DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 10-13, 15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leeflang et al. (US2022/0313946) in view of Cajamarca et al. (US2015/0119859) and Bremer (US4,753,223).
Regarding claim 1, Leeflang discloses the medical device comprising: a shaft (apparatus 10, similar to apparatus 110, may be a various catheters, a sheath or other tubular device [0031]); and a braided sheath coaxial with the shaft and at least extending along the shaft between a distal end of the shaft and a proximal end of the shaft; wherein the braided sheath includes a braiding (reinforcement layer 142 comprising reinforcement members 143 and conductors 145 [0059], conductors 45 and reinforcement member 43 extend between proximal and distal ends [0049]), and wherein the braiding includes: a plurality of mechanical strands (reinforcement members 143 [0059]), and at least one conductor electrically connected and/or communicatively connected to a first electrical device positioned at or near the distal end of the shaft (wire or conductor 145 may be coupled to a plurality of sensors, actuators, electrodes, imaging elements and/or other components 148 on a distal portion 124 of apparatus 110 [0049, 0058]). Leeflang fails to disclose a wrap layer covering the braided sheath, wherein the wrap layer includes a first layer and a second layer, wherein the second layer has different electrical properties than the first layer, however in the same field of endeavor, Cajamarca teaches a substantially similar medical device comprising a shaft (catheter 4 comprising shaft 10 [0032]), a braided sheath extending between a distal end and a proximal end of the shaft (shaft is comprised of suitable braided polyimide tube [0036]), the braided sheath comprising a plurality of mechanical strands (braid is generally a ribbon or woven pattern of stainless-steel wire [0036]). Cajamarca further teaches device comprising a polyimide wrap layer that covers the braided sheath and extends coaxially with the braided sheath, wherein the wrap layer includes a first layer and a second layer (Fig. 4: outer layer 104 and 106 covers the braided polyimide tube 100; first outer layer 104 may be a polyimide layer [0039]; second outer layer 106 may be various materials, including polyimide [0040]). In view of Cajamarca, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the polyimide wrap layer of Cajamarca, covering the braided sheath of Leeflang, as it is known in the catheter art to improve flexibility and a smooth finish to the surface of the catheter [0040].
Leeflang, modified by Cajamarca, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second layer has different electrical properties than the first layer. In the same field of endeavor, Bremer teaches substantially similar medical device comprising a shaft (Fig. 1 & 2: medical probe device 10 is a tubular multi-layered shaft [col. 3, lines 14-16]), a braided sheath coaxial with the shaft and at least extending along the shaft between a distal end of the shaft and a proximal end of the shaft (plurality of conductors 17 spirally wound [col. 3, lines 17-20]), wherein the shaft includes a braiding, and wherein the braiding includes a plurality of mechanical strands and at least one conductor (Fig 1: plurality of conductors 17 spirally wound [col. 3, lines 17-20], some of which acting as mechanical strands). Bremer further teaches a wrap layer that covers the braided sheath (Fig. 1 & 2: rigid ring 18 and insulating material 14 comprises the wrap layer that covers the plurality of conductors 17 [col. 3, lines 28-34]), the wrap layer comprising a first layer (insulating material 14) and a second layer (rigid ring 18), wherein the second layer comprises one or more conductors (Fig. 1 & 2: second layer comprising rigid rings 18 and biometal wire 20 [col. 3, line 35], which act as conductors), wherein the second layer has different electrical properties than the first layer (while rigid rings 18 are non-conductive, conductive biometal wire 20 passes through rigid rings [col. 3, lines 35], Fig. 2, which allows the second layer to have different electrical properties than the first layer, which is insulative). In view of Bremer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the biometal wires in the second layer of Leeflang, modified by Cajamarca, as it is known in the art that the biometal wires through the second layer can be heated to assist in the flexibility of the shaft [col. 4, lines 28-40].
