6DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I comprising claims 1-10, 16-20 in the reply filed on 10/27/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) all pending claims recite subject matter related to a direct current charging apparatus. This is not found persuasive because: Group I comprising claims 1-10, 16-20 is dedicated to the direct current charging apparatus whereas Group II comprising claims 11-15 is dedicated to a powertrain and an electric vehicle in combination with the direct current charging apparatus wherein the direct current charging apparatus can be replaced by a portable battery or solar battery.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 10, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2025/0326311 (Penczek).
Regarding claim 1, Penczek teaches a direct current charging apparatus (Fig. 1 shows charger 2), configured to charge a power battery of an electric vehicle or hybrid electric vehicle (Fig. 1 shows charger 2 configured to charge a power battery of an electric vehicle or hybrid electric vehicle) [0017, 0023], wherein the direct current charging apparatus comprises:
a direct current charging interface (Fig. 1 shows charging port 12), wherein the direct current charging interface (Fig. 1 shows charging port 12) is configured to connect a positive electrode and a negative electrode of a power supply apparatus and a positive electrode and a negative electrode of the power battery to form a charging loop (Fig. 1 shows charging port 12 is configured to connect a positive electrode and a negative electrode of energy storage battery 8 i.e. power supply apparatus and a positive electrode and a negative electrode of the power battery of electric vehicle 3 to form a charging loop) [0017, 0019-20];
a switch module, wherein the switch module is configured to connect or disconnect the charging loop (Fig. 1 shows switches configured to connect or disconnect the charging loop) [0017, 0019-20]; and
a direct current voltage conversion module (Fig. 1 shows DC/DC converter 7, 9), wherein: the direct current voltage conversion module is configured to output a preset direct current voltage to the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the power supply apparatus (Fig. 1 shows DC/DC converter 7, 9 is configured to output a DC voltage to the positive electrode and negative electrode of the energy storage battery 8 i.e. power supply apparatus) [0026, 0031].
Regarding claim 2, Penczek teaches wherein the switch module (Fig. 1 shows switches comprising switch module) is further configured to: disconnect the charging loop in response to that the direct current voltage conversion module outputs the preset direct current voltage (switches do not charge electric vehicle 3 i.e. disconnect charging loop in response to the DC/DC converters 7 and 9 sending preset DC power to energy storage battery 8) [0031, 0033].
Regarding claim 3, Penczek teaches wherein the direct current voltage conversion module is further configured to: after the switch module connects the charging loop, stop outputting the preset direct current voltage (Fig. 1 shows switch module connects electric vehicle 3 to DC/DC converters 7 and 9, as they stop outputting preset DC power to energy storage 8).
Regarding claim 8, Penczek teaches wherein the direct current charging interface further comprises: two battery connection terminals respectively configured to connect to the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the power battery (Fig. 1 shows direct current charging interface comprising: two battery connection terminals respectively configured to connect to the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the energy storage battery of electric vehicle 3); and two power source connection terminals respectively configured to connect to the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the power supply apparatus (Fig. 1 shows two power source connection terminals respectively configured to connect to the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the power supply apparatus 2); and the direct current voltage conversion module (Fig. 1 shows DC/DC converter 7, 9) is further configured to: receive, through the two battery connection terminals, power supplied by the power battery (Fig. 1 shows DC/DC converter 7 and 9 receives power through the two battery connection terminals, power supplied by the power battery of electric vehicle 3) [0020-21, 0032], and the direct current voltage conversion module (Fig. 1 shows DC/DC converter 7 and 9), and output the preset direct current voltage through the two power source connection terminals (Fig. 1 shows DC/DC converter 7 and 9 outputs the preset direct current voltage through the two power source connection terminals) [0031].
Regarding claim 10, Penczek teaches wherein the switch module further comprises: a first controllable switch (Fig. 1 shows first controllable switch) configured to connect or disconnect a first power source connection terminal and a first battery connection terminal (Fig. 1 shows first controllable switch to connect/disconnect a first power source connection terminal and a first battery connection terminal); and a second other controllable switch configured to connect or disconnect the second power source connection terminal and the second battery connection terminal (Fig. 1 shows a second other controllable switch configured to connect/disconnect the second power source terminal and the second battery connection terminal) [0027-0032].
