DETAILED ACTION
This is a final Office action in response to the amendment filed 03/24/2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending;
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 12, and 16-20 are currently amended; claims 2, 6, and 8-11 are original; claims 13-15 were previously presented;
Claims 1-20 are rejected herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments on page 10 of the remarks filed 03/24/2026,
"Regarding the objections relating to claims 12, 13, and 15, replacement drawings are being submitted herewith showing the perforated sheet configuration of claims 12, 13, and 15. Support for this configuration is found in paragraph [0022] of the specification as published, which describes that 'organizer 100 may be formed in a larger sheet having sections separated by perforations such that the sections can be easily split into individual organizers 100 having the same or different number of slots 102 depending on the installation.'"
have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The newly added Figure 6 of the replacement drawings filed 03/24/2026 appears to show an organizer (100) comprising a first section (e.g., the left section) and a second section (e.g., the right section), wherein the first section and the second section are separated by a substantially vertical dashed line, which appears to represent the disclosed perforations, and wherein the first section defines three keyhole-shaped slots (102) and the second section defines two keyhole-shaped slots (102). Firstly, the original disclosure of the present application does not disclose as to how the first section and the second section are separably arranged with respect to each other. The specific side-by-side separation by a substantially vertical dashed line between the first section and the second section, as illustrated in newly added Figure 6 of the replacement drawings filed 03/24/2026, is not supported by the original disclosure of the present application. Secondly, the original disclosure of the present application does not disclose as to how many keyhole-shaped slots (102) each of the first section and the second section defines. The exact number of keyhole-shaped slots (102) defined by each of the first section and the second section, as illustrated in newly added Figure 6 of the replacement drawings filed 03/24/2026, is not supported by the original disclosure of the present application. Therefore, the newly added Figure 6 of the replacement drawings filed 03/24/2026 is new matter.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the prior art rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and/or 35 U.S.C. 103 in the remarks filed 03/24/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth below in the current Office action. Note that the new grounds of rejection are necessitated by Applicant's amendments to the claims.
Drawings
The replacement drawings filed 03/24/2026 are objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because they introduce new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows:
The newly added Figure 6 of the replacement drawings filed 03/24/2026 appears to show an organizer (100) comprising a first section (e.g., the left section) and a second section (e.g., the right section), wherein the first section and the second section are separated by a substantially vertical dashed line, which appears to represent the disclosed perforations, and wherein the first section defines three keyhole-shaped slots (102) and the second section defines two keyhole-shaped slots (102). Firstly, the original disclosure of the present application does not disclose as to how the first section and the second section are separably arranged with respect to each other. The specific side-by-side separation by a substantially vertical dashed line between the first section and the second section, as illustrated in newly added Figure 6 of the replacement drawings filed 03/24/2026, is not supported by the original disclosure of the present application. Secondly, the original disclosure of the present application does not disclose as to how many keyhole-shaped slots (102) each of the first section and the second section defines. The exact number of keyhole-shaped slots (102) defined by each of the first section and the second section, as illustrated in newly added Figure 6 of the replacement drawings filed 03/24/2026, is not supported by the original disclosure of the present application. Therefore, the newly added Figure 6 of the replacement drawings filed 03/24/2026 is new matter. Accordingly, the replacement drawings filed 03/24/2026 have not been entered by the Examiner.
The drawings field 07/03/2024 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature "[a] medical line organizing system for organizing a plurality of medical lines connected to one or more medical devices, the medical line organizing system comprising: a substantially planar plate comprising a first section and a second section separated by a perforation, the first and second sections each comprising a plurality of slots formed along a first edge margin of the plate, the slots extending from the first edge margin of the plate toward a central portion of the plate along a first distance, wherein the central portion extends from the slots toward a second edge margin of the plate opposite the first edge margin along a second distance, and wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance, the slots shaped and sized to receive and retain the plurality of medical line; wherein the plate is configured to be split at the perforation to define a first organizer at the first section and a second organizer at the second section" (claim 12, lines 1-12) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. The drawings filed 07/03/2024 fail to show the medical line organizing system of claim 12.
