DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 04, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1 the applicant argues that the combined art of Jiang and Tseng does not teach “a second radiating element electrically connected to ground through the switching circuit”. The examiner agrees with the applicant regarding Jiang and Tseng failing to teach and/or disclose the newly amended features of claim 1.
However, the prior art of US 20210351509 (hereinafter Hsieh-Chih) teaches the newly amended features of claim 1.
Therefore, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant's argument.
Regarding claim 12 the applicant argues that the combined art of Jiang and Tseng does not teach “a second radiating element electrically connected to ground through the switching circuit”. The examiner agrees with the applicant regarding Jiang and Tseng failing to teach and/or disclose the newly amended features of claim 1.
However, the prior art of Hsieh-Chih teaches the newly amended features of claim 12.
Therefore, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant's argument.
Regarding claim 14 the applicant amended the claim 14 to include: and a part of the third radiating element spans over the second segment to form a stub”.
The amended claim 14 include a portion of claim 3, previously examined. The rejection below addresses this amendment in full.
Therefore, the examiner contends that the newly amended features of the independent claims 1 and 12, including the depending claim 14, in the 35 USC 103 rejections below are disclosed by the combined art of Jiang, Hsieh-Chih, Tseng, Lin, Chang and /or Su.
The examiner would welcome a request for interview to discuss strategies for amending the claims with the goal of determining amendments that would overcome the prior art of record while ensuring that the invention is clearly recited in a manner that is not overly limiting. As best understood by the examiner, the applicant has argued but not claimed features/details in the instant application that would overcome the prior art of record as applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 115117600 A (see attached translation for the following citation) by JIANG ZHENG-WEI et al. (hereinafter JIANG) in view of US 20210351509 by HSIEH-CHIH Lin et al. (hereinafter HSIEH-CHIH) and in further view of US 20190044232 by TSENG SHIH- HSIEN et al. (hereinafter TSENG).
Regarding claim 1, JIANG teaches: (Currently Amended) An electronic device (electronic device D [0074], fig. 1), comprising:
a housing (housing of the electronic device D [0079], fig. 1); and
an antenna module (antenna structure [0074], fig. 1) disposed in the housing (in the electronic device [0007]) and including:
a first radiating element (first radiating element 1 [0074], fig. 1) including a feeding portion (feeding portion 13 [0074], fig. 1), a radiating portion (first radiating portion 11 [0074], fig. 1), and a grounding portion (grounding portion 14 [0074], fig. 1), wherein the feeding portion (feeding portion 13 [0074], fig. 1) and the grounding portion (grounding portion 14 [0074], fig. 1) are connected to the radiating portion (first radiating portion 11 [0074], fig. 1);
a switching circuit (switching circuit S [0082], fig. 1);
a second radiating element (second radiation element 2 [0074], fig. 1);
wherein the third radiating element (third radiating element 3 [0082], fig. 1) and the second radiating element (second radiation element 2 [0074], fig. 1) are separated from each other (The third radiating element 3 and the second radiation element 2 are separated from each other, fig. 1), and the third radiating element (third radiating element 3 [0082], fig. 1) and the radiating portion (first radiating portion 11 [0074], fig. 1) are separated from and coupled with each other (The third radiating element 3 and the first radiating element 1 are separated from and electromagnetically coupled to each other through a coupling, fig. 1 (Coupling Gap 2)).
JIANG – Figure 1
JIANG – Figure 2 (Coupling Gap 1)
JIANG – Figure 1 (Coupling Gap 2)
JIANG further teaches a third radiating element (third radiating element 3 [0082], fig. 1).
JIANG also teaches the first radiating element 1 includes a first radiating portion 11, a second radiating portion 12, a feeding portion 13 and a grounding portion 14 ([0074], fig. 1).
The first radiating portion 11 generates a third center frequency and excites a second operating frequency band through coupling with the third radiating element 3 ([0082], fig. 1 (Coupling Gap 2)).