Regarding claim 16, Penczek teaches wherein the direct current voltage conversion module is further configured to: after the switch module connects the charging loop, stop outputting the preset direct current voltage (switches do not charge electric vehicle 3 i.e. disconnect charging loop in response to the DC/DC converters 7 and 9 sending preset DC power to energy storage battery 8) [0031, 0033].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0326311 (Penczek) in view of US 2022/0009367 (Lee).
Regarding claim 4, Penczek does not teach wherein the switch module is further configured to:
disconnect the charging loop after a temperature of the power battery is less than a preset temperature; and connect the charging loop after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature.
However, Lee teaches wherein the switch module is further configured to:
disconnect the charging loop after a temperature of the power battery is less than a preset temperature [0032]; and connect the charging loop after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature [0033].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the switch module is further configured to:
disconnect the charging loop after a temperature of the power battery is less than a preset temperature; and connect the charging loop after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature as taught by Lee in order to ensure safe and fast charging of the power battery.
Regarding claim 5, Penczek does not teach wherein the direct current voltage conversion module is further configured to: output the preset direct current voltage after the temperature of the power battery is less than the preset temperature; and after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature, stop outputting the preset direct current voltage.
However, Lee teaches wherein the direct current voltage conversion module (Fig. 1 shows energy conversion module 166) is further configured to: output the preset direct current voltage after the temperature of the power battery is less than the preset temperature; and after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature, stop outputting the preset direct current voltage [0032-0034, 0037].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the direct current voltage conversion module is further configured to: output the preset direct current voltage after the temperature of the power battery is less than the preset temperature; and after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature, stop outputting the preset direct current voltage as taught by Lee in order to ensure that the power battery is sufficiently heated in order to ensure fast and efficient charging.
Regarding claim 6, Penczek does not teach wherein the direct current charging apparatus further comprises a control circuit configured to: when the direct current charging interface is connected to the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the power supply apparatus, based on a comparison result between the temperature of the power battery and the preset temperature, control the direct current voltage conversion module to output or stop outputting the preset direct current voltage, and control the switch module to connect or disconnect the charging loop; or when the direct current charging interface is not connected to the positive electrode or the negative electrode of the power supply apparatus, control the direct current voltage conversion module to stop outputting the preset direct current voltage.
However, Lee teaches wherein the direct current charging apparatus further comprises a control circuit configured to: when the direct current charging interface is connected to the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the power supply apparatus, based on a comparison result between the temperature of the power battery and the preset temperature [0070-0071], control the direct current voltage conversion module to output or stop outputting the preset direct current voltage, and control the switch module to connect or disconnect the charging loop; or when the direct current charging interface is not connected to the positive electrode or the negative electrode of the power supply apparatus, control the direct current voltage conversion module to stop outputting the preset direct current voltage [0031-0034].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the direct current charging apparatus further comprises a control circuit configured to: when the direct current charging interface is connected to the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the power supply apparatus, based on a comparison result between the temperature of the power battery and the preset temperature, control the direct current voltage conversion module to output or stop outputting the preset direct current voltage, and control the switch module to connect or disconnect the charging loop; or when the direct current charging interface is not connected to the positive electrode or the negative electrode of the power supply apparatus, control the direct current voltage conversion module to stop outputting the preset direct current voltage as taught by Lee in order to ensure that the battery is the temperature that is necessary for efficient charging.
Regarding claim 17, Penczek does not teach wherein the switch module is further configured to: disconnect the charging loop after a temperature of the power battery is less than a preset temperature; and connect the charging loop after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature.
However, Lee teaches wherein the switch module is further configured to:
disconnect the charging loop after a temperature of the power battery is less than a preset temperature [0032]; and connect the charging loop after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature [0033].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the switch module is further configured to:
disconnect the charging loop after a temperature of the power battery is less than a preset temperature; and connect the charging loop after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature as taught by Lee in order to ensure safe and fast charging of the power battery.