The drawings field 07/03/2024 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature "[t]he medical line organizing system of claim 12, wherein the slots of the first organizer are configured to receive and retain a first group of medical lines, and the slots of the second organizer are configured to receive and retain a second group of medical lines different from the first group of medical lines" (claim 13, lines 1-4). must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings field 07/03/2024 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature "[t]he medical line organizing system of claim 12, wherein the first organizer is configured to receive and retain the plurality of medical lines at a first location, and the second organizer is configured to receive and retain the plurality of medical lines at a second location different from the first location to keep entire lengths of the medical lines organized" (claim 14, lines 1-5). must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings field 07/03/2024 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature "[t]he medical line organizing system of claim 12, wherein the first section comprises a different number of slots than the second section" (claim 15, lines 1 and 2). must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The amendments to the specification filed 03/24/2026 are objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because they introduce new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows:
The amendments to the specification filed 03/24/2026, "FIG. 6 is a top view of an organizer according to an embodiment," are considered as new matter, since they are associated with the newly added Figure 6 of the replacement drawings filed 03/24/2026. The newly added Figure 6 of the replacement drawings filed 03/24/2026 appears to show an organizer (100) comprising a first section (e.g., the left section) and a second section (e.g., the right section), wherein the first section and the second section are separated by a substantially vertical dashed line, which appears to represent the disclosed perforations, and wherein the first section defines three keyhole-shaped slots (102) and the second section defines two keyhole-shaped slots (102). Firstly, the original disclosure of the present application does not disclose as to how the first section and the second section are separably arranged with respect to each other. The specific side-by-side separation by a substantially vertical dashed line between the first section and the second section, as illustrated in newly added Figure 6 of the replacement drawings filed 03/24/2026, is not supported by the original disclosure of the present application. Secondly, the original disclosure of the present application does not disclose as to how many keyhole-shaped slots (102) each of the first section and the second section defines. The exact number of keyhole-shaped slots (102) defined by each of the first section and the second section, as illustrated in newly added Figure 6 of the replacement drawings filed 03/24/2026, is not supported by the original disclosure of the present application. Therefore, the newly added Figure 6 of the replacement drawings filed 03/24/2026 is new matter. Also, the amendments to the specification filed 03/24/2026 are considered as new matter for being associated with new matter in the newly added Figure 6 of the replacement drawings filed 03/24/2026. Accordingly, the amendments to the specification filed 03/24/2026 have not been entered by the Examiner.
The specification filed 07/03/2024 is objected to because of the following informality:
Paragraph 0001, line 1, "claim" appears to be --claims--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 17, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7, line 3, "a pair of the fingers" appears to be --a pair of fingers of the plurality of fingers--.
Claim 7, line 4, "one finger of the pair" appears to be --a first finger of the pair of fingers--.
Claim 7, line 5, "another finger of the pair" appears to be --a second finger of the pair of fingers--.
Claim 7, line 7, "each of the corresponding slots" appears to be --a respective one of the slots--.
Claim 17, line 1, "said" appears to be --the--.
Claim 19, line 3, "a pair of the fingers" appears to be --a pair of fingers of the plurality of fingers--.
Claim 19, lines 4 and 5, "one finger of the pair" appears to be --a first finger of the pair of fingers--.
Claim 19, line 5, "another finger of the pair" appears to be --a second finger of the pair of fingers--.
Claim 19, line 7, "each of the corresponding slots" appears to be --a respective one of the slots--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the limitations "wherein the central portion of the plate comprises a designated area associated with each of the slots, wherein each designated area of the central portion of the plate is configured for labeling the conduit received within its associated slot" in claim 4 (lines 1-4) are indefinite. Firstly, it is not clear as to how "a designated area" (i.e., one designated area) can be possibly "associated with each of the slots" as claimed. Secondly, it is not clear as to how the limitation "each designated area" makes any sense when the claim recites "a designated area" (i.e., one designated area). Thirdly, it is advised that the term "its" be replaced with the actual structure to avoid confusion. As best understood, the central portion of the plate appears to comprise a plurality of designated areas (202), wherein each designated area is associated with a respective one of the slots (102) and configured for labeling the conduit received within the respective one of the slots. Similar rejection applies to the limitations "wherein the central portion of each plate comprises a designated area associated with each of the slots wherein each designated area of the central portion of the plate is configured for labeling the medical line received within its associated slot" in claim 20 (lines 1-4). Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 12, the limitation "the slots" in claim 12 (lines 6, 8, and 9) is indefinite. Based on the limitations in claim 12 (lines 5 and 6), each of the first section and the second section comprises a plurality of slots. It is not clear as to whose slots, i.e., (a) the slots of the first section, (b) the slots of the second section, or (c) the slots of each of the first and second sections, the limitation "the slots" in claim 12 (lines 6, 8, and 9) refers to. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 16, the limitation "the slots" in claim 16 (lines 5-7 and 9) is indefinite. Based on the limitations in claim 16 (lines 4 and 5), each of the first organizer and the second organizer comprises a plurality of slots. It is not clear as to whose slots, i.e., (a) the slots of the first organizer, (b) the slots of the second organizer, or (c) the slots of each of the first and second organizers, the limitation "the slots" in claim 16 (lines 5-7 and 9) refers to. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 19, the limitations "wherein the first edge margin comprises a plurality of fingers extending from the central portion of the plate and wherein each of the slots defines a pair of the fingers with one finger of the pair on a first side of the slot and another finger of the pair on a second side of the slot opposite the first side, each pair of fingers defining an opening therebetween that is substantially wider than the narrow slot section of each of the corresponding slots therebetween, each opening configured to facilitate insertion of a medical line into the narrow slot section between the respective pair of fingers" in claim 19 (lines 1-9) are indefinite. It is not clear as to whether the limitations in claim 19 (lines 1-9) are directed to the first organizer, the second organizer, or each of the first and second organizers, since each of the first and second organizers comprises a plate having a first edge margin and defining a plurality of slots, based on the limitations in claim 16 (lines 4 and 5), from which claim 19 depends. Similar rejection applies to the limitations "wherein each designated area of the central portion of the plate is configured for labeling the medical line received within its associated slot" in claim 20 (lines 3 and 4). Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 13-15, 17, and 18 are rejected as being dependent from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-5, 11, 16-18, and 20, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shuman et al. (US 8,679,065 B2), hereinafter Shuman.
