DETAILED ACTION
Citation to the Specification will be in the following format: (S. # : ¶) where # denotes the page number and ¶ denotes the paragraph number of the pre-grant publication corresponding to this application: US 2025/0372742. Citation to patent literature will be in the form (Inventor # : LL) where # is the column number and LL is the line number. Citation to the pre-grant publication literature will be in the following format (Inventor # : ¶) where # denotes the page number and ¶ denotes the paragraph number.
Status of Application
This office action is in response to the papers as filed 7/3/2024.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
112(a)
I. Claims 16-20 – or as stated below – is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement.
The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The analysis for determining whether a claim is supported by the disclosure is cast in terms of whether “undue experimentation” is necessary to practice the invention. See MPEP 2164.01. In examining the claims in light of the supporting disclosure, the Federal Circuit has provided a non-exclusive list of factors to consider in determining whether a disclosure is enabling. See generally In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988). These factors include:
The breadth of the claims;
The nature of the invention;
The state of the prior art;
The level of one of ordinary skill;
The level of predictability in the art;
The amount of direction provided by the inventor;
The existence of working examples; and
The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure
Id. “Whether undue experimentation is needed is not a single, simple factual determination, but rather is a conclusion reached by weighing many factual considerations.” Id. The Examiner has considered all factors in light of all claims rejected makes the following findings of fact:
The breadth of the claims
Claim 16 is some manner of Beauregard1 claim. The claim recites:
16. A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising computer-readable instructions for causing an automated apparatus to perform targeted recovery of graphite from a mass of broken lithium-ion batteries (LIBs) by:
deriving black mass from the mass of broken LIBs;
treating the black mass with nitric acid (HNO3) to dissolve the lithium and the one or more other node metals to form a solution; and
separating the graphite, which is insoluble, from the solution.
Note the “non-transitory computer-readable medium” and “computer-readable instructions” language. The claim – like the ““system”” claims – repackage the method claims into different classes of statutory subject matter. The claim is broad in that it extends to software for any and all equipment used in the recovery of graphite, as claimed.
The nature of the invention
The invention is some manner of software for recovering graphite from lithium ion batteries.
The state of the prior art
Methods for recovering graphite from lithium ion batteries exist. US 2020/0331003 to Kochhar, et al., applied below, is representative.
The level of one of ordinary skill
The invention apparently requires knowledge of lithium ion batteries, recovering components from lithium ion batteries, and writing computer software to execute recovering components from lithium ion batteries. The level of skill in the art would appear to be high and specialized.
The level of predictability in the art
The level of predictability in the art requires a threshold inquiry of determining what is seeking to be predicted. Here, it isn’t entirely clear. Insofar as Claim 16 appears to be a one-size-fits-all piece of software that provides instructions to unlimited pieces of equipment in unlimited applications (new plants, old plants, etc.), the art is understood to be unpredictable.
The amount of direction provided by the inventor
Scant guidance was provided.
The most relevant passages are reproduced below:
[0102] Various implementations disclosed herein may also be augmented, automated, or more efficiently and effectively operated in conjunction with computing systems and software specifically developed for these purposes.
[0103] FIG. 17 is a block diagram of an example computing environment that may be used in conjunction with example implementations and aspects such as those disclosed and described with regard to the other figures presented herein and herewith. The computing system environment is only one example of a suitable computing environment and is not intended to suggest any limitation as to the scope of use or functionality.
[0104] Numerous other general purpose or special purpose computing system environments or configurations may be used. Examples of well-known computing systems, environments, and/or configurations that may be suitable for use include, but are not limited to, personal computers (PCs), server computers, handheld or laptop devices, multiprocessor systems, microprocessor-based systems, network PCs, minicomputers, mainframe computers, embedded systems, distributed computing environments that include any of the above systems or devices, and the like.
[0105] Computer-executable instructions, such as program modules, being executed by a computer may be used. Generally, program modules include routines, programs, objects, components, data structures, and so forth that perform particular tasks or implement particular abstract data types. Distributed computing environments may be used where tasks are performed by remote processing devices that are linked through a communications network or other data transmission medium. In a distributed computing environment, program modules and other data may be located in both local and remote computer storage media including memory storage devices.
