DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the original filing of July 3, 2024. Claim(s) 1-16 is/are pending and have been considered as follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/5/2025 & 11/25/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
As to Claim 1, the 6th limitation recites “receiving, from the wireless network based on the sub-band request, second configuration information indicative of which of the plurality of CSI-RS resources are to be used for sensing measurements;; and”, the Examiner suggests “receiving, from the wireless network based on the sub-band request, second configuration information indicative of which of the plurality of CSI-RS resources are to be used for sensing measurements;[[;]] and”;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beigi et al. (WO 2024/025731 A1, hereinafter Beigi).
As to Claim 1, Beigi discloses a method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising:
receiving, from a wireless network, first configuration information indicative of a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) sub-band configuration, at least one first criterion and at least one second criterion ((Beigi; [0094-0098, 0130-0131]), where Beigi discloses sending/receiving CSI-RS configurations.);
performing channel state estimation measurements on a plurality of CSI-RS resources ((Beigi; [0094-0098, 0103]), where Beigi discloses sending/receiving CSI-RS configurations. The CSI maybe include parameters required to be measured and reported.);
identifying a set of sub-band options from the plurality of CSI-RS resources that satisfy the at least one first criterion based at least in part on the channel state estimation measurements and on the CSI-RS sub-band configuration ((Beigi; [0146-0147]), where Beigi discloses periodicity of reporting LOS probability/indication upon detection of an obstacle.);
identifying a subset of the identified set of sub-band options that satisfy the at least one second criterion ((Beigi; [0147]), where Beigi discloses reporting LOS/NLOS probability/indication upon detection of event. A determination can be made based on the configured threshold for the resource.);
transmitting, to the wireless network, a sub-band request ((Beigi; [0131]), where Beigi discloses indication of sub-band information.);
receiving, from the wireless network based on the sub-band request, second configuration information indicative of which of the plurality of CSI-RS resources are to be used for sensing measurements; and performing the sensing measurements based on the second configuration information ((Beigi; [0146]), where Beigi discloses periodicity of reporting of LOS probability/indication maybe be configured to be higher than the periodicity of reporting of NLOS probability/indication upon detection of an obstacle. Reporting can be increased until conditions are restored.).
As to Claim 2, Beigi discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
transmitting, to the wireless network, sensing information based at least in part on the sensing measurements ((Beigi; [0147]), where Beigi discloses reporting LOS/NLOS probability/indication upon detection of an event.).
As to Claim 3, Beigi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
the at least one first criterion comprises at least one of: a highest number of Resource Element (RE) for a sensing task, a highest sensing task accuracy and/or a lowest uncertainty range in a sensing task (Beigi; [0140, 0165]).
As to Claim 4, Beigi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
the at least one second criterion comprises at least one of: an accuracy associated with a sensing task, number of measurements for a sensing task or a time duration for measurements for a sensing task, with respect to a probability threshold (Beigi; [0140, 0165]).
As to Claim 5, Beigi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
the sub-band request comprises information associated with at least one of the identified set of sub-band options, the identified subset of the set of sub-band options, the channel state estimation measurements, the at least one first criterion, or the at least one second criterion (Beigi; [0130-0131, 0209]).
As to Claim 6, Beigi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
the first configuration information is further indicative of at least one of channel state estimation measurement configuration, sensing measurement configurations, CSI- RS configuration, or the set of sub-band options (Beigi; [0130-0131, 0209]).
As to Claim 7, Beigi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
the second configuration information comprises information indicative of which of the plurality of CSI-RS resources are to be used for channel state estimation (Beigi; [0130-0131, 0209]).
As to Claim 8, Beigi discloses the method of claim 3, wherein:
the sensing task comprises performing measurements on at least one of the plurality of CSI-RS resources, wherein the at least one of the plurality of CSI-RS resources is one of CSI-RS resources or sensing resources ((Beigi; [0146]), where Beigi discloses periodicity of reporting of LOS probability/indication maybe be configured to be higher than the periodicity of reporting of NLOS probability/indication upon detection of an obstacle. Reporting can be increased until conditions are restored.).
