DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 9,485,252; claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 10,631,
160; and claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 12,108,488. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because independent claims 1, 9, 17, 25 of the present of application are broader in scope and thus encompass the subject matter already claimed in allowed claims 1, 9, 17 in respectively of US patent application 15/040,425 (Subject to be published as US Patent No: 9,485,252 on Nov. 1, 2016); claimed in allowed claims 1, 9, 17 in respectively of US patent application 15/283,491 (Subject to be published as US Patent No: 10,631,160 on Apr. 21, 2020); and claimed in allowed claims 1, 9, 17, 25 in respectively of US patent application 16/842801 (Subject to be published as US Patent No: 12,108,488 on Oct. 1, 2024).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-10, 12-18, 20-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US Pub No. 2014/0073375).
As to claim 1, Li discloses a mobile station comprising: an application processor physically connected to a baseband processor (Fig. 2; items 202, 206, 204, application processor, baseband processor), wherein the physical connection facilitates secure transmission of commands to the application processor from a cellular modem application hosted by the baseband processor (See Fig. 2, and par [0057,0069, 0092] eSIM data is used in order to facilitate automatic switch-over between multiple eSIMs, a baseband processor and/or modem of the host radio device); and one or more memories storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed, configure a mobile application running on the application processor to (par [0069]), in response to receipt of one or more commands from the baseband processor (par [0069]), communicate with a virtual reprogrammable universal integrated circuit chip (eUICC) that is not physically or electrically connected to the baseband processor (par [0051, 0057, 0060-0061, 0069, 0085] disclosed the secure element includes a virtual or electronic entity such as e.g., a software application, hereafter referred to as an Embedded Universal Integrated Circuit Card (eUICC) wherein the secure element includes a virtual which is not physically or electrically connected to the baseband processor 206).
As to claim 2, 10, 18, Li further discloses the mobile station of claim 1, wherein the virtual eUICC is stored within a trusted execution environment (TEE) of the application processor (par [0085]).
As to claim 4, 12, Li further discloses the mobile station of claim 1, wherein the baseband processor is programmed to non-electrically attach to the virtual eUICC (par [0051, 0069]).
As to claim 5, 13, 20, Li further discloses the mobile station of claim 4, wherein non-electrical attachment comprises a transmission to the application processor of a command initiated by the baseband processor (par [0051, 0069]).
As to claim 6, 14, 21, Li further discloses the mobile station of claim 5, wherein a radio interface layer of the application processor is configured to interpret and forward the command to the virtual eUICC (par [0051-0053]).
As to claim 7, 15, 22, Li further discloses the mobile station of claim 1, wherein the virtual eUICC is configured to: indirectly receive requests based on the one or more commands transmitted from the baseband processor (par [0048, 0054]); and generate one or more responses to the indirectly received requests (par [0099] the eUICC (or the Advanced Subscriber Identity Toolkit) issues a "refresh" instruction to the baseband processor).
As to claim 8, 16, 24, Li further discloses the mobile station of claim 1, wherein the computer-executable instructions further configure the mobile application to, in response to receipt of one or more commands from the baseband processor (par [0051-0054]), communicate with one or more other virtual eUICCs that are not physically or electrically connected to the baseband processor (See par [0051-0057]).
As to claim 9, the claim is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 17, the claim is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 23, Li further discloses the mobile station of claim 17, wherein the virtual eUICC includes: means for indirectly receiving requests based on the one or more commands transmitted from the baseband processor (par [0051-0054]); and means for generating one or more responses to the indirectly received requests (par [0051-0054]).
As to claim 25, the claim is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3, 11, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Pub No. 2014/0073375) in view of STEIN (US Pub No. 2015/0373530).
As to claim 3, 11, 19, Li further discloses the mobile station of claim 1, wherein the virtual eUICC is hosted by a device that is remote from the mobile station (par [0051] “the eUICC selects the desired eSIM(s), the UE can initiate an authentication procedure to obtain wireless network services from the eSIM's corresponding network operator”). However, Li does not show the eUICC that is not physically or electrically connected to the baseband processor; the mobile application running on the application processor communicates with the secure element in response to receipt of one or more commands from the base band processor. STEIN clearly shows the eUICC that is not physically or electrically connected to the baseband processor (par [0134, 0188; 0190, 0203, 0212] “disclosed print circuit board in conventional that the eUICC that is not physically or electrically connected to the baseband processor); the mobile application running on the application processor communicates with the secure element in response to receipt of one or more commands from the base band processor (par [0139, 0145, 0168, 0172, 0223, 0230, 0236, 0245, 0253] “applied the mobile application running on the application processor communicates with the secure element in response to receipt of one or more commands from the base band processor, for example: A software application that runs on the user's mobile device, SIM card or on the SIM virtualization hardware itself. The software application could also consist of software running on a microcontroller embedded in the CTS system, by a software application 82 is provided to execute programmed instructions for operating the mobile station 52”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the invention was made to provide of STEIN to the system of Li in order to manage the antenna related function and a SIM card to accommodate a default SIM associated with the default communication network.
Conclusion
/PHUOC H DOAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646