DETAILED ACTION
This non-final rejection is responsive to the claims filed 03 July 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 11, and 14 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 refers to “the acquired data”. However, there is no antecedent basis for this term. For prior art purposes, Examiner interprets the foregoing as any acquired data.
Claim 16 refers to “the determined voltage”. However, determination of voltage happens in claim 15, not the parent claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-14, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams (US 2025/0027981 A1) hereinafter known as Williams.
Regarding independent claim 1, Williams teaches:
A Grid Edge Platform (GEP) configured to monitor a utility grid and perform onsite, independent and autonomous machine learning at the utility grid, comprising: (Williams: Fig. 1 and ¶[0021]; Williams teaches a server 114 at a grid edge 110 with an ML server to monitor an electrical grid.)
a data acquisition system (DAQ) configured to acquire data from one or more sensors of the utility grid; (Williams: ¶[0037]; Williams teaches a line sensor 112 which includes a data acquisition unit. The optical head captures the electromagnetic field generated by the current and voltage signals and converts it into an optical signal, which is then transmitted to the data acquisition unit.)
…
…
…
An embodiment of Williams does not explicitly teach but another embodiment teaches:
a field-programmable gate array or a floating point gate array (FPGA) configured to manage the acquired data and to execute at least one algorithm using the acquired data; (Williams: Fig. 3 and ¶[0045]-¶[0048]; Williams teaches an FPGA that performs the functionality 300, which transforms raw sensor waveform from sensor 112 into multiple frequency bands and digitizes the separate bands.
a graphics processing unit (GPU) configured to execute at least one machine learning algorithm on at least one of the acquired data or data processed by the FPGA; and (Williams: Fig. 3 and ¶[0066]; Williams teaches a GPU for processing the MSET ML pattern recognition algorithm.)
an input/output (I/O) system through which the GPU outputs data to a remote system. (Williams: Fig. 4 and ¶[0069] and ¶[0074]; Williams teaches a link from the Grid Edge 110 to the SCADA 130.)
Williams is in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, as it is directed to monitoring grids. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine a grid edge platform for monitoring a utility grid using a data acquisition system and sensors with further using an FPGA and a GPU. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine these teachings because the combination would allow the functions to be performed by other hardware parts, as suggested by Williams: ¶[0045].
Regarding claim 2, Williams further teaches the GEP of claim 1.
Williams further teaches:
wherein the GPU is configured to predict a future condition of the utility grid and/or perform grid optimization calculations. (Williams: ¶[0019]; Williams teaches machine learning that performs continuous prognostics of conductor integrity and is able to detect the leading edge of incipient degradation.)
Regarding claim 3, Williams further teaches the GEP of claim 1.
Williams further teaches:
wherein at least one of the FPGA or the GPU is configured to detect an instant fault condition of the utility grid. (Williams: ¶[0044]; Williams teaches using the MSET2 for near-instantaneous prognostics of the dynamic waveforms to detect the incipience or onset of the “leading edge” of any degradation modes. ¶[0066] further teaches the MSET2 on the GPU.)
Regarding claim 4, Williams further teaches the GEP of claim 1.
Williams further teaches:
wherein the I/O system is configured to communicate with a system controlling power output of the utility grid, and the GPU is configured to determine a change in power output of the utility grid based on at least one of a fault detection, a predicted future condition, and/or a grid optimization calculation of the utility grid. (Williams: ¶[0034]-¶[0035]; Williams teaches the ML server detecting the event and sending a notification of the event to an adjacent device to provide mitigation control – to immediately reduce load or to inject power. ¶[0043]-¶[0044] further teaches MSET2 detection and the MSET2 result (GPU) drives the de-energization decision.)
Regarding claim 9, Williams further teaches the GEP of claim 1.
Williams further teaches:
wherein the GPU is configured to run one or more applications that are remotely controlled and/or receive input from the remote system. (Williams: ¶[0070]; Williams teaches system 100 includes the ability to host and remotely life-cycle manage edge software. The ML server 114 runs MSET2 on a GPU.)
Regarding claim 10, Williams further teaches the GEP of claim 1.
