characteristics are one or more of flow, microflow, and stiffness (see para. 0184 – “…automatically detect any changes in the tissue region (e.g., blood perfusion, temperature, amount of necrotic tissue, etc.), and based on the detection to automatically adjust the amount of energy delivered to the tissue region through the energy delivery devices.”; see para. 0188 – “In some embodiments, a processor adjusts the energy delivery over time to provide constant energy throughout a procedure, taking into account any number of desired factors including, but not limited to, heat, nature and/or location of target tissue, size of lesion desired…”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 13, Thiel further teaches wherein characterization comprises providing a visual indication of at least one of an extent of the lesion formation, transmurality of the lesion formation, and continuity of an ablation path associated with the lesion formation (see para. 0186 – “The pixels can be color-coded, or an overlay used to demonstrate where tissue changes have occurred and are occurring. The pixels can change colors (or other properties) as the tissue property changes, thus giving a near real-time display of the progress of the treatment. This method can also be generalized to 3d/4d methods of image display [providing 3D images of lesion formation in real time at target site].”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 20, Thiel further teaches wherein the contrast agent is injected into vasculature at least one of before and after performing one or more ablation procedures (see para. 0184 – “For example, in some embodiments, prior to a thermal ablation procedure, a contrast agent (e.g.,…microbubbles or other suitable ultrasound contrast agent, etc.) is supplied to a subject (e.g. a patient) and the contrast agent perfusing through a particular tissue region that is undergoing the ablation procedure is monitored for blood perfusion changes.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 21, Hadjicostis further teaches a catheter-based ultrasound imaging device operably coupled to the console and configured to transmit ultrasound pulses to, and receive echoes of the ultrasound pulses from at least one of intravascular and intracardiac tissue (see para. 0107 – “…an intravascular catheter having…wherein the array is configured to provide real-time imaging of the occlusion by transmitting and receiving ultrasound through the electrodes…The array may be configured to provide real-time planar (2D) or Volumetric (3D) imaging of an area distal to the distal tip.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 25, Thiel further teaches wherein the anatomical region of interest and targeted tissue site are associated with myocardial tissue (see para. 0215 – “In some embodiments, the tissue region comprises one or more of the heart [myocardial tissue]…”).
The motivation for claim 21 was shown previously in claim 1.
Claims 14-19 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thiel in view of Hadjicostis, as applied to claim 11 above, and in further view of Panescu (US 20030208123 A1, published November6, 2003), from IDS, hereinafter referred to as Panescu.
Regarding claim 14, Thiel in view of Hadjicostis teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 11 above.
Thiel in view of Hadjicostis teaches characterizing a lesion formation, but does not explicitly teach segmenting a lesion formation into at least three different regions.
Whereas, Panescu, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein the console is configured to segment a given lesion formation into at least three different regions comprising a core region, a border region immediately adjacent to and surrounding the core region, and a periphery region immediately adjacent to and surrounding the border region (Fig. 7; see para. 0037 "The ultrasound image shows a cross-section of a heart chamber containing the ablation lesion 630. In the ultrasound image, the ablation lesion 630 appears as a dark region [core region], while the live tissue 625 in the heart chamber wall 740 surrounding the ablation lesion 630 appears as a white region [periphery region] due to the presence of echogenic particles in the live tissue 625." Where a "border region" (boundary) between the lesion (core region) and live tissue (periphery region) is inherent).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified characterizing a lesion formation, as disclosed in Thiel in view of Hadjicostis, by also segmenting a lesion formation into at least three different regions, as disclosed in Panescu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to further provide a physician with valuable feedback on the extent and/or depth of an ablation lesion during an ablation procedure, as taught in Panescu (see para. 0038).
Furthermore, regarding claim 15, Panescu further teaches wherein a core region of a lesion formation is associated with a complete, or near complete, lack of propagation and accumulation of contrast agent into a given location of the microvasculature and appears normal within a 3D ultrasound image (see para. 0029 "The tissue in the ablation lesion is characterized by necrosis (i.e., dead tissue). In addition, the capillaries in the ablation lesion are closed, stopping blood flow to the tissue in the ablation lesion." It is inherent that a lesion itself has no flow (lack of propagation, and accumulation of contrast agent)).