JIANG, in addition, teaches the antenna structure further includes a switching circuit S. The switching circuit S is electrically connected to the third radiation element 3. The switching circuit S includes a first mode and a second mode. The first mode has a first path, and the second mode has a second path. The first path has a first impedance value, the second path has a second impedance value, and the first impedance value is different from the second impedance value ([0082], fig. 3).
The electronic device D further includes a control circuit R. The control circuit R can control the switching circuit S to switch between the first mode and the second mode, so as to utilize the control circuit R to control the operating frequency band of the antenna structure ([0083], fig. 3).
In addition, the ground path may also be connected in series with passive components. The passive element may be an inductor, a capacitor, or a resistor. The electronic device D may utilize the configuration of the passive element E to adjust the operating frequency band, impedance matching, return loss value, and/or radiation efficiency of the antenna structure ([0084], fig. 3).
The switching circuit S includes a signal conducting path W, a first path W1, a second path W2, and a third path W3. The first path W1, the second path W2, and the third path W3 are respectively connected in series with a first switch SW1, a second switch SW2, and a third switch SW3. The first passive element E1 on the second path W2 may be an inductor, and the second passive element E2 on the third path W3 may be a capacitor ([0085], fig. 3).
JIANG – Figure 3
JIANG does not explicitly teach a second radiating element electrically connected to ground through the switching circuit, wherein the second radiating element and the radiating portion are separated from and coupled with each other.
However, HSIEH-CHIH teaches a first end 1301 of the feeding part 13 is electrically connected to the second radiating part 12 and the first radiating part 11, a first end 1401 of the grounding part 14 is electrically connected to the first radiating part 11, and a second end 1402 of the grounding part 14 is electrically connected to the grounding element 4. In addition, the second radiating element 2 is coupled with the first radiating element 1 and separated from the first radiating element 1, the second radiating element 2 includes the main body 21, and the arm 22 that is electrically connected to the main body 21, and the arm 22 is electrically connected to the switching circuit S (0032, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of HSIEH-CHIH to include the second radiating element with the electronic device of the art of JIANG with the benefit of connecting the second radiating element to the grounding element via the switching circuit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of JIANG and HSIEH-CHIH to obtain the invention:
HSIEH-CHIH teaches a second radiating element (second radiation element 2 [0032], fig. 1) electrically connected to ground through (see fig. 1) the switching circuit (switching circuit S [0032], fig. 1), wherein the second radiating element (second radiation element 2 [0032], fig. 1) and the radiating portion (first radiating element 1 [0032], fig. 1) are separated from and coupled with each other (the second radiating element 2 is coupled with the first radiating element 1 and separated from the first radiating element 1 [0032], fig. 1).
JIANG and HSIEH-CHIH do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, a proximity sensing circuit; and a third radiating element electrically connected to the proximity sensing circuit.
However, TSENG teaches an antenna structure with a system in package (hereinafter SIP), wherein the SIP component has a sensing circuit (P) disposed on a third metal layer (i.e., the wire layer S) of the multi-layer metal layer. The coupling portion (32) connects with third radiation portion (31), and the coupling element (4) and the coupling portion (32) are separate from and coupling to each other. The sensing circuit (P) includes a proximity sensing circuit (P1) and an inductor (P2) connecting with the coupling portion (32). The coupling portion (32) serves as a sensing electrode for the proximity sensor circuit (P1) to measure a capacitance. A grounding element (5) is coupled with the coupling element (4), and the sensing circuit (P) electrically connects with the grounding element (5) through the coupling element (4). A feeding element (6) is coupled between the feeding portion (23) and the grounding element (5) ([0007], fig. 16).