Regarding claim 2, Leeflang, modified by Cajamarca and Bremer, discloses the medical device of claim 1. Leeflang further discloses wherein the at least one conductor is a first conductor (Fig. 3A: three conductors 145, the at least one conductor is the first of the three conductors 145 [0058]), wherein the braiding includes a second conductor electrically connected and/or communicatively connected to a second electrical device (Fig. 3B: it appears there may be at least three conductors 145, Fig. 3A: one of the three conductors 145 that is not the first conductor may be the second conductor that is connected to a second electrode 148 [0049]).
Regarding claim 3, Leeflang, modified by Cajamarca and Bremer, discloses the medical device of claim 2. Leeflang further discloses wherein the first conductor is braided clockwise along the braided sheath and the second conductor is braided counterclockwise along the braided sheath (Fig. 7A: one of element 345 is braided clockwise around the apparatus 310 from left to right, the other element 345 is braided counterclockwise along the apparatus 310 from right to left).
Regarding claim 7, Leeflang, modified by Cajamarca and Bremer, discloses the medical device of claim 1. Leeflang further discloses wherein the at least one conductor is a coated core wire (conductors may be wire with core, having insulation layer or coating [0050]).
Regarding claim 10, Leeflang, modified by modified by Cajamarca and Bremer, discloses the medical device of claim 1. Cajamarca further teaches wherein the wrap layer is a polyimide wrap layer (Fig. 4: outer layer 104 and 106 covers the braided polyimide tube 100; first outer layer 104 may be a polyimide layer [0039]; second outer layer 106 may be various materials, including polyimide [0040]).
Regarding claim 11, Leeflang, modified by modified by Cajamarca and Bremer, discloses the medical device of claim 10, wherein the wrap layer covers the braided sheath and extends coaxially with the braided sheath (Cajamarca teaches a shaft is comprised of suitable braided polyimide tube, the braid is made from ribbon or woven patterns of wire [0036], and outer layer 104 and 106 covers the braided polyimide tube 100; first outer layer 104 may be a polyimide layer [0039]; second outer layer 106 may be various materials, including polyimide [0040]; Leeflang teaches the braided sheath, modified to include the wrap layer of Cajamarca,).
Regarding claim 12, Leeflang, modified by Cajamarca and Bremer, discloses the medical device of claim 11. Cajamarca further discloses wherein the first layer is a continuous ground plane (Fig. 4: first outer layer 104 is formed of a polyimide [0039], which the material is capable as a ground plane).
Regarding claim 13, Leeflang, modified by Cajamarca and Bremer, discloses the medical device of claim 12. Bremer further teaches wherein the second layer includes one or more conductors (Fig. 1 & 2: second layer comprising rigid rings 18 and biometal wire 20 [col. 3, line 35], which act as conductors).
Regarding claim 15, Leeflang, modified by Cajamarca and Bremer, discloses the medical device of claim 13. Bremer further teaches wherein the one or more conductors are impedance controlled conductors (biometal wires comprises resistance/impedance of 3ohms [col. 4, lines 28-31], therefore an impedance-controlled conductor).
Regarding claim 21, Leeflang, modified by Cajamarca and Bremer, discloses the medical device of claim 1. Leeflang further discloses wherein the at least one conductor is a first conductor, wherein the braiding includes a second conductor, and wherein the first conductor and the second conductor each extend along an entire length of the braided sheath from the proximal end of the shaft to the distal end of the shaft (conductor 145 may comprise multiple conductors such as the three shown in Fig. 3A & 3B [0086-0087]; conductors 145 may exit at any location [0060]; conductor 145 extend helically and proximally from the distal portion 124 and may be coupled to one or more connectors and/or electronics at the proximal end [0058]).
Claims 5 and 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leeflang in view of Cajamarca, Bremer and Kampa et al. (US2008/0251966).
