DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/23/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dolcetti, CN 111148652 in view of Fujiyoshi, WO 2020183869 in view of Lamesch et al, US 20150345998
Regarding claim 1, Dolcetti discloses a sensor apparatus comprising: a sensor electrode provided on a base material (Fig. 1-2B; sensor electrode 14 on first surface 18); a shield electrode provided on the base material so as to surround an outer edge of the sensor electrode and configured to capacitively couple with the sensor electrode (Fig. 1-2B; shielding electrode 16); a voltage circuit connected to the shield electrode and configured to output a voltage (Fig. 4a; controller 401 outputs voltage signal to the shield and sensor electrodes).
Dolcetti is silent in the output voltage is an AC voltage having a predetermined phase and a predetermined voltage and a protection circuit including a first end part connected to a connection part between the voltage circuit and the shield electrode and a second end part connected to ground.
Fujiyoshi teaches an AC voltage having a predetermined phase and a predetermined voltage (¶[0006-0010]; AC voltage having same phase as voltage supplied to sensor electrode). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Fujiyoshi into Dolcetti for the benefit of detecting a change in the capacitance of the sensor electrode.
Lamesch teaches a protection circuit including a first end part connected to a connection part between a voltage circuit and the shield electrode and a second end part connected to ground (Fig. 10; capacitor 19 connected to shield electrode 22.3 and ground). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Lamesch into Dolcetti for the benefit of protecting the circuit against undesired currents.
Regarding claim 2, Dolcetti teaches wherein the voltage circuit is connected to the sensor electrode, and the voltage is supplied to the sensor electrode (Fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 3, Dolcetti teaches wherein the AC voltage having the predetermined voltage is supplied to the sensor electrode (Fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 4, Dolcetti teaches wherein the sensor electrode and the shield electrode are provided inside a casing and are arranged inward of an opening edge of an opening part of the casing in a planar view (Fig. 1-2B).
Regarding claim 6, Dolcetti teaches wherein the sensor electrode and the shield electrode are provided at a position of a spoke facing an inner peripheral side of a rim, the rim being of a steering wheel including the rim, the spoke, and a hub (Abstract).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dolcetti, CN 111148652 in view of Fujiyoshi, WO 2020183869 in view of Lamesch et al, US 20150345998 in view of Kandler, US 20090199676
Regarding claim 5, Dolcetti is silent in wherein the sensor electrode and the shield electrode are arranged inside a handle including a first case made of an insulator and a second case made of an insulator attached to the first case, and at least a part of the shield electrode is arranged along a joint of the first case and the second case. Kandler teaches a sensor electrode and the shield electrode are arranged inside a handle including a first case made of an insulator and a second case made of an insulator attached to the first case, and at least a part of the shield electrode is arranged along a joint of the first case and the second case (Fig. 1; conductor 1a, sheath 32, shielding layer 31, foamed layer 30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Kandler into Dolcetti for the benefit of detecting capacitive changes in various environments so that relevant data may be acquired.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7, 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, prior art does not disclose or suggest: “wherein the spoke includes a housing part configured to house a steering switch, and the sensor electrode and the shield electrode are provided in a casing of the steering switch so as to face the inner peripheral side of the rim in a state where the steering switch is housed in the housing part” in combination with all the limitations of claim 7.
Conclusion
/FEBA POTHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2858