TSENG – Figure 16
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of TSENG to include the sensor circuit with the electronic device of the combined art of JIANG and HSIEH-CHIH with the benefit of detecting detect if a human body is approaching, which allows for the transmission power of the antenna structure to be adjusted (TSENG, [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH and TSENG to obtain the invention:
TSENG teaches a proximity sensing circuit (proximity sensor circuit (P1) [0007], fig. 16); and a third radiating element (third radiation portion (31) [0007], fig. 16) electrically connected to the proximity sensing circuit (The third radiation portion (31) electrically connect with the proximity sensing circuit (P1) via the coupling portion (32) and the inductor (P2), see fig. 16).
Regarding claim 9, JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH and TSENG make obvious (Original) the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the switching circuit (JIANG switching circuit S [0082], fig. 1 & 3) includes a first path (JIANG first path W1 [0085], fig. 3), and the first path (JIANG first path W1 [0085], fig. 3) includes a first switch (JIANG first switch SW1 [0085], fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH and TSENG make obvious (Original) the electronic device according to claim 1, the antenna module (JIANG antenna structure [0074], fig. 1) further includes an inductor (TSENG inductor (P2) [0007], fig. 16), and the inductor (TSENG inductor (P2) [0007], fig. 16) is electrically connected between the third radiating element (TSENG third radiation portion (31) [0007], fig. 16) and the proximity sensing circuit (TSENG The inductor (P2) is electrically connected between the third radiation portion (31) and the proximity sensing circuit (P1), see fig. 16).
Regarding claim 12, JIANG teaches: (Currently Amended) An antenna module (antenna structure [0074], fig. 1), comprising:
a first radiating element (first radiating element 1 [0074], fig. 1) including a feeding portion (feeding portion 13 [0074], fig. 1), a radiating portion (first radiating portion 11 [0074], fig. 1), and a grounding portion (grounding portion 14 [0074], fig. 1), wherein the feeding portion (feeding portion 13 [0074], fig. 1) and the grounding portion (grounding portion 14 [0074], fig. 1) are connected to the radiating portion (first radiating portion 11 [0074], fig. 1);
a switching circuit (switching circuit S [0082], fig. 1);
a second radiating element (second radiation element 2 [0074], fig. 1);
wherein the third radiating element (third radiating element 3 [0082], fig. 1) and the second radiating element (second radiation element 2 [0074], fig. 1) are separated from each other (The third radiating element 3 and the second radiation element 2 are separated from each other, fig. 1), and the third radiating element (third radiating element 3 [0082], fig. 1) and the radiating portion (first radiating portion 11 [0074], fig. 1) are separated from and coupled with each other (The third radiating element 3 and the first radiating element 1 are separated from and electromagnetically coupled to each other through a coupling, fig. 1 (Coupling Gap 2)).
JIANG – Figure 1
JIANG – Figure 2 (Coupling Gap 1)
JIANG – Figure 1 (Coupling Gap 2)
JIANG further teaches a third radiating element (third radiating element 3 [0082], fig. 1).
JIANG also teaches the first radiating element 1 includes a first radiating portion 11, a second radiating portion 12, a feeding portion 13 and a grounding portion 14 ([0074], fig. 1).
The first radiating portion 11 generates a third center frequency and excites a second operating frequency band through coupling with the third radiating element 3 ([0082], fig. 1 (Coupling Gap 2)).
JIANG, in addition, teaches the antenna structure further includes a switching circuit S. The switching circuit S is electrically connected to the third radiation element 3. The switching circuit S includes a first mode and a second mode. The first mode has a first path, and the second mode has a second path. The first path has a first impedance value, the second path has a second impedance value, and the first impedance value is different from the second impedance value ([0082], fig. 3).
The electronic device D further includes a control circuit R. The control circuit R can control the switching circuit S to switch between the first mode and the second mode, so as to utilize the control circuit R to control the operating frequency band of the antenna structure ([0083], fig. 3).
In addition, the ground path may also be connected in series with passive components. The passive element may be an inductor, a capacitor, or a resistor. The electronic device D may utilize the configuration of the passive element E to adjust the operating frequency band, impedance matching, return loss value, and/or radiation efficiency of the antenna structure ([0084], fig. 3).