Furthermore, regarding claim 16, Panescu further teaches wherein a border region of a lesion formation is associated with some propagation and accumulation of contrast agent into a given location of the microvasculature and presents a stronger backscatter signal within a 3D ultrasound image as compared to a backscatter signal associated with the core region (see para. 0029 "The tissue in ablation lesion is characterized by necrosis (i.e., dead tissue). In addition, the capillaries in the ablation lesion are closed, stopping blood flow to the tissue in the ablation lesion." It is inherent that the area around a lesion has some flow ("some" propagation and accumulation of contrast agent)).
Furthermore, regarding claim 17, Panescu further teaches wherein a periphery region of a lesion formation is associated with substantially unobstructed propagation and lack of accumulation of contrast agent into a given location of microvasculature and presents a weaker backscatter signal within a 3D ultrasound image as compared to backscatter signals associated with the border region a short time after injection (see para. 0029 "The tissue in the ablation lesion is characterized by necrosis(i.e., dead tissue). In addition, the capillaries in the ablation lesion are closed, stopping blood flow to the tissue in the ablation lesion." It is inherent that the area upstream of a lesion has normal flow (unobstructed propagation and lack of accumulation of contrast agent)).
Furthermore, regarding claim 18, Panescu further teaches wherein the console performs segmentation of a given lesion formation based, at least in part, on a segmentation algorithm (Fig. 7; see para. 0037 "The ultrasound image shows a cross-section of a heart chamber containing the ablation lesion 630. In the ultrasound image, the ablation lesion 630 appears as a dark region, while the live tissue 625 in the heart chamber wall 740 surrounding the ablation lesion 630 appears as a white region due to the presence of echogenic particles in the live tissue 625." Where segmenting a lesion in an image based on a segmentation algorithm is inherent and known in the art).
Furthermore, regarding claim 19, Panescu further teaches wherein the segmentation algorithm comprises at least one of automatic thresholding, connected component analysis, and neural network-based segmentation (Fig. 7; see para. 0037 "The ultrasound image shows a cross-section of a heart chamber containing the ablation lesion 630. In the ultrasound image, the ablation lesion 630 appears as a dark region, while the live tissue 625 in the heart chamber wall 740 surrounding the ablation lesion 630 appears as a white region due to the presence of echogenic particles in the live tissue 625." Where segmenting a lesion in an image based on a segmentation algorithm, including thresholding and neural network-based segmentation, is inherent and known in the art).
Furthermore, regarding claim 23, Panescu further teaches wherein the console is configured to receive at least full circumferential, 3D image data from the ultrasound imaging device in real, or near- real time, and the console is configured to reconstruct multiple images in real, or near-real time, based, at least in part, on at least one of user input and predefined protocols (see para. 0025 "The local imaging subsystem35 may continuously update the ultrasound image to provide a real-time image of the body."; see para. 0026 "To obtain a three-dimensional image of a body volume, the ultrasound transducer 25 may be displaced axially within the catheter body 415 by, e.g., pulling back the drive shaft 430. As the transducer 25 is displaced axially, the ultrasound transducer 25 is rotated [full circumferential] to obtain multiple cross-sectional images (i.e., "slices") of the body at different positions within the body. The ultrasound image processor 330 then aggregates (i.e., pieces together) the multiple cross-sectional images to reconstruct he volume of the body using known volume reconstruction methods [predefined protocols].").
Furthermore, regarding claim 24, Hadjicostis further teaches wherein the console is configured to provide a 3D visualization of the anatomical region of interest and targeted tissue site during an ablation procedure being performed on the targeted tissue site (see para. 0107 – “…wherein the electrodes are configured to deliver energy sufficient to ablate portions of the occlusion and thereby assist the catheter in crossing the occlusion; and an ultrasound array located at the distal end of the catheter proximal to the electrodes, wherein the array is configured to provide real-time imaging of the occlusion by transmitting and receiving ultrasound through the electrodes...The array may be configured to provide real-time planar (2D) or volumetric (3D) imaging of an area distal to the distal tip.”).
The motivation for claims 15-19 and 23 was shown previously in claim 14, and the motivation for claim 24 was shown previously in claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Comaniciu et al. (US 20180078313 A1, published March 22, 2018) discloses generating a map of fluid perfusion of the soft tissue of the liver of the patient.
