DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
the “first flow directing member and second flow directing member, means for distributing” as recited in claim 1;
the “barrier” as recited in claim 3;
the “first flow directing member and the second flow directing member are configured to be manipulated, so as to obtain a symmetric distribution patten” as recited in claim 4;
the “first flow directing member and said second flow directing member is independently configured to direct flow of said particulate material around said common axis” as recited in claim 6; and
the “distributing said particulate material in a non-static asymmetric pattern comprises one of: a means for reducing rotational speed of said spinner; a means for reducing flow of said particulate material; and a means for adjusting position” as recited in claim 7; must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “flow directing member” in claim 1, where “member” is the placeholder and “flow directing” is the functional language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “pattern” in line 18 of claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “pattern” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The size, shape, range of distribution and spread, around a targeted region to meet the claim limitation is not known. In other words, the accuracy and/or the accepted tolerance (accepted deviation from the non-static pattern) to meet the claim limitation is not known. Furthermore, the method of measuring or determining such “pattern” is not provided in the disclosure, as originally filed by the Applicant. Same rejection applies to all pending claims. Similar rejection applies to the term “asymmetric” in claim 7. Loosely organized particulate material when spread out by spinners normally creates non-symmetrical spray patterns. It is unclear how “asymmetrical” is needed to meet the claim limitation. The accuracy and the accepted tolerance (accepted deviation from the non-static asymmetric pattern) to meet the claim limitation is not known. Furthermore, the method of measuring or determining the term “asymmetric” is not provided in the disclosure, as originally filed by the Applicant. Similar rejection applies to the term “equal” in line 3 of claim 2. Clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 7 further define the “non-static asymmetric pattern” of the spreader. However, the terms configured to,” in line 16 of claim 1 and “for,” in line 17 of claim 1 clearly indicated that the “non-static pattern” is not a positively recited limitation. Therefore, claim 7 fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1 and 6 are of copending Application No. 18/763,407 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions have the features of a spreader for spreading particulate material comprising: a conveyor, a material divider, a first flow directing member; a second flow directing member; a spinner, wherein each of said first flow directing member and said second flow directing member is configured to rotate around a common axis so as to direct flow of said particulate material around said common axis and said spinner, where said common axis is a non-horizontal common axis; and wherein each of said first flow directing member and said second flow directing member is configured to direct particulate material flow in a configurable shape in separate and distinct locations onto said spinner for distribution in a non-static pattern.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Application Claims
U.S. Application No. 18/763,407
1
1
2
2
3
3
4
4
5
5
6
6
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Podoll et al. (US 9,649,646. Podoll hereinafter).
With respect to claim 1, Podoll discloses a spreader (Figs. 1-22) for spreading particulate material across a field with increased application rate, swath width, driving speed, and control of pattern comprising: a conveyor (12), to transport particulate material; a material divider (25), positioned for receiving and dividing said particulate material; a first flow directing member (1 of 4 blade 22. Fig. 15); a second flow directing member (2 of 4 blade 22. The blade opposite the 1 of 4 blade); a spinner (spinner assembly with disk 21) positioned to receive thereon said particulate material from said conveyor, said material divider, said first flow directing member, and said second flow directing member; wherein each of said first flow directing member and said second flow directing member is configured to (capable of) rotate around a common axis (of disk 21) so as to direct flow of said particulate material around said common axis and said spinner, where said common axis is a non-horizontal (vertical) common axis; and wherein each of said first flow directing member and said second flow directing member is configured to (capable of) direct particulate material flow in a configurable shape in separate and distinct locations onto said spinner for distribution in a non-static (dynamic) pattern (Figs. 3-11).
With respect to claim 2, Podoll discloses the spreader of claim 1 wherein said material divider is configured to (capable of) separate said particulate material into columns of equal measure (Fig. 4) into said first flow directing member and said second flow directing member; wherein said first flow directing member and said second flow directing member include a distinct flow directing orifice (irregular shape orifice forms by the unmarked triangular plate and blade 22 at the outer end of 22. Fig. 15); and are configured (capable of), so that, a rotation of one of said first flow directing member and said second flow directing member around said common axis adjusts (changes) said non-static pattern.
With respect to claim 3, Podoll discloses the spreader of claim 2 wherein said spinner comprises: a barrier (unmarked triangular plate at the outer end of 22. Fig. 15) configured to (capable of) direct stray affect deflected grains of said particulate material onto said spinner; a plurality of separated centrifugal disks (left and right 21); a top centrifugal disk (left or right 21), with an annular shape, of said plurality of separated centrifugal disks for permitting passage of said particulate material; and an adjustment (via 84) of said non-static pattern occurs when one of said plurality of separated centrifugal disk is rotating around said common axis.
With respect to claim 4, Podoll discloses the spreader of claim 3 wherein said adjustment of said non-static pattern occurs when each of said first flow directing member and said second flow directing member rotates around said common axis, and wherein the first flow directing member and the second flow directing member are configured to (capable of) be manipulated, so as to obtain a symmetric distribution patten (Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 5, Podoll discloses the spreader of claim 3 wherein each of said first flow directing member and said second flow directing member is configured to (capable of) direct flow of said particulate material from said material divider onto only one of said plurality of separated centrifugal disks.
With respect to claim 6, Podoll discloses the spreader of claim 1 wherein said first flow directing member and said second flow directing member is independently (one can work without the other) configured to (capable of) direct flow of said particulate material around said common axis.
With respect to claim 7, Podoll discloses the spreader of claim 1 wherein said distribution of said particulate material in a non-static asymmetric pattern happens on an occasion of one of: a reduction in rotational speed of said spinner (switch or control of 84); a reduction of flow of said particulate material (switch or control of 12); and a change of position (mechanism of translating) of said first flow directing member and said second flow directing member.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to show the art with respect to a particulate material spreader: Van der Lely et al., Egerdahl, Barbieri, Lewis, Truan et al., Kost et al. ‘590, Kost et al. ‘952, Schoenfeld, Gamble et al. and Sandler et al.
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 June 22, 2026