[0106] The various illustrative logics, logical blocks, modules, and circuits described in connection with the aspects disclosed herein may be implemented or performed with a general purpose processor, a digital signal processor (DSP), an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a field programmable gate array (FPGA), an analog-to-digital converter (ADC), or other programmable logic device, discrete gate or transistor logic, discrete hardware components, discrete data acquisition components, or any combination thereof designed to perform the functions described herein. A general-purpose processor may be a microprocessor, but, in the alternative, the processor may be any conventional processor, controller, microcontroller, or state machine. A processor may also be implemented as a combination of computing devices, for example, a combination of a DSP and a microprocessor, a plurality of microprocessors, one or more microprocessors in conjunction with a DSP core, or any other such configuration. Additionally, at least one processor may comprise one or more modules operable to perform one or more of the steps and/or actions described above.
[0107] With reference to FIG. 17, an example system for implementing aspects described herein includes a computing device, such as computing device 1700. In a basic configuration, computing device 1700 typically includes at least one processing unit 1702 and memory 1704. Depending on the exact configuration and type of computing device, memory 1704 may be volatile (such as random access memory (RAM)), non-volatile (such as read-only memory (ROM), flash memory, etc.), or some combination of the two. This basic configuration is illustrated in FIG. 17 by dashed line 1706 and may be referred to collectively as the “compute” component.
[0108] Computing device 1700 may have additional features/functionality. For example, computing device 1700 may include additional storage (removable and/or non-removable) including, but not limited to, magnetic or optical disks or tape. Such additional storage is illustrated in FIG. 17 by removable storage 1708 and non-removable storage 1710. Computing device 1700 typically includes a variety of computer readable media. Computer readable media can be any available media that can be accessed by device 1700 and may include both volatile and non-volatile media, as well as both removable and non-removable media.
[0109] Computer storage media include volatile and non-volatile media, as well as removable and non-removable media, implemented in any method or technology for storage of information such as computer readable instructions, data structures, program modules or other data. Memory 1704, removable storage 1708, and non-removable storage 1710 are all examples of computer storage media. Computer storage media include, but are not limited to, RAM, ROM, electrically erasable program read-only memory (EEPROM), flash memory or other memory technology, CD-ROM, digital versatile disks (DVD), or other optical storage, magnetic cassettes, magnetic tape, magnetic disk storage or other magnetic storage devices, or any other medium which can be used to store the information and which can be accessed by computing device 1700. Any such computer storage media may be part of computing device 1700.
[0110] Computing device 1700 may contain communication connection(s) 1712 that allow the device to communicate with other devices. Computing device 1700 may also have input device(s) 1714 such as a keyboard, mouse, pen, voice input device, touch input device, and so forth. Output device(s) 1716 such as a display, speakers, printer, and so forth may also be included. All these devices are well-known in the art and need not be discussed at length herein. Computing device 1700 may be one of a plurality of computing devices 1700 inter-connected by a network. As may be appreciated, the network may be any appropriate network, each computing device 1700 may be connected thereto by way of communication connection(s) 1712 in any appropriate manner, and each computing device 1700 may communicate with one or more of the other computing devices 1700 in the network in any appropriate manner. For example, the network may be a wired or wireless network within an organization or home or the like, and may include a direct or indirect coupling to an external network such as the Internet or the like. Moreover, PCI, PCIe, and other bus protocols might be utilized for embedding the various implementations described herein into other computing systems.
Interpretation of Disclosures Herein
[0111] It should be understood that the various techniques described herein may be implemented in connection with hardware or software or, where appropriate, with a combination of both. Thus, the processes and apparatus of the presently disclosed subject matter, or certain aspects or portions thereof, may take the form of program code (i.e., instructions) embodied in tangible media, such as floppy diskettes, CD-ROMs, hard drives, or any other machine-readable storage medium where, when the program code is loaded into and executed by a machine, such as a computer, the machine becomes an apparatus for practicing the presently disclosed subject matter.