Regarding claim 18, Penczek does not teach wherein the switch module is further configured to: disconnect the charging loop after a temperature of the power battery is less than a preset temperature; and connect the charging loop after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature.
However, Lee teaches wherein the switch module is further configured to:
disconnect the charging loop after a temperature of the power battery is less than a preset temperature [0032]; and connect the charging loop after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature [0033].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the switch module is further configured to:
disconnect the charging loop after a temperature of the power battery is less than a preset temperature; and connect the charging loop after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature as taught by Lee in order to ensure safe and fast charging of the power battery.
Regarding claim 19, Penczek does not wherein the direct current voltage conversion module is further configured to: output the preset direct current voltage after the temperature of the power battery is less than the preset temperature; or after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature, stop outputting the preset direct current voltage.
However, Lee teaches wherein the direct current voltage conversion module (Fig. 1 shows energy conversion module 166) is further configured to: output the preset direct current voltage after the temperature of the power battery is less than the preset temperature; and after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature, stop outputting the preset direct current voltage [0032-0034, 0037].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the direct current voltage conversion module is further configured to: output the preset direct current voltage after the temperature of the power battery is less than the preset temperature; and after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature, stop outputting the preset direct current voltage as taught by Lee in order to ensure that the power battery is sufficiently heated in order to ensure fast and efficient charging.
Regarding claim 20, Penczek does not wherein the direct current voltage conversion module is further configured to: output the preset direct current voltage after the temperature of the power battery is less than the preset temperature; and after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature, stop outputting the preset direct current voltage.
However, Lee teaches wherein the direct current voltage conversion module (Fig. 1 shows energy conversion module 166) is further configured to: output the preset direct current voltage after the temperature of the power battery is less than the preset temperature; and after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature, stop outputting the preset direct current voltage [0032-0034, 0037].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the direct current voltage conversion module is further configured to: output the preset direct current voltage after the temperature of the power battery is less than the preset temperature; and after the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the preset temperature, stop outputting the preset direct current voltage as taught by Lee in order to ensure that the power battery is sufficiently heated in order to ensure fast and efficient charging.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0239140 (Li) in view of US 2025/0070587 (Yan).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a direct current charging apparatus (Fig. 2 shows charging apparatus 120 and power conversion apparatus 110) [0073], configured to charge a power battery (Fig. 2 shows power battery 131) of an electric vehicle or hybrid electric vehicle (Fig. 2 shows electric vehicle 130) [0071], wherein the direct current charging apparatus (Fig. 2 shows charging apparatus 120 and power conversion apparatus 110) comprises:
a direct current charging interface (Fig. 2 shows direct current charging interface), wherein the direct current charging interface is configured to connect a positive electrode and a negative electrode of a power supply apparatus (Fig. 2 shows charging apparatus 120 having a positive and negative electrode) and a positive electrode and a negative electrode of the power battery to form a charging loop (Fig. 2 shows power battery 131 having a positive and negative electrode forming a charging loop with the positive and negative electrode of the charging apparatus) [0081]; a switch module (Fig. 2 shows switches K1-K3 comprising switch module), wherein the switch module is configured to connect or disconnect the charging loop (switches K1-K3 is configured to connect or disconnect the charging loop) [0080-0085]; and a direct current voltage conversion module (Fig. 2 shows power conversion apparatus 110).
However, Li does not teach wherein: the direct current voltage conversion module is configured to output a preset direct current voltage to the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the power supply apparatus.
However, Yan teaches wherein: the direct current voltage conversion module is configured to output a preset direct current voltage to the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the power supply apparatus (Fig. 2 shows charging device comprising DC/DC-1-n configured to output a preset DC voltage to the positive and negative electrodes of energy storage battery i.e. power supply apparatus) [0091-0092].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the direct current voltage conversion module is configured to output a preset direct current voltage to the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the power supply apparatus as taught by Yan in order to ensure that the vehicle battery is not overcharged and thereby protecting the vehicle battery while also ensuring that the uninterruptible power supply.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7, 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
SWARNA N. CHOWDHURI
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/S.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836