Regarding claim 1, Shuman discloses an organizer (10, fig 4A) comprising a substantially planar plate (281, fig 4A, see annotation, the rightmost panel 28) having a plurality of keyhole-shaped slots (32, 34, fig 3, also see annotation) formed therein along a first edge margin (201, fig 4A, see annotation, the rightmost crease 20) of the plate, the slots extending from the first edge margin of the plate toward a central portion (282, fig 4A, the central portion of the plate 281) of the plate along a first distance (see Figure 4A), wherein the central portion extends from the slots toward a second edge margin (283, fig 4A, see annotation, the bottom edge margin of the plate 281) of the plate opposite the first edge margin along a second distance (see Figure 4A), and wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance (see Figure 4A).
[AltContent: textbox (34 – Narrow Slot Section)][AltContent: textbox (201 – First Edge Margin)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (283– Second Edge Margin)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (32 – Wide Slot Section)]
[AltContent: textbox (285 – Fingers)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (282 – Central Portion)]
[AltContent: textbox (281 – Substantially Planar Plate)][AltContent: textbox (284 – Designated Area)]
Regarding claim 2, wherein each of the slots is shaped and sized to receive and retain a conduit (12, fig 4B).
Regarding claim 3, wherein each of the slots is shaped and sized to receive and retain one of an IV tube, a power cord, a cable, an oxygen tube, or a feeding tube (12, fig 4B).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the central portion of the plate comprises a designated area (284, fig 4A, see annotation, the designated area for the indicator 52) associated with each of the slots (see Figures 4A and 5), wherein each designated area of the central portion of the plate is configured for labeling the conduit received within its associated slot (see Figures 4A and 5).
Regarding claim 5, wherein each of the keyhole-shaped slots comprises a narrow slot section (34, fig 3, also see annotation) extending from the first edge margin of the plate and terminating at a wide slot section (32, fig 3, also see annotation).
Regarding claim 11, wherein the plate is disposable (col 8, lines 9-16).
Regarding claim 16, Shuman discloses a medical line organizing system (10, fig 2, col 4, lines 5-17, two or more lines holders 10 can be used along the same line 12 or group of lines 12) for organizing a plurality of medical lines connected to one or more medical devices (see Figure 2, the medical line organizing system 10 is capable of performing the above intended use), the medical line organizing system comprising: a first organizer (10, fig 2, col 4, lines 5-17, a first line holder 10 of the two or more lines holders 10 that can be used along the same line 12 or group of lines 12) and a second organizer (10, fig 2, col 4, lines 5-17, a second line holder 10 of the two or more lines holders 10 that can be used along the same line 12 or group of lines 12) each comprising a substantially planar plate (281, fig 4A, see annotation, the rightmost panel 28) comprising a plurality of slots (32, 34, fig 3, also see annotation) formed along a first edge margin (201, fig 4A, see annotation, the rightmost crease 20) of the plate, the slots extending from the first edge margin of the plate toward a central portion (282, fig 4A, the central portion of the plate 281) of the plate along a first distance (see Figure 4A), wherein the central portion extends from the slots toward a second edge margin (283, fig 4A, see annotation, the bottom edge margin of the plate 281) of the plate opposite the first edge margin along a second distance (see Figure 4A), and wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance (see Figure 4A), the slots shaped and sized to receive and retain the plurality of medical lines (see Figures 4B); wherein the first organizer is configured to receive and retain the plurality of medical lines at a first location (see Figure 2, see col 4, lines 5-17), and the second organizer is configured to receive and retain the plurality of medical lines at a second location different from the first location to keep entire lengths of the medical lines organized (see Figure 2, see col 4, lines 5-17).
Regarding claim 17, wherein said slots of each of the first and second organizers comprise keyhole-shaped slots (32, 34, fig 3, also see annotation) formed along the first edge margin of the respective plate (see Figure 4A).
Regarding claim 18, wherein each of the keyhole-shaped slots of each of the first and second organizers comprises a narrow slot section (34, fig 3, also see annotation) extending from the first edge margin of the respective plate and terminating at a wide slot section (32, fig 3, also see annotation).
Regarding claim 20, wherein the central portion of each plate comprises a designated area (284, fig 4A, see annotation, the designated area for the indicator 52) associated with each of the slots (see Figures 4A and 5), wherein each designated area of the central portion of the plate is configured for labeling the medical line received within its associated slot (see Figures 4A and 5).