Chen (US 20200275975 A1, published September 3, 2020) discloses a real-time image of the target tissue is generated during the ablation. The real-time blood perfusion level of the target tissue is determined from the real time image and compared to an initial blood perfusion level of the target tissue. The comparison provides a metric for the progress of the ablation, and ablation is halted when the real-time blood perfusion drops below a threshold level relative to the initial blood perfusion level.
Dadiani et al. (US 20200167926 A1, published May 28, 2020) discloses acquires a sequence of images from the medical imager using a Dynamic Contrast Enhanced (DCE) imaging protocol, performs image registration, detects the contour of the solid tumor, and dividing the contours to segments.
Wekselman et al. (US 20230008606 A1, published January 12, 2023) discloses a catheter for producing 3D ultrasound images of the heart chambers in real time.
Hennersperger et al. (US 20210085287 A1, published March 25, 2021) discloses a catheter-based ultrasound imaging system configured to provide a full circumferential 360-degree view around an intra-vascular/intra-cardiac imaging-catheter-head by generating a real time three-dimensional view of the tissue surrounding the imaging-head over time.
Waaler et al. (US 20100040544 A1, published February 18, 2020) discloses regions which do not have contrast agent uptake are considered “non-perfused’ or destroyed by the thermal effects of the focused ultrasound.
Shmatukha et al. (US 20130079626 A1, published March 28, 2013) discloses discrimination is made based on pixels corresponding to abnormal perfusion (e.g. ablation lesions) and normal perfusion (e.g. normal tissue) form distinctive lobes separated by a minimum formed due to the presence of border pixels. Segmentation of cumulative dynamic contrast enhancement maps by thresholds identified on Such histograms is employed to separate abnormally-per fused tissue from the normally-perfused tissue without any user interactions, freeing the user from the necessity to analyze and interpret original dynamic contrast enhancement images or maps derived from them.
Angelsen et al. (US 20050203396 A1, published September 15, 2005) discloses an ultrasound imaging probe for real time 3D ultrasound imaging from the tip of the probe that can be inserted into the body.
E. Light et al, “Update of Two Dimensional Arrays for Real Time Volumetric and Real Time Intracardiac Imaging”, 1999 Ultrasonics Symposium, pp. 1217-1220, 1999 discloses 2D array transducers operating for real time volumetric and intracardiac imaging.
E. Light et al, “Real-Time 3-D Ultrasound Guidance of Interventional Devices”, IEEE Trans Ultrason Ferroelectr Freq Control, vol. 55, no. 9, pp. 1-30, Sept. 2008 discloses using standard 3-D phased-array beaming forming techniques to generate real-time 3D images, including 3-D volume rendering, 3-D pulse wave Doppler, and 3-D color flow Doppler.
Y. You et al, “Feasibility of 3D US/CEUS-US/CEUS fusion imaging-based ablation planning in liver tumors: a retrospective study”, Abdominal Radiology, vol. 46, pp. 2865-2874, Sept. 2020 discloses ablation planning based on fusion imaging of three-dimensional ultrasound/contrast enhanced ultrasound (3D US/CEUS) with real-time US/CEUS for liver tumor thermal ablation.
C. Wilson et al, “Contrast-enhanced ultrasound for abdominal image-guided procedures”, Abdominal Radiology, vol. 48, pp. 1438-1453, Feb. 2023 discloses CEUS allows real-time imaging during biopsies and placement of ablation probes, improving visualization and targeting in abdominal image-guided procedures, without nephrotoxicity or radiation exposure.
Z. Wang et al, “The role of quantitation of real-time 3-dimensional contrast-enhanced ultrasound in detecting microvascular invasion: an in vivo study”, Abdom Radiol, vol. 21, pp. 1973-1979, 2016 discloses real time quantitative perfusion analysis of 3-dimensional (3D) contrast enhanced ultrasound (CEUS) in detecting microvascular invasion (MVI) of liver tumor in vivo.
W. Luo et al, “Three-Dimensional Contrast Enhanced Sonography of Vascular Patterns of Focal Liver Tumors: Pilot Study of Visualization Methods”, AJR AM J Roentgenol., vol. 192, no. 1, pp. 165-173, Jan. 2009 discloses three-dimensional sonography with a perflubutane-based contrast agent is useful in the evaluation of vascular patterns of focal liver tumors.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798