The switching circuit S includes a signal conducting path W, a first path W1, a second path W2, and a third path W3. The first path W1, the second path W2, and the third path W3 are respectively connected in series with a first switch SW1, a second switch SW2, and a third switch SW3. The first passive element E1 on the second path W2 may be an inductor, and the second passive element E2 on the third path W3 may be a capacitor ([0085], fig. 3).
JIANG – Figure 3
JIANG does not explicitly teach a second radiating element electrically connected to ground through the switching circuit, wherein the second radiating element and the radiating portion are separated from and coupled with each other.
However, HSIEH-CHIH teaches a first end 1301 of the feeding part 13 is electrically connected to the second radiating part 12 and the first radiating part 11, a first end 1401 of the grounding part 14 is electrically connected to the first radiating part 11, and a second end 1402 of the grounding part 14 is electrically connected to the grounding element 4. In addition, the second radiating element 2 is coupled with the first radiating element 1 and separated from the first radiating element 1, the second radiating element 2 includes the main body 21, and the arm 22 that is electrically connected to the main body 21, and the arm 22 is electrically connected to the switching circuit S (0032, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of HSIEH-CHIH to include the second radiating element with the electronic device of the art of JIANG with the benefit of connecting the second radiating element to the grounding element via the switching circuit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of JIANG and HSIEH-CHIH to obtain the invention:
HSIEH-CHIH teaches a second radiating element (second radiation element 2 [0032], fig. 1) electrically connected to ground through (see fig. 1) the switching circuit (switching circuit S [0032], fig. 1), wherein the second radiating element (second radiation element 2 [0032], fig. 1) and the radiating portion (first radiating element 1 [0032], fig. 1) are separated from and coupled with each other (the second radiating element 2 is coupled with the first radiating element 1 and separated from the first radiating element 1 [0032], fig. 1).
JIANG and HSIEH-CHIH do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, a proximity sensing circuit; and a third radiating element electrically connected to the proximity sensing circuit.
However, TSENG teaches an antenna structure with a system in package (hereinafter SIP), wherein the SIP component has a sensing circuit (P) disposed on a third metal layer (i.e., the wire layer S) of the multi-layer metal layer. The coupling portion (32) connects with third radiation portion (31), and the coupling element (4) and the coupling portion (32) are separate from and coupling to each other. The sensing circuit (P) includes a proximity sensing circuit (P1) and an inductor (P2) connecting with the coupling portion (32). The coupling portion (32) serves as a sensing electrode for the proximity sensor circuit (P1) to measure a capacitance. A grounding element (5) is coupled with the coupling element (4), and the sensing circuit (P) electrically connects with the grounding element (5) through the coupling element (4). A feeding element (6) is coupled between the feeding portion (23) and the grounding element (5) ([0007], fig. 16).
TSENG – Figure 16
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of TSENG to include the sensor circuit with the electronic device of the combined art of JIANG and HSIEH-CHIH with the benefit of detecting detect if a human body is approaching, which allows for the transmission power of the antenna structure to be adjusted (TSENG, [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH and TSENG to obtain the invention:
TSENG teaches a proximity sensing circuit (proximity sensor circuit (P1) [0007], fig. 16); and a third radiating element (third radiation portion (31) [0007], fig. 16) electrically connected to the proximity sensing circuit (The third radiation portion (31) electrically connect with the proximity sensing circuit (P1) via the coupling portion (32) and the inductor (P2), see fig. 16).
Claim(s) 2 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIANG in view of HSIEH-CHIH in view of TSENG in view of US 20160134017 by LIN YEN-HUI et al (hereinafter LIN) and in further view of US 20240213681 by CHANG KUN-SHENG et al. (hereinafter CHANG).
Regarding claim 2, JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH and TSENG make obvious (Original) the electronic device according to claim 1, the feeding portion (JIANG feeding portion 13 [0074], fig. 1), and the grounding portion (JIANG grounding portion 14 [0074], fig. 1).
JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH and TSENG further make obvious wherein the radiating portion (JIANG first radiating portion 11 [0074], fig. 1) includes a first segment (The first radiating portion 11 has a first segment parallel to the third radiating element 3, see JIANG – Figure 1), the first segment (see JIANG – Figure 1) and the third radiating element (JIANG third radiating element 3 [0082], fig. 1) are separated from each other by a first coupling gap (JIANG The first radiating portion 11 generates a third center frequency and excites a second operating frequency band through coupling with the third radiating element 3 [0082], see Figure 1 (Coupling Gap 2)).
JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH and TSENG do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, wherein the radiating portion includes a first segment that is located between the feeding portion and the grounding portion, and the first coupling gap is smaller than or equal to 7 mm.
However, LIN teaches a feeding portion 21, a grounding portion 22, a radiating portion 23, and an extending portion 24 coupled to the feeding portion 21 and the grounding portion 22 ([0013], fig. 1).
The extending portion 24 includes first to sixth extending strips 241, 242, 243, 244, 245 and 246. The first extending strip 241 is positioned in the first surface 31, and parallel to the feeding portion 21 and the grounding portion 22.The first extending strip 241 includes a connecting point G (grounding point G) located at a distal end of thereof. An end of the second extending strip 242 opposite the third extending strip 243 is coupled to the radiating portion 23 ([0014], fig. 1).
LIN – Figure 1
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of LIN to include the plurality of segments with the electronic device of the combined art of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH and TSENG with the benefit of having a multiband antenna (LIN, [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG and LIN to obtain the invention:
LIN teaches wherein the radiating portion (radiating portion 23 [0014], fig. 1) includes a first segment (second extending strip 242 [0014], fig. 1) that is located between the feeding portion (feeding portion 21 [0014], fig. 1) and the grounding portion (first extending strip 241 [0014], fig. 1).
JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG and LIN do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, and the first coupling gap is smaller than or equal to 7 mm.
However, CHANG teaches the width of the coupling gap GC1 may be shorter than or equal to 1 mm ([0030], fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of CHANG to include the width with the coupling gap of the combined art of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG and LIN with the benefit of permitting the use of near-field electromagnetic interaction to transfer energy.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG, LIN and CHANG to obtain the invention:
and the first coupling gap (JIANG – Figure 1 (Coupling Gap 2)) is smaller than or equal to 7 mm (CHANG the coupling gap GC1 may be shorter than 1 mm [0030], fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH and TSENG make obvious (Original) the antenna module according to claim 12, the feeding portion (JIANG feeding portion 13 [0074], fig. 1), and the grounding portion (JIANG grounding portion 14 [0074], fig. 1).
JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH and TSENG further make obvious wherein the radiating portion (JIANG first radiating portion 11 [0074], fig. 1) includes a first segment (The first radiating portion 11 has a first segment parallel to the third radiating element 3, see JIANG – Figure 1), the first segment (see JIANG – Figure 1) and the third radiating element (JIANG third radiating element 3 [0082], fig. 1) are separated from each other by a first coupling gap (JIANG The first radiating portion 11 generates a third center frequency and excites a second operating frequency band through coupling with the third radiating element 3 [0082], see Figure 1 (Coupling Gap 2)).
JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH and TSENG do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, wherein the radiating portion includes a first segment that is located between the feeding portion and the grounding portion, and the first coupling gap is smaller than or equal to 7 mm.
However, LIN teaches a feeding portion 21, a grounding portion 22, a radiating portion 23, and an extending portion 24 coupled to the feeding portion 21 and the grounding portion 22 ([0013], fig. 1).
The extending portion 24 includes first to sixth extending strips 241, 242, 243, 244, 245 and 246. The first extending strip 241 is positioned in the first surface 31, and parallel to the feeding portion 21 and the grounding portion 22.The first extending strip 241 includes a connecting point G (grounding point G) located at a distal end of thereof. An end of the second extending strip 242 opposite the third extending strip 243 is coupled to the radiating portion 23 ([0014], fig. 1).
