Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHRIVASTAVA US 20240187823 ‘823 in view of SHRIVASTAVA US 20240080707 ‘707.
Regarding claim 1, 8-12, SHRIVASTAVA ‘823 teaches a communication method performed by a user equipment in a mobile
communication system providing a multicast and broadcast service (MBS), the
communication method comprising:
transmitting an MBS interest indication regarding an MBS session to a serving cell, wherein
the MBS session is a broadcast session, and
the MBS interest indication does not include an MBS session identifier indicating the MBS session and includes information regarding common frequency resource for reception of
the MBS session (Furthermore, the UE 10 can inform its priority for MBS and unicast, and/or its preference for BWP/CFR/CORESET in a MBS interest indication message, [0110]).
‘823 is silent on wherein the MBS interest indication information includes information indicating bandwidth of the common frequency resource for reception of the MBS session.
‘707 teaches wherein the MBS interest indication information includes information indicating bandwidth of the common frequency resource for reception of the MBS session (common MBS interest indication message, the UE 102 may indicate in the interest indication message the MBS BWP or frequency resource, frequency information, supported band or band combination, bandwidth or BWPs supported/configured/activated, [0089]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of ‘823 by wherein the MBS interest indication information includes information indicating bandwidth of the common frequency resource for reception of the MBS session, as shown by ‘707. This modification would benefit the system by the UE informing the network of its supported bandwidth.
Regarding claim 2, the MBS interest indication comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of an identifier of an initial bandwidth part (preference for BWP, [0110]), an identifier of the common frequency resource (preference for CFR, [0110]), an identifier indicating a frequency or a resource block corresponding to the initial bandwidth part, and an identifier indicating a frequency or a resource block corresponding to the common frequency resource.
Claim(s) 3, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of SHRIVASTAVA ‘823 and ‘707 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US SHRIVASTAVA 20220132468 ‘468.
Regarding claim 3, the combination is silent on the transmitting of the MBS interest indication comprises transmitting the MBS interest indication to the serving cell when transmitting an RRC Setup Complete message or an RRC Resume Complete message to the serving cell.
‘468 teaches transmitting of the MBS interest indication comprises transmitting the MBS interest indication
to the serving cell when transmitting an RRC Setup Complete message (the UE 101 can send an MBS interest indication over MSG-5 or RRC setup complete message, [0061]) or an RRC Resume Complete message to the serving cell.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by transmitting of the MBS interest indication comprises transmitting the MBS interest indication to the serving cell when transmitting an RRC Setup Complete message, as shown by ‘3468. This modification would benefit the system by efficiently transmitting both pieces of information in a single communication.
Regarding claim 4, the MBS interest indication comprises, as the frequency information, a list of MBS frequencies that the user equipment is receiving or is interested in receiving (‘468: list of frequencies that are preferred or supported by the UE for receiving MBS, [0016]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of SHRIVASTAVA ‘823, ‘707 and ‘468 as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of US SHRIVASTAVA US 20230209315 ‘315.
The combination is silent on the MBS interest indication further comprises priority information indicating whether to prioritize reception of the MBS frequencies in the list or reception of a unicast bearer.
‘315 teaches the MBS interest indication further comprises priority information indicating whether to prioritize reception of the MBS frequencies in the list or reception of a unicast bearer (At S806, the UE (100) sends the MII message to the first network (200A) wherein the MII consists one or more broadcast service info (TMGIs), one or more frequencies and the field for priority of MBS/unicast, [0244]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by the MBS interest indication further comprises priority information indicating whether to prioritize reception of the MBS frequencies in the list or reception of a unicast bearer, as shown by ‘315. This modification would benefit the system by enabling the network to select an optimal frequency for communication with the UE.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of SHRIVASTAVA ‘823 and ‘707 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US SHRIVASTAVA US 20230209315 ‘315.
The combination is silent on wherein the MBS interest
indication includes information related to a non-serving cell which provides the MBS session.
‘315 teaches wherein the MBS interest indication includes information related to a non-serving cell which provides the MBS session (In an embodiment, the UE (100) also indicates the UE (100) baseband resource capability related assistance information, when the UE (100) starts or stops receiving MBS broadcast service from at least one non-serving cell. The signaling message, the UE capability information and/or assistance information can also be one of MBS interest
indication message, [0204]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by wherein the MBS interest indication includes information related to a non-serving cell which provides the MBS session, as shown by ‘315. This modification would benefit the system by the UE informing the network of its connection with a non-serving cell.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended independent claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RONALD B ABELSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476