Regarding claim 5, Leeflang, modified by modified by Cajamarca and Bremer, discloses the medical device of claim 2. Leeflang further discloses the device comprising an end cap (cap [0033]), however is silent regarding whether the first conductor and the second conductor are electrically connected to the end cap. In the same field of endeavor, Kampa teaches a substantially similar medical device comprising a shaft (tubular body 10 for catheter [0061] with proximal end 40 and distal end 35), a braided sheath extending between a distal end and a proximal end of the shaft (core walls 25 with conductor wires and reinforcement layer 55 extend from proximal end 40 to distal end 35 [0061]), the braided sheath comprising a plurality of mechanical strands (reinforcement layer 55 comprises cylindrical wire braid [0063, 0079]) and a first conductor connected to a first electrical device positioned at or near the distal end of the shaft (conductor wire 85 extends to electrical devices such as electrodes at distal end 35 [0067]), and a second conductor connected to a second electrical device (conductor wires [0061] implies multiple conductor wires, in their respective core wall lumen 30 [0090], conductor wires extend to electrical devices at the distal end 35 [0067]). Kampa further teaches the first conductor and the second conductor are electrically connected to the end cap (conductors wires 85 exits the core walls lumens 30 to the end ring 310/cap to transmit an electrical current to the end ring 310 [0121], end ring 310 is also a cap [0116]). In view of Kampa, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the first and second conductors are electrically connected to the end cap of Leeflang, as taught by Kampa, as it allows the electric current to be delivered to the distal end of the shaft for medical diagnosis and/or treatment [0121].
Regarding claim 9, Leeflang, modified by modified by Cajamarca and Bremer, discloses the medical device of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one conductor is a coaxial cable. In the same field of endeavor, Kampa teaches a substantially similar medical device comprising a shaft (tubular body 10 for catheter [0061] with proximal end 40 and distal end 35), a braided sheath extending between a distal end and a proximal end of the shaft (core walls 25 with conductor wires and reinforcement layer 55 extend from proximal end 40 to distal end 35 [0061]), the braided sheath comprising a plurality of mechanical strands (reinforcement layer 55 comprises cylindrical wire braid [0063, 0079]) and a first conductor connected to a first electrical device positioned at or near the distal end of the shaft (conductor wire 85 extends to electrical devices such as electrodes at distal end 35 [0067]). Kampa further teaches wherein the first conductor may be a coaxial cable (conductor wire 58 may be a coaxial wire [0067]). In view of Kampa, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the conductor may be a coaxial cable, as it is well-known in the medical tubing art that conductors extending through medical catheters may be formed of various forms of conductive cabling or wires to carry an electrical current from the proximal end of the catheter to the distal of the catheter, including the coaxial cable taught by Kampa.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leeflang in view of Cajamarca, Bremer and Ackerman (US3,731,376).
Regarding claim 8, Leeflang, modified by modified by Cajamarca and Bremer, discloses the medical device of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one conductor is a stranded wire. In the same field of endeavor, Ackerman teaches a method of making a catheter, the catheter formed of a flexible core, electrically conductive electrode, and a sheath, further teaching wherein the core may be formed of solid construction or stranded wires (core may be stranded or solid construction, strands may be woven or braided together [col. 3, lines 3-10]). In view of Ackerman, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have recognized that core wire and stranded wire are suitable alternative for one another for forming a braided sheath of a catheter, and stranded wires may be preferable as provide a desirable flexibility and torque response [col. 3, lines 5-6].
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leeflang in view of Cajamarca, Bremer and Shia (US2022/0126060).
Regarding claim 22, Leeflang, modified by Cajamarca and Bremer discloses the medical device of claim 1. Leeflang teaches wherein the at least one conductor is a first conductor, wherein the braiding includes a second conductor (conductor 145 may comprise multiple conductors such as the three shown in Fig. 3A & 3B [0086-0087]), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein one of the first conductor and the second conductor is braided clockwise and the other of the first conductor and the second conductor is braided counterclockwise along the braided sheath from the proximal end of the shaft to the distal end of the shaft.