Claims 6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shuman et al. (US 8,679,065 B2), hereinafter Shuman, alone.
Regarding claim 6, Shuman discloses the organizer, wherein the wide slot section of each of the slots is substantially circular in shape (see Figures 3 and 4A) and has a diameter (see Figures 3 and 4A).
Shuman does not explicitly disclose the organizer, wherein the wide slot section of each of the slots has a diameter between about 0.15 inches and about 0.07 inches.
Shuman is analogous art because it is at least from the same field of endeavor, i.e., organizers. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the wide slot section (32, fig 3, also see annotation) of each of the slots (32, 34, fig 3, also see annotation) with a diameter between about 0.15 inches and about 0.07 inches, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. The motivation would have been to form the slots with appropriate sizes to accommodate medical lines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Shuman to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
Regarding claim 8, Shuman discloses the organizer, wherein each of the slots has a length (see Figures 3 and 4A).
Shuman does not explicitly disclose the organizer, wherein each of the slots has a length of at least about 0.3 inches.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art to form each of the slots (32, 34, fig 3, also see annotation) with a length of at least about 0.3 inches, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. The motivation would have been to form the slots with appropriate sizes to accommodate medical lines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Shuman to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Shuman discloses the organizer, wherein the plate has a thickness (see Figure 4).
Shuman does not explicitly disclose the organizer, wherein the plate has a thickness between about 0.2 inches and 0.4 inches.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the plate (281, fig 4A, see annotation) with a thickness between about 0.2 inches and 0.4 inches, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. The motivation would have been to form the line holder with an appropriate size to retain medical lines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Shuman to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, Shuman does not explicitly disclose the organizer, wherein the plate comprises EVA foam.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the plate (281, fig 4A, see annotation) with EVA foam, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. The motivation would have been to provide the line holder with great flexibility and exceptional cushioning for medical lines placed therein. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Shuman to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10.
Claims 7 and 19, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shuman et al. (US 8,679,065 B2), hereinafter Shuman, in view of Underwood (US 4,654,026).
Regarding claim 7, Shuman discloses the organizer, wherein the first edge margin comprises a plurality of fingers (285, fig 4A, see annotation, the fingers formed between the slots 32, 34) extending from the central portion of the plate (see Figures 3 and 4A) and wherein each of the slots defines a pair of the fingers with one finger of the pair on a first side of the slot and another finger of the pair on a second side of the slot opposite the first side (see Figures 3 and 4A).
Shuman does not disclose the organizer, wherein each pair of fingers defining an opening therebetween that is substantially wider than the narrow slot section of each of the corresponding slots therebetween, each opening configured to facilitate insertion of a conduit into the narrow slot section between the respective pair of fingers.
Underwood teaches an organizer (40, fig 4) comprising a substantially planar plate (40, fig 4) having a plurality of keyhole-shaped slots (42, 43, fig 4) formed therein along a first edge margin of the plate (see Figure 4), the slots extending from the first edge margin of the plate toward a central portion of the plate along a first distance (see Figure 4), wherein the first edge margin comprises a plurality of fingers (40a, fig 4, see annotation, the fingers at the notches 45) extending from the central portion of the plate and wherein each of the slots defines a pair of the fingers with one finger of the pair on a first side of the slot and another finger of the pair on a second side of the slot opposite the first side (see Figure 4), each pair of fingers defining an opening (45, fig 4) therebetween that is substantially wider than the narrow slot section of each of the corresponding slots therebetween (see Figure 4), each opening configured to facilitate insertion of a medical line into the narrow slot section between the respective pair of fingers (see Figure 4, see col 5, lines 29-39).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (40a – Finger)][AltContent: textbox (40a – Finger)][AltContent: textbox (40a – Finger)][AltContent: textbox (40a – Finger)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Underwood is analogous art because it is at least from the same field of endeavor, i.e., organizers. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form each pair of fingers of the plurality of fingers (Shuman: 285, fig 4A, see annotation) of each organizer (Shuman: 10, fig 2) with an opening (Underwood: 45, fig 4) therebetween that is substantially wider than the narrow slot section (Shuman: 34, fig 3, also see annotation) of each of the corresponding slots (Shuman: 32, 34, fig 3, also see annotation) therebetween, each opening configured to facilitate insertion of a medical line into the narrow slot section between the respective pair of fingers (Underwood: see Figure 4, see col 5, lines 29-39), as taught by Underwood, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to allow the medical lines to be inserted into the slots of the line holders more easily (Underwood: col 5, lines 29-39). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Shuman and Underwood to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
Regarding claim 19, Shuman, as modified by Underwood (see above discussions with respect to claim 7), teaches the medical line organizing system, wherein the first edge margin comprises a plurality of fingers (Shuman: 285, fig 4A, see annotation, the fingers formed between the slots 32, 34) extending from the central portion of the plate (Shuman: see Figures 3 and 4A) and wherein each of the slots defines a pair of the fingers with one finger of the pair on a first side of the slot and another finger of the pair on a second side of the slot opposite the first side (Shuman: see Figures 3 and 4A), each pair of fingers defining an opening (Underwood: 45, fig 4) therebetween that is substantially wider than the narrow slot section of each of the corresponding slots therebetween (Underwood: see Figure 4, see col 5, lines 29-39; Shuman: see Figure 4B), each opening configured to facilitate insertion of a conduit into the narrow slot section between the respective pair of fingers (Underwood: see Figure 4, see col 5, lines 29-39; Shuman: see Figure 4B).
