DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-7 9, 11,17 of U.S. Patent No. 12033452. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recite the same core architecture: (1) a first currency counting device, (2) a second currency counting device (3) a computing device coupled to both counting devices comprising a processor, memory and software that controls the counting devices. Further, the independent claims ae broader than the issued independent claims in certain respects and where they are narrower, they consist of routine design choices well within the skill of a person of ordinary skill in the art. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to operate a dual-device currency counting system without a prescribed touch panel instruction sequences. The claims are directed to the same inventive concept a dual-device currency counting and reporting system controlled by a central computing device and are not patentably distinct. Accordingly, pending claims 1, 19, 20 are not patentably distinct from issued claims 1, 11, 17. While pending claims 2-5 are not patentably distinct from issued claim 1, pending claim 6 is not patentably distinct from issued claims 2-3, pending claim 7 is not patentably distinct from issued claim 4, pending claims 8-9 are not patentably distinct from issued claims 1, 11, pending claims 10-12 are not patentably distinct from claim 1, pending claim 13 is not patentably distinct from claim 1, pending claims 14-15 are not patentably distinct from claim 9, pending claim 16 is not patentably distinct from issued claims 6,7, 10, pending claims 17-18 are not patentably distinct from issued claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doi et al (US-2009/0184034) in view of Tachibana et al (US-2021/0295633).
Referring to claim 1. Doi et al (herein “Doi”) discloses a “Method and System For Sorting Bank Notes, Providing A Change Fund and Balancing Revenue”. See Figs. 1-10 and respective portions of the specification. Doi further discloses a system for comprising: a first currency counting device configured to count a first type of currency (See at least Sect. 0011-0013, 0039); a second currency counting device (240) configured to count a second type of currency (Coins) that is different from the first type of currency (See at least Sect. 0074-0075); Doi further discloses the apparatus includes a controller (120) that determines the value of banknotes and controls soring and counting operations of the apparatus and discloses that the apparatus processes banknotes associated with point-of-sale operations (See at least 0003-0007, 0010-0014, 0017-0020, 0030-0039). Doi does not disclose a computing device coupled to both the first and second county device, the computing device comprising at least one processor; memory, and software stored on the memory, the software comprising a control program that when executed by the at least one processor, controls one or both of the first currency counting device to count the firs type of currency or the second currency counting device to count the second type of currency. Tachibana et al (herein “Tachibana”) discloses a “Valuable Medium Handling System”. See Figs. 1-17 and respective portions of the specification. Tachibana further discloses a valuable medium handling system including a controller connected to multiple storage units through a communication network such that the controller communicates with the medium handling devices and receives information related to stored valuable mediums (See at least Sects. 0006-0009) and further discloses wherein the unit includes memory unit and wherein the controller performs processes based on the received information in order to manage valuable mediums stored in the storage units (See at least Sect. 0010-0015). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the currency processing system of Doi to include the communication functionality as taught by Tachibana so that the controller of the currency processing apparatus could communicate with multiple currency devices or storage units, as this would allow the controller to monitor and coordinate multiple counting devices and improve operational efficiency and monitoring tasks.
Claim 2-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doi et al (US-2009/0184034) in view of Tachibana et al (US-2021/0295633) and in further view of Mennie et al (US8644583).
Referring to claims 2-4. Doi in view of Tachibana disclose the combination as described above. Doi does not disclose a web service that when executed generates a graphical user interface, or displays the graphical user interface on a display, and wherein the display is a touch panel display configured to display the graphical user interface and receive touch inputs. Mennie et al (herein “Mennie”) discloses a “Apparatus And System For Imaging Currency Bills And Financial Documents And Method For Using The Same”. See Figs. 1-26 and respective portions of the specification. Mennie further discloses a graphical user interface associated with currency processing system, in which an operator interface allows entry and display of information associated with processed currency documents and provides interface elements allowing operators to interact with system information (See at least Col. 15 L. 30 – Col. 16 L. 25). It should be noted these interfaces are graphical user interfaces that present currency related information to the operator and allow interaction with the displayed information. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the currency processing system of Doi to incorporate the controller-based architecture of Tachibana and the graphical interface functionality of Mennie so that information generated by the currency processing system can be presented through graphical interfaces to system operators, as such modification would improve the usability and monitoring of the currency processing system by allowing operators to view and interact with currency information through touch panel graphical displays.
Referring to claims 5-9. Doi in view of Tachibana and Mennie disclose the combination as described above in detail. Doi further discloses generating currency information associated with counted currency items and performing revenue reconciliation processes using such information (See Sects. 0002-0004). As such Doi teaches generating information related to quantities and values of currency items processed within the system. Further Doi discloses wherein the first type of currency is notes and the second type of currency is coins (See at least Sect. 0039, 0075). Doi does not disclose a graphical user interface report or a printer. Tachibana discloses that the system controller processes valuable medium information related to stored banknotes and maintains inventory information related to currency stored within the system. Mennie discloses a graphical user interface for displaying information associated with processed currency documents to operators and a printer (See at least Col. 15 L. 30 – Col. 16 L. 25 & at least Col. 147 L. 30-35). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to present currency processing information generated by the system of Doi using the graphical user interface technology disclosed by Tachibana so that operatores can easily review currency information generated by the system and wherein a report could be printed with information related to the report, so that accessibility and usability of data could be improved and increased.