As to Claim 9, Beigi discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising:
a processer (Beigi; [0005, 0032]), and
a transceiver coupled to the processer (Beigi; [0005, 0032]), wherein the WTRU is to:
receive, from a wireless network, first configuration information indicative of a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) sub-band configuration, at least one first criterion and at least one second criterion ((Beigi; [0094-0098, 0130-0131]), where Beigi discloses sending/receiving CSI-RS configurations.);
perform channel state estimation measurements on a plurality of CSI-RS resources ((Beigi; [0094-0098, 0130-0131]), where Beigi discloses sending/receiving CSI-RS configurations.);
identify a set of sub-band options from the plurality of CSI-RS resources that satisfy the at least one first criterion based at least in part on the channel state estimation measurements and on the CSI-RS sub-band configuration ((Beigi; [0146-0147]), where Beigi discloses periodicity of reporting LOS probability/indication upon detection of an obstacle.);
identify a subset of the identified set of sub-band options that satisfy the at least one second criterion ((Beigi; [0147]), where Beigi discloses reporting LOS/NLOS probability/indication upon detection of event. A determination can be made based on the configured threshold for the resource.);
transmit, to the wireless network, a sub-band request ((Beigi; [0131]), where Beigi discloses indication of sub-band information.);
receive, from the wireless network based on the sub-band request, second configuration information indicative of which of the plurality of CSI-RS resources are to be used for sensing measurements; and perform the sensing measurements based on the second configuration information ((Beigi; [0146]), where Beigi discloses periodicity of reporting of LOS probability/indication maybe be configured to be higher than the periodicity of reporting of NLOS probability/indication upon detection of an obstacle. Reporting can be increased until conditions are restored.).
As to Claim 10, Beigi discloses the WTRU of claim 9, wherein the WTRU is further to:
transmit, to the wireless network, sensing information based at least in part on the sensing measurements ((Beigi; [0147]), where Beigi discloses reporting LOS/NLOS probability/indication upon detection of an event.).
As to Claim 11, Beigi discloses the WTRU of claim 9, wherein:
the at least one first criterion comprises at least one of: a highest number of Resource Element (RE) for a sensing task, a highest sensing task accuracy and/or a lowest uncertainty range in a sensing task (Beigi; [0140, 0165]).
As to Claim 12, Beigi discloses the WTRU of claim 9, wherein:
the at least one second criterion comprises at least one of: an accuracy associated with a sensing task, number of measurements for a sensing task or a time duration for measurements for a sensing task, with respect to a probability threshold (Beigi; [0140, 0165]).
As to Claim 13, Beigi discloses the WTRU of claim 9, wherein:
the sub-band request comprises information associated with at least one of the identified set of sub-band options, the identified subset of the set of sub-band options, the channel state estimation measurements, the at least one first criterion, or the at least one second criterion (Beigi; [0130-0131, 0209]).
As to Claim 14, Beigi discloses the WTRU of claim 9, wherein:
the first configuration information is further indicative of at least one of channel state estimation measurement configuration, sensing measurement configurations, CSI- RS configuration, or the set of sub-band options (Beigi; [0130-0131, 0209]).
As to Claim 15, Beigi discloses the WTRU of claim 9, wherein:
the second configuration information comprises information indicative of which of the plurality of CSI-RS resources are to be used for channel state estimation (Beigi; [0130-0131, 0209]).
As to Claim 16, Beigi discloses the WTRU of claim 11, wherein:
the sensing task comprises performing measurements on at least one of the plurality of CSI-RS resources, wherein the at least one of the plurality of CSI-RS resources is one of CSI-RS resources or sensing resources ((Beigi; [0146]), where Beigi discloses periodicity of reporting of LOS probability/indication maybe be configured to be higher than the periodicity of reporting of NLOS probability/indication upon detection of an obstacle. Reporting can be increased until conditions are restored.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
The examiner also requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
/BENJAMIN M THIEU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453 7.22.2026