DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 3, 2024 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 104908599 A), hereinafter "Wang", and further in view of Garcia et al. (US 10,780,849 B1), hereinafter "Garcia" and OneMonroe Titan [online]: ‘What Type of Current Do EV Motors Use?’, April 1, 2022 [retrieved on June 2, 2026], retrieved from the Internet: <https://titanwnc.com/2022/04/what-type-of-current-do-ev-motors-use>, hereinafter “Monroe”.
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a vehicle driving device (integrated drive system for an electric vehicle, figs. 1-2, p. 2, lines 14-18) comprising:
a rotating electrical machine (drive motor 4, figs. 1-2, p. 2, lines 22-24);
an output member configured to be drivingly coupled to a wheel (output driving bevel gear 5-3, fig. 2, p. 2, lines 25-26);
a power transmission mechanism (speed reducer 5, figs. 1-2, p. 2, lines 24-29) configured to transmit a driving force between the rotating electrical machine and the output member;
a power source module (electrical components integrated and assembled in electrical box 1, p. 2, lines 50-51, figs. 1-2) including at least one of a voltage conversion circuit (converter 8, p. 2, lines 36-38, fig. 2) electrically connected to an on-vehicle battery and configured to perform voltage conversion of the on-vehicle battery, a charging circuit (charger 7, p. 2, lines 32-35, fig. 2) configured to charge the on-vehicle battery from an external power source, and a power supply circuit configured to supply power from the on-vehicle battery to an outside (output terminals 8-3 and 8-4 of the DC converter 8 which output 12 volts for electrical appliances, p. 2, lines 37-38, fig. 3);
a first case portion in which the rotating electrical machine and the power transmission mechanism are accommodated (housing of drive motor 4 and speed reducer 5 aligned contiguously and mounted inline by connecting bolts 3, p. 2, lines 16-18, fig. 1);
a second case portion in which at least one of the inverter module and the power source module are accommodated (electrical box body 1 comprising lower body 1-1 and upper cover 1-2, p. 2, lines 20-22, figs. 1-2); and
a mount bracket (electrical box bracket 2, p. 2, lines 14-16, fig. 2) configured to be coupled to a vehicle body of a vehicle in an on-vehicle state that is a state of being mounted on the vehicle, wherein in the on-vehicle state, the second case portion is disposed on an upper side with respect to the first case portion, and the mount bracket is attached to the second case portion (fig. 1 shows electrical box 1 on an upper side with respect to housing of drive motor 4 and speed reducer 5, and bracket 2 attached to electrical box 1).
Wang does not recite an inverter module, however Garcia teaches an electric drive unit assembly (EDU assembly 114, col. 8, lines 47-55, figs. 2-3) comprising an inverter module (power inverter module, col. 11, lines 16-22) configured to drive and control the rotating electrical machine (“electronic power inverter assembly is utilized to control operation of the EDU's motor/generator units”, col. 2, lines 15-16). Before the effective date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the power inverter module from Garcia with the integrated drive system disclosed by Wang, while housing the inverter module within Wang’s electrical box 1. The motivation would have been to “transform DC electric power to alternating current (AC) power” (Garcia, cols. 1-2, lines 67-1) in order to take advantage of quicker acceleration and higher top speed offered by AC motors (Monroe, second page, second paragraph). As such, in the above aspect, one skilled in the art may also substitute the AC motor from Garcia for the DC motor of Wang. The modification would predictably achieve the desired result of a drive unit utilizing an AC motor.
Regarding claim 3, modified Wang further teaches the vehicle driving device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a pair of the mount brackets, (Wang, bracket 2) wherein
the second case portion includes an accommodation chamber (Wang, inside of electrical box 1, figs. 1-2) in which the inverter module (Garcia, power inverter module) and the power source module (Wang, electrical components integrated and assembled in electrical box 1) are accommodated,
an opening portion of the accommodation chamber that is opened toward the upper side (Wang, opening of electrical box lower body 1-1 shown opened in fig. 2 toward the upper side), and
a cover portion that covers the opening portion (Wang, upper cover 1-2, p. 2, line 21, fig. 2), and
as viewed in an up-down direction (Wang, up-down direction established by reference to 1-2 in fig. 2 as the “upper cover of the electrical box body 1”, p. 2, line 21) in the on-vehicle state, the accommodation chamber is disposed at a position overlapping the rotating electrical machine and the power transmission mechanism which are accommodated in the first case portion (Wang, electrical box 1 shown in an overlapping position with respect to housing of electric motor 4 and speed reducer 5, fig. 1), and
the pair of mount brackets are disposed at positions not overlapping the accommodation chamber (Wang, pair of brackets 2 shown not overlapping electrical box 1 in figs. 1-2).