Williams further teaches:
A utility grid monitoring system comprising the GEP of claim 1 and the one or more sensors, wherein the one or more sensors include an optical voltage sensor. (Williams: ¶[0019]; Williams teaches an advanced optical current/voltage sensor.)
Regarding claims 11-13, these claims recite a grid edge platform that performs the function of the grid edge platform of claims 1, 4, and 9; therefore, the same rationale for rejection applies.
Regarding claims 14, 17, and 19, these claims recite utility grid monitoring system that performs the function of the grid edge platform of claims 1-3, 10, and 11; therefore, the same rationale for rejection applies.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams in view of Khan (Design of FPGA based DAQ Card Using PCI Express Protocol, attached as pdf) hereinafter known as Khan.
Regarding claim 5, Williams further teaches the GEP of claim 1.
Williams further teaches:
wherein the DAQ is configured for a sampling rate of at least 96 kHz … . (Williams: ¶[0037]; Williams teaches a sampling rate of 60 kHz or greater.)
Williams does not explicitly teach but Khan teaches:
… and includes: a plurality of connected data acquisition (DAQ) cards; and a high-speed serial peripheral interface (SPI) for data acquisition, wherein the SPI operates in full duplex mode to allow data to be simultaneously sent and received. (Khan: pg. 212; Khan teaches the hardware of the DAQ consisting of two modules; FPGA based PCI express card and customized I/O expansion module. Further, Khan teaches SPI protocol, in full duplex, to perform communication between the AVR and FPGA module because higher data rate is achievable.
Khan is analogous to the present invention, since Khan is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, i.e. transferring sensor data into an FPGA over a high-speed link. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the data acquisition unit and FPGA of Williams with the two-board arrangement of Khan. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Williams to include teachings of Khan, because the combination would allow higher rate communication since the SPI protocol has been used to perform communication between AVR and FPGA module because higher data rate is achievable through 4 channels only, as suggested by Khan: pg. 12.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams in view of Khan in view of Chauhan (Hardware Design of an Efficient High Speed Multi Channel Data Acquisition Using DDR, attached as pdf) hereinafter known as Chauhan.
Regarding claim 6, Williams in view of Khan further teaches the GEP of claim 5.
Williams further teaches:
… processing of real-time in-situ data acquired by the DAQ. (Williams: Fig. 3 and ¶[0045]-¶[0046]; Williams teaches real-time raw sensor waveform from sensor 112 and performing the functionality 300 using a FPGA.)
Williams does not explicitly teach but Chauhan teaches:
wherein the FPGA is configured to manage data acquisition through the SPI, clock timing, and … . (Chauhan: pg. 268; Chauhan teaches the FPGA acquiring data over SPI and generating clocks needed.)
Chauhan is analogous to the present invention, since Khan is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, i.e. transferring sensor data into an FPGA over a high-speed link. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the data acquisition unit and FPGA and SPI linked acquisition boards of Williams in view of Khan with further command interface of Chauhan which communicates with the acquisition device over the SPI interface and generates the needed clocks of Chauhan. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Williams and Khan to include teachings of Chauhan, because the combination would allow the FPGA would drive the acquisition device, supply it’s clock, and talk to it over the SPI from one command interface, as suggested by Chauhan: pg. 268.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams in view of Eckhardt (US 2017/0155279 A1) hereinafter known as Eckhardt.
Regarding claim 7, Williams further teaches the GEP of claim 1.
Williams does not explicitly teach but Eckhardt teaches:
further comprising a plurality of radiating fins for heat dissipation. (Eckhardt: ¶[0162]; Eckhardt teaches adding fins for convection effectiveness.)
Eckhardt is in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, since it is directed to devices mounted on utility poles. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine pole mounted devices of Williams with the fins of Eckhardt. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Williams to include teachings of Eckhardt, because the combination would allow more efficient heat management, as suggested by Eckhardt: ¶[0162].
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams in view of Ferguson (US 2019/0171965 A1) hereinafter known as Ferguson.
Regarding claim 8, Williams further teaches the GEP of claim 1.
Williams further teaches:
wherein the GEP is configured to be installed at an edge of the utility grid, and … . (Williams: ¶[0021]; Williams teaches system 100 includes, at the electrical grid edge 110, a high speed sensor 112 a processor/controller based server 114 with embedded ML.)
