DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 33 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 1. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 34 recites, “…the hose connection portion comprising: a hose receiving portion in which is disposed a spigot for receiving the end of a length of hose, the hose receiving portion having a distal end via which hose is received in use and, opposite the distal end, a proximal end…wherein the hose connection portion has a hose introduction end via which hose is introduced onto the spigot in use, a skirt portion is provided around the spigot so as to define a hose receiving region between the skirt portion and the spigot…wherein the claws have first end portions via which the claws are joined to the hose connection portion and second engaging end portions for biting into a carried hose and the second end portions of the claws are closer to the proximal end of the hose receiving portion than are the first end portions of the claws, so that the claws project inwardly into the hose connection portion to yield reverse facing claws.” First, Applicant’s sixth embodiment is the only embodiment that illustrates the claws having first end portions via which the claws are joined to the hose connection portion and second engaging end portions, see Figure 13C below.
The figure does not disclose the claws having first end portions via which the claws being joined to the hose connection portion and second engaging end portions for biting into a carried hose and the second end portions of the claws being closer to the proximal end of the hose receiving portion than the first end portions of the claws, so that the claws project inwardly into the hose connection portion to yield reverse facing claws. The original disclosure recites:
On the other hand, this hose fitting differs from that of Figures 1 to 12A and 12B in that it includes more conventional forward facing claws 52 (see Figure 13C).
As shown in Figure 13C (which is taken on a section that does not show the inspection window W), the fitting comprises a spigot 33, threaded stem 31, claws 52 for clamping into hose H when carried on the spigot 33 and a nut 41 for driving the claws 52 into engagement with a carried hose H. Thus in these respects the fitting is similar to that of the fittings described further above. However, the claws 52 are provided at the end of the threaded stem 31 and face forward or outwardly unlike those in the fittings described further above.
Notwithstanding these differences, then as mentioned above, there is a hose receiving region R defined between a skirt portion S and the spigot 33. Moreover, when a hose H is properly mounted on spigot 33 and in this region R it is visible through the inspection window W as shown in Figure 13B.
The original disclosure does not support the claws having first end portions via which the claws being joined to the hose connection portion and second engaging end portions for biting into a carried hose and the second end portions of the claws being closer to the proximal end of the hose receiving portion than the first end portions of the claws, so that the claws project inwardly into the hose connection portion to yield reverse facing claws. Therefore, the Examiner must conclude the claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-24, 26 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 3956596, Renner.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Renner discloses a garden hose connector arrangement comprising a hose connection portion for accepting the end of a garden hose, the hose connection portion comprising: a hose receiving portion (114) in which is disposed a spigot (110) for receiving the end of a length of hose; and a clamping arrangement comprising a locking nut (140) and a plurality of deformable claws (126) which surround the spigot and are arranged to be driven into contact with hose carried on the spigot under action of the locking nut such that a carried hose is clampable between the claws and the spigot, wherein the hose connection portion has a hose introduction end via which hose is introduced onto the spigot in use, a skirt portion (near 116) is provided around the spigot so as to define a hose receiving region between the skirt portion and the spigot, and an inspection window (132) is provided in the skirt portion to enable viewing of a hose end when introduced onto the spigot and into the hose receiving region, wherein the claws have first end portions via which the claws are joined to the hose connection portion and second engaging end portions for biting into a carried hose and the first end portions of the claws are closer a proximal end of the hose receiving portion than are the first end portions of the claws, so that the claws project inwardly into the hose connection portion.
In regards to claim 2, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Renner discloses the inspection window is provided as an aperture in the skirt portion.
In regards to claim 3, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Renner discloses the inspection window is provided in the skirt portion in a location that is towards a proximal end of the spigot.
In regards to claim 4, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Renner discloses a garden hose fitting and further comprises a connector mounting portion (near 102) for accepting a connector portion of a component to be connected to the hose fitting.
In regards to claim 6, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Renner discloses the claws are carried on the locking nut.
In regards to claim 7, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Renner discloses the clamping arrangement comprises a sleeve member (124) which comprises the claws.
In regards to claim 8, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Renner discloses the locking nut is rotatably mounted on the sleeve member for rotation around an axis of the sleeve member and the locking nut and sleeve member are arranged so that as the locking nut is tightened onto a main body of the hose connection portion, the sleeve member is driven axially relative to the main body of the hose connection portion whilst the locking nut is able to rotate relative to the sleeve member.