Claims 12-15, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shuman et al. (US 8,679,065 B2), hereinafter Shuman, in view of Gallucci et al. (US 2017/0299091 A1), hereinafter Gallucci.
Regarding claim 12, Shuman discloses a medical line organizing system (10, fig 2, col 4, lines 5-17, two or more lines holders 10 can be used along the same line 12 or group of lines 12) for organizing a plurality of medical lines connected to one or more medical devices (see Figure 2, the medical line organizing system 10 is capable of performing the above intended use), the medical line organizing system comprising: a first substantially planar plate section (281, fig 4A, see annotation, col 4, lines 5-17, the rightmost panel 281 of a first line holder 10 of the two or more lines holders 10 that can be used along the same line 12 or group of lines 12) and a second substantially planar plate section (281, fig 4A, see annotation, col 4, lines 5-17, the rightmost panel 281 of a second line holder 10 of the two or more lines holders 10 that can be used along the same line 12 or group of lines 12), the first and second sections each comprising a plurality of slots (32, 34, fig 3, also see annotation) formed along a first edge margin (201, fig 4A, see annotation, the rightmost crease 20) of the plate, the slots extending from the first edge margin of the plate toward a central portion (282, fig 4A, the central portion of the plate 281) of the plate along a first distance (see Figure 4A), wherein the central portion extends from the slots toward a second edge margin (283, fig 4A, see annotation the bottom edge margin of the plate 281) of the plate opposite the first edge margin along a second distance (see Figure 4A), and wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance (see Figure 4A), the slots shaped and sized to receive and retain the plurality of medical line (see Figure 4B).
Shuman does not disclose the medical line organizing system, comprising a substantially planar plate comprising the first section and the second section separated by a perforation; wherein the plate is configured to be split at the perforation to define the first organizer at the first section and the second organizer at the second section.
Gallucci teaches a medical line organizing system (100, fig 1) for organizing a plurality of medical lines connected to one or more medical devices (see Figure 1, see paragraph 0030, the multi-conduit assembly 100 is capable of performing the above intended use), the medical line organizing system comprising: an assembly (100, fig 1) comprising a first section (1011, 1012, fig 1) and a second section (106, fig 1) separated by a perforation (120, fig 1, see paragraphs 0011, 0012, 0035, and 0036); wherein the assembly is configured to be split at the perforation to define a first organizer (1011, 1012, fig 1) at the first section and a second organizer (106, fig 1) at the second section (see Figure 1, see paragraphs 0011, 0012, 0035, and 0036).
Gallucci is analogous art because it is at least from the same field of endeavor, i.e., organizers. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to from the first substantially planar plate section (Shuman: 281, fig 4A, see annotation, col 4, lines 5-17, the rightmost panel 281 of a first line holder 10 of the two or more lines holders 10 that can be used along the same line 12 or group of lines 12) and the second substantially planar plate section (Shuman: 281, fig 4A, see annotation, col 4, lines 5-17, the rightmost panel 281 of a second line holder 10 of the two or more lines holders 10 that can be used along the same line 12 or group of lines 12) as a substantially planar plate with a perforation (Gallucci: 120, fig 1) separating the first substantially planar plate section from the second substantially planar plate section (Gallucci: see Figure 1; Shuman: see Figures 3 and 4A), wherein the plate is configured to be split at the perforation to define a first organizer at the first section and a second organizer at the second section (Gallucci: see Figure 1, see paragraphs 0011, 0012, 0035, and 0036), as taught by Gallucci, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to allow the two or more line holders to be formed from a large plate, which could be usable as one large line holder to accommodate a large number of lines and also be separable into smaller line holders to accommodate a small number of lines and/or different groups of lines, as desired by the user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Shuman and Gallucci to obtain the invention as specified in claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, wherein the slots of the first organizer are configured to receive and retain a first group of medical lines (Shuman: see Figure 2), and the slots of the second organizer are configured to receive and retain a second group of medical lines different from the first group of medical lines (Shuman: see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, wherein the first organizer is configured to receive and retain the plurality of medical lines at a first location (Shuman: see col 4, lines 5-17), and the second organizer is configured to receive and retain the plurality of medical lines at a second location different from the first location to keep entire lengths of the medical lines organized (Shuman: see col 4, lines 5-17, two or more lines holders 10 can be used along the same line 12 or group of lines 12).