Williams does not explicitly teach but Ferguson teaches:
… the FPGA and GPU are provided on a same board. (Ferguson: ¶[0033]; Ferguson teaches the FPGA and the GPU being on a common printed circuit board.)
Ferguson is analogous to the present invention since it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, i.e. packaging the GPU and FPGA on the same board. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine packaged devices of Williams with the common printed circuit board of Ferguson. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Williams to include teachings of Ferguson, because the combination would allow minimizing latency, as suggested by Ferguson: ¶[0034].
Regarding claim 18, this claim recites a utility grid monitoring system that performs the function of the grid edge platform of claims 8 and 10; therefore, the same rationale for rejection applies.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams in view of Hummon (US 2024/0213800 A1) hereinafter known as Hummon.
Regarding claim 15, Williams further teaches the utility grid monitoring system of claim 14.
Williams further teaches:
wherein the GEP is configured to determine voltage, current, … at each monitoring location from the acquired data. (Williams: ¶[0037]; Williams teaches measuring parameters such as voltage, current, power quality, and harmonics.)
Williams does not explicitly teach but Hummon teaches:
…and phase … . (Hummon: ¶[0156]; Hummon teaches the DSP engine can involve or provide at least one of but not limited to phase angle of current from voltage.)
Hummon is in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, since it is directed to grid-edge devices that measure voltage and current on a grid. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine grid-edge sensor that measures voltage and current at each installation as taught in Williams with determining phase angle as taught in Hummon. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Williams to include teachings of Hummon, because the combination would allow the processed information to be used to perform the predefined features, not limited to anomaly detection, anomaly classification, digital fingerprint, etc…, as suggested by Hummon: ¶[0067].
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams in view of Koval (US 2019/0260204 A1) hereinafter known as Koval.
Regarding claim 16, Williams further teaches the utility grid monitoring system of claim 14.
Williams further teaches:
wherein the GEP is configured to process and output the determined voltage and current within Distributed Network Protocol (DNP) …. (Williams: Fig. 4 and ¶[0069]; Williams teaches up-link telemetry data (DNP3).)
Williams does not explicitly teach but Koval teaches:
… IEC-61850 protocols. (Koval: ¶[0118] and ¶[0131]; Koval teaches using DNP and IEC-61850 protocols.)
Koval is in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, since it is directed to grid devices that report measured voltage and current. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine grid-edge device that up links its telemetry to SCADA over DNP3 as taught in Williams with the IEC-61850 standard as taught in Koval. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Williams to include teachings of Koval, because the combination would allow to meet the reliability criteria of the IEC-61850, as suggested by Koval: ¶[0132].
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams in view of Ishiko (US 4,999,571 A) hereinafter known as Ishiko.
Regarding claim 20, Williams further teaches the utility grid monitoring system of claim 14.
Williams further teaches:
wherein the plurality of sensors include a plurality of line hanging sensors adapted to be connected to the utility grid, and the system further comprises: a fiber-optic cable …; and an enclosure configured to be mounted on a utility pole or tower, wherein the enclosure is configured to house the GEP. (Williams: Fig. 1 and ¶[0021]; Williams teaches plurality of line hanging sensors connected to the utility grid. ¶[0037] further teaches a fiber optic cable included in the sensor 112. ¶[0043] further teaches the sensor processor running in the same box on the pole or utility equipment.)
Williams does not explicitly teach but Ishiko teaches:
… a fiber-optic cable configured to connect the line hanging sensors … . (Ishiko: Fig. 6 and col. 6, lines 19-35; Ishiko teaches optical cables connecting detectors.)
Ishiko is in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, since it is directed line devices. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine line hanging devices as taught in Williams with the fiber optic connections as taught in Ishiko. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Williams to include teachings of Ishiko, because the combination would allow sensor output to be transmitted through an optical calbe so that a remote fault detection or control of a transmission or distribution line can be realized, as suggested by Ishiko: col. 6, lines 36-51.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fernandes (US 2008/0077336 A1) hereinafter known as Fernandes.
Conclusion
/ALEKSEY OLSHANNIKOV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118