DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-15 are pending in the application, of which claims 1-4, 10-12, & 15 are amended.
In light of the amendments to the claims the previous double patenting rejection is withdrawn.
In light of the amendments to the claims the previous art rejection is withdrawn in favor of the new ground of rejection presented below.
In light of the amendments to the claims the previous interpretations of certain terms under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because of the new references utilized to meet the new limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20240417912A1) in view of Leibman (US20190169782A1), Song (US20190351437A1), Zhang (CN114452417A) and Fang (CN114855438A).
As to claim 1, Kim discloses a clothes care apparatus (abstract), comprising: a cabinet (Fig.2 ref 100); a first chamber (Fig.2 ref 130) formed inside the cabinet, and configured to accommodate clothes [0160]; a first door (see Figs.2-3 ref 500) configured to open or close the first chamber (see Figs.2-30, the first door including a second chamber (Fig.3 ref 550) and configured to accommodate clothes [0160]; a second door (best seen by Fig.8 ref 530) configured to open or close the second chamber and rotatably coupled to the first door (see Figs.2-3 & 8-9). Kim does not disclose the presence of a spot cleaner disposed inside the second chamber and configured to spot clean the clothes accommodated in the second chamber, the spot cleaning being movable inside the second chamber to spot clean a target area of the clothes accommodated in the second chamber. However, Kim does indicate that there is a desire to care for the laundry within the second chamber [0169 & 0172]. Further, the use of cleaning tools within treating apparatuses for treatment of targeted areas of laundry (i.e., spot cleaning) is known in the art, as seen by Leibman and Song. Kim also does not disclose the presence of a roller, however such a feature is known in the art, as seen by Zhang and Fang.
Zhang discloses an art related clothing cleaning device (abstract), wherein it is disclosed that a roller may be utilized with vibrating capabilities in order to remove impurities from clothing [n0039-n0045].
Fang discloses an art related clothing care device (abstract), wherein it is disclosed that a roller (ref 61) may be provided with a spray element (ref 71) on a movable member (refs 8-9 & [n0028]). The roller allows for removing impurities from the clothing [n0030-n0038].
Leibman discloses an art related laundry treating apparatus, wherein a moveable spot treating device is provided with the laundry treating apparatus (abstract & Figs.1-4). The spot treating apparatus allows a user to treat a targeted area of a garment that may be stained [0003] to improve visual rendering (abstract & [0005]).
Song discloses an art related cleaning apparatus for a clothes treating apparatus [0001], wherein the cleaning apparatus can be located in a rear surface of a door of the clothes treating apparatus (see Fig.9). Song showcases that the cleaning apparatus is a movable spot cleaning device (see Figs.1-8) which comprises a water spray nozzle (Fig.2 ref 100 & [0036]) configured to spray water; a cleaning liquid spray (Fig.2 ref 200) configured to spray a detergent [0042]; a vibration portion (Fig.5 ref 240) for vibrating the second detergent [0055-0057]; and detachable supply containers (see Figs.2-3 ref 140 & Fig.2 & 5 ref 210, also [0039 & 0043]) for each of the nozzles. The spot cleaning apparatus allows for improving the removal of stains from laundry.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Kim to provide a spot cleaning apparatus in order to treat targeted areas of clothing to remove stains (Leibman abstract & [0005], also Song [0012]). A skilled artisan would also find it obvious to provide the spot cleaning within the second chamber in order to care for the clothing which is on display. One of ordinary skill in the art would further find it obvious to modify Kim to provide a roller on the spot cleaning device with the reasonable expectation of removing impurities from the clothing (Zhang [n0039-n0045] & Fang [n0028]).
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20240417912A1) in view of Leibman (US20190169782A1), Song (US20190351437A1), Zhang (CN114452417A) and Fang (CN114855438A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Seo (US20140352366A1).
