DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control unit” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ben-Avi (Publication Number 20220100492) in view of TORIUMI et al. (‘TORIUMI’ hereinafter) (Publication Number 20240160414).
As per claim 1, Ben-Avi teaches
An information processing apparatus comprising: (see abstract, background, and paragraphs [0030]-[0031])
a first device; a second device; (processing devices, paragraphs [0028]-[0030])
a control unit configured to implement control to update or restore at least one of a first program of the first device or a second program of the second device; (update software on computer, paragraphs [0060],[0081])
and a storage configured to store a first version of the second program of the second device, wherein (software update package with updates version of trusted software provided from cloud-based computer, paragraphs [0100]-[0101]&[0115])
the first device includes a plurality of storage areas for respectively holding a first version and a second version of the first program, (different respective memory locations for storing current and updated versions of trusted software, respectively, paragraph [0115])
when restoring the first program of the first device, the control unit makes a setting in the first device so as to switch a storage area used for startup among the plurality of the storage areas, (switching from the current version of the trusted software to the updated version of the trusted software that are stored in different respective memory areas where software has booting metadata, paragraph [0115])
Ben-Avi does not explicitly indicate “the second device includes a storage area for holding a second version of the second program different from the first version of the second program” or “and when restoring the second program of the second device, the control unit rewrites the storage area of the second device with the first version of the second program stored in the storage”.
However, TORIUMI discloses “the second device includes a storage area for holding a second version of the second program different from the first version of the second program” (first and second storage areas, paragraph [0002], where it is noted that ‘for’ indicates intended use of the storage area and is not required to be taught), “and when restoring the second program of the second device, the control unit rewrites the storage area of the second device with the first version of the second program stored in the storage” (rewrite program with newer version based on update received, paragraph [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ben-Avi and TORIUMI because using the steps claimed would have given those skilled in the art the tools to improve the invention by correcting defects or fixing problems in software (see TORIUMI, paragraph [0002]). This gives the user the advantage of avoiding downtime due to software problems/defects.
As per claim 2,
Ben-Avi does not explicitly indicate “when updating the first program of the first device, the control unit rewrites one storage area of the plurality of the storage areas with a latest version of the first program and makes a setting so as to switch the storage area used for the startup to the one storage area holding the latest version of the first program, and when updating the second program of the second device, the control unit causes a current version of the second program held in the storage area of the second device to be held in the storage, and rewrites the storage area of the second device with a latest version of the second program”.
However, TORIUMI discloses “when updating the first program of the first device, the control unit rewrites one storage area of the plurality of the storage areas with a latest version of the first program and makes a setting so as to switch the storage area used for the startup to the one storage area holding the latest version of the first program, and when updating the second program of the second device, the control unit causes a current version of the second program held in the storage area of the second device to be held in the storage, and rewrites the storage area of the second device with a latest version of the second program” (first and second storage areas, paragraph [0002], rewrite program with newer version based on update received, paragraph [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ben-Avi and TORIUMI because using the steps claimed would have given those skilled in the art the tools to improve the invention by correcting defects or fixing problems in software (see TORIUMI, paragraph [0002]). This gives the user the advantage of avoiding downtime due to software problems/defects.
As per claim 3, Ben-Avi teaches
the information processing apparatus includes a plurality of devices including one or more of the first devices and one or more of the second devices, and the control unit identifies that the one device corresponds to the first device, based on device configuration information indicating that one device of the plurality of devices is either the first device or the second device. (paragraph [0028])
As per claim 4, Ben-Avi teaches
the device configuration information indicates a number of storage areas included in each of the plurality of devices. (numbered software stacks indicate number of storage areas, paragraph [0107])
As per claim 5, Ben-Avi teaches
the first device includes a startup control unit configured to acquire information indicating the storage area to be used for the startup from a non-volatile memory, read the first program from the storage area indicated by the information, and load the first program in a work area, and the second device includes a startup control unit configured to read the second program from the storage area of the second device and load the second program in a work area. (software booting metadata, paragraph [0115])
As per claim 6,
Ben-Avi does not explicitly indicate “restoring of the first program of the first device and restoring of the second program of the second device are executed in response to an instruction to restore the information processing apparatus”.
However, TORIUMI discloses “restoring of the first program of the first device and restoring of the second program of the second device are executed in response to an instruction to restore the information processing apparatus” (rewrite program with newer version based on update received, paragraph [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ben-Avi and TORIUMI because using the steps claimed would have given those skilled in the art the tools to improve the invention by correcting defects or fixing problems in software (see TORIUMI, paragraph [0002]). This gives the user the advantage of avoiding downtime due to software problems/defects.
As per claim 7, Ben-Avi teaches
the control unit and the storage are provided in the first device, the second device, or in other devices different from the first device and the second device (paragraphs [0060],[0081]).
As per claim 8, Ben-Avi teaches
the information processing apparatus is an image processing apparatus. (paragraph [0028])
As per claim 9, Ben-Avi teaches
the plurality of the storage areas of the first device are obtained by dividing a storage area in a storage device included in the first device. (numbered software stacks indicate number of storage areas where storage area is divided based on number of stacks, paragraph [0107])
As per claim 10,
This claim is rejected on grounds corresponding to the reasons given above for rejected claim 1 and is similarly rejected.
As per claim 11,
Ben-Avi does not explicitly indicate “rewriting one storage area of the plurality of the storage areas with a latest version of the first program and making a setting so as to switch the storage area used for the startup to the one storage area holding the latest version of the first program, when updating the first program of the first device; and causing a current version of the second program held in the storage area of the second device to be held in the storage, and rewriting the storage area of the second device with a latest version of the second program, when updating the second program of the second device”.
However, TORIUMI discloses “rewriting one storage area of the plurality of the storage areas with a latest version of the first program and making a setting so as to switch the storage area used for the startup to the one storage area holding the latest version of the first program, when updating the first program of the first device; and causing a current version of the second program held in the storage area of the second device to be held in the storage, and rewriting the storage area of the second device with a latest version of the second program, when updating the second program of the second device” (first and second storage areas, paragraph [0002], rewrite program with newer version based on update received, paragraph [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ben-Avi and TORIUMI because using the steps claimed would have given those skilled in the art the tools to improve the invention by correcting defects or fixing problems in software (see TORIUMI, paragraph [0002]). This gives the user the advantage of avoiding downtime due to software problems/defects.
As per claims 12-13,
These claims are rejected on grounds corresponding to the reasons given above for rejected claims 10-11 and are similarly rejected.
Conclusion
/JAY A MORRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2151