In the same field of endeavor, Shia teaches a medical device shaft (steerable catheter sheath 100 with bendable body 3 [0046] and central lumen extrusion 200 [0053]), a braided sheath coaxial with the shaft and at least extending along the shaft between a distal end of the shaft and a proximal end of the shaft (steerable sheath of the bendable body 3 includes a central lumen extrusion with a reinforcing structure [0069], reinforcing structure may be a braid structure [0069]); wherein the braided sheath includes braiding, and wherein the braiding includes: a plurality of conductors, including a first conductor and a second conductor (reinforcing structures made from coiled or braided strands of metal, which are conductors [0072]), further teaching wherein one of the first conductor and the second conductor is braided clockwise and the other of the first conductor and the second conductor is braided counterclockwise along the braided sheath from the proximal end of the shaft to the distal end of the shaft (coil of the reinforcing structure 220 is wound in a clockwise direction while the coil of the reinforcing structure 820 is wound in a counter-clockwise direction [0102]). In view of Shia, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the first conductor and second conductor are wounded in opposite directions, as it is known it the art that the combination of opposite wounded coils would improve the torsional stiffness while maintaining sufficient strength and flexibility of the sheath [0102].
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mixter (US2020/0061340) in view of Toth (US2016/0351292).
Regarding claim 24, Mixter discloses a medical device comprising: a shaft (tool member shaft 2010 [0223]); a braided sheath coaxial with the shaft and extending along the shaft between a distal end of the shaft and a proximal end of the shaft (multiple fibers and/or metal wires may be braided directly over the conductor bundle 2020 [0223]), wherein the braided sheath includes a braiding, and wherein the braiding includes a plurality of mechanical strands (multiple fibers braided directly over the conductor bundle 2020 [0223]) and a first conductor (metal wires braided directly over the conductor bundle [0223]); and a wrap layer covering at least a portion the braided sheath, wherein the wrap layer includes a second conductor and a ground layer, wherein the second conductor is disposed on one of an interior surface and an exterior surface of the wrap layer, and wherein the ground layer is disposed on the other of the interior surface and the exterior surface (the conductor braid, consisting of a layer of grounding and shielding conductors separated by an insulating polymer layer, is provided in addition to the braid of fibers and metal wire [0226]; tubes may also be coated with a metal or a conductive polymer [0226], in such a configuration, the conductor braid, covering the multiple fiber and/or metal wire braided directly over the conductor bundle 2020, comprises at least a layer of grounding conductors and shielding conductor, separated by an insulating polymer layer, wherein the layer of grounding conductors is analogous to applicant’s ground layer, and the coating with metal or a conductive polymer is analogous to applicant’s layer comprising second conductor). Mixter fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second conductor is impedance controller, however in the same field of endeavor, Toth teaches a similar elongated conductor for a medical device wherein the conductor is impedance-controlled (elongated conductor may have structure that provides a controlled impedance, impedance is tailed to the intended use of the device in which the elongated conductor is present [0074]). In view of Mixter, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the conductor is impedance controlled as it is known in the art that selectively chosen impedances in conductors allows for optimized signals for the electrical devices at the end of the conductor [0074].
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mixter in view of Toth and Shia.