As to claims 2-4, Modified Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the spot cleaner can be provided with a water and cleaning spray nozzles to spray the clothes and detachable supply containers (see Song as utilized in claim 1). Modified Kim does not teach the presence of suction portion or vibrating portion; however, such features for a spot cleaner are known in the art as seen by Seo.
Seo discloses an art related laundry treating apparatus (abstract), wherein the spot cleaning apparatus comprises: a water spray nozzle (Fig.1 ref 66) configured to spray water; a cleaning liquid spray (Fig.1 ref 68) capable of spraying a cleaning liquid as a mixture of water and detergent; a suction portion (Fig.1 ref 7, & 85) configured to intake water, cleaning liquid, and a foreign material [0047, 0051, 0054, 0060, & 0063]; vibration portion (Fig.1 ref V) configured to vibrate clothes to remove contaminants from the clothes [0063]; a water supply container (Fig.1 ref 41) configured to store water that is to be supplied to the water spray nozzle; a drain container (Fig.1 ref 5) configured to store water, cleaning liquid, and foreign material received through the suction portion [0046-0047]; the containers are detachable provided to the spot cleaner [0048-0050 & 0067].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Kim to utilize the spot cleaner of Seo in order to remove local contamination from laundry with subjecting the entire garment to a cleaning operation (Seo [0007]). It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one known spot cleaner in place of another with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20240417912A1) in view of Leibman (US20190169782A1), Song (US20190351437A1), Zhang (CN114452417A) and Fang (CN114855438A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang (CN108823901B, hereafter Z1).
As to claims 5 & 7-8, Modified Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not disclose a motor having a first and second motor, a frame, and first and second shafts. However, such a configuration is known in the art, as seen by Zhang.
Z1 discloses an art related stain cleaning device, wherein identification and cleaning of stains can occur automatically (abstract). The automatic stain cleaning device (Figs.1-2 ref 2, equivalent to a spot cleaning device) is provided on a moving device (Figs.2-3 refs 3 & 31-34) for moving the stain cleaner in a first direction and a second direction intersecting the first direction [0061]. The mover comprises: a first motor (Figs.3-4 ref 32/321) configured to generate a driving force to move the spot cleaner in the first direction [0061]; a second motor (Figs.3 & 6 ref 34/351) configured to generate a driving force to move the spot cleaner in the second direction [0061]; a frame (Fig.1 ref 1) which supports the stain cleaner via a portion of the mover (see Figs.1-2); a first shaft (Fig.3 ref 31) disposed in the frame (see Figs.1-2) connected to the stain cleaner extending in the first direction; and a second shaft (Fig.3 ref 33) connected to the frame (see Figs.1-2) and extending in a second direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Kim to utilize the spot cleaning mechanism of Z1, including the mover and frame, in order to automatically clean stains (Z1 abstract). It is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make automated a manual activity, especially when it is known in the art to do so (see MPEP 2144.04). As the garment in the second chamber is to be displayed, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to provide the spot cleaning mechanism and mover within the second chamber in order to ensure the displayed garment remains clean. Further, the feature of disposing the second shaft in the to be a mere rearrangement of part that would not affect the operation of the spot cleaner. Thus, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to provide the mover at any location within the second chamber including in the second door (see MPEP 2144.04).
As to claim 6, Modified Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 5, but does not explicitly showcase the spot cleaner and mover provided on a rear surface of the second door and positioned within the second chamber while the door is in a closed state. However, Modified Kim does showcase the mover within the second chamber (see Z1 in combination with Kim) and intended to operate when the door is closed. Thus, the only difference between Modified Kim and invention of claim 6 is the cleaner and mover disposed on a rear surface of the second door. A skilled artisan recognizes the spot cleaner and mover can be located at any location within the second chamber, including the claimed configuration, so long as it is capable of cleaning the garment. Further, a skilled artisan would not anticipate any unexpected results in providing the spot cleaner and mover on the rear surface of the second door. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily find such an arrangement to be an obvious rearrangement of parts (see MPEP 2144.04).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20240417912A1) in view of Leibman (US20190169782A1), Song (US20190351437A1), Zhang (CN114452417A), Fang (CN114855438A) and Zhang (CN108823901B, hereafter Z1) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Ye (CN113944041A).
