DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-10, 13, 15-16 and 20-28, applicant argues that a Terminal Disclaimer was submitted with the response to overcome the double patenting rejection; remarks page 7, line 5.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. As of the creation of the current office action, the examiner notes that no Terminal Disclaimer was submitted with respect to the parent application, now Patent No. 12,058,406. In order to expedite prosecution, the examiner suggests filing the aforementioned Terminal Disclaimer on the next response.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-10, 13, 15-16 and 20-28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 28 is objected to because of the following informalities: “chinks” in line two should be “chunks”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,058,406. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 21 of the instant application are a broader version overlapping in patentable scope to claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,058,406.
Claims 2-4 and 6-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2-4 and 5-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,058,406.
Claims 8-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, and 7-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,058,406.
Claims 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,058,406.
Claims 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,058,406.
Claims 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,058,406.
Claims 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,058,406.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9, 13, 21 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCarthy et al. (Pub No US 2012/0042091) in view of Pichon et al. (Pub No US 2018/0184145). Hereinafter, referenced as McCarthy and Pichon, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, McCarthy discloses a method of broadcasting channels to a broadcast receiver, the method comprising:
transmitting to the broadcast receiver (e.g. in-home adaptive media server 1902) a plurality of streams for each at least one channel broadcast (e.g. cable television programming), wherein each stream comprises video displaying content of its respective associated channel (Paragraphs [0056] [0057] figure 19; in-home adaptive media server 1902 receives content from content provider 312, e.g. cable television programming; paragraphs [0004] [0039]);
transmitting instructions (Paragraph [0053] figure 17; program information that allows the in-home adaptive media server 1902 to determine discontinuities/boundaries) to the broadcast receiver (e.g. in-home adaptive media server 1902), the instructions usable by the broadcast receiver to segment each of the plurality of streams into sequential chunks suitable for delivery by the broadcast receiver of Adaptive Bitrate (ABR) content to a display device (Paragraphs [0055] [0056] [0057] figures 17 and 19; in-home adaptive server 1902 divides the streaming media content into a plurality of variable duration segments 1708 so that the end of at least one of the variable media segments is aligned with the discontinuities/boundaries).
However, it is noted that McCarthy is silent to explicitly disclose that each stream comprises video encoded at a different bitrate relative to other of said plurality of streams displaying the content of its respectively associated channel.
Nevertheless, in a similar field of endeavor Pichon discloses that each stream comprises video encoded at a different bitrate relative to other of said plurality of streams displaying the content of its respectively associated channel (Paragraphs [0039] [0040] figures 5A-B; gateway device 530 receiving video streams encoded at different bitrates, e.g. ABR profile).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCarthy by specifically providing the elements mentioned above, as taught by Pichon, for the predictable result of distributing video content encoded at different bitrates over a television network in order to more efficiently utilize the available bandwidth during different network conditions.
Regarding claim 2, McCarthy and Pichon disclose the method of claim 1; moreover, McCarthy discloses that transmitting a plurality of streams at different bit rates for each channel includes at least two streams at lower bit rates (Paragraphs [0033] [0039] figure 7; distributing chunks at different rates and multiple formats).
Regarding claim 3, McCarthy and Pichon disclose the method of claim 1; moreover, McCarthy discloses that transmitting a plurality of streams at lower bit rates for each channel includes at least one stream at high bit rate and resolution (Paragraphs [0033] [0039] figure 7; distributing chunks at different rates and multiple formats).
Regarding claim 9, McCarthy and Pichon disclose the method of claim 1; however, it is noted that McCarthy is silent to explicitly disclose that the instructions include profile bitrates and other parameters to assist in creating manifest files required by the ABR protocol requested by the display device .
Nevertheless, in a similar field of endeavor Pichon discloses that the instructions include profile bitrates and other parameters to assist in creating manifest files required by the ABR protocol requested by the display device (Paragraphs [0025] [0041]; gateway 530 updates a manifest file based on ABR profiles determined by the user requests).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCarthy by specifically providing the elements mentioned above, as taught by Pichon, for the predictable result of distributing video content encoded at different bitrates over a television network in order to more efficiently utilize the available bandwidth during different network conditions, where an updated manifest may be needed based on multiple profiles.
Regarding claim 13, McCarthy and Pichon disclose the method of claim 1; moreover, McCarthy discloses that the instructions are usable by the broadcast receiver to build a set of playlists according to one or more ABR formats (Paragraphs [0033] [0039] figure 7; distributing chunks at different rates and multiple formats).