Regarding claim 15, Shuman, as modified by Gallucci with respect to claim 12, does not teach the medical line organizing system, wherein the first section comprises a different number of slots than the second section.
Gallucci teaches a medical line organizing system (100, fig 6A) for organizing a plurality of medical lines connected to one or more medical devices (see Figure 6A, the multi-conduit assembly 100 is capable of performing the above intended use), the medical line organizing system comprising: an assembly (600, fig 6A) comprising a first section (230a, fig 6A) and a second section (230b, fig 6A), wherein the first section comprises a different number of conduits than the second section (see Figure 6A, see paragraphs 0011 and 0012).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the first section (Shuman: 281, fig 4A, see annotation, col 4, lines 5-17, the rightmost panel 281 of a first line holder 10 of the two or more lines holders 10 that can be used along the same line 12 or group of lines 12) with a different number of slots (Shuman: 32, 34, fig 3, also see annotation) than the second section (Shuman: 281, fig 4A, see annotation, col 4, lines 5-17, the rightmost panel 281 of a second line holder 10 of the two or more lines holders 10 that can be used along the same line 12 or group of lines 12; Gallucci: see Figure 6A, see paragraphs 0011 and 0012), as taught by Gallucci, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to provide smaller line holders of various sizes to accommodate different needs of the user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Shuman and Gallucci to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
Claims 1-5, 7, and 16-20, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vera (US 2014/0252177 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Vera discloses an organizer (10, fig 1) comprising a substantially planar plate (10, fig 1) having a plurality of keyhole-shaped slots (11, 13, fig 1, also see annotation, see paragraph 0019) formed therein along a first edge margin (17, fig 1) of the plate, the slots extending from the first edge margin of the plate toward a central portion (14, fig 1) of the plate along a first distance (see Figure 1), wherein the central portion extends from the slots toward a second edge margin (18, fig 1) of the plate opposite the first edge margin along a second distance (see Figure 1), and wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance (see Figure 1).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (101 – Fingers)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (21 – Designated Area)][AltContent: textbox (102 – Opening)]
[AltContent: textbox (11 – Wide Slot Section)]
[AltContent: textbox (13 – Narrow Slot Section)]
Regarding claim 2, wherein each of the slots is shaped and sized to receive and retain a conduit (see Figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 3, wherein each of the slots is shaped and sized to receive and retain one of an IV tube, a power cord, a cable, an oxygen tube, or a feeding tube (see Figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the central portion of the plate comprises a designated area (21, fig 2, also see annotation) associated with each of the slots (see Figures 1 and 2), wherein each designated area of the central portion of the plate is configured for labeling the conduit received within its associated slot (see Figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 5, wherein each of the keyhole-shaped slots comprises a narrow slot section (13, fig 1, also see annotation, see paragraph 0019) extending from the first edge margin of the plate and terminating at a wide slot section (11, fig 1).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the first edge margin comprises a plurality of fingers (101, fig 1, see annotation, the fingers defined between the slots 11, 13) extending from the central portion of the plate (see Figure 1) and wherein each of the slots defines a pair of the fingers with one finger of the pair on a first side of the slot and another finger of the pair on a second side of the slot opposite the first side (see Figure 1), each pair of fingers defining an opening (102, fig 1, see annotation, the opening defined between the fingers 101 and in communication with the narrow slot section 13) therebetween that is substantially wider than the narrow slot section of each of the corresponding slots therebetween (see Figure 1), each opening configured to facilitate insertion of a conduit into the narrow slot section between the respective pair of fingers (see Figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 16, Vera discloses a medical line organizing system (see paragraph 0020, a medical line organizing system in which multiple organizers 10 can be used) for organizing a plurality of medical lines connected to one or more medical devices (see Figures 1-4, the medical line organizing system with multiple organizers 10 is capable of performing the above intended use), the medical line organizing system comprising: a first organizer (10, fig 1, see paragraph 0020, a first organizer 10 of the multiple organizers 10) and a second organizer (10, fig 1, see paragraph 0020, a second organizer 10 of the multiple organizers 10) each comprising a substantially planar plate (10, fig 1) comprising a plurality of slots (11, 13, fig 1, also see annotation, see paragraph 0019) formed along a first edge margin (17, fig 1) of the plate, the slots extending from the first edge margin of the plate toward a central portion (14, fig 1) of the plate along a first distance (see Figure 1), wherein the central portion extends from the slots toward a second edge margin (18, fig 1) of the plate opposite the first edge margin along a second distance (see Figure 1), and wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance (see Figure 1), the slots shaped and sized to receive and retain the plurality of medical lines (see Figures 1-3); wherein the first organizer is configured to receive and retain the plurality of medical lines at a first location (see Figures 1-4, the first organizer 10 of the multiple organizers 10 has the configuration to perform the above intended use), and the second organizer is configured to receive and retain the plurality of medical lines at a second location different from the first location to keep entire lengths of the medical lines organized (see Figures 1-4, the second organizer 10 of the multiple organizers 10 has the configuration to perform the above intended use).