LIN – Figure 1
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of LIN to include the plurality of segments with the electronic device of the combined art of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH and TSENG with the benefit of having a multiband antenna (LIN, [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG and LIN to obtain the invention:
LIN teaches wherein the radiating portion (radiating portion 23 [0014], fig. 1) includes a first segment (second extending strip 242 [0014], fig. 1) that is located between the feeding portion (feeding portion 21 [0014], fig. 1) and the grounding portion (first extending strip 241 [0014], fig. 1).
JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG and LIN do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, and the first coupling gap is smaller than or equal to 7 mm.
However, CHANG teaches the width of the coupling gap GC1 may be shorter than or equal to 1 mm ([0030], fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of CHANG to include the width with the coupling gap of the combined art of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG and LIN with the benefit of permitting the use of near-field electromagnetic interaction to transfer energy.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG, LIN and CHANG to obtain the invention:
and the first coupling gap (JIANG – Figure 1 (Coupling Gap 2)) is smaller than to 7 mm (CHANG the coupling gap GC1 may be shorter than 1 mm [0030], fig. 1).
Claim(s) 3 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIANG in view of HSIEH-CHIH in view of TSENG in view of LIN in view of CHANG in view of CN 101183746 A (see attached translation for the following citation) by SU XIN-LONG et al. (hereinafter SU) and in further view of CN 107104270 A (see attached translation for the following citation) by ZOU MING-YOU et al. (hereinafter ZOU).
Regarding claim 3, JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG, LIN and CHANG make obvious (Original) the electronic device according to claim 2, the radiating portion (JIANG first radiating portion 11 [0074], fig. 1), the feeding portion (JIANG feeding portion 13 [0074], fig. 1-2), and the third radiating element (JIANG first radiating portion 11 [0074], fig. 1-2).
JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG, LIN and CHANG do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, wherein the radiating portion further includes a second segment, the feeding portion is located between the first segment and the second segment, and a part of the third radiating element spans over the second segment to form a stub.
However, SU teaches a radiating element 14, a connecting element 16, and a feeding element 18. The connecting element 16 has a first part 161, a second part 162 and a third part 163. The first part 161 is electrically connected to the junction of the first radiating plane 141 and the second radiating plane 142, the second part 162 is electrically connected to the short circuit point 124 on the substrate 12, and the third part 163 is electrically connected between the first part 161 and the second part 162. The first portion 161 of the connecting element 16 has a feed point 166, which is adjacent to the first edge 122 ([0005], fig. 1).
SU – Figure 1
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of SU to include the plurality of parts and the feeding element with the radiation element of the combined art of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG, LIN and CHANG with the benefit of resonating an impedance bandwidth (SU, [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG, LIN, CHANG and SU to obtain the invention:
wherein the radiating portion (JIANG first radiating portion 11 [0074], fig. 1) further includes a second segment (SU second part 162 [0005], fig. 1), the feeding portion (SU feeding element 18 [0005], fig. 1) is located between (see SU – Figure 1) the first segment (SU first part 161 [0005], fig. 1) and the second segment (SU second part 162 [0005], fig. 1).
JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG, LIN, CHANG and SU do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, and a part of the third radiating element spans over the second segment to form a stub.
However, ZOU teaches the second residual segment 133 in the residual antenna 13 is disposed at an interval from the third radiating segment 1155 ([0043], fig. 6).
ZOU – Figure 6
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of ZOU to include the overlapping radiating element with the segment of the combined art of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG, LIN, CHANG and SU with the benefit of enhancing the transmission and reception capabilities of the antenna (ZOU, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG, LIN, CHANG, SU and ZOU to obtain the invention:
ZOU teaches and a part of the third radiating element (third radiating segment 1155 [0043], fig. 6) spans over the second segment (second residual segment 133 [0043], fig. 6) to form a stub (the second residual segment 133 in the residual antenna 13 is disposed at an interval from the third radiating segment 1155 [0043], fig. 6).
