Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, each projection having a rectangular shape must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 9 recites that each projection can rotate greater than ninety degrees while at least partially in the associated locking section.
There is no disclosure regarding how is this achieved. Although the projection is disclosed as being capable of rotating more than 90 degrees (from the position shown in fig. 5A to the position shown in fig. 5C) it does not appear to be able to do so while at least partially in the locking section. On the other hand, it is the cover the one capable of rotating to a resting angle of more than 90 degrees while the projection is at least partially in the locking section (see Applicant’s par. [0013]).
Claims 3, 7-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claims 3 and 11, the claim is indefinite because there appears to be no proper antecedent basis for “a second non-vertical surface” since there is no “first” one in the precedent claim (claim 1 and 9 respectively). It appears that claim 3 should depend from claim 2 (and claim 11 from claim 10) which claims a first non-vertical surface, and so the claim will be interpreted as such.
In regard to claims 7 and 15, the claim is indefinite because it recites that rotation to the open position is restricted by contact between the projection and the non-vertical surface of the second wall, however, the assembly is being claimed as being configured to allow the cover to rotate between open and closed positions, thus rendering the scope of the claim unascertainable. It is assumed that what is intended to be claimed is that further rotation in the opening direction (rather than to the open position) is restricted by contact between the projection and the non-vertical surface of the second wall as disclosed by Applicant’s specification par. [0015].
In regard to claims 8 and 16, the claim is indefinite because it recites that rotation to the closed position is restricted by contact between the projection and a vertical surface…., however, the assembly is being claimed as being configured to allow the cover to rotate between open and closed positions, thus rendering the scope of the claim unascertainable. It is assumed that what is intended to be claimed is that further rotation in the closing direction (rather than to the closed position) is restricted by contact between the projection and a vertical surface … as disclosed by Applicant’s specification par. [0014].
In regard to claim 9, the claim is indefinite because it recites that each projection can rotate greater than ninety degrees while at least partially in the associated locking section.
It is unclear to the Examiner how can the projection rotate more than 90 degrees while at least partially in the associated locking section. Although the projection is capable of rotating more than 90 degrees (from the position shown in fig. 5A to the position shown in fig. 5C) it does not do so while at least partially in the locking section, thus rendering the scope of the claim unascertainable.
In regard to claim 12, the claim is indefinite because it recites that each projection has a rectangular shape, however, said rectangular shape is not shown in the drawings. Furthermore, par. [0017] of the specification discloses that the projection 24 may be formed as a rectangular bar that include ends 80, 82 that may be rounded and lateral surfaces 84, 86 and 88 (that is five sides). However, a rectangular shape is defined as a four-sided shape, thus there being uncertainty on whether the shape of the projection is in fact rectangular (four sides).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over G. C. Werner US 3130651 (hereinafter ‘Werner’).
In regard to claim 1, Werner teaches a closure assembly, comprising:
a frame (10);
a cover (15); and
a hinge assembly (see fig. 3) selectively connecting the frame to the cover to rotate between an open position (fig. 2) and a closed position (fig. 5), wherein the hinge assembly is configured to allow the cover to rotate between an open position and a closed position (see col. 1, ln. 60), and wherein the hinge assembly includes:
at least one tine (not labeled but seen in fig. 7, the tine is the portion comprising projection 31) formed on an edge of the cover (see figs. 3 and 7),
a projection (31) extending from the at least one tine (fig. 7),
at least one wall (18) formed on an upper surface of the frame (see fig. 6), and
a slot (20) formed in the at least one wall (see col. 1, ln. 70) and configured to receive the projection (as shown in fig. 6),
wherein the slot includes a rotation section (channel extending from the opening to portion 22), an opening (not labeled but shown as the opening to seat 14 as seen in fig. 7) radiating from the rotation section, and a locking section (23) radiating from the rotation section (see col. 2, ln. 1-5),
wherein the locking section is configured to allow the cover to rotate to an angle greater than ninety degrees (see figs. 2 and 6 clearly showing the cover resting against portion 24 at more than ninety degrees) when the projection is at least partially in the locking section (fig. 6), and wherein the locking section and the opening have a non-180 degree angular offset relative to one another (note from the figures that the locking section is at a different plane or level than the opening thus at a non- 180 degree).