[0112] In the case of program code execution on programmable computers, the computing device generally includes a processor, a storage medium readable by the processor (including volatile and non-volatile memory and/or storage elements), at least one input device, and at least one output device. One or more programs may implement or utilize the processes described in connection with the presently disclosed subject matter, for example, through the use of an API, reusable controls, or the like. Such programs may be implemented in a high-level procedural or object-oriented programming language to communicate with a computer system. However, the program(s) can be implemented in assembly or machine language. In any case, the language may be a compiled or interpreted language and it may be combined with hardware implementations.
[0113] Although exemplary implementations may refer to utilizing aspects of the presently disclosed subject matter in the context of one or more stand-alone computer systems, the subject matter is not so limited, but rather may be implemented in connection with any computing environment, such as a network or distributed computing environment. Still further, aspects of the presently disclosed subject matter may be implemented in or across a plurality of processing chips or devices, and storage may similarly be affected across a plurality of devices. Such devices might include PCs, network servers, and handheld devices, for example.
[0114] Certain implementations described herein may utilize a cloud operating environment that supports delivering computing, processing, storage, data management, applications, and other functionality as an abstract service rather than as a standalone product of computer hardware, software, etc. Services may be provided by virtual servers that may be implemented as one or more processes on one or more computing devices. In some implementations, processes may migrate between servers without disrupting the cloud service. In the cloud, shared resources (e.g., computing, storage) may be provided to computers including servers, clients, and mobile devices over a network. Different networks (e.g., Ethernet, Wi-Fi, 802.x, cellular) may be used to access cloud services. Users interacting with the cloud may not need to know the particulars (e.g., location, name, server, database, etc.) of a device that is actually providing the service (e.g., computing, storage). Users may access cloud services via, for example, a web browser, a thin client, a mobile application, or in other ways. To the extent any physical components of hardware and software are herein described, equivalent functionality provided via a cloud operating environment is also anticipated and disclosed.
[0115] Additionally, a controller service may reside in the cloud and may rely on a server or service to perform processing and may rely on a data store or database to store data. While a single server, a single service, a single data store, and a single database may be utilized, multiple instances of servers, services, data stores, and databases may instead reside in the cloud and may, therefore, be used by the controller service. Likewise, various devices may access the controller service in the cloud, and such devices may include (but are not limited to) a computer, a tablet, a laptop computer, a desktop monitor, a television, a personal digital assistant, and a mobile device (e.g., cellular phone, satellite phone, etc.). It is possible that different users at different locations using different devices may access the controller service through different networks or interfaces. In one example, the controller service may be accessed by a mobile device. In another example, portions of controller service may reside on a mobile device. Regardless, controller service may perform actions including, for example, presenting content on a secondary display, presenting an application (e.g., browser) on a secondary display, presenting a cursor on a secondary display, presenting controls on a secondary display, and/or generating a control event in response to an interaction on the mobile device or other service. In specific implementations, the controller service may perform portions of methods described herein.
(S. 14: [0102] – 15: [0115]). This is generic and not related to the specific instructions of Claim 16. As evidence of this, it is noted that the same disclosure is relied upon to enable a different software claim in a related application. See e.g. US 2025/0372743 to Guatam, et al. Compare (S. 14: [0102] – 15: [0115]) with (Guatam 14: [0103] – 15: [0116]). Note also that Figure 17 is the same in either application. Yet this is apparently all that is needed to make software with entirely different instructions. Compare Claim 16 with (Guatam, Claim 19).
The Specification states:
[0117] The drawings described above and the written description of specific structures and functions below are not presented to limit the scope of what has been invented or the scope of the appended claims. Rather, the drawings and written description are provided to teach any person skilled in the art to make and use the inventions for which patent protection is sought. Those skilled in the art will appreciate that not all features of a commercial implementation of the inventions are described or shown for the sake of clarity and understanding. Skilled artisans will further appreciate that block diagrams herein can represent conceptual views of illustrative circuitry embodying the principles of the technology, and that any flow charts, state transition diagrams, pseudocode, and the like represent various processes which may be embodied in computer readable medium and so executed by a computer or processor, whether or not such computer or processor is explicitly shown. The functions of the various elements including functional blocks may be provided through the use of dedicated electronic hardware as well as electronic circuitry capable of executing computer program instructions in association with appropriate software. Persons of skill in this art will also appreciate that the development of an actual commercial implementation incorporating aspects of the inventions will require numerous implementation-specific decisions to achieve the developer's ultimate goal for the commercial implementation. Such implementation-specific decisions may include, and likely are not limited to, compliance with system-related, business-related, government-related, and other constraints, which may vary by specific implementation, location, and from time to time. While a developer's efforts might be complex and time-consuming in an absolute sense, such efforts would be, nevertheless, a routine undertaking for those of skill in this art having benefit of this disclosure
(S. 15: [0117]) (emphasis added). This passage is telling, as it essentially admits that the actual instructions (and possibly the system?) is not disclosed. The Specification admits that implementing this (software, system?) “might be complex and time-consuming,” yet this is nevertheless “routine.” The Specification admits that numerous decisions are to be made, but the Specification does not discuss these decisions or how to make them. (If this is incorrect, citation with particularity would be helpful in withdrawing the rejection.)