Regarding claim 21, McCarthy and Pichon disclose all the limitations of claim 21; therefore, claim 21 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 25, McCarthy and Pichon disclose all the limitations of claim 25; therefore, claim 25 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 13.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCarthy and Pichon further in view of Ben Eli et al. (Pub No US 2017/0149860). Hereinafter, referenced as Ben Eli.
Regarding claim 6, McCarthy and Pichon disclose the method of claim 1; moreover, McCarthy discloses that the instructions (Paragraph [0053] figure 17; program information that allows the in-home adaptive media server 1902 to determine discontinuities/boundaries) are usable by the broadcast receiver to segment each of the plurality of streams into sequential chunks and so that each chunk has a time duration within a predetermined range (Paragraphs [0055] [0056] [0057] figures 17 and 19; in-home adaptive server 1902 divides the streaming media content into a plurality of variable duration segments 1708 so that the end of at least one of the variable media segments is aligned with the discontinuities/boundaries).
However, it is noted that McCarthy and Pichon are silent to explicitly disclose that each chunk starts with an anchor frame that is aligned in time across the plurality of streams for each channel.
Nevertheless, in a similar field of endeavor Ben Eli discloses that each chunk starts with an anchor frame (Paragraphs [0098] [0099]; pre-fetched segments start with anchor frames) that is aligned in time across the plurality of streams for each channel (Paragraphs [0084]; prefetch two or more segment files, encoded at different rates, all corresponding to the same playback start and end times, e.g. aligned).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCarthy and Pichon by specifically providing the elements mentioned above, as taught by Ben Eli, for the predictable result of standardizing the length of pre-fetched chunks in order to simplify the switching mechanism between streams.
Regarding claim 7, McCarthy, Pichon and Ben Eli disclose the method of claim 6; however, it is noted that McCarthy and Pichon are silent to explicitly disclose the predetermined range spans an interval between 0.5 and 12 seconds.
Nevertheless, in a similar field of endeavor Ben Eli discloses that the predetermined range spans an interval between 0.5 and 12 seconds (Paragraphs [0046]; e.g. 10 seconds).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCarthy and Pichon by specifically providing the elements mentioned above, as taught by Ben Eli, for the predictable result of standardizing the length of pre-fetched chunks in order to simplify the switching mechanism between streams.
Claim 10, 22, 24 and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCarthy and Pichon further in view of Kanungo (Pub No US 2016/0277366). Hereinafter, referenced as Kanungo.
Regarding claim 10, McCarthy and Pichon disclose the method of claim 1; moreover, McCarthy discloses the plurality of streams at different bit rates for each channel (Paragraphs [0033] [0039] figure 7; distributing chunks at different rates and multiple formats).
However, it is noted that McCarthy and Pichon are silent to explicitly disclose encrypting the plurality of streams using traditional broadcast conditional access.
Nevertheless, in a similar field of endeavor Kanungo discloses encrypting the plurality of streams using traditional broadcast conditional access (Paragraphs [0018] [0028] [0029] figure 2; encrypting each segment 117 implementing a key).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCarthy and Pichon by specifically providing the elements mentioned above, as taught by Kanungo, for the predictable result of preventing unauthorized reproduction or use of the segment (Kanungo – paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 22, McCarthy, Pichon and Kanungo disclose all the limitations of claim 22; therefore, claim 22 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 10.
Regarding claim 24, McCarthy and Pichon disclose the method of claim 21; moreover, McCarthy discloses that, upon selection of a channel to view by a display device, the broadcast receiver processes the plurality of streams at different bit rates for the channel into a requested ABR chunk format (Paragraphs [0033] [0039] figure 7; distributing chunks at different rates and multiple formats, wherein user device 1908, 1904, 1906 receive the requested content).
However, it is noted that McCarthy and Pichon are silent to explicitly disclose that the broadcast receiver decrypts and processes the plurality of streams.
Nevertheless, in a similar field of endeavor Kanungo discloses that the broadcast receiver decrypts and processes the plurality of streams (Paragraphs [0018] [0028] [0029] figure 2; encrypting each segment 117 implementing a key, i.e. decrypt 224 at media device 104; paragraph [0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCarthy and Pichon by specifically providing the elements mentioned above, as taught by Kanungo, for the predictable result of preventing unauthorized reproduction or use of the segment (Kanungo – paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 26, McCarthy and Pichon disclose the method of claim 21; moreover, McCarthy discloses the ABR chunks (Paragraphs [0033] [0039] figure 7; distributing ABR chunks at different rates and multiple formats, wherein user device 1908, 1904, 1906 receive the requested content).
