DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2025/0326311 (Penczek).
Regarding claim 1, Penczek teaches a direct current charging apparatus (Fig. 1 shows charger 2), configured to charge a power battery of an electric vehicle or hybrid electric vehicle (Fig. 1 shows charger 2 configured to charge a power battery of an electric vehicle or hybrid electric vehicle) [0017, 0023], wherein the direct current charging apparatus comprises:
a direct current charging interface (Fig. 1 shows charging port 12), wherein the direct current charging interface further comprises: two battery connection terminals (Fig. 1 shows charging port 12 i.e. direct current charging interface comprising: two battery connection terminals respectively configured to connect to the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the energy storage battery of electric vehicle 3) and two power source connection terminals (Fig. 1 shows two power source connection terminals respectively configured to connect to the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the charging port 12 i.e. direct current charging interface);
wherein the direct current charging interface (Fig. 1 shows charging port 12) is configured to connect a positive electrode and a negative electrode of a power supply apparatus to a positive electrode and a negative electrode of the power battery to form a charging loop between the power battery and the power supply apparatus (Fig. 1 shows charging port 12 is configured to connect a positive electrode and a negative electrode of external power grid 4, 5 i.e. power supply apparatus and a positive electrode and a negative electrode of the power battery of electric vehicle 3 to form a charging loop between the power battery of the electric vehicle 3 and external power grid 4, 5 i.e. power supply apparatus) [0017, 0019-20, 0024],
wherein the two power source connection terminals are respectively configured to connect to the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the power supply apparatus, and
wherein the two battery connection terminals are respectively configured to connect to the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the power battery (Fig. 1 shows two battery connections are respectively configured to connect to the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the power battery in electric vehicle 3);
a switch module, wherein the switch module is configured to connect or disconnect the charging loop (Fig. 1 shows switches configured to connect or disconnect the charging loop) [0017, 0019-20, 0024-25]; and
a direct current voltage conversion module (Fig. 1 shows DC/DC converter 7, 9), wherein: the direct current voltage conversion module is configured to;
receive, through the two battery connection terminals, power supplied by the power battery (Fig. 1 shows power battery of electric vehicle 3 supplies power through the two battery connection terminals) [0027-29]; and
output, through the two power source connection terminals, a preset direct current voltage to the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the power supply apparatus (Fig. 1 shows DC/DC converter 7, 9 is configured to output a DC voltage to the positive electrode and negative electrode of the external grid 4, 5 i.e. power supply apparatus) [0027-28, 0031].
Regarding claim 2, Penczek teaches wherein the switch module (Fig. 1 shows switches comprising switch module) is further configured to: disconnect the charging loop in response to that the direct current voltage conversion module outputting the preset direct current voltage (switches do not charge electric vehicle 3 i.e. disconnect charging loop in response to the DC/DC converters 7 and 9 sending preset DC power to energy storage battery 8) [0031, 0033].
Regarding claim 3, Penczek teaches wherein the direct current voltage conversion module is further configured to: after the switch module connects the charging loop, stop outputting the preset direct current voltage (Fig. 1 shows switch module connects electric vehicle 3 to DC/DC converters 7 and 9, as they stop outputting preset DC power to energy storage 8).
Regarding claim 10, Penczek teaches wherein the switch module further comprises: a first controllable switch (Fig. 1 shows first controllable switch) configured to connect or disconnect a first power source connection terminal and a first battery connection terminal (Fig. 1 shows first controllable switch to connect/disconnect a first power source connection terminal and a first battery connection terminal); and a second other controllable switch configured to connect or disconnect the second power source connection terminal and the second battery connection terminal (Fig. 1 shows a second other controllable switch configured to connect/disconnect the second power source terminal and the second battery connection terminal) [0027-0032].
Regarding claim 16, Penczek teaches wherein the direct current voltage conversion module is further configured to: after the switch module connects the charging loop, stop outputting the preset direct current voltage (switches do not charge electric vehicle 3 i.e. disconnect charging loop in response to the DC/DC converters 7 and 9 sending preset DC power to energy storage battery 8) [0031, 0033].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0326311 (Penczek) in view of US 2022/0009367 (Lee).
Regarding claim 4, Penczek does not teach wherein the switch module is further configured to:
disconnect the charging loop after a temperature of the power battery is less than a preset temperature; and connect the charging loop after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature.
However, Lee teaches wherein the switch module is further configured to:
disconnect the charging loop after a temperature of the power battery is less than a preset temperature [0032]; and connect the charging loop after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature [0033].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the switch module is further configured to:
disconnect the charging loop after a temperature of the power battery is less than a preset temperature; and connect the charging loop after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature as taught by Lee in order to ensure safe and fast charging of the power battery.
Regarding claim 5, Penczek does not teach wherein the direct current voltage conversion module is further configured to: output the preset direct current voltage after the temperature of the power battery is less than the preset temperature; and after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature, stop outputting the preset direct current voltage.
However, Lee teaches wherein the direct current voltage conversion module (Fig. 1 shows energy conversion module 166) is further configured to: output the preset direct current voltage after the temperature of the power battery is less than the preset temperature; and after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature, stop outputting the preset direct current voltage [0032-0034, 0037].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the direct current voltage conversion module is further configured to: output the preset direct current voltage after the temperature of the power battery is less than the preset temperature; and after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature, stop outputting the preset direct current voltage as taught by Lee in order to ensure that the power battery is sufficiently heated in order to ensure fast and efficient charging.
