Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 10-2022-0002299, filed on Jan 06 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 17, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (US 20210345258 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Yang teaches an operation method of an electronic device, the operation method comprising: transmitting first and second radio frequency (RF) signals through first and second RF paths, respectively (Pg. 1, [0005], lines 2-5: “The electronic device including at least one first antenna for radiating first antenna signals and a plurality of second antennas for radiating second antenna signals.”); determining first and second specific absorption rates (SARs) corresponding to the first and second RF paths, respectively; calculating a sum of the first and second SARs (Pg. 1, [0005], lines 5-11: “The method includes: obtaining, in response to the electronic device radiating the first antenna signals and the second antenna signals simultaneously, a combination electromagnetic wave specific absorption rate (SAR) of the at least one first antenna and at least one of the plurality of second antennas in an operating state;”); comparing the sum with a designated backoff condition to determine whether the sum meets the designated backoff condition (Pg. 1, [0005], lines 11-13: “calling, in response to the combination electromagnetic wave SAR not meeting a predetermined condition,”);
and backing off a maximum transmission power limit for at least one of the first and second RF paths (Pg. 1, [0005], lines 11-17: “calling, in response to the combination electromagnetic wave SAR not meeting a predetermined condition, a target antenna combination including a first target antenna and a second target antenna; and controlling the first target antenna and the second target antenna to be in the operating state for radiating the first antenna signals and the second antenna signals simultaneously.; Examiner notes that the target antennas reduce SAR thus backing off maximum transmit power).
Regarding claim 19, Yang teaches wherein the backing off of the maximum transmission power limit comprises at least one of: changing the first RF path to another RF path; and changing the second RF path to another RF path (Pg. 3, [0035]: “In one embodiment, the predetermined condition is the CE standard. When the current SAR of the electronic device 110 does not meet the CE standard, the target antenna combination including the first target antenna and the second target antenna is called. The first target antenna can be the at least one first antenna, and the second target antenna can be one of the second antennas. When the at least one first target antenna and the second target antennas radiate the first antenna signals and the second antenna signals simultaneously, the SAR of the signals which the first target antenna and the second target antenna of the electronic device 110 radiate the first antenna signals and the second antenna signals simultaneously meets the CE standard.”).
Regarding claim 20, Yang teaches transmitting the second RF signal with a transmission power set based on a third maximum transmission power limit through a third RF path; and transmitting the first RF signal with a transmission power set based on a first maximum transmission power limit through the first RF path. (Fig. 10, Para 114: “When a combination SAR of the at least one first antenna currently in the operating state and the at least one second antenna currently in the operating state which radiate the signal simultaneously does not meet the CE standard, the second switch 742 is controlled to turn on a connecting path from the second radio frequency circuit 760 to a second target antenna, so that the first target antenna and the second target antenna radiate the first antenna signals and the second antenna signals simultaneously.” Examiner notes that the device switches the second antenna to a second target antenna (third RF path) hence the transmission power on the second target antenna must be based on the max power limit of that path).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7, 13,14,16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 20210345258 A1) and in view of Zheng (US 8,798,695 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches an electronic device, comprising: a plurality of antennas (Fig. 8, antennas 720); an RF circuit (Fig. 8, 740); memory storing instructions (Fig. 11, memory 920); and at least one processor (Fig. 11, 980); wherein the instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
Yang teaches set a first maximum transmission power limit for a first radio frequency (RF) path, which is associated with a first antenna among the plurality of antennas (Pg. 1, [0005], lines 2-5: “The electronic device including at least one first antenna for radiating first antenna signals”);
Yang further teaches control a first part of the RF circuit associated with the first RF path to transmit a first RF signal with a transmission power set based on the first maximum transmission power limit through the first RF path (Pg. 1, [0005], lines 2-5: “The electronic device including at least one first antenna for radiating first antenna signals”);
Yang also teaches set a second maximum transmission power limit for a second RF path, which is associated with a second antenna among the plurality of antennas (Pg. 5, [0068], lines 4-7: “obtaining a maximum transmission power of at least one first antenna and a maximum transmission power of at least one second antenna;”);
Yang further teaches control a second part of the RF circuit associated with the second RF path to transmit a second RF signal with a transmission power set based on the second maximum transmission power limit through the second RF path (Pg. 5, [0068], lines 4-7: “obtaining a maximum transmission power of at least one first antenna and a maximum transmission power of at least one second antenna;”);
Yang further teaches and control the first part of the RF circuit associated with the first RF path to transmit the first RF signal with the transmission power set based on the first maximum transmission power limit through the first RF path (Pg. 3, [0038]: “In the meantime, the at least one first antenna currently in the operating state is the first target antenna and thus is not required to be switched.”).
