DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10 October 202401 April 2025, 04 December 2025 and 04 March 2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Figure 2 of the application illustrates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 9, 11-13, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NARASIMHA et al. (US 2011/0039552 A1) in view of Xiao et al. (US 2012/0282964 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 6, 11 and 16, NARASIMHA et al. discloses an information recording method applied to a terminal, wherein the method comprises:
handing over from a source cell of a source access network device to a target cell of a target access network device (see Handover Preparation, 520, Fig. 5); and
recording a first report (Measurement Report, 515, Fig. 5), and recording a second report (Radio Link Failure, 555, Fig. 5), where the first report includes related information in a process in which the terminal hands over from the source cell to the target cell, and identification information of the terminal in the target cell; and
the second report includes related information in a process in which the terminal performs random access to the target cell , and the identification information of the terminal in the target cell. (“The method may include determining (360) that the radio link failure has occurred transmitting (370) the random access preamble to one of the at least one potential reestablishment cells in response to determining that the radio link failure has occurred.” See Abstract and figure 5; ([0025]: “The serving base station can assign a dedicated random access channel preamble to the terminal to use for reestablishment and a C-RNTI for use after reestablishment.”).
NARASIMHA et al. teaches (“If the terminal experiences radio link failure on the serving cell, the terminal can transmit the dedicated random access channel preamble to cell
NARASIMHA et al. teaches ([0025]: “If the terminal experiences radio link failure on the serving cell, the terminal can transmit the dedicated random access channel preamble to cell X.”). The random access channel preamble may be interpreted as “the second report” as recited in the claimed.
In an alternative, Xiao et al. in the same field of invention, teaches ([0059]: “In addition, the UE may only monitor its radio link to the serving cell for radio link failure (RLF) measurement and report.”)
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the UE to report link failure to the serving cell and/or the target cell for handover procedure.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, NARASIMHA et al. teaches sending the first report to the target access device or the source access network device via a first access network device; or sending the first report to the target access network device or the source access network device. See figure 5, sending measurement report to eNB 135).
Regarding claims 3, 9, 13 and 19, NARASIMHA et al. teaches sending the second report to the target access network device or the source access network device via a second access network device; or sending, by the terminal, the second report to the target access network device or the source access network device. ([0025]: “If the terminal experiences radio link failure on the serving cell, the terminal can transmit the dedicated random access channel preamble to cell X.”). The random access channel preamble may be interpreted as “the second report” as recited in the claimed.
Claim(s) 4, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NARASIMHA et al. (US 2011/0039552 A1) in view of Xiao et al. (US 2012/0282964 A1) further in view of (WO 02/11485 A2)
Regarding claims 4 and 14, NARASIMHA et al. in view of Xiao et al. fails to teach wherein the recording the first report includes recording first indication information, wherein the first indication information is usable to indicate whether running duration of a first timer exceeds a first threshold.
(WO 02/11485 A2) in the same field of invention, teaches (“When the MS and serving BTS recognize the need to perform a cell handover, by say the RSSI level for signals received at both the MS and its serving BTS falling below a predetermined acceptable threshold level, the serving BTS and the MS use their respective LFSRs to generate the same color bit stream, as in step 146 and as described with reference to FIG. 4. Both the serving BTS and the MS can now determine, as in step 148 and as described with reference to FIG. 4. Both the serving BTS and the MS can now determine, as in step 148, the candidate cell for handover as dictated by the algorithms used in step 152, without the MS having ‘scanned’ the candidate cell. If handover is not yet required, e.g. the RSSI level has fallen below a threshold dictating that cell handover should be considered, but has not yet fallen below a threshold that dictates that communication with the serving BTS is about to fail and cell handover must be performed, then a timer is started, as shown in step 154. The timer will dictate how long the candidate cell selection will remain valid, due to varying propagation conditions and movement of the MS towards, perhaps, an alternative candidate cell. If the timer has not exceeded a particular threshold level in step 154, either predetermined or dynamically set dependent upon the various RSSI levels monitored from all adjacent cells, then handover to the selected candidate cell will still be favored, as shown in the loop of step 154 to step 150. Once the timer threshold has expired, the process of monitoring, determining, informing and generating a color code bit stream is repeated, as shown in step 154 to step 142.”). See figure 5.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set the timer, such as teaching in (WO 02/11485) in NARASIMHA et al.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, (WO 02/11485) further teaches wherein in response to the first report being received, the method further comprises:
determining, based on the first report, a reason for triggering reporting of the first report; and
determining, based on the reason for triggering the reporting of the first report, to send the first report to the target access network device and/or the source access network device.
NARASIMHA et al. teaches ([0040]: “the terminal 110 can send a measurement report to the source base station 135. The measurement report can indicate the presence of a cell co-located with a cell of the source base station