As to claim 9, Modified Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 8, but does not explicitly disclose to motors rotating the respective shafts of the movement of the frame in the second direction while the second shaft rotates. However, a movement mechanism for providing two dimensional movement with such features is known in the art, as seen by Ye.
Ye discloses an art related clothes care mechanism (abstract), wherein it is shown that a component (ref 1) can be made moveable in two dimensions (see Figs.1-4) via a moving system. The moving system includes a frame (ref 2) which supports the component and a first rotatable shaft (e.g., see Fig.1 ref 3a, screw rod) disposed in the frame. It is also showcased that a portion of the moving system enabling vertical movement includes a second shaft (Figs.8-9 refs 3b, screw rods) that rotates. A first motor is provided in order to rotate the shaft to move the component in a horizontal direction [00052, 00063, & 00065], and a second motor is provided in order to move the frame and component in a vertical direction via rotation of the screw rod (see Figs.8-9 ref 4e).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Kim to utilize the mover mechanism of Ye, as such is a known alternative movement mechanism for providing two dimensional motion of a component. It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one known mover mechanism in place of another with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 10 & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20240417912A1) in view of Leibman (US20190169782A1), Song (US20190351437A1), Zhang (CN114452417A) and Fang (CN114855438A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Roselle (US20100282785A1), Gerlach (US20030126691A1), and Zheng (US20230046720A1).
As to claims 10 & 12, Modified Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein a supporting portion allows for the supporting of a hanger (Kim Fig.18) and is provided adjacent an upper end of the second chamber (Kim Figs.9 & 17 refs 5554). The hanger can be mounted in various manners to the rear surface, either directly to the wall or through another member (Kim [0340-0343]). Modified Kim does not explicitly showcases a round protruding support portion; however, such a feature would be obvious in view of Roselle and Gerlach. Modified Kim also does not disclose presence of a fixing portion positioned adjacent to a lower end of the second chamber and configured to fix the clothes accommodated in the second chamber. However, such a feature is known in the art, as seen by Roselle.
Roselle discloses an art related fabric treating system (abstract), wherein it is known to utilize a fixing portion (Figs.1-4 refs 32 or 32’) at a lower end of a chamber in order to properly position and tension the fabric for a treatment process [0041-0043]. Roselle also indicates that an alternative and known configuration for a clothing support element is in the form of a rod and hanger [0089]. Although Roselle does not depict the fixing portion having a moving member and a rotating member, such features are merely known alternative for clamping elements, as seen by Zheng.
Gerlach discloses an art related fabric treating device (abstract), wherein it is known that a round shaped supporting section (ref 18) can be provided extending from a rear wall [0054] in order to support clothing. Specifically, the rod allows for receiving of a hanger (see Fig.2 & [0052-0053]) around the rod in order to receiving clothing within the chamber.
Zheng discloses an art related clothing care device (abstract), wherein it is shown that a clamping portion (Figs.13-14) can be provided a moving member (Fig.14 portion on which ref 3422 is provided) and a rotating member (portion of ref 342 opposite to portion on which ref 3422 is provided, e.g., rotates with respect to the opposite portion) so as to hold the clothing between the moving member and the rotating member. The clamps are provided on a bar (ref 341) such that the fixing portion is movable horizontally in the direction along the bar in an adjustable manner [0059-0061] thereby allowing for accommodation of clothing of various sizes/shapes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Kim to utilize a clothing support portion having a rod protruding from the rear wall, with a reasonable expectation of success. It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a one known clothing support portion in place of another with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would also find it obvious to provide a fixing portion, as disclosed by Roselle in order to properly position and tension the fabric for a treatment process (Roselle [0041-0043]).
