DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
the “first flow directing member and second flow directing member, means for distributing” as recited in claim 1;
the “means for adjusting” as recited in claims 2 and 3;
the “barrier” as recited in claim 3;
the “means for rotating… symmetric distribution patten” as recited in claim 4;
the “first flow directing member and said second flow directing member is independently configured to direct flow of said particulate material around said common axis” as recited in claim 6; and
the “distributing said particulate material in a non-static asymmetric pattern comprises one of: a means for reducing rotational speed of said spinner; a means for reducing flow of said particulate material; and a means for adjusting position” as recited in claim 7; must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “flow directing member” in claim 1, where “member” is the placeholder and “flow directing” is the functional language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “pattern” in line 9 of claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “pattern” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The size, shape, range of distribution and spread, around a targeted region to meet the claim limitation is not known. In other words, the accuracy and/or the accepted tolerance (accepted deviation from the target spray pattern) to meet the claim limitation is not known. Furthermore, the method of measuring or determining such “pattern” is not provided in the disclosure, as originally filed by the Applicant. Same rejection applies to all pensing claims. Similar rejection applies to the term “symmetric” in claims 4 and 7. Loosely organized particulate material when spread out by spinners normally creates non-symmetrical spray patterns. It is unclear how “symmetrical” is needed to meet the claim limitation. The accuracy and the accepted tolerance (accepted deviation from the target spray pattern) to meet the claim limitation is not known. Furthermore, the method of measuring or determining the term “symmetric” is not provided in the disclosure, as originally filed by the Applicant. Similar rejection applies to the term “equal” in line 3 of claim 2. Clarification is respectfully requested.
In claim 3, line 7, the recitation “a means for adjusting” appears to be a double inclusion of the “means for adjusting” recited in line 6 of claim 2.
The above are just examples of inconsistencies and problematic issues noted by the Examiner. Applicant is advised to carefully review and amend the application to correct other deficiencies. For the purpose of examination, the claims will be examined as best understood by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Podoll et al. (US 9,649,646. Podoll hereinafter).
With respect to claim 1, Podoll discloses an apparatus (Figs. 1-22) for spreading particulate material across a field with increased application rate, swath width, driving speed, and control of pattern comprising: a conveyor (12); a material divider (25); a first flow directing member (1 of 4 blade 22. Fig. 15); a second flow directing member (2 of 4 blade 22. The blade opposite the 1 of 4 blade); a spinner (spinner assembly with disk 21); a means for distributing said particulate material (12, 25, 22, and 21) in a non-static (dynamic) pattern by conveying said particulate material onto said spinner utilizing; said conveyor, said material divider, said first flow directing member, and said second flow directing member, wherein each of said first flow directing member and said second flow directing member is configured to (capable of) rotate around a common axis (of disk 21) so as to direct flow of said particulate material around said common axis and said spinner, where said common axis is a non-horizontal (vertical) common axis; and wherein each of said first flow directing member and said second flow directing member is configured to (capable of) direct particulate material flow in a configurable shape in separate and distinct locations onto said spinner (Figs. 3-11).
With respect to claim 2, Podoll discloses the apparatus of claim 1 wherein said first flow directing member and said second flow directing member include a distinct flow directing orifice (irregular shape orifice forms by the unmarked triangular plate and blade 22 at the outer end of 22. Fig. 15); and wherein said material divider separates the particulate material into columns of equal measure (Fig. 4) into said first flow directing member and said second flow directing member and further comprising a means for adjusting (84) said non-static pattern by rotating one of said first flow directing member and said second flow directing member around said common axis.
With respect to claim 3, Podoll discloses the apparatus of claim 2 wherein said spinner comprises: a barrier (unmarked triangular plate at the outer end of 22. Fig. 15) configured to (capable of) direct stray affect deflected grains of said particulate material onto said spinner; a plurality of separated centrifugal disks (left and right 21); a top centrifugal disk (left or right 21), with an annular shape, of said plurality of separated centrifugal disks for permitting passage of said particulate material; and a means for adjusting (84) said non-static pattern while one of said plurality of separated centrifugal disk is rotatable around said common axis.
With respect to claim 4, Podoll discloses the apparatus of claim 3 wherein said means for adjusting said non-static pattern includes means for rotating each of said first flow directing member and said second flow directing member around said common axis, and wherein the first flow directing member and the second flow directing member are configured to (capable of) be manipulated to obtain a symmetric distribution patten (Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 5, Podoll discloses the apparatus of claim 3 wherein each of said first flow directing member and said second flow directing member is configured to (capable of) direct flow of said particulate material from said material divider onto only one of said plurality of separated centrifugal disks.
With respect to claim 6, Podoll discloses the apparatus of claim 1 wherein said first flow directing member and said second flow directing member is independently (one can work without the other) configured to (capable of) direct flow of said particulate material around said common axis.
With respect to claim 7, Podoll discloses the apparatus of claim 1 wherein said means for distributing said particulate material in a non-static asymmetric pattern comprises one of: a means for reducing (switch or control of 84) rotational speed of said spinner; a means for reducing flow (switch or control of 12) of said particulate material; and a means for adjusting position (mechanism of translating) of said first flow directing member and said second flow directing member.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to show the art with respect to a particulate material spreader: Van der Lely et al., Egerdahl, Barbieri, Lewis, Truan et al., Kost et al. ‘590, Kost et al. ‘952, Schoenfeld, Gamble et al. and Sandler et al.
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 June 4, 2026