DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bonnin (US 11,083,111).
Regarding claim 1, Bonnin discloses a refrigerant circulation device (refer to figs.2 and 6), comprising:
a primary flow path (7) serving as a flow path of a primary refrigerant;
a secondary flow path (8) serving as a flow path of a secondary refrigerant;
a heat exchanger (102) connected to the primary flow path and the secondary flow path;
a pump (101) connected to the secondary flow path (8); and
a housing (100, fig.6) including an accommodation region;
wherein the accommodation region extends in a first direction (direction of side wall 131) and a second direction (direction of side wall 133) intersecting each other, and has a dimension longer in the first direction than in the second direction (refer to fig.6);
the housing accommodates (refer to fig.6) the primary flow path (7), the secondary flow path (8), the heat exchanger (102), and the pump (101) in the accommodation region;
an entirety of the heat exchanger (102) is positioned on one side in the second direction relative to the pump (101);
the housing includes panels (133 and 134) arranged to oppose each other in the second direction with the accommodation region interposed therebetween;
the heat exchanger (102) extends along one of the panels (131) such that a longitudinal direction of the heat exchanger extends in parallel with the first direction (in the direction of wall 131), the one of the panels being provided on the one side in the second direction;
the heat exchanger (102) is provided with inlets and outlets for the primary refrigerant and the secondary refrigerant; and
all of the inlets and outlets are arranged on a flow path connection surface provided on the other side in the second direction of the heat exchanger (on side wall 134 as can be seen from fig.6, wherein pipes 121 to 123 are from the secondary flow path 8, and pipes 124 and 125 from the primary flow path 7).
Regarding claim 3, Bonnin meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Bonnin discloses wherein the pump (101) includes: a pump inlet serving as an inflow port of the secondary refrigerant (8); a pump outlet serving as an outflow port of the secondary refrigerant (8); a pump inlet-side flow path (refer to pipe 121 located upstream of the pump as in fig.6) connecting the pump inlet and the secondary flow path; and a pump outlet-side flow path (refer to pipe 122 located between the pump and the heat exchanger) connecting the pump outlet and the secondary flow path; and
the pump inlet-side flow path (121) and the pump outlet-side flow path (122) extend in the first direction (the longer dimension) on the second direction side relative to the heat exchanger (refer to fig.6, wherein said paths extend in the first direction).
Regarding claim 4, Bonnin meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 3. Further, Bonnin discloses wherein the housing includes a housing secondary outlet serving as an outflow port of the secondary refrigerant (outlet connecting pipe 123 through side wall 134); and a portion of the secondary flow path (8), the portion connecting the housing secondary outlet and the pump outlet extends in the first direction (the longer dimension) on the second direction side relative to the heat exchanger.
Regarding claim 5, Bonnin meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Bonnin discloses wherein an entirety of the heat exchanger (102) is positioned on one side (from side wall 133 in the second direction and side wall 131 in the first direction) in the second direction relative to the pump (101); the heat exchanger includes: a HEX primary inlet (inlet through pipe 124 located upstream of the heat exchanger) connected to the primary flow path (7) and serving as an inflow port of the primary refrigerant; a HEX primary outlet (outlet through pipe 125 located downstream of the heat exchanger) connected to the primary flow path (7) and serving as an outflow port of the primary refrigerant; a HEX secondary inlet (inlet by means of pipe 122) connected to the secondary flow path (8) and serving as an inflow port of the secondary refrigerant; a HEX secondary outlet (outlet through pipe 123) connected to the secondary flow path (8) and serving as an outflow port of the secondary refrigerant; and a HEX housing including a flow path connection surface (said surface is considered to be an entirety of the walls forming the heat exchanger as in fig.6) on which the HEX primary inlet, the HEX primary outlet, the HEX secondary inlet, and the HEX secondary outlet are arranged; and the flow path connection surface opposes another side in the second direction (refer to fig.6 below, wherein at least a portion of the connection surface has two surfaces opposing one another).
Regarding claim 6, Bonnin meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Bonnin discloses a control circuit (103); wherein the housing accommodates the control circuit in the accommodation region (refer to fig.6); and the control circuit is in a portion of the accommodation region on a first direction side of the heat exchanger (refer to fig.6).
Regarding claim 7, Bonnin meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 6. Further, Bonnin discloses wherein the control circuit (103) is in a portion of the accommodation region on a second direction side of the pump (101); and the control circuit is smaller in dimension in the first direction than the pump (refer to fig.6).