Claim 16 requires instructions for deriving black mass from the mass of broken LIBs. No such instructions were found in the disclosure. No such instructions were found in the provisional document.
Claim 16 requires instructions for treating the black mass with nitric acid (HNO3) to dissolve the lithium and the one or more other node metals to form a solution. No such instructions were found in the disclosure. No such instructions were found in the provisional document.
Claim 16 requires instructions for separating the graphite, which is insoluble, from the solution. No such instructions were found in the disclosure. No such instructions were found in the provisional document.
The Specification states:
[0118] It should be understood that the implementations disclosed and taught herein are susceptible to numerous and various modifications and alternative forms. Thus, the use of a singular term, such as, but not limited to, “a” and the like, is not intended as limiting of the number of items. Also, the use of relational terms, such as, but not limited to, “top,” “bottom,” “left,” “right,” “upper,” “lower,” “down,” “up,” “side,” and the like, are used in the written description for clarity in specific reference to the drawings and are not intended to limit the scope of the invention or the appended claims. For particular implementations described with reference to block diagrams and/or operational illustrations of methods, it should be understood that each block of the block diagrams and/or operational illustrations, and combinations of blocks in the block diagrams and/or operational illustrations, may be implemented by analog and/or digital hardware, and/or computer program instructions. Computer program instructions for use with or by the implementations disclosed herein may be written in an object-oriented programming language, conventional procedural programming language, or lower-level code, such as assembly language and/or microcode. The program may be executed entirely on a single processor and/or across multiple processors, as a stand-alone software package or as part of another software package. Such computer program instructions may be provided to a processor of a general-purpose computer, special- purpose computer, ASIC, and/or other programmable data processing system. The executed instructions may also create structures and functions for implementing the actions specified in the mentioned block diagrams and/or operational illustrations. In some alternate implementations, the functions/actions/structures noted in the drawings may occur out of the order noted in the block diagrams and/or operational illustrations. For example, two operations shown as occurring in succession, in fact, may be executed substantially concurrently or the operations may be executed in the reverse order, depending on the functionality/acts/structure involved.
[0119] The term “computer-readable instructions” as used above refers to any instructions that may be performed by the processor and/or other components. Similarly, the term “computer-readable medium” refers to any storage medium that may be used to store the computer-readable instructions. Such a medium may take many forms, including, but not limited to, non-volatile media, volatile media, and transmission media. Non-volatile media may include, for example, optical or magnetic disks, such as the storage device. Volatile media may include dynamic memory, such as main memory. Transmission media may include coaxial cables, copper wire, and fiber optics, including wires of the bus. Transmission media may also take the form of acoustic or light waves, such as those generated during radio frequency (RF) and infrared (IR) data communications. Common forms of computer-readable media may include, for example, a floppy disk, a flexible disk, hard disk, magnetic tape, any other magnetic medium, a CD ROM, DVD, any other optical medium, punch cards, paper tape, any other physical medium with patterns of holes, a RAM, a PROM, an EPROM, a FLASH EPROM, any other memory chip or cartridge, a carrier wave, or any other medium from which a computer can read.