Regarding claim 6, Penczek does not teach wherein the direct current charging apparatus further comprises a control circuit configured to: when the direct current charging interface is connected to the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the power supply apparatus, based on a comparison result between the temperature of the power battery and the preset temperature, control the direct current voltage conversion module to output or stop outputting the preset direct current voltage, and control the switch module to connect or disconnect the charging loop; or when the direct current charging interface is not connected to the positive electrode or the negative electrode of the power supply apparatus, control the direct current voltage conversion module to stop outputting the preset direct current voltage.
However, Lee teaches wherein the direct current charging apparatus further comprises a control circuit configured to: when the direct current charging interface is connected to the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the power supply apparatus, based on a comparison result between the temperature of the power battery and the preset temperature [0070-0071], control the direct current voltage conversion module to output or stop outputting the preset direct current voltage, and control the switch module to connect or disconnect the charging loop; or when the direct current charging interface is not connected to the positive electrode or the negative electrode of the power supply apparatus, control the direct current voltage conversion module to stop outputting the preset direct current voltage [0031-0034].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the direct current charging apparatus further comprises a control circuit configured to: when the direct current charging interface is connected to the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the power supply apparatus, based on a comparison result between the temperature of the power battery and the preset temperature, control the direct current voltage conversion module to output or stop outputting the preset direct current voltage, and control the switch module to connect or disconnect the charging loop; or when the direct current charging interface is not connected to the positive electrode or the negative electrode of the power supply apparatus, control the direct current voltage conversion module to stop outputting the preset direct current voltage as taught by Lee in order to ensure that the battery is the temperature that is necessary for efficient charging.
Regarding claim 17, Penczek does not teach wherein the switch module is further configured to: disconnect the charging loop after a temperature of the power battery is less than a preset temperature; and connect the charging loop after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature.
However, Lee teaches wherein the switch module is further configured to:
disconnect the charging loop after a temperature of the power battery is less than a preset temperature [0032]; and connect the charging loop after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature [0033].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the switch module is further configured to:
disconnect the charging loop after a temperature of the power battery is less than a preset temperature; and connect the charging loop after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature as taught by Lee in order to ensure safe and fast charging of the power battery.
Regarding claim 18, Penczek does not teach wherein the switch module is further configured to: disconnect the charging loop after a temperature of the power battery is less than a preset temperature; and connect the charging loop after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature.
However, Lee teaches wherein the switch module is further configured to:
disconnect the charging loop after a temperature of the power battery is less than a preset temperature [0032]; and connect the charging loop after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature [0033].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the switch module is further configured to:
disconnect the charging loop after a temperature of the power battery is less than a preset temperature; and connect the charging loop after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature as taught by Lee in order to ensure safe and fast charging of the power battery.
Regarding claim 19, Penczek does not wherein the direct current voltage conversion module is further configured to: output the preset direct current voltage after the temperature of the power battery is less than the preset temperature; or after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature, stop outputting the preset direct current voltage.
However, Lee teaches wherein the direct current voltage conversion module (Fig. 1 shows energy conversion module 166) is further configured to: output the preset direct current voltage after the temperature of the power battery is less than the preset temperature; and after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature, stop outputting the preset direct current voltage [0032-0034, 0037].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the direct current voltage conversion module is further configured to: output the preset direct current voltage after the temperature of the power battery is less than the preset temperature; and after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature, stop outputting the preset direct current voltage as taught by Lee in order to ensure that the power battery is sufficiently heated in order to ensure fast and efficient charging.
Regarding claim 20, Penczek does not wherein the direct current voltage conversion module is further configured to: output the preset direct current voltage after the temperature of the power battery is less than the preset temperature; and after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature, stop outputting the preset direct current voltage.
However, Lee teaches wherein the direct current voltage conversion module (Fig. 1 shows energy conversion module 166) is further configured to: output the preset direct current voltage after the temperature of the power battery is less than the preset temperature; and after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature, stop outputting the preset direct current voltage [0032-0034, 0037].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the direct current voltage conversion module is further configured to: output the preset direct current voltage after the temperature of the power battery is less than the preset temperature; and after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature, stop outputting the preset direct current voltage as taught by Lee in order to ensure that the power battery is sufficiently heated in order to ensure fast and efficient charging.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7, 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the Applicant presents that the Penczek reference does not teach the amended portion as claimed: wherein the direct current charging interface comprises two battery connection terminals and two power source connection terminals, wherein the direct current charging interface is configured to connect a positive electrode and a negative electrode of a power supply apparatus to a positive electrode and a negative electrode of the power battery to form a charging loop between the power battery and the power supply apparatus, wherein the two power source connection terminals are respectively configured to connect to the positively electrode and the negative electrode of the power supply apparatus, and wherein the two battery connection terminals are respectively configured to connect to the positive and negative electrode of the power battery; the direct current voltage converter module is configured to: receive, through the two battery connection terminals, power supplied by the power battery; and output through the two power source connection terminals, a preset direct current voltage to the positive electrode and negative electrode of the power supply apparatus.
Examiner would like to point to Penczek Fig. 1 to show charging port 12 as the direct current charging interface comprising two battery connection terminals connected to power battery of electric vehicle 3 as taught in paragraph [0020] and two power source connection terminals connected to a positive and negative electrodes of external grids 4, 5 i.e. power supply apparatus as shown in Fig. 1 forming a charging loop between the power battery of electric vehicle 3 and external grid 4, 5. Furthermore, Fig. 1 shows direct current converter module 7, 9 is configured to: receive power from power battery of electrical vehicle 3 as taught in paragraph [0028] and output through the two power source connection terminals a preset direct current voltage to the external grid 4, 5 as taught in paragraph [0031].
Thereby, the rejection stands.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SWARNA N. CHOWDHURI
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/S.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836