Regarding claim 17, wherein said slots of each of the first and second organizers comprise keyhole-shaped slots (11, 13, fig 1, see annotation, see paragraph 0019) formed along the first edge margin of the respective plate (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 18, wherein each of the keyhole-shaped slots of each of the first and second organizers comprises a narrow slot section (13, fig 1, also see annotation, see paragraph 0019) extending from the first edge margin of the respective plate and terminating at a wide slot section (11, fig 1).
Regarding claim 19, wherein the first edge margin comprises a plurality of fingers (101, fig 1, see annotation, the fingers defined between the slots 11, 13) extending from the central portion of the plate (see Figure 1) and wherein each of the slots defines a pair of the fingers with one finger of the pair on a first side of the slot and another finger of the pair on a second side of the slot opposite the first side (see Figure 1), each pair of fingers defining an opening (102, fig 1, see annotation, the opening defined between the fingers 101 and in communication with the narrow slot section 13) therebetween that is substantially wider than the narrow slot section of each of the corresponding slots therebetween (see Figure 1), each opening configured to facilitate insertion of a medical line into the narrow slot section between the respective pair of fingers (see Figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 20, wherein the central portion of each plate comprises a designated area (21, fig 2, also see annotation) associated with each of the slots (see Figures 1 and 2), wherein each designated area of the central portion of the plate is configured for labeling the medical line received within its associated slot (see Figures 1-3).
Claims 6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vera (US 2014/0252177 A1), alone.
Regarding claim 6, Vera discloses the organizer, wherein the wide slot section of each of the slots is substantially circular in shape (see Figure 1) and has a diameter (see Figure 1).
Vera does not explicitly disclose the organizer, wherein the wide slot section of each of the slots has a diameter between about 0.15 inches and about 0.07 inches.
Vera is analogous art because it is at least from the same field of endeavor, i.e., organizers. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the wide slot section (11, fig 1) of each of the slots (11, 13, fig 1, see annotation, see paragraph 0019) with a diameter between about 0.15 inches and about 0.07 inches, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. The motivation would have been to form the slots with appropriate sizes to accommodate medical lines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Vera to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
Regarding claim 8, Vera discloses the organizer, wherein each of the slots has a length (see Figure 1).
Vera does not explicitly disclose the organizer, wherein each of the slots has a length of at least about 0.3 inches.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art to form each of the slots (11, 13, fig 1, see annotation, see paragraph 0019) with a length of at least about 0.3 inches, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. The motivation would have been to form the slots with appropriate sizes to accommodate medical lines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Vera to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Vera discloses the organizer, wherein the plate has a thickness (see Figure 1, see paragraph 0017).
Vera does not explicitly disclose the organizer, wherein the plate has a thickness between about 0.2 inches and 0.4 inches.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the plate (10, fig 1) with a thickness between about 0.2 inches and 0.4 inches, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. The motivation would have been to form the organizer with an appropriate size to retain medical lines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Vera to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, Vera does not explicitly disclose the organizer, wherein the plate comprises EVA foam.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the plate (10, fig 1) with EVA foam, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. The motivation would have been to provide the organizer with great flexibility and exceptional cushioning for medical lines placed therein. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Vera to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vera (US 2014/0252177 A1), or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vera in view of Shuman et al. (US 8,679,065 B2), hereinafter Shuman.
Regarding claim 11, Vera discloses the organizer, wherein the plate is disposable (see Figure 1, see paragraph 0017, note that one of the common meanings of the term "disposable" is "designed for or capable of being thrown away after being used or used up" at https://www.dictionary.com/browse/disposable, last accessed 07/28/2026; note that the plate 10 of Vera is indeed capable of being thrown away after being used or used up, and therefore, is reasonably considered to be disposable).
Assuming Applicant argues that the plate of Vera is not disposable, Shuman teaches a disposable organizer (10, fig 3, see col 8, lines 9-16).
Shuman is analogous art because it is at least from the same field of endeavor, i.e., organizers. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the plate (Vera: 10, fig 1) to be disposable (Shuman: see col 8, lines 9-16), as taught by Shuman, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to free up nurses and support staff from spending time on collecting, cleaning, and sterilizing the organizers after use and/or to eliminate the risk of cross-contamination between patients should error in the sterilization or disinfection process occur. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Vera and Shuman to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Claims 12-15, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vera (US 2014/0252177 A1), in view of Gallucci et al. (US 2017/0299091 A1), hereinafter Gallucci.