Regarding claim 14, JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG, LIN and CHANG make obvious (Currently Amended) the antenna module according to claim 13, the radiating portion (JIANG first radiating portion 11 [0074], fig. 1), the feeding portion (JIANG feeding portion 13 [0074], fig. 1-2), and the third radiating element (JIANG first radiating portion 11 [0074], fig. 1-2).
JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG, LIN and CHANG do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, wherein the radiating portion further includes a second segment, the feeding portion is located between the first segment and the second segment, and a part of the third radiating element spans over the second segment to form a stub.
However, SU teaches a radiating element 14, a connecting element 16, and a feeding element 18. The connecting element 16 has a first part 161, a second part 162 and a third part 163. The first part 161 is electrically connected to the junction of the first radiating plane 141 and the second radiating plane 142, the second part 162 is electrically connected to the short circuit point 124 on the substrate 12, and the third part 163 is electrically connected between the first part 161 and the second part 162. The first portion 161 of the connecting element 16 has a feed point 166, which is adjacent to the first edge 122 ([0005], fig. 1).
SU – Figure 1
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of SU to include the plurality of parts and the feeding element with the radiation element of the combined art of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG, LIN and CHANG with the benefit of resonating an impedance bandwidth (SU, [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG, LIN, CHANG and SU to obtain the invention:
wherein the radiating portion (JIANG first radiating portion 11 [0074], fig. 1) further includes a second segment (SU second part 162 [0005], fig. 1), the feeding portion (SU feeding element 18 [0005], fig. 1) is located between (see SU – Figure 1) the first segment (SU first part 161 [0005], fig. 1) and the second segment (SU second part 162 [0005], fig. 1).
JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG, LIN, CHANG and SU do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, and a part of the third radiating element spans over the second segment to form a stub.
However, ZOU teaches the second residual segment 133 in the residual antenna 13 is disposed at an interval from the third radiating segment 1155 ([0043], fig. 6).
ZOU – Figure 6
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of ZOU to include the overlapping radiating element with the segment of the combined art of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG, LIN, CHANG and SU with the benefit of enhancing the transmission and reception capabilities of the antenna (ZOU, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG, LIN, CHANG, SU and ZOU to obtain the invention:
ZOU teaches and a part of the third radiating element (third radiating segment 1155 [0043], fig. 6) spans over (see fig. 6) the second segment (second residual segment 133 [0043], fig. 6) to form a stub (the second residual segment 133 in the residual antenna 13 is disposed at an interval from the third radiating segment 1155 [0043], fig. 6).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIANG in view of HSIEH-CHIH in view of TSENG and in further view of LIN.
Regarding claim 10, JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH and TSENG make obvious (Original) the electronic device according to claim 9.
JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH and TSENG further make obvious the switching circuit (JIANG switching circuit S [0082], fig. 1 & 3) further includes a second path (JIANG second path W2 [0085], fig. 3), and the second path (JIANG second path W2 [0085], fig. 3) includes a second switch (JIANG second switch SW2 [0085], fig. 3); wherein, in response to the first switch and the second switch being turned on or off (JIANG to control the switching circuit S to switch [0083], fig. 3), the switching circuit is switched to a first mode or a second mode (JIANG to switch between the first mode and the second mode [0083], fig. 3); wherein an equivalent impedance of the switching circuit in the first mode is different from the equivalent impedance of the switching circuit in the second mode (JIANG The first path has a first impedance value, the second path has a second impedance value, and the first impedance value is different from the second impedance value [0082], fig. 3).
JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH and TSENG do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, wherein the first path further includes a first passive element, and the second path includes a second switch and a second passive element.