In the event Applicant disagrees with the notion that Werner’s cover is allowed to rotate to an angle greater than ninety degrees, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the cover to rotate more than ninety degrees so as to allow the cover to rest against margin 24 as disclosed by Werner (see col. 2, ln. 23).
In regard to claims 2, 3, 10 and 11, Werner teaches the claimed invention wherein the rotation section is defined by a first and a second non-vertical surface positioned vertically above the locking section (See figs. 4, 7. Note that the channel has two horizontal surfaces which are both at a level above the locking section).
In regard to claims 5 and 13, Werner teaches the claimed invention wherein the projection is configured to rotate within the rotation section (see figs. 4 and 5. Note that Werner discloses the cover is “pivotally movable” (see col. 2, ln. 16) thus making the projection configured to rotate.
In regard to claims 6 and 14, Werner teaches the claimed invention wherein the locking section is defined by a vertical surface of a first wall and a non-vertical surface of a second wall that opposes the first wall (See figs. 4-6 -Note that there is a vertical wall right at the end of portion 22, and a non-vertical surface (curved portion) opposite to it right before the non-vertical surface of the channel which is part of the rotation section.
In regard to claims 7 and 15, Werner teaches, as best understood (see 112(b) rejection above), the claimed invention wherein rotation to the open position (in the opening direction) is restricted by contact between the projection and the non-vertical surface of the second wall (see fig. 6, note that the projection contacts the curved portion and does not allow the cover to continue to rotate in the opening direction).
In regard to claims 8 and 16, Werner teaches, as best understood (see 112(b) rejection above), the claimed invention wherein rotation to the closed position (in the opening direction) is restricted by contact between the projection and a vertical surface defining the locking section and a vertical surface defining a portion of the rotation section (see fig. 6, note that the projection contacts the locking section and does not allow the cover to continue to go back to the closing position).
In regard to claim 9, Werner teaches a closure assembly, comprising:
a frame (10);
a cover (15); and
a hinge assembly (see fig. 3) selectively connecting the frame to the cover to rotate between an open position (fig. 2) and a closed position (fig. 5), wherein the hinge assembly includes:
first and second tines (see fig. 3 and col 1, ln. 65 -not labeled but seen in fig. 3, the tines are the portions comprising projection 31 (note that only one is shown in fig. 7) formed on an edge of the cover (see figs. 3 and 7),
a projection (31) extending from each of the tines (fig. 3),
first and second walls (18, 19) formed on an upper surface of the frame (see fig. 6), and
a slot (20) formed in each wall (see col. 1, ln. 70) and configured to receive the projection (as shown in fig. 6), wherein each slot includes an opening (not labeled but shown as the opening to seat 14 as seen in fig. 7) a rotation section (channel extending from the opening to portion 22), and a locking section (23 -see col. 2, ln. 1-5), and wherein:
each opening is configured to allow passage of the associated projection into and out of the associated rotation section (see col. 2, ln. 13),
each rotation section is configured to allow rotation of the associated projection (see figs. 2 and 5 and col. 2, ln. 19), and
each locking section is defined by a vertical surface and an angled surface (See figs. 4-6 -Note that there is a vertical wall right at the end of portion 22, and, per broadest reasonable interpretation, the curved surface opposite the vertical surface is an angled surface as it is well known in the art that a curve is made of many local angles) separated by a distance that is larger than a width of the associated projection (see fig. 6 clearly showing the distance is larger than the projection 31) such that each projection can rotate greater than 90 degrees while at least partially in the locking section (note that the projection of Werner is round thus allowing it to rotate more than 90 degrees in the locking section), wherein each locking section is vertically offset relative to the associated opening (as seen in figs. 4-6) such that the associated projection must move laterally (through channel 20) to pass from the locking section to the opening (as indicated by arrows 34 in fig. 6).
In regard to claim 12, Werner teaches the claimed invention wherein each projection has a rectangular shape defined by a length and a width and wherein the length is coplanar with upper and lower surfaces of the cover. Per broadest reasonable interpretation, the projections of Werner have a rectangular shape as seen in fig. 3. Note that in the view shown in fig. 3 the projections are shown having a rectangular shape (both labeled with reference number 31) and having a width and a length both measure in the same plane as the cover. Note that fig. 3 is a top view thus in the same plane.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not teach or suggest a closure assembly as recited in claim 1 wherein the projection is positioned in a recess formed in the tine.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/PAOLA AGUDELO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633