Regarding claim 12, Vera discloses a medical line organizing system (see paragraph 0020, a medical line organizing system in which multiple organizers 10 can be used) for organizing a plurality of medical lines connected to one or more medical devices (see Figures 1-4, the medical line organizing system with multiple organizers 10 is capable of performing the above intended use), the medical line organizing system comprising: a first substantially planar plate section (10, fig 1, see paragraph 0020, the first organizer 10 of the multiple organizers 10) and a second substantially planar plate section (10, fig 1, see paragraph 0020, the second organizer 10 of the multiple organizers 10), the first and second sections each comprising a plurality of slots (11, 13, fig 1, also see annotation, see paragraph 0019) formed along a first edge margin (17, fig 1) of the plate, the slots extending from the first edge margin of the plate toward a central portion (14, fig 1) of the plate along a first distance (see Figure 1), wherein the central portion extends from the slots toward a second edge margin (18, fig 1) of the plate opposite the first edge margin along a second distance (see Figure 1), and wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance (see Figure 1), the slots shaped and sized to receive and retain the plurality of medical line (see Figures 1-3).
Vera does not disclose the medical line organizing system, comprising a substantially planar plate comprising the first section and the second section separated by a perforation; wherein the plate is configured to be split at the perforation to define the first organizer at the first section and the second organizer at the second section.
Gallucci teaches a medical line organizing system (100, fig 1) for organizing a plurality of medical lines connected to one or more medical devices (see Figure 1, see paragraph 0030, the multi-conduit assembly 100 is capable of performing the above intended use), the medical line organizing system comprising: an assembly (100, fig 1) comprising a first section (1011, 1012, fig 1) and a second section (106, fig 1) separated by a perforation (120, fig 1, see paragraphs 0011, 0012, 0035, and 0036); wherein the assembly is configured to be split at the perforation to define a first organizer (1011, 1012, fig 1) at the first section and a second organizer (106, fig 1) at the second section (see Figure 1, see paragraphs 0011, 0012, 0035, and 0036).
Gallucci is analogous art because it is at least from the same field of endeavor, i.e., organizers. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to from the first substantially planar plate section (Vera: 10, fig 1, see paragraph 0020, the first organizer 10 of the multiple organizers 10) and the second substantially planar plate section (Vera: 10, fig 1, see paragraph 0020, the second organizer 10 of the multiple organizers 10) as a substantially planar plate with a perforation (Gallucci: 120, fig 1) separating the first substantially planar plate section from the second substantially planar plate section (Gallucci: see Figure 1; Vera: see Figure 1, see paragraph 0020), wherein the plate is configured to be split at the perforation to define a first organizer at the first section and a second organizer at the second section (Gallucci: see Figure 1, see paragraphs 0011, 0012, 0035, and 0036), as taught by Gallucci, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to allow the multiple organizers to be formed from a large plate, which could be usable as one large organizer to accommodate a large number of lines and also be separable into smaller organizers to accommodate a small number of lines and/or different groups of lines, as desired by the user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Vera and Gallucci to obtain the invention as specified in claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, wherein the slots of the first organizer are configured to receive and retain a first group of medical lines (Vera: see Figures 1-4, see paragraph 0020, the slots 11, 13 of the first organizer 10 have the configuration to perform the above intended use), and the slots of the second organizer are configured to receive and retain a second group of medical lines different from the first group of medical lines (Vera: see Figures 1-4, see paragraph 0020, the slots 11, 13 of the second organizer 10 have the configuration to perform the above intended use).
Regarding claim 14, wherein the first organizer is configured to receive and retain the plurality of medical lines at a first location (Vera: see Figures 1-4, see paragraph 0020, the first organizer 10 has the configuration to perform the above intended use), and the second organizer is configured to receive and retain the plurality of medical lines at a second location different from the first location to keep entire lengths of the medical lines organized (Vera: see Figures 1-4, see paragraph 0020, the second organizer 10 has the configuration to perform the above intended use).
Regarding claim 15, Vera, as modified by Gallucci with respect to claim 12, does not teach the medical line organizing system, wherein the first section comprises a different number of slots than the second section.
Gallucci teaches a medical line organizing system (100, fig 6A) for organizing a plurality of medical lines connected to one or more medical devices (see Figure 6A, the multi-conduit assembly 100 is capable of performing the above intended use), the medical line organizing system comprising: an assembly (600, fig 6A) comprising a first section (230a, fig 6A) and a second section (230b, fig 6A), wherein the first section comprises a different number of conduits than the second section (see Figure 6A, see paragraphs 0011 and 0012).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the first section (Vera: 10, fig 1, see paragraph 0020, the first organizer 10 of the multiple organizers 10) with a different number of slots (Vera: 11, 13, fig 1, also see annotation, see paragraph 0019) than the second section (Vera: 10, fig 1, see paragraph 0020, the second organizer 10 of the multiple organizers 10; Gallucci: see Figure 6A, see paragraphs 0011 and 0012), as taught by Gallucci, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to provide smaller organizers of various sizes to accommodate different needs of the user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Vera and Gallucci to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G. H. G./Examiner, Art Unit 3631
/JONATHAN LIU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3631