However, LIN teaches the switching circuit 203 includes a radio frequency switch 11, at least one capacitor, and at least one inductor. The at least one capacitor and the at least one inductor are grounded. The radio frequency switch 11 is capable of being grounded directly. The radio frequency switch 11 is configured to selectively short or open the grounding point G, or couple different value capacitors and different value inductors to the grounding point G, to regulate the impedance matching characteristic of the grounding point G. The switching circuit 203 includes n inductors L1-Ln with different inductance and m capacitors C1-Cm with different capacitance. Thus, by the switch of the radio frequency switch 11, the inductance value and capacitance value electronically coupled to the grounding point G can be regulated ([0020], fig. 3).
LIN – Figure 3
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of LIN to include the plurality of passive elements with the plurality of paths and the plurality of switches of the combined art of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH and TSENG with the benefit of regulating the impedance matching characteristics of the multiband antenna (LIN, [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG and LIN to obtain the invention:
wherein the first path further (JIANG first path W1 [0085], fig. 3) includes a first passive element (LIN L1/C1 [0020], fig. 3), and the second path (JIANG second path W2 [0085], fig. 3) includes a second switch (JIANG second switch SW2 [0085], fig. 3) and a second passive element (LIN Ln/Cm [0020], fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 and 15-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art fails to anticipate or make obvious claim 4 because although the combined art of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG, LIN, CHANG, SU and ZOU teaches a third radiating element, a grounding portion and a stub formed when overlapping a segment, the modification of the combined art of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG, LIN, CHANG, SU and ZOU is incompatible with “the first widened portion and the second widened portion are respectively located at both sides of the grounding portion, and the second widened portion is a part of the stub”. Further search and consideration did not find any combination of prior art can be found to incorporate all the claimed features. Claims 5-7 depend from claim 4 and would also then be allowable if claim 4 is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art fails to anticipate or make obvious claim 8 because although the combined art of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG, LIN and CHANG teaches a feeding portion and a plurality of segments in the feeding portion, the modification of the combined art of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG, LIN and CHANG is incompatible with “the third segment and the stub are separated from each other by a second coupling gap”. Further search and consideration did not find any combination of prior art can be found to incorporate all the claimed features.
The prior art fails to anticipate or make obvious claim 15 because although the combined art of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG, LIN, CHANG, SU and ZOU teaches a third radiating element, a grounding portion and a stub formed when overlapping a segment, the modification of the combined art of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG, LIN, CHANG, SU and ZOU is incompatible with “the first widened portion and the second widened portion are respectively located at both sides of the grounding portion, and the second widened portion is a part of the stub”. Further search and consideration did not find any combination of prior art can be found to incorporate all the claimed features. Claims 16-18 depend from claim 15 and would also then be allowable if claim 15 is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art fails to anticipate or make obvious claim 19 because although the combined art of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG, LIN, CHANG, SU and ZOU teaches a feeding portion and a plurality of segments in the feeding portion, the modification of the combined art of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH, TSENG, LIN, CHANG, SU and ZOU is incompatible with “the third segment and the stub are separated from each other by a second coupling gap”. Further search and consideration did not find any combination of prior art can be found to incorporate all the claimed features.
The prior art fails to anticipate or make obvious the newly added claim 20 because although the combined art of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH and TSENG teaches a third radiating element, the modification of the combined art of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH and TSENG is incompatible with “wherein two ends of the third radiating element are respectively located on two opposite sides of the grounding portion, and a projection of a portion of the third radiating element onto a plane in which the grounding portion is located partially overlaps a projection of the grounding portion”. Further search and consideration did not find any combination of prior art can be found to incorporate all the claimed features.
The prior art fails to anticipate or make obvious the newly added claim 21 because although the combined art of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH and TSENG teaches a third radiating element, the modification of the combined art of JIANG, HSIEH-CHIH and TSENG is incompatible with “wherein two ends of the third radiating element are respectively located on two opposite sides of the grounding portion, and a projection of a portion of the third radiating element onto a plane in which the grounding portion is located partially overlaps a projection of the grounding portion”. Further search and consideration did not find any combination of prior art can be found to incorporate all the claimed features.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSE A. MIRANDA GONZALEZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 2844
/JASON M CRAWFORD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844