Regarding claim 11, Bonnin meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Bonnin discloses wherein the secondary refrigerant flowing into the heat exchanger (102) through the secondary flow path is higher in temperature than the primary refrigerant flowing into the heat exchanger through the primary flow path (refer to fig.2 wherein the secondary flow path is capable of being higher in temperature than the primary refrigerant flowing into the heat exchanger through the primary flow path since it flows from computer servers 3); and the secondary flow path is positioned on one side in a third direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction relative to the primary flow path (vertically as can be seen from fig.6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonnin (US 11,083,111) in view of Chen (US 12,207,449).
Regarding claim 2, Bonnin meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Bonnin discloses the pump (101) connected to the secondary flow path and an entirety of the heat exchanger (102) is positioned on one side in the second direction relative to the pump (refer to fig.6), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the pump includes a plurality of pumps.
However, Chen teaches a cooling apparatus for a server (refer to fig.1), comprising a plurality of pumps (40, 40a), wherein the plurality of pumps are provided for backup use in case where operation of the first pump is ceased, or may be used as an auxiliary pump (refer to col.4, lines 45-55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bonnin such that the pump includes a plurality of pumps in view of the teachings of Chen, in order to provide backup in case where operation of the first pump is ceased, or an auxiliary pump.
Regarding claim 8, Bonnin meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Bonnin discloses the housing, but fails to explicitly disclose a power supply assembly, wherein the housing accommodates the power supply assembly in the accommodation region, and the power supply assembly is positioned away from the heat exchanger in the second direction and away from the pump in the first direction.
However, Chen teaches a cooling apparatus for a server (refer to fig.2), comprising a power supply assembly (50), wherein a housing (100) accommodates the power supply assembly in an accommodation region, and the power supply assembly (50) is positioned away from a heat exchanger (10) in a second direction and away from a pump (40) in a first direction (refer to fig.2 below), in order to provide electrical power necessary for the operation of the cooling apparatus (refer to col.3, lines 23-25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bonnin by providing a power supply assembly as taught by Chen, wherein the housing accommodates the power supply assembly in the accommodation region, and the power supply assembly is positioned away from the heat exchanger in the second direction and away from the pump in the first direction, in order to provide electrical power necessary for the operation of the refrigerant circulation device.
Regarding claim 9, Bonnin meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 8. Further, Bonnin discloses wherein the heat exchanger (102) is on one side in the second direction; the power supply assembly (50 as taught by Chen) is arranged at an interval on another side in the second direction with respect to the heat exchanger; the housing includes: a housing primary inlet (inlet through side wall 134 from pipe 124 upstream of the heat exchanger) connected to the primary flow path (7) and serving as an inflow port of the primary refrigerant; a housing primary outlet (outlet through side wall 134 from pipe 125) connected to the primary flow path (7) and serving as an outflow port of the primary refrigerant; a housing secondary inlet (inlet through side wall 134 from pipe 121 located upstream of the pump as in fig.6) connected to the secondary flow path (8) and serving as an inflow port of the secondary refrigerant; and a housing secondary outlet (outlet through side wall 134 from pipe 123 located downstream of the heat exchanger) connected to the secondary flow path (8) and serving as an outflow port of the secondary refrigerant; and the housing primary inlet, the housing primary outlet, the housing secondary inlet, and the housing secondary outlet are arranged in the second direction between the heat exchanger and the power supply assembly (50 as taught by Chen).
Regarding claim 10, Bonnin meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Bonnin discloses the secondary refrigerant, but fails to explicitly disclose a tank that stores a refrigerant used as the secondary refrigerant, wherein the housing accommodates the tank in the accommodation region, the tank is arranged such that at least a portion of the tank overlaps in a third direction with respect to the heat exchanger on one side of the third direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction relative to the heat exchanger, and the tank is connected in the third direction with respect to the secondary flow path.
However, Chen teaches a cooling apparatus for a server (refer to fig.4), comprising a tank (90) that stores a refrigerant used as a secondary refrigerant (internal cooling loop 30), wherein a housing accommodates the tank (90) in an accommodation region, the tank (90) is arranged such that at least a portion of the tank overlaps in a third direction (vertically) with respect to a heat exchanger (10) on one side of the third direction intersecting a first direction and a second direction relative to the heat exchanger (10), and the tank is connected in the third direction with respect to a secondary flow path, in order to supply cooling fluid inside the internal cooling loop (refer to col.5, lines 24-28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bonnin by providing a tank as taught by Chen that stores a refrigerant used as the secondary refrigerant, wherein the housing accommodates the tank in the accommodation region, the tank is arranged such that at least a portion of the tank overlaps in a third direction with respect to the heat exchanger on one side of the third direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction relative to the heat exchanger, and the tank is connected in the third direction with respect to the secondary flow path, in order to supply cooling fluid inside the secondary flow path.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp.7-11, filed on 09/17/2026, with respect to claims 1-11 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-11 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly amended claims.
Conclusion
/ANA M VAZQUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763