DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 11, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 6-8 of the remarks that, “Yamamoto does not explicitly disclose that the refrigerant supply passage 43 is a pipe” and “Ishimaru does not disclose that the cooling parts are pipes…Accordingly, Yamamoto and Ishimaru, individually and in combination, fail to teach "the cooling oil passage is a pipe disposed between the electric motor and the electric-power control apparatus" as recited by independent claim as presently amended.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, because the passages described in Yamamoto and Ishimaru are being interpreted as pipes or fluid conduits because their main job is to carry cooling oil from one part of the vehicle system to another. In automotive engineering, a “passage” is a channel for liquid. It can be a physical metal pipe, a flexible hose, or a drilled hole inside a solid metal block. Regardless of the exact shape or material, it performs the exact same function as a pipe. They transport cooling oil under pressure, link the oil pump to the pressure regulation valve and then to the motor generator, and split into smaller paths, labeled 43a and 43b, just like a branched plumbing or pipe network. Therefore, Yamamoto and Ishimaru, individually and in combination, teach "the cooling oil passage is a pipe” as recited by the independent claim 1 as presently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US 2016/0121707), in view of Ishimaru (US 2016/0105084).
Regarding claim 1, Yamamoto discloses an electric vehicle (10 of Figure 1, 9, 10) comprising:
an electric motor (14, 36 of Figure 1);
a power transmission device (22 of Figure 1, 9, 10) to which the electric motor is connected in a power transmittable manner;
a driving battery (B of Figure 10; Para. 0037);
an electric-power control apparatus configured to control an electric power transmitted and received between the battery and the electric motor (Para. 0037);
a mechanical-electrical integrated unit constituted by the electric-power control apparatus and a drive apparatus that includes the electric motor and the power transmission device (see Figure 1, 9, 10);
a casing (housing of vehicle 10 of Figure 1, 9, 10) that houses the mechanical-electrical integrated unit;
an oil pump (42 of Figure 1) configured to discharge an oil (via 43 of Figure 1); and
a cooling oil passage (43a, 43b of Figure 1) configured to supply the oil to the electric motor for cooling the electric motor.
Yamamoto does not explicitly disclose wherein the electric-power control apparatus is disposed adjacent to and above the electric motor in a vertical direction of the electric vehicle, and
wherein the cooling oil passage is a pipe disposed between the electric motor and the electric-power control apparatus.
Ishimaru discloses wherein the electric-power control apparatus (30 of Figure 1-2) is disposed adjacent to and above the electric motor (20 of Figure 1) in a vertical direction of the electric vehicle (Para. 0015), and
wherein the cooling oil passage (70 of Figure 1-3; Para. 0056) is a pipe disposed between the electric motor and the electric-power control apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to locate the electric-power control apparatus of Yamamoto adjacent to and above the motor in a vertical direction of the vehicle and also locate the cooling oil passage between the two, as taught by Ishimaru, because the motor and electric-power control apparatus each generate heat due to electrical resistance, mechanical friction, and the like while operating and disposing them adjacent to and above the other with the cooling oil passage between the two can enhance the cooling performance for the motor and electric-power control apparatus [Ishimaru: Para. 0015, 0046].
Regarding claim 2, Yamamoto discloses further comprising:
a plurality of power lines (implied, Para. 0033, 0037) that electrically connect between the electric motor (14, 36 of Figure 1) and the electric-power control apparatus (Para. 0037).
Yamamoto does not explicitly disclose wherein the cooling oil passage (43a, 43b of Figure 1) is disposed between two of the power lines.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the cooling oil passage located between two power lines in order to assist in the cooling of the motor from the heat generated from the power lines. The Applicant also has not disclosed that placing the cooling oil passage between two power lines provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the cooling oil passage located adjacent the two power lines because the cooling oil passage would still be located near the power lines to provide cooling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yamamoto to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Yamamoto discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly wherein the two of the plurality of power lines (implied, Para. 0033, 0037) are shorter than another of the plurality of power lines.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have varying lengths of the power lines in the motor of Yamamoto to be able to reach various components of the motor that may be located at varying distances, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 4, Yamamoto discloses wherein the electric-power control apparatus includes an inverter that has a three-phase bridge circuit of U phase, V phase and W phase (Para. 0033, 0037),
wherein the electric motor (14, 36 of Figure 1) is a three-phase alternating-current synchronous motor that is to be driven by the inverter (Para. 0033, 0037), and
wherein the plurality of power lines are three power lines configured to transmit a three-phase alternating current of U phase, V phase and W phase (implied, Para. 0033, 0037).
Regarding claim 5, Yamamoto discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly wherein the two of the plurality of power lines (implied, Para. 0033, 0037) are shorter than another of the plurality of power lines.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have varying lengths of the power lines in the motor of Yamamoto to be able to reach various components of the motor that may be located at varying distances, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 6, Yamamoto discloses wherein the plurality of power lines include a plurality of electric-motor-side power line portions and a plurality of electric-power-control-apparatus-side power line portions (implied, Para. 0033, 0037), such that the electric-motor-side power line portions are connected to the electric motor (14, 36 of Figure 1) while the electric-power-control-apparatus-side power line portions are connected to the electric-power control apparatus (implied, Para. 0033, 0037),
the electric vehicle (10 of Figure 1, 9, 10) further comprising:
a terminal block that connects between each of the electric-motor-side power line portions and a corresponding one of the electric-power-control-apparatus-side power line portions (implied, Para. 0033, 0037).
Yamamoto does not explicitly disclose wherein the cooling oil passage (43a, 43b of Figure 1) is disposed between two of the electric-motor-side power line portions which are included in the two of the power lines.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the cooling oil passage located between two power lines in order to assist in the cooling of the motor from the heat generated from the power lines. The Applicant also has not disclosed that placing the cooling oil passage between two power lines provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the cooling oil passage located adjacent the two power lines because the cooling oil passage would still be located near the power lines to provide cooling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yamamoto to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Yamamoto discloses wherein the electric motor (14, 36 of Figure 1) includes a first electric motor and a second electric motor,
wherein the drive apparatus (see Figure 1, 9, 10) is disposed in the electric vehicle (10 of Figure 1, 9, 10),
wherein the cooling oil passage (43a, 43b of Figure 1) is located between the first electric motor and the lower-side portion of the electric-power control apparatus.
Yamamoto does not explicitly disclose such that a rotation axis of the first electric motor, a rotation axis of the second electric motor and a rotation axis of the power transmission device are parallel to a horizontal direction that is perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the electric vehicle, and such that the rotation axis of the second electric motor and the rotation axis of the first electric motor are arranged in this order of description from above to below in the vertical direction,
wherein the electric-power control apparatus (Para. 0037) includes a lower-side portion which is located in a position overlapping with an upper-side portion of the second electric motor as seen in the longitudinal direction and which is located above the first electric motor in the vertical direction, and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to arrange the motor and transmission parallel to a horizontal direction that is perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the electric vehicle and locate the electric-power control apparatus overlapping the motor for the space saving benefits making the vehicle more cost-effective and allowing for ease of service and more efficient cooling, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 8, Yamamoto discloses wherein the cooling oil passage (43a, 43b of Figure 1) extends in parallel to a rotation axis of the electric motor (14, 36 of Figure 1).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Charles Reid Jr./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834