It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one known clamp construction in place of another with a reasonable expectation of success. Further, since Roselle indicates the purpose of the clamping elements on the lower portion of the chamber is to properly position the clothing, a skilled artisan would find it beneficial to allow for the adjustability of the clamp via the design of Zheng (Zheng [0059-0061]).
Claim(s) 10 & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20240417912A1) in view of Leibman (US20190169782A1), Song (US20190351437A1), Zhang (CN114452417A), Fang (CN114855438A), Roselle (US20100282785A1), Gerlach (US20030126691A1), and Zheng (US20230046720A1) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Cooler (US20220330735A1) and Kim (KR101867298B1).
As to claim 11, Modified Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 10, but does not discloses a guide hole and the support member being moveable vertically in the guide hole. However, such a feature is known in the art to allow for height adjustable hangers, as seen by Cooler and Kim.
Cooler discloses an art related rod holding system for use with clothing [0002, 0007], wherein it is known to provide a height adjustment device for a clothing rod [0098-0102]. The height adjustment includes a guide hole (ref 3210) in which a rod (ref 3215) is adjustably provided via vertical movement in the hole in order to allow for height adjustment.
Kim discloses an art related height adjustable hanger device for clothing of different length (abstract), wherein a guide hole allows for vertical movement of a hanger rod in order to adjust the height of the rod (see Figs.1-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Kim to provide a height adjustment device with a guide hole for receiving the hanger rod in order to allow for adjustability of the hanger rod to accommodate different sized clothing (Kim abstract & Cooler [0098-0102]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20240417912A1) in view of Leibman (US20190169782A1), Song (US20190351437A1), Zhang (CN114452417A) and Fang (CN114855438A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Meyer (US20040134088A1).
As to claim 14, Modified Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first door comprises a case forming the second chamber (see Kim Fig.8 e.g., ref 510) and a plurality of holes (Kim Fig.22 ref 5541) formed in the case through which air inside the second chamber is discharged via the second chamber. Modified Kim does not disclose the holes formed over an entire area of at least one side of the case, but Kim does indicate that the holes may have a large coverage area (see [0490] indicating the plurality of holes can be located near both sides). Further, it is known in the art to provide a panel surface with a plurality of holes, as seen by Meyer.
Meyer discloses an art related clothing treating device (abstract), wherein it is shown that exhaust holes (Fig.1 ref 50) can cover an entire side of a case in order to exhaust air from the chamber [0019].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Kim to provide the plurality of exhaust holes covering an entire area of one side of the case, as such is a known construction for exhaust holes (Meyer Fig.1 ref 50 & [0019]). It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one known configuration for exhaust air from a chamber in place of another with a reasonable expectation of success. Further, such a modification would merely result in duplicating the number of holes present for air discharging without affecting the operation of the device, thus a skilled artisan would find such a modification to an obvious duplication (see MPEP 2144.04).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20240417912A1) in view of Leibman (US20190169782A1), Song (US20190351437A1), Zhang (CN114452417A) and Fang (CN114855438A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hombroek (US20180142391A1), Xiong (CN111876963A), and Zhang (CN108823901B).
As to claim 15, Modified Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein Kim discloses an input/output interface (Fig.5 ref 700) provided on the door that may be separate from each other [0247]. The inputter which allows a user to input information to control the apparatus [0247]. Modified Kim does not disclose the input interface having a spot care button for spot cleaning, or the output interface displaying a clothes image to set a target area that is to be spot cleaned according to an input of the spot care button. However, the use of an interface allowing for a user to select a target area for spot cleaning is known in the art, as seen by Xiong. Further, the use of an input interface to control a spot cleaner is also a well-known feature in the art, as seen by Hombroek.
Hombroek discloses an art related laundry treating apparatus (abstract), wherein it is known that a user interface with various buttons, knobs, dials or the like is utilized for controlling a stain removal device [0019]. Thus, Hombroek suggests the presence of at least one button which can allow for stain cleaning to be performed.