However, it is noted that McCarthy and Pichon are silent to explicitly disclose encrypting the chunks, and implementing a key management system to provide encryption keys or key material to client devices.
Nevertheless, in a similar field of endeavor Kanungo discloses encrypting (e.g. encrypt segments 206) the chunks, and implementing a key management system to provide encryption keys or key material to client devices (Paragraphs [0018] [0028] [0029] figure 2; decrypt 224 using a key at media device 104; paragraph [0034]. Wherein key may be stored in a number of files that may be requested 216 by the client device 104; paragraph [0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCarthy and Pichon by specifically providing the elements mentioned above, as taught by Kanungo, for the predictable result of preventing unauthorized reproduction or use of the segment (Kanungo – paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 27, McCarthy and Pichon disclose the method of claim 21; moreover, McCarthy discloses that the broadcast receiver (e.g. in-home adaptive server 1902) is configured to act as a server for the playlists, and media segments to the display device (Paragraphs [0055] [0056] [0057] figures 17 and 19; in-home adaptive server 1902 divides the streaming media content into a plurality of variable duration segments 1708 so that the end of at least one of the variable media segments is aligned with the discontinuities/boundaries).
However, it is noted that McCarthy and Pichon are silent to explicitly disclose that the broadcast receiver is configured to act as a server for key related files to the display device.
Nevertheless, in a similar field of endeavor Kanungo discloses that the broadcast receiver (e.g. media server device 102) is configured to act as a server for key related files to the display device (Paragraphs [0018] [0028] [0029] figure 2; decrypt 224 using a key at media device 104; paragraph [0034]. Wherein key may be stored in a number of files that may be requested 216 by the client device 104; paragraph [0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCarthy and Pichon by specifically providing the elements mentioned above, as taught by Kanungo, for the predictable result of preventing unauthorized reproduction or use of the segment (Kanungo – paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 28, McCarthy, Pichon and Kanungo disclose the method of claim 27; moreover, McCarthy discloses that the broadcast receiver stores the plurality of sequential chinks at a time prior to the display device requesting access to a stream at a bit rate for a channel (Paragraph [0057] figure 19; chunks 1… N in in-home adaptive server 1902).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCarthy and Pichon further in view of Thorwirth et al. (Pub No US 2018/0129273). Hereinafter, referenced as Thorwirth.
Regarding claim 15, McCarthy and Pichon disclose the method of claim 13; moreover, McCarthy discloses the at least one ABR format (Paragraphs [0036] [0037] figures 2 and 7).
However, it is noted that McCarthy and Pichon are silent to explicitly disclose that at least one ABR format is HLS.
Nevertheless, in a similar field of endeavor Thorwirth discloses that at least one ABR format is HLS (Paragraph [0070]; e.g. HLS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCarthy and Pichon by specifically providing the elements mentioned above, as taught by Thorwirth, for the predictable result of implementing well-known segmenting technologies that currently facilitate this selection of multiple bitrate versions of content.
Regarding claim 16, McCarthy and Pichon disclose the method of claim 13; moreover, McCarthy discloses the at least one ABR format (Paragraphs [0036] [0037] figures 2 and 7).
However, it is noted that McCarthy and Pichon are silent to explicitly disclose that at least one ABR format is DASH.
Nevertheless, in a similar field of endeavor Thorwirth discloses that at least one ABR format is DASH (Paragraph [0070]; e.g. HLS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCarthy and Pichon by specifically providing the elements mentioned above, as taught by Thorwirth, for the predictable result of implementing well-known segmenting technologies that currently facilitate this selection of multiple bitrate versions of content.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCarthy and Pichon further in view of Visharam et al. (Pub No US 2012/0254456). Hereinafter, referenced as Visharam.
Regarding claim 20, McCarthy and Pichon disclose the method of claim 1; moreover, McCarthy the plurality of streams for each channel (Paragraphs [0033] [0039] figure 7; distributing chunks at different rates and multiple formats).
However, it is noted that McCarthy and Pichon are silent to explicitly disclose hint data in an MPEG program table descriptor that can be used by a client device for the creation of ABR playlists.
Nevertheless, in a similar field of endeavor Visharam discloses hint data in an MPEG program table descriptor (Paragraph [0348]; e.g. MPEG-TS) that can be used by a client device for the creation of ABR playlists (Paragraph [0359]; entries with hints for generating the manifest files for the various adaptive streaming formats).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCarthy and Pichon by specifically providing the elements mentioned above, as taught by Ben Visharam, for the predictable result of implementing well known content distribution formats suitable for most client devices already available in the market.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JUNIOR O. MENDOZA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2424
/JUNIOR O MENDOZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424