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, Garcia, and Monroe as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kuwabara et al. (JP 2023-092613 A), hereinafter "Kuwabara".
Regarding claim 2, modified Wang further teaches the vehicle driving device according to claim 1, wherein the second case portion includes a side wall portion (Wang, side wall of lower body 1-1 of electrical box 1, p. 2, lines 20-21, fig. 2) extending in an up-down direction and surrounding an accommodation chamber (inside of electrical box 1, figs. 1-2) in which the inverter module (Garcia, power inverter module) and the power source module (Wang, electrical components integrated and assembled in electrical box 1) are accommodated as viewed in the up-down direction in the on-vehicle state (Wang figure 2 is illustrated in the vehicle up-down direction as evident by the following reference to the “upper” cover of the electrical box body 1: “1-2 is the upper cover of the electrical box body 1”, p. 2, line 21).
Though modified Wang does not recite a boss portion for attachment of brackets, Kuwabara teaches a vehicle power unit mount structure (¶[0055]) comprising boss portions (66a, 66b, and 66c, ¶[0040], fig. 6) where mounting brackets may be fastened (¶[0013]). Before the effective date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the boss portions from Kuwabara with the integrated drive system disclosed by modified Wang. The motivation would have been to impart rigidity and improve load bearing performance, (Kuwabara, ¶[0014]). The combination would predictably achieve the desired result of a vehicle driving device wherein a boss portion (Kuwabara, 66a-c, fig. 6) is provided on each of a pair of outer surfaces facing opposite sides (Wang, side wall of lower body 1-1 of electrical box 1 where bracket 2 is attached as shown in fig. 2, and its opposing counterpart with a partially visible bracket 2 in fig. 1) with the accommodation chamber (Wang, inside of electrical box 1, figs. 1-2) sandwiched therebetween in the side wall portion, and the mount bracket is attached to each of a pair of the boss portions (bracket 2 of Wang attached to boss portions of Kuwabara).
Regarding claim 4, modified Wang further teaches the vehicle driving device according to claim 2, further comprising:
a pair of the mount brackets (Wang, bracket 2), wherein
the second case portion includes the accommodation chamber (inside of electrical box 1, figs. 1-2) in which the inverter module (Garcia, power inverter module) and the power source module (Wang, electrical components integrated and assembled in electrical box 1) are accommodated,
an opening portion of the accommodation chamber that is opened toward the upper side (Wang, opening of electrical box lower body 1-1 shown opened in fig. 2 toward the upper side), and
a cover portion that covers the opening portion (Wang, upper cover 1-2, p. 2, line 21, fig. 2), and
as viewed in the up-down direction (Wang, up-down direction established by reference to 1-2 in fig. 2 as the “upper cover of the electrical box body 1”, p. 2, line 21) in the on-vehicle state, the accommodation chamber is disposed at a position overlapping the rotating electrical machine and the power transmission mechanism which are accommodated in the first case portion (Wang, electrical box 1 shown in an overlapping position with respect to housing of electric motor 4 and speed reducer 5, fig. 1), and
the pair of mount brackets are disposed at positions not overlapping the accommodation chamber (Wang, pair of brackets 2 shown not overlapping electrical box 1 in figs. 1-2).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, Garcia, and Monroe as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pyttlik et al. (DE 102011016624 A1), hereinafter “Pyttlik”, and Zhou et al. (CN 205202703 U), hereinafter “Zhou”.