Xiong discloses an art related laundry treating method (abstract), wherein a camera [00016 & 00059] is provided which images clothing within a chamber and provides such image to an interface [00010, 00019, 00031-00032, 00036-00037, 00046, & 00049-00053]. Xiong also indicates that a user selects, via an image on a display, a target region of laundry containing a stain in order to perform treatment of the article at the selected area [0019 & 0034-0057]. The ability for a user to select an area for stain treatment (i.e., spot treating), allows for meeting the diversified needs of the user and improve user experience comfort [0019].
Although Modified Kim utilizes a manually operated spot cleaner, and Xiong is directed towards an automatic stain cleaning operation, automatic spot cleaner are known in the art, as seen by Zhang.
Zhang discloses an art related stain cleaning device, capable of automatic cleaning moving a cleaning device to remove stains (see abstract, Figs.3-6 & [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Kim to utilize the spot cleaning mechanism of Zhang in order to automatically clean stains (Zhang abstract). It is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make automated a manual activity, especially when it is known in the art to do so (see MPEP 2144.04). Further, as it is known that allowing a user to select an area with a stain to be treated allows for meeting the diversified needs of the user and improve user experience comfort (Xiong [0019]), a skilled artisan would further modify Kim to ensure that a camera and display (i.e., output interface) is present in order to allow a user to do so. Similarly, a skilled artisan would ensure that a button, knob, or the like would be provided (i.e., input interface) in order to allow a user to control or select/indicate a desire to perform a stain removing process (Hombroek [0019]), as is routine and customary in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art related to claim 13 is as follows:
Lee (US20220380957A1) showcases a clothes care apparatus (Fig.19 ref 3) wherein an air discharge hole (Fig.20 ref 309) can be provided lower than an air supply hole (Fig.20 ref 308). The air supply hole allows a chamber in the clothes care apparatus to receive air from another chamber (see Fig.20 ref 13) and the discharge hole allows the air to be supplied to the other chamber as well. Lee also showcases that an air conditioning space may be provided at a top area of the laundry system (Fig.39).
Lee (US20220380971A1) showcases a clothes care apparatus (Fig.1 ref 3) wherein an air discharge hole (Fig.4 ref 309) can be provided lower than an air supply hole (Fig.4 ref 308). The air supply hole allows a chamber in the clothes care apparatus to receive air from another chamber (see Fig.4).
Ren (CN112301711A) discloses a clothing care device (abstract), wherein the device can have a first chamber (see Fig.3 ref 311), a first door (Fig.3 ref 32), and a second chamber (Fig.4 ref 321) accessible through a second door (Fig.4 ref 34) located on the first door. Ren also showcases that an air inlet may be provided on the rear of the second chamber (Fig.3 ref 3241) in order to provide air into the second chamber via an inlet within the second chamber (see Fig. 6 ref 3232) and exhaust air via an outlet in the second chamber (Fig.6 ref 3221). However, the air inlet is located at a bottom of the chamber and an exhaust is located at the top. The inlet is located at the bottom in order to condition the air in the machine space (see Fig.5).
Kim (WO2019194567A1) showcases air inlet for second chamber (Fig.8 ref 148) located at bottom of the second chamber and exhaust hole (Fig.8 ref 150) located at top of second chamber. The inlet is provided at the bottom in order to condition the air via components in the machine space (see Fig.8).
Thus each individual element of claim 13 is known in the art. However, a skilled artisan would not find it obvious to modify Kim to supply such elements in the claimed manner as there is a desire for the second chamber to operate even when first chamber is open (Kim [0297]) and Kim indicates that the second chamber requires different temperature and humidity than the first chamber (Kim [0159]). Thus, a skilled artisan would be motivated not to provide air communication between the two chambers, as they require different working conditions and the second chamber is desired to work independently of the first. Accordingly, claim 13 presents with allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAIR CHAUDHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711