[0120] In the foregoing description, for purposes of explanation and non-limitation, specific details are set forth—such as particular nodes, functional entities, techniques, protocols, standards, etc.—in order to provide an understanding of the described technology. In other instances, detailed descriptions of well-known methods, devices, techniques, etc. are omitted so as not to obscure the description with unnecessary detail. All statements reciting principles, aspects, embodiments, and implementations, as well as specific examples, are intended to encompass both structural and functional equivalents, and such equivalents include both currently known equivalents as well as equivalents developed in the future, i.e., any elements developed that perform the same function, regardless of structure. While the disclosed implementations have been described with reference to one or more particular implementations, those skilled in the art will recognize that many changes may be made thereto. Therefore, each of the foregoing implementations and obvious variations thereof is contemplated as falling within the spirit and scope of the disclosed implementations, which are set forth in the claims presented below.
(S. 15: [0118] – 16: [0120]). As above, this is boilerplate. It adds nothing.
If Applicants disagree, an explanation of how the contents of paragraphs [0018]-[0120] (or any other paragraphs) teaches one of skill in the art how to write instructions for Claim 16, this would be helpful in withdrawing the rejection.
The existence of working examples
No working examples of software were presented. As understood, no working examples of the graphite recovery were, either.
No instructions were presented.
While not dispositive, this is highly probative.
The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure
The Specification admits that implementing (inventing?) this software (system?) “might be complex and time-consuming.” (S. 15: [0117]). When considered in view of the breadth of the claim and the lack of guidance in the specification, the lack of experimental evidence, etc. as detailed above, this admittedly complex and time-consuming implementation amounts to undue experimentation.
112(b)
I. Claim(s) 10 – or as stated below – is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “the removed non-node components.” Use of the definite article “the” suggests the language that follows either appears in the claim earlier, or the claim from which the claim in question depends. Here, it does neither. Stated differently, “the removed non-node components” lacks antecedent basis. MPEP 2173.05(e).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102-103
I. Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, and 15 – or as stated below - is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0331003 to Kochhar, et al.
With respect to Claim 1, this claim requires “deriving black mass from the mass of broken LIBs.” Kochhar teaches lithium ion batteries (LIBs). (Kochhar 3: [0062] et seq.; passim). The LIBs are broken. See e.g. (Kochhar 4: [0102]: “crushing, shredding, or milling the lithium-ion batteries”). Black mass is derived. (Kochhar 3: [0069]; passim).
Claim 1 further requires “treating the black mass with nitric acid (HNO3) to dissolve the lithium and one or more other node metals to form a solution.” Treatment with nitric acid is taught. (Kochhar 4: [0102]; 5: [0111]; 7: [0125]; 9: [0156]; 11: [0168]; 12: [0174]; 17: [0237]; 21: [0277]).
Claim 1 further requires “separating the graphite, which is insoluble, from the solution.” Separation of graphite is taught. See e.g. (Kochhar 4: [0102]: “In another embodiment, separating step i) comprises separating the second product stream into a graphite product stream and a third product stream…”).
As to Claim 2, non-node components are removed. (Kochhar Fig. 1A, 1B, accompanying text).
As to Claim 3, graphite, lithium and other metals are taught. Id.
As to Claim 6, heating to 2000 C would “dry” the graphite. (Kochhar 18: [0250]).
As to Claim 8, NMC batteries are taught. (Kochhar 26: [0319]).
As to Claim 9, LiFePO4 batteries are taught. (Kochhar 3: [0064]).
As to Claim 10, notwithstanding the ambiguities above, at least aluminum and copper are removed. (Kochhar Fig. 1A, 1B).
With respect to Claim 11, this claim recites in the preamble “[a] system comprising one or more subsystems for performing targeted recovery of graphite from a mass of broken lithium-ion batteries (LIBs).” All ““system”” language is interpreted broadly. As understood, the claims essentially cover “boxes” with functional language inside of them. See (S. “Figs.”). No true apparatus with actual structural features appears to be being claimed. Kochhar teaches lithium ion batteries (LIBs). (Kochhar 3: [0062] et seq.; passim). The LIBs are broken. See e.g. (Kochhar 4: [0102]: “crushing, shredding, or milling the lithium-ion batteries”). Black mass is derived. (Kochhar 3: [0069]). Graphite is recovered. (Kochhar Figs. 1A-1B; accompanying text). It is recovered by a ““system.”” (Kochhar, entire reference).
