This is in response to the application filed on July 3, 2024. Claims 1-9 are pending. Claims 1-9 stand rejected as set forth below. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Healy (WO 2014080391 A1).
In regard to Claim 1, Healy discloses an inflatable tent which is compact and portable, the inflatable tent (Fig 1) comprises: a base (bottom sheet portion 23) and walls (top sheet portion 22) forming an enclosure (Fig 2); a door (door flaps 7,8) configured on a front wall (top sheet portion 22) of the walls; and a bedding (mattress 2) coupled to an upper surface of the base (bottom sheet portion 23) (Fig 1), wherein the bedding is inflatable (pg 4), the bedding comprises one or more inflatable pillows (a pillow 11) and an inflatable mattress (Fig 5), wherein the inflatable tent is configured to automatically pop up to erect from a folded state (pg 7, 10).
In regard to Claim 2, Healy discloses wherein the door (door flaps 7,8) is secured using a zipper (pg 10).
In regard to Claim 9, Healy discloses a method for taking rest during travel, the method comprises: providing an inflatable tent, the inflatable tent comprises (Fig 1): a base (bottom sheet portion 23) and walls (top sheet portion 22) forming an enclosure (Fig 2); a door (door flaps 7,8) configured on a front wall (top sheet portion 22) of the walls (pg 2); and a bedding (mattress 2) coupled to an upper surface of the base (bottom sheet portion 23) (Fig 1), wherein the bedding is inflatable (pg 4), the bedding comprises one or more inflatable pillows (a pillow 11) and an inflatable mattress (Fig 5), wherein the inflatable tent is configured to automatically pop up to erect from a folded state (pg 10, 17); removing the inflatable tent from a casing; erecting of the inflatable tent (pg 10, 17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Healy as applied above, and in further view of Smith (US 20160286982 A1).
In regard to Claim 3, Healy discloses the inflatable tent as described above, but does not disclose an anchor on the base of the tent that secures the zipper. Smith teaches wherein the inflatable tent further comprises an anchor (carabiner 68) on the base near the front wall, wherein the anchor (carabiner 68) is configured to secure the zipper (zipper 38) in a closed state (closed position) of the door (Fig 9) [0036]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inflatable tent as disclosed by Healy to include an anchor that secures the zipper. Additionally, it would have been obvious to move the anchor to inside the tent in order to increase the safety and security of individuals within the tent.
Claim 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Healy.
In regard to Claim 4, Healy discloses the inflatable tent as described above, but does not disclose a luggage space between the mattress and front wall of the tent. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include space at the foot of the inflatable mattress in order to have an area for storing luggage in.
In regard to Claim 5, Healy discloses wherein the one or more inflatable pillows (pillow 11) and the inflatable mattress (mattress 2) comprises a common inflation port (secondary air valve 13) (pg 7, 8), wherein the one or more pillows (pillow 11) are attached to a top surface of the inflatable mattress (mattress 2) and the inflatable mattress is attached to the base (bottom sheet portion 23) (pg 7, 9).
In regard to Claim 6, Healy discloses wherein the inflatable tent further comprises one or more pockets (transparent flap 42) configured in an extended side portion of the inflatable mattress (pg 13).
In regard to Claim 7, Healy discloses wherein the inflatable tent further comprises one or more pockets (transparent flap 42) configured in a side wall of the walls of the inflatable tent (pg 13).
In regard to Claim 8, Healy discloses wherein the inflatable tent further comprises a mesh window (top vent 39) configured in one wall of the walls of the inflatable tent (pg 13).
Conclusion
/Audrey Fisher/Examiner, Art Unit 3635
/BRIAN D MATTEI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3635