Regarding claim 25, Mixter, modified by Toth, discloses the medical device of claim 24, wherein the braided sheath includes a second conductor, wherein the first conductor and the second conductor each extend along an entire length of the braided sheath at least from the proximal end of the shaft to the distal end of the shaft (multiple metal wire braided directly over the conductor bundle [0223], indicating a first metal wire and a second metal wire, analogous to the first conductor and the second conductor). Mixter and Toth fail to disclose wherein one of the first conductor and the second conductor is braided clockwise and the other of the first conductor and the second conductor is braided counterclockwise along the braided sheath, however in the same field of endeavor, Shia teaches a medical device shaft (steerable catheter sheath 100 with bendable body 3 [0046] and central lumen extrusion 200 [0053]), a braided sheath coaxial with the shaft and at least extending along the shaft between a distal end of the shaft and a proximal end of the shaft (steerable sheath of the bendable body 3 includes a central lumen extrusion with a reinforcing structure [0069], reinforcing structure may be a braid structure [0069]); wherein the braided sheath includes braiding, and wherein the braiding includes: a plurality of conductors, including a first conductor and a second conductor (reinforcing structures made from coiled or braided strands of metal, which are conductors [0072]), further teaching wherein one of the first conductor and the second conductor is braided clockwise and the other of the first conductor and the second conductor is braided counterclockwise along the braided sheath from the proximal end of the shaft to the distal end of the shaft (coil of the reinforcing structure 220 is wound in a clockwise direction while the coil of the reinforcing structure 820 is wound in a counter-clockwise direction [0102]). In view of Shia, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the first conductor and second conductor are wounded in opposite directions, as it is known it the art that the combination of opposite wounded coils would improve the torsional stiffness while maintaining sufficient strength and flexibility of the sheath [0102].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19, 20 and 23 are allowed. Claim 14 has been indicated as containing allowable subject matter. Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 14 recites the limitation requiring that the second layer of the polyimide wrap layer includes an exterior surface and an interior surface, wherein the one or more conductors of the second layer are disposed on one of the exterior surface and the interior surface, and a ground layer of the second layer is disposed on the other of the exterior surface and the interior surface. The prior arts referenced in this Office Action does teach the second layer of the polyimide wrap layer comprising a conductor, however the art fails to teach wherein the conductor is disposed on one of the exterior surface and the interior surface of the second layer of the polyimide wrap layer, and a ground layer of the second layer is disposed on the other of the exterior surface and the interior surface. Bremer appears to teach wherein the conductor is within the second layer and not located on either surface of the layer. While various prior arts cited in the PTO-892 show some of the limitations required for claim 14, individually or in lesser combinations, the prior art fails to teach this feature of including the placement of the conductor and a ground layer relative to the second layer of the polyimide wrap layer. Further, there is no reason, teaching or suggesting provided with any prior art of record to modify the polyimide wrap layer, to include wherein the conductor is on one surface of the second layer and a ground layer is on the other surface of the second layer. For the reasons stated above, claim 14 has been indicated as containing allowable subject matter.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Claim 19 has been amended to include “a wrap layer at least partially covering the braided sheath, wherein the wrap layer includes an interior surface and an exterior surface, wherein one or more conductors are disposed on one of the interior surface and the exterior surface, and wherein a ground layer is disposed on the other of the interior surface and the exterior surface”. While some prior arts referenced in this Office Action show certain elements of claim 19, individually or in lessor combinations, the prior art fails to explicitly teach or fairly suggest, alone or in combination, each and every element of claim 19. After carefully reviewing the application in light of the prior art of record and the searches of all the possible areas relevant to the present application, a set of related prior art references has been found, but those prior art references are not deemed strong to make claim 19 allowable. A hypothetical prior art rejection would require impermissible hindsight reasoning. For the reasons stated above, claims 19, 20 and 23 are allowable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 15, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has amended claim 1 to include “a wrap layer covering the braided sheath, wherein the wrap layer includes a first layer and a second layer, wherein the second layer has different electrical properties than the first layer” and argues that since the insulating layer 14 and the non-conductive rings 18 are both insulative, they do not have differing electrical properties. Upon further consideration and in light of the amendments, the examiner has reinterpreted the second layer as comprising the rigid non-conductive rings 18 and the bio-metal 20 passing through the rings 18, and the bio-metal rings comprises electrical properties that are different from that of the insulating layer 14. For the reasons stated above, the argument was not persuasive.
Claim 24 has been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mixter in view of Toth, therefore the arguments appear to be moot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See reference cited in PTO-892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LI-TING SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANHTUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
11/3/26