DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to the amendments filed 02/28/2026. Amendments received on 02/28/2026 have been entered. As per applicant claim 2 has been canceled. Accordingly claims 1 and 3-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 10, 12, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore et al. (US Pub 2017/0264608) in view of De Rozairo (US Pub 2021/0358243).
As of claims 1 and 12, Moore discloses a system, comprising:
at least one computing device (via overall system or apparatus 800; see fig. 2 and 8; see paragraph [0046]) comprising: at least one processor (via processor 804); and at least one memory storing a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (via memory 805/806; see fig. 8), cause the at least one processor to:
receive an image of an optically capturable passcode rendered by a mobile device, the image being captured by a premises monitoring system (via camera 204 capturing a QR code presented on a user phone 208; see fig. 2; also see paragraph [0032]);
authenticate a person associated with the mobile device based on the optically capturable passcode (via a QR code verifier verifying the QR code; see paragraph [0032]);
determine that the person is permitted access to a premises according to an access policy; and in response to authenticating the person and determining that the person is permitted access to the premises, cause a lock securing an access point of the premises to unlock (via controller 212 determining whether the user 102 is authorized to access the secure facility or system based on the QR code verification and if verification is achieved, a door to the facility is then unlocked for the user; see figs. 2 and 4; also see paragraphs [0032] and [0039]).
Moore discloses the use of multi-factor authentication by using QR code verification and biometric verification (see paragraph [0039]) however it does not explicitly disclose receive recorded audio of audio rendered by a mobile device and captured by the premises monitoring system, the audio rendered by the mobile device comprising an audio passcode generated by the mobile device corresponding to a random sound signature.
De Rozairo discloses an access control system, wherien an authentication system transmits a passcode to a device in the possession of a user, receive from the device a speech sample of the user speaking the passcode corresponding to a random sound signature and authenticating the user based on the spoken passcode (see fig. 1; also see abstract, paragraphs [0015]-[0016]).
Form the teaching of De Rozairo it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Moore to include the function of audio passcode as taught y De Rozairo in order to enhance the biometric authentication of the user.
As of claims 3 and 14, Moore discloses that the optically capturable passcode comprises a quick response (QR) code that is downloadable to the mobile device associated with the person (via QR code presented on a user phone 208; see fig. 2; also see paragraph [0032].
As of claims 10 and 20, Moore discloses a premises device of the premises monitoring system is configured to capture the optically capturable passcode and the audio passcode (via 2FA authentication system 200; see fig. 2), however it does not explicitly disclose the premises device is a video doorbell device that is proximate an access location of a premises. The Examiner took official notice that it is well known in the art of access control that a video doorbell device could be used as a premise device for access control verification (see LaRovere et al. 10,347,063 see col. 3 line 64 through col. 14, lines 10). Since applicant did not traverse the examiner’s assertion of official notice the well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior (MPEP 2144.03).
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore et al. (US Pub 2017/0264608) in view of De Rozairo (US Pub 2021/0358243) and further in view of Vazquez et al. (US 9,640,001).
As of claims 11 and 13, combination of Moore and De Rozairo discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention as mentioned in claim 1 above, however it does not explicitly disclose that the audio passcode comprises an inaudible sound signature.
Vazquez discloses that it is well known in the art of access control to use sound wave signals in a frequency band that is inaudible to humans to convey user’s authentication data (see Vanquez et al. US 9,640,001 col. 12, lines 25-37).
From the teaching of Vazquez it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the combination of Moore and De Rozairo to include the function of transmitting a sound signal encoding a code representing a credential by the mobile at the time of access in order to further enhance user authentication.
Claims 4-9 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore et al. (US Pub 2017/0264608) in view of De Rozairo (US Pub 2021/0358243) in view of Mizon (US Pub 2012/0068818).
As of claims 4 and 15, combination of Moore and De Rozairo discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention as mentioned in claim 1 above, De Rozairo further discloses that the authentication system receive an indication receive an indication that the person is present at the premises (via user communicating to the authentication system to being the process of authentication; see paragraph [0011]) then the authentication system generates and transmits a passphrase to be spoken to the user mobile device (see paragraph [0015]). However, combination of Moore and De Rozairo does not explicitly disclose that receive an indication that the person is present at the premise and then generate and transmit optically capturable passcode to the mobile device.
Mizon discloses an access control system wherien a control unit receive an indication that the person is present at the premises in response to the indication, generate the optically capturable passcode; transmit the optically capturable passcode to the mobile device (see paragraphs [0005] and [0008]).
From the teaching of Mizon it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the combination of Moore and De Rozairo to include the function of generating and transmit QR code to the mobile at the time of access in order to reduce the risk of misuse of the QR code. Further with regards to the limitation that optical code is generated first and then the audio passcode, “the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results.” In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (see MPEP: 2144.04 IV C).
As of claims 5 and 16, De Rozairo discloses that the at least one computing device to: determine that the recorded audio corresponds to the generated audible passcode; and in response to determining that the recorded audio corresponds to the generated audible passcode, deem the person authenticated (see paragraph [0017], “If the spoken passphrase is positively associated with the reference data, the user may be granted access” also see paragraphs [0015]-[0016]).
As of claims 6 and 17, Moore discloses that the at least one computing device, in response to deeming the person authenticated and determining that the person is permitted access to the premises, cause a door to unlock (see paragraph [0039]). However, it does not explicitly state that a security alarm system at the premises to transition from an armed state to a disarmed state. The Examiner takes official notice that it is well known in the art of access control that in response to an authentication of a person, the system not only unlocks the doors to a premise but also arm/disarm security monitoring system (see LaRovere et al. 10,347,063 see col. 2 lines 60-65).
As of claims 7 and 18, De Rozairo discloses that the indication that the person is present at the premises corresponds to a message initiated by the person (via user communicating to the authentication system to being the process of authentication; see paragraph [0011]).
Mizon further discloses that the user transmits an identification code to the control unit via access node which functions as an indication that the person is present at the premise (see paragraph [0005]).
As of claim 8, Mizon discloses that the indication corresponds to an alert indicating that a recognized person has been detected at the premises (Mizon discloses that in the first step a user transmits an identification code to an access node, which forwards the identification code to a control unit, which checks whether the identification code is contained in a list of permissible identification codes generates and transmits the optical code to user mobile phone, so the control unit receiving user’s identification code is interpreted as an alert (see paragraph [0005] and [0009]).
As of claims 9 and 19, Mizon discloses that the at least one computing device to: determine that the optically capturable passcode in the image corresponds to the generated optically capturable passcode; and in response to determining that the optically capturable passcode in the image corresponds to the generated optically capturable passcode, transmit a message to a premises device of the premises monitoring system (via control unit 3 transmitting a message to the access node 2 if the optical code is valid). De Rozairo further discloses once the user is verified via user identifier the user use if prompted for the spoken passphrase (see paragraph [0015]). Further with regards to the limitation that optical code is generated first and then the audio passcode, “the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results.” In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (see MPEP: 2144.04 IV C).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument regarding the combination of the references, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In rejection above, the prior art includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
In combination, Moore performs the same function as it does separately of multi-factor authentication by using QR code verification and biometric verification (see paragraph [0039]). De Rozairo performs the same function as it does separately of authenticating audio passcode rendered by a mobile device.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
The results of the combination would have been predictable and result in authenticating a user.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NABIL H SYED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686