Regarding claim 5, modified Wang further teaches the vehicle driving device according to claim 1, but fails to recite an auxiliary mount bracket and a cross member. Pyttlik teaches a vehicle electric drive (¶[0027], figs. 1-5) comprising an auxiliary mount bracket (vibration-damping fastening element 21C, ¶[0035], fig. 3). Before the effective date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the fastening element from Pyttlik with the integrated drive system disclosed by modified Wang. The motivation would have been minimizing vibrations that “can impair individual modules … [and] in turn have a negative effect on the vehicle body”, (Pyttlik, ¶[0006]). The combination would predictably achieve the desired result of an auxiliary mount bracket disposed on a lower side with respect to a pair of the mount brackets and coupled to the vehicle body in the on-vehicle state while including the pair of mount brackets, wherein
the auxiliary mount bracket is attached to the first case portion (Pyttlik teaches fastening element 21C positioned lower than the pair of fastening elements 21A and 21B, and attached to the casing of electric motor 11 and transmission 12, ¶[0040], figs. 2-4).
Zhou teaches a pure electric vehicle cabin layout structure (p. 1, lines 32-45, figs. 1-2) comprising a closed rectangular frame surrounded by two front and rear cross beams 9 and two left and right longitudinal beams 10 for supporting a power distribution box (p. 3, lines 22-23, fig. 2). Before the effective date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the rectangular frame structure from Zhou with the integrated drive system disclosed by modified Wang. The motivation, as recited by Zhou, would have been suspending the power distribution box so that it resists torsion and “effectively utilizes the longitudinal space of the nacelle” (p. 2, lines 32-41). The combination would predictably achieve the desired result by supplying a cross member (Zhou, rectangular frame structure) extending in a width direction (Zhou, rectangular frame structure shown installed in the lateral space between a pair of wheels in the width direction, fig. 1) as viewed in an up-down direction (Wang, up-down direction established by reference to 1-2 in fig. 2 as the “upper cover of the electrical box body 1”, p. 2, line 21) in the vehicle body for attachment of the pair of mount brackets (Wang, pair of brackets 2).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, Garcia, Monroe, and Kuwabara as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Pyttlik and Zhou.
Regarding claim 6, modified Wang further teaches the vehicle driving device according to claim 1, but fails to recite an auxiliary mount bracket and a cross member. Pyttlik teaches a vehicle electric drive (¶[0027], figs. 1-5) comprising an auxiliary mount bracket (vibration-damping fastening element 21C, ¶[0035], fig. 3). Before the effective date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the fastening element from Pyttlik with the integrated drive system disclosed by modified Wang. The motivation would have been minimizing vibrations that “can impair individual modules … [and] in turn have a negative effect on the vehicle body”, (Pyttlik, ¶[0006]). The combination would predictably achieve the desired result of an auxiliary mount bracket disposed on a lower side with respect to a pair of the mount brackets and coupled to the vehicle body in the on-vehicle state while including the pair of mount brackets, wherein
the auxiliary mount bracket is attached to the first case portion (Pyttlik teaches fastening element 21C positioned lower than the pair of fastening elements 21A and 21B, and attached to the casing of electric motor 11 and transmission 12, ¶[0040], figs. 2-4).
Zhou teaches a pure electric vehicle cabin layout structure (p. 1, lines 32-45, figs. 1-2) comprising a closed rectangular frame surrounded by two front and rear cross beams 9 and two left and right longitudinal beams 10 for supporting a power distribution box (p. 3, lines 22-23, fig. 2). Before the effective date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the rectangular frame structure from Zhou with the integrated drive system disclosed by modified Wang. The motivation, as recited by Zhou, would have been suspending the power distribution box so that it resists torsion and “effectively utilizes the longitudinal space of the nacelle” (p. 2, lines 32-41). The combination would predictably achieve the desired result by supplying a cross member (Zhou, rectangular frame structure) extending in the width direction (Zhou, rectangular frame structure shown installed in the lateral space between a pair of wheels in the width direction, fig. 1) as viewed in the up-down direction in the vehicle body for attachment of the pair of mount brackets (Wang, pair of brackets 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional art of record relates to integrated drive units having features relevant to the claimed invention.
/MOHAMMAD OMID NEYZARI/Examiner, Art Unit 3613
/JAMES A SHRIVER II/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3613