Yang teaches
Yang does not teach distance between the first antenna and the second antenna being less than a first threshold distance; and a distance between the first antenna and the third antenna being larger than or equal to a second threshold distance.
Zheng teaches distance between the first antenna and the second antenna being less than a first threshold (Col. 5, lines 15-29: “The object detection and classification tool 120 computes a second magnitude of mutual coupling between the first antenna 102 and the third antenna using the received signal and the second received signal. In a further embodiment, the object detection and classification tool 120 determines that the object is proximate to the first antenna 102 using the magnitude and the second magnitude, and, in response, switches transmission of information from the first antenna 102 to another one of the antennas, such as an antenna that is not proximate to the object. Similarly, the object detection and classification tool 120 can determine that the object is proximate to the second antenna 104 or the third antenna using the magnitude and the second magnitude, and, in response, can switch to transmit the information using another antenna that is not proximate to the object”; Examiner notes it would have been obvious that the magnitude of the mutual coupling is small, the greater distance between the antennas and vice versa;).
Zheng further teaches a distance between the first antenna and the third antenna being larger than or equal to a second threshold distance (Fig. 11, step 1106: [computing magnitude of mutual coupling]; Fig. 12, step 1206: [compute one or more mutual coupling magnitudes between the first antenna and the one or more additional antennas]; Col. 3, lines 43-50 : “In a further embodiment, the processing component 110 is configured to compare the mutual coupling magnitude against a threshold value to distinguish whether the object is of the first object type or of the second object type. In one embodiment, the first object type includes human body parts, SAR phantoms used for testing electronic devices for FCC regulations, or the like, and the second object type includes non-conductive objects, non-water-based objects or the like.”; Col. 4, lines 32-36: “In another embodiment, the object detection and classification tool 120 measures a magnitude of mutual coupling between multiple antennas”; Examiner notes that magnitude of mutual coupling is inversely proportional to distance between antennas i.e. the greater the distance, the less the magnitude and vice versa).
Yang and Zheng are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are both antenna control method and device to reduce SAR exposure, therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize Zheng’s teaching into the teaching of Yang in order to provide an enhanced device which can transmit from an antenna further away to protect the user from electromagnetic radiation.
Regarding claim 3, Yang teaches third maximum transmission power limit differs from the first maximum transmission power limit (Fig. 10, Examiner notes that first antenna 710s are different antenna type than antennas in the 720s, therefore the maximum transmission power limit are different), and wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to determine to transmit the second RF signal through the third RF path based on the third maximum transmission power limit being larger than the first maximum transmission power limit by a designated difference or more (Fig. 10, Par.47, Para 114: “When a combination SAR of the at least one first antenna currently in the operating state and the at least one second antenna currently in the operating state which radiate the signal simultaneously does not meet the CE standard, the second switch 742 is controlled to turn on a connecting path from the second radio frequency circuit 760 to a second target antenna, so that the first target antenna and the second target antenna radiate the first antenna signals and the second antenna signals simultaneously.” Examiner notes that the device switches the second antenna to a second target antenna (third RF path) hence the transmission power on the second target antenna must be based on the max power limit of that path and antennas can be different hence different max power).
Regarding claim 7, Yang teaches the electronic device to select the second RF path from of the first RF path and the second RF path based on the first accumulated SAR (e.g., the combination SAR of the first antenna, para 114) and the second accumulated SAR (e.g., the combination SAR of the second antenna, para 114) satisfying the RF path change condition (e.g., does not meet the CE standard, para 114).