Referring to claim 10-15. Doi in view of Tachibana and Mennie disclose the combination as described above in detail. Doi as disclosed above discloses a currency processing system used in point-of-sale environments for processing revenues and producing change funds associated with POS cash drawers (See Sect. 0003, 0015). Tachibana discloses communicating valuable medium information between storage units and a controller through a communication network (See at least Sects. 0006-0009). Thus, Tachibana teaches a system in which a storage unit associated with currency handling devices communicates information to a central controller. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the reporting functionality of Jacomet and the communication functionality of Tachibana into the currency processing system of Doi as it would allow currency processing operations associated with specific assets to be monitored and managed through a network.
Referring to claim 16. Doi discloses methods and systems for processing currency items and generating information associated with processed currency during revenue balancing processes (See at least Sect. 0002-0004). Doi further discloses the apparatus includes a controller (120) that determines the value of banknotes and controls soring and counting operations of the apparatus and discloses that the apparatus processes banknotes associated with point-of-sale operations (See at least 0003-0007, 0010-0014, 0017-0020, 0030-0039). Mennie discloses controllers configured to receive information from storage units and perform processes associated with valuable medium systems (See at least Col. 15 L. 30 – Col. 16 L. 25). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the currency processing and reporting methods disclosed in Doi using the controller architecture disclosed in Mennie so that the controller executes processes for managing currency processing devices and currency information stored within the system. It should be noted that implementing such processes through a controller executing stored instructions represents predictable use of known computing techniques to manage automated handling systems.
Referring to claims 17-18. Doi in view of Tachibana and Mennie disclose the combination as described above in detail. Doi further discloses a system in which currency items processed by currency handling devices are collected and organized for subsequent handling and reconciliation within a cash management system (See Sects. 0017-0020). Doi further discloses currency processing devices that receive currency items and determine values associated with those currency items during processing (See Sects. 0030-0034). Do doesn’t a hopper, a plurality of chutes, or a plurality of clips configured to seal an open end of a coin bag around one of the plurality of chutes. Tachibana discloses a valuable medium handling system capable of processing valuable mediums such as banknotes and coins. Further, Tachibana discloses currency handling devices including structures for storing and directing currency items within the system, including transport mechanism and storage units used for handling currency items processed by the system (See at least Sects. 0045-0048). It should be noted that these structures include components configured to guide currency items through the system and direct currency items into designated locations, which correspond to the claimed hopper and chute structures used for directing coins into appropriate destinations during counting operations. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the currency processing system of Doi to incorporate the coin-handling structures disclosed in Tachibana and coin bags so that the system was suitable for process coins in addition to other types of currency, in which coins directed through chutes of the device are collected within coin bags attached to chute outlets, as such modification would improve versatility and functionality of the system, as well as the reliability of the coin collection process by securing bags to the chute outlets and ensuring that coins discharged from the chutes are properly collected in the bags.
Referring to claims 19-20. Doi discloses methods and systems for processing currency items and generating information associated with processed currency during revenue balancing processes (See at least Sect. 0002-0004). Doi further discloses the apparatus includes a controller (120) that determines the value of banknotes and controls soring and counting operations of the apparatus and discloses that the apparatus processes banknotes associated with point-of-sale operations (See at least 0003-0007, 0010-0014, 0017-0020, 0030-0039). Doi does not disclose a computing device coupled to both the first and second county device, the computing device comprising at least one processor; memory, and software stored on the memory, the software comprising a control program that when executed by the at least one processor, controls one or both of the first currency counting device to count the firs type of currency or the second currency counting device to count the second type of currency. Tachibana et al (herein “Tachibana”) discloses a “Valuable Medium Handling System”. See Figs. 1-17 and respective portions of the specification. Tachibana further discloses a valuable medium handling system including a controller connected to multiple storage units through a communication network such that the controller communicates with the medium handling devices and receives information related to stored valuable mediums (See at least Sects. 0006-0009) and further discloses wherein the unit includes memory unit and wherein the controller performs processes based on the received information in order to manage valuable mediums stored in the storage units (See at least Sect. 0010-0015). Mennie discloses controllers configured to receive information from storage units and perform processes associated with valuable medium systems (See at least Col. 15 L. 30 – Col. 16 L. 25). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the currency processing and reporting methods disclosed in Doi using the controller architecture disclosed in Mennie so that the controller executes processes for managing currency processing devices and currency information stored within the system. It should be noted that implementing such processes through a controller executing stored instructions represents predictable use of known computing techniques to manage automated handling systems.
Conclusion
/TERRELL H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653