Claim 11 further requires “said system capable of: deriving black mass from the mass of broken LIBs.” Black mass is derived. (Kochhar 3: [0069]; passim). The system is so capable. Id.
Claim 11 further requires “[said system capable of …] treating the black mass with nitric acid (HNO3) to dissolve the lithium and the one or more other node metals to form a solution.” The black mass is treated with nitric acid. (Kochhar 4: [0102]; 5: [0111]; 7: [0125]; 9: [0156]; 11: [0168]; 12: [0174]; 17: [0237]; 21: [0277]). The system is so capable. Id.
Claim 11 further requires “[said system capable of…] separating the graphite, which is insoluble, from the solution.” Separation of graphite is taught. See e.g. (Kochhar 4: [0102]: “In another embodiment, separating step i) comprises separating the second product stream into a graphite product stream and a third product stream…”). The system is so capable. Id.
As to Claim 12, non-node components are removed. (Kochhar Fig. 1A, 1B, accompanying text). The system is so-capable.
As to Claim 13, the capabilities have been discussed above in Claim 11.
As to Claim 14, heating to 2000 C would “dry” the graphite. (Kochhar 18: [0250]). The system is so capable.
As to Claim 15, NMC batteries are taught. (Kochhar 26: [0319]). LiFePO4 batteries are taught. (Kochhar 3: [0064]). The system is so capable.
II. Claim(s) 4, 5 and 7 – or as stated below - is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0331003 to Kochhar, et al.
The discussion accompanying “Rejection I” above is incorporated herein by reference.
As to Claim 4, as understood no external heating is taught. The discussion of Claim 1 is relied upon. To the extent the teachings at (Kochhar 5: [0111]; 9: [0156]) can be construed as external heating (no such concession is made), it is presented as an alternative. (Kochhar 5: [0111]” “In some embodiments, leaching occurs…) (emphasis added).
As to Claim 5, Kochhar teaches leaching, albeit with sulfuric acid, for six hours. (Kochhar 23: [0300]). As Kochhar teaches sulfuric and nitric acids as substitutes for one another (Kochhar 4: [0102]), one of skill in the art would be taught, suggested and indeed motivated to treat with nitric acid for at least 6 hours.
As to Claim 7, a graphite product is taught. (Kochhar 18: [0250]). Reuse in an anode is an obvious expedient. Note the discussion of recycling in Kochhar’s introduction. (Kochhar 1: [0002]). The skilled artisan is not an automaton. KSR. They can take a product (graphite) and use it in another product that calls for graphite (an anode, etc.). To the extent more evidence is needed, official notice is taken that anodes require graphite. In support of taking official notice, as but one piece of evidence, Applicants admissions are relied upon. The Specification states:
[0002] Lithium-ion batteries (LIBs) are widely used in many different applications, from power-production storage and electric vehicles, to backup power supplies and batteries found in a variety of personal portable electronic devices. Generally, LIB batteries comprise both node materials (that is, the materials found in anodes and cathodes of batteries) and non-node materials (battery materials not part of the anode or cathode). As such, the node materials in LIBs generally comprise graphite, lithium, and other node metals, the latter being specific to the metallic composition of the cathode in the LIB.
(Kochhar 1: [0002]) (emphasis added). Use of a known product (graphite), consistent with known uses (anodes), to achieve predictable results (storage of energy) does not impart patentability. MPEP 2143; KSR.
III. Claim(s) 16-20 – or as stated below - is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0331003 to Kochhar, et al. in view of:
(i) D.M. Etter, Structured FORTRAN 77 For Engineers and Scientists, The Benjamin/Cummings Publishing Company, Inc., pp. 1-616 (1993) (hereinafter “Etter at __”).
With respect to Claims 16-20, these claims repeat language addressed above vis-à-vis Kochhar. All of those discussions are incorporated herein by reference. As to any “instructions,” Etter teaches formulating instructions for a computer. (Etter, entire reference). The combination reflects application of a known computer language (Fortran 77) to a known process (that of Kochhar) to achieve predictable results: software. This does not impart patentability. MPEP 2143; KSR.
Conclusion
/DANIEL C. MCCRACKEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736
1 In re Beauregard, 53 F.3d 1583 (Fed. Cir. 1995)