In regards to claim 9, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Renner discloses the sleeve member comprises a collar portion to which the claws are joined.
In regards to claim 10, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Renner discloses each claw is joined to the collar portion via a respective plastic hinge portion.
In regards to claim 11, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Renner discloses each claw is joined to the collar portion via a respective plastic hinge portion and arranged to bend around the plastic hinge portion into gripping contact with a carried hose.
In regards to claim 12, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Renner discloses the sleeve member is of one piece.
In regards to claim 13, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Renner discloses the sleeve member comprises a hose expansion retainer (in as much as Applicant illustrates).
In regards to claim 14, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Renner discloses the locking nut is assembled on the sleeve member by elastic deformation of the sleeve member and/or the locking nut, or the locking nut and sleeve are manufactured as one component.
In regards to claim 15, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Renner discloses each claw comprises at least one tooth portion (128) for biting into a carried hose.
In regards to claim 16, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Renner discloses the at least one tooth portion is arranged as a barb.
In regards to claim 17, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Renner discloses the connector mounting portion comprises part of a push fit connector system for accepting and retaining a part of the connector portion of a component to be connected to the hose fitting.
In regards to claim 18, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Renner discloses is arranged to accept hoses of a plurality of different sizes.
In regards to claim 19, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Renner discloses the hose receiving portion comprises a camming surface (opposite 143) for acting on the claws in driving the claws towards the spigot.
In regards to claim 20, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Renner discloses the camming surface comprises a slope portion which is inclined to an axis of the hose receiving portion.
In regards to claim 21, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Renner discloses an angle of inclination of the slope relative to the axis of the hose receiving portion is in the range of 10 degrees to 50 degrees.
In regards to claim 22, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Renner discloses the camming surface comprises at least one guide portion (as much as Applicant illustrates) for resisting circumferential movement of the claws as the locking nut is tightened and the claws move axially along the camming surface.
In regards to claim 23, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Renner discloses the at least one guide portion (as much as Applicant illustrates) comprises at least one guiding channel.
In regards to claim 24, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Renner discloses the at least one guiding channel has a flared mouth portion for receiving and then guiding the claws into a correct angular position relative to the main body of the connection portion as the locking assembly including the claws is mounted onto the main body.
In regards to claim 26, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Renner discloses a garden hose connector arrangement assembly comprising a garden hose connector arrangement according to claim 1 with a length of hose (108) mounted in the hose receiving portion.
In regards to claim 33, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Renner discloses a garden hose connector arrangement comprising a hose connection portion for accepting the end of a garden hose, the hose connection portion comprising: a hose receiving portion (114) in which is disposed a spigot (110) for receiving the end of a length of hose; and a clamping arrangement comprising a locking nut (140) and a plurality of deformable claws (126) which surround the spigot and are arranged to be driven into contact with hose carried on the spigot under action of the locking nut such that a carried hose is clampable between the claws and the spigot, wherein the hose connection portion has a hose introduction end via which hose is introduced onto the spigot in use, a skirt portion (near 116) is provided around the spigot so as to define a hose receiving region between the skirt portion and the spigot, and an inspection window (132) is provided in the skirt portion to enable viewing of a hose end when introduced onto the spigot and into the hose receiving region, wherein the claws have first end portions via which the claws are joined to the hose connection portion and second engaging end portions for biting into a carried hose and the first end portions of the claws are closer a proximal end of the hose receiving portion than are the first end portions of the claws, so that the claws project inwardly into the hose connection portion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Renner does not disclose the claws having first end portions via which the claws are joined to the hose connection portion and second engaging end portions for biting into a carried hose and the first end portions of the claws being closer a proximal end of the hose receiving portion than the first end portions of the claws, so that the claws project inwardly into the hose connection portion. The Examiner disagrees. In Figures 1-3, Renner clearly illustrates the claws having first end portions via which the claws are joined to the hose connection portion and second engaging end portions for biting into a carried hose and the first end portions of the claws being closer a proximal end of the hose receiving portion than the first end portions of the claws, so that the claws project inwardly into the hose connection portion, as claimed.
Conclusion
/AARON M DUNWOODY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679