Regarding claim 13. Yang further teaches identifying whether the first accumulated SAR and the second accumulated SAR satisfy the RF path change condition (e.g., does not meet CE standard, para 114), identify to change the second RF path to the third RF path based on the first accumulated SAR and the second accumulated SAR satisfying the RF path change condition and a reception strength measured from the second part of the RF circuit being equal to or larger than a threshold reception strength (Pg.3 [0047]: “When it is monitored that the electronic device 110 is in the 4G/5G dual connectivity mode, the 4G antennas and the 5G antennas of the electronic device 110 radiate signals simultaneously, a signal strength, when the 4G antennas and the 5G antennas radiate the signals simultaneously, is obtained, and a current combination SAR is obtained according to the signal strength. When the combination SAR does not meet the CE standard, at least one of the 4G antennas currently in the operating state is controlled to be switched to the first target antenna, and at least one of the 5G antennas currently in the operating state is controlled to be switched to the second target antenna, so that the first target antenna and the second target antenna radiate the antenna signals simultaneously, and the combination SAR can be ensured to meet the CE standard.”)
Regarding Claim 14, claim 14 is the method claim of the device claim 1, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, Yang further teaches the setting of the first and second maximum transmission power limits for the first and second RF paths, respectively, are executed at least partially simultaneously, and the controlling of the first and second parts of the RF circuit associated with the first and second RF paths, respectively, are executed at least partially simultaneously ([0122], [0068]-[0070]).
Claims 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 20210345258 A1) and Zheng (8,798,695) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lin (US 2023/0122075 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Yang in view of Zheng does not teach wherein the third maximum transmission power limit is substantially equal to the first maximum transmission power limit.
Lin teaches wherein the third maximum transmission power limit is substantially equal to the first maximum transmission power limit (Pg. 10, lines 7-17: “For example, suppose the UE 500 has been continuously transmitting with the first antenna module 502a during the RF exposure time window and has not been using the other antenna modules 502b, 502c for uplink traffic. Under such conditions, the transmit power limit for the first antenna module may be less than or equal to P.sub.limit, whereas the transmit power limits for the second and third antenna modules 502b, 502c may be less than or equal to P.sub.max (and greater than P.sub.limit), due to there being a separate time-averaged RF exposure limit applied to each of the antenna modules.”).
Yang in view of Zheng and Lin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are both antenna control method and device to meet SAR requirement. Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize Lin’s teachings into Yang in view of Zheng in order increase the effectiveness of SAR reduction by best utilizing power for faster communication while keeping SAR with limit.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 20210345258) in view of Zheng (8,798,695) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takeda et al (US 2023/0199672 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Yang teaches identify a first SAR maximum value corresponding to the first maximum transmission power limit and a second SAR maximum value corresponding to the second maximum transmission power limit (Yang [0122], [0068]-[0070]).
Yang in view of Zheng does not teach identify whether an accumulated SAR predicted by the first SAR maximum value and the second SAR maximum value at remaining times in a timetable exceeds an SAR margin set for RF path change, wherein the SAR margin is set based on the first accumulated SAR and the second accumulated SAR.
Takeda teaches identify whether an accumulated SAR predicted by the first SAR maximum value and the second SAR maximum value at remaining times in a timetable exceeds an SAR margin set for RF path change, wherein the SAR margin is set based on the first accumulated SAR and the second accumulated SAR ([0049]: “a UE may combine the use of its power amplifiers (e.g., perform power aggregation) to increase the total available transmit power. However, if each power amplifier is used to its maximum capacity, the combined or aggregated transmit power (an instantaneous transmit power) may exceed a predetermined power limit, such as a power limit that is based on a specific absorption rate (SAR) requirement. To keep the average transmit power below the predetermined SAR-oriented power limit (i.e., to maintain SAR compliance) a UE may dynamically adjust its instantaneous transmit power such that the average transmit power for a given time window does not exceed the predetermined SAR threshold”).
Yang in view of Zheng and Takeda are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are both wireless communication power management to satisfy SAR, therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Takeda into the teachings of Yang in view of Zheng in order to temporarily boost transmit power while satisfying the uplink transmission power criterion (see the abstract of Takeda).
Regarding claim 5, Yang teaches the instructions cause the electronic device to, as at least part of identifying the first SAR maximum value corresponding to the first maximum transmission power limit and the second SAR maximum value corresponding to the second maximum transmission power limit, identify the first maximum transmission power limit and the second maximum transmission power limit based on a maximum transmission power limit allocated when simultaneously transmitting the first RF signal and the second RF signal (Yang Pg. 5, [0068], lines 4-12: “obtaining a maximum transmission power of at least one first antenna and a maximum transmission power of at least one second antenna; and obtaining, according to the maximum transmission power of the at least one first antenna and the maximum transmission power of the at least one second antenna, the combination electromagnetic wave SAR of the at least one first antenna and the at least one second antenna which radiate the antenna signals simultaneously”).
Regarding claim 6. Yang teaches identifying the first SAR maximum value corresponding to the first maximum transmission power limit and the second SAR maximum value corresponding to the second maximum transmission power limit, identify the first maximum transmission power limit and the second maximum transmission power limit based on at least one parameter for maximum power reduction (MPR) when transmitting the first RF signal and/or the second RF signal ([0122]: obtaining the combination electromagnetic wave SAR of the first antenna and the second antenna which radiate the antenna signals simultaneously includes: obtaining a maximum transmission power of at least one first antennas and a maximum transmission power of at least one second antenna; obtaining, according to the maximum transmission power of the at least one first antenna and the maximum transmission power of the at least one second antenna, a combination electromagnetic SAR of the at least one first antenna and the at least one second antenna which radiate the antenna signals simultaneously; [0069]: the maximum transmission power of the at least one first antenna and/or the maximum transmission power of the at least one second antenna is decreased until the at least one antenna combination which meets the predetermined condition is obtained).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 20210345258) in view of Zheng (8,798,695) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bremer et al (US2022/0038160).
Regarding claim 8. Yang teaches the first RF signal and the second RF signal are signals for dual connectivity ([0122]: radiate the antenna signals simultaneously, [0068]-[0070]). Yang in view of Zheng
does not teach selecting the second RF path of the first RF path and the second RF path, select the second RF path based on a type of a cell group corresponding to each of the first RF path and the second RF path.
Bremer teaches selecting the second RF path of the first RF path and the second RF path, select the second RF path based on a type of a cell group corresponding to each of the first RF path and the second RF path (para 34 and 47, see fig. 1: antennas 112 and 114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Bremer into the teachings of Yang and Zheng, for increased antenna tunability and system flexibility for concurrent support of multiple different frequency bands (para 12 of Bremer).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 20210345258 A1) and Zheng (US 8,798,695 B1) as applied to claims 1, 7 above, and further in view of Vogel (JP 2021523657A).
Regarding claim 9. Yang in view Zheng does not teach the first RF signal and the second RF signal are RF signals based on a DSDA mode of a dual SIM, and wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to, as at least part of selecting the second RF path of the first RF path and the second RF path, select the second RF path based on an RRC connection time in a SIM corresponding to the first RF path and an RRC connection time in a SIM corresponding to the second RF path.
Vogel teaches the first RF signal and the second RF signal are RF signals based on a DSDA mode of a dual SIM, and wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to, as at least part of selecting the second RF path of the first RF path and the second RF path, select the second RF path based on an RRC connection time in a SIM corresponding to the first RF path and an RRC connection time in a SIM corresponding to the second RF path (Fig. 13 shows dual SIMS, dual communication paths; Pg. 19, [0058]).
Yang in view Zheng and Vogel are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are both mobile communication, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize Vogel’s teaching into the teaching of Yang in view of Zheng in order to increase the effectiveness of SAR reduction while taking into account network performance degradation in one network to switch to another network protocol, the call can be re-routed through a different network using another network protocol that is owned and maintained by a different communications network provider.
Regarding claim 10, Vogel further teaches selecting the second RF path of the first RF path and the second RF path, select the second RF path based on an RF path where voice over internet protocol (VoIP) is being performed of the first RF path or the second RF path (Pg. 9, [0010]: “the call may be a call made via a cellular telephone, a Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) call, or a modem call, to name a few. Also, mobile device 102 and mobile device 104 may include any user or organization capable of placing a telephone call.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize Vogel’s teaching into the teaching of Yang in view of Zheng in order to increase the effectiveness of SAR reduction while taking into account network performance degradation in one network to switch to another network protocol, the call can be re-routed through a different network using another network protocol that is owned and maintained by a different communications network provider.
Claims 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 20210345258 A1) and Zheng (8,798,695) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al (US2023/0012055).
Regarding claims 12, Yang teaches the electronic device to, as at least part of identifying whether the first accumulated SAR (e.g., the combination SAR of the first antenna, para 114) and the second accumulated SAR path (e.g., the combination SAR of the second antenna, para 114) satisfy an RF path change condition (e.g., does not meet the CE standard, para 114), identify to change the second RF path to the third RF path based on the first accumulated SAR and the second accumulated SAR satisfying the RF path change condition (Fig.10 and Par.114; when SAR of first and second antenna exceed CE standards, the device switches the second antenna to a second target antenna (i.e. third RF path). Hence the transmission power on the second target antenna must be based on the max power limit of that path).
Yang in view of Zheng does not teach change path based on a scheduling ratio corresponding to the first RF path exceeding a threshold ratio.
Zhang teaches change path based on a scheduling ratio (e.g., time duration, time-averaged) corresponding to the first RF path exceeding a threshold ratio (e.g., threshold level of the time-averaged; see para 28 and 58 of Zhang).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Zhang into the teachings of Yang in view of Zheng, so that to adjust the proposed radio usage of the first wireless link and the second wireless link to satisfy a threshold level of the time-averaged SAR (see the abstract of Zhang).
Regarding claims 15, claim 15 is the method claim of the device claim 12, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale of claim 12.
Claims 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 20210345258 A1) in view of Nadakutudi (US 20220070796 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Yang does not teach respective antennae for the first and second RF paths are included in a same antenna group of the electronic device, which comprises one or more additional RF paths and one or more additional antennae respectively corresponding to the one or more additional RF paths.
Nadakutudi teaches respective antennae for the first and second RF paths are included in a same antenna group of the electronic device, which comprises one or more additional RF paths and one or more additional antennae respectively corresponding to the one or more additional RF paths (Fig. 7; Pg. 11, [0103], lines 14-24: “Those of skill in the art will appreciate that more or less than seven antennas may be implemented, and/or more or less than three antenna groupings may be defined. Each of the illustrated antennas 702a-702g may represent a single antenna, an array (e.g., a phased array) of antennas, or a module including one or more antennas. The antenna groups 704, 706, 708 may each include one or more antennas that are configured to transmit in a certain frequency band (e.g., very high (e.g., mmWave bands), high (e.g., 6-7 GHz bands), medium (e.g., 3-6 GHz bands), or low (e.g., 400 MHz-3 GHz bands)), or the antenna groups may each include one or more antennas that are configured to transmit in multiple frequency bands.”).
Yang and Nadakutudi are considered analogous to the claimed invention as they are both antenna control method and device to meet SAR requirement. Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize Nadakutudi’s teaching into Yang in order increase the effectiveness of SAR reduction by taking into account various antennas grouping.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites identifying whether the first accumulated SAR and the second accumulated SAR satisfy the RF path change condition: based on an occurrence of an event being identified (e.g., SAR limitation not being met), identify whether the RF path change condition corresponding to the identified event is satisfied; and identify whether a default RF path change condition is satisfied based on the occurrence of the event not being identified. It is unclear what “event not being identified” is. The specification cites the same language without further clarification.
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
EP 4 156 539 A1: discloses Antenna hopping for specific absorption rate (SAR) reduction.
CN 116195306 A discloses Technique for Antenna Switching Diversity Management.
US 2012 0071195 A1 discloses Transmission Power Management for Specific Absorption Rate.
US 2015 0031408 A1 discloses System and Methods for Controlling Transmit Power on Multi-SIM Devices in Compliance with Specific Absorption Rate Limits.
TW 1895491 B disclose Time-Average Radio Frequency (RF) Exposure per Antenna Group.
CN 116076025 B Election Device and Method for Setting for Sending Signal By the Electronic Device.
CN 113472397 A discloses Antenna Control Method, Storage Medium and Electronic Equipment.
CN 112740769 B discloses Granularity Adjustment of Antenna Power in A Multi-radio System,
US 2012 0142291 A1 discloses distribution of transmit signal to multiple transmit Antennas for reduction of measured specific absorption rate.
WO 2019 203424 A1 discloses Electronic Device and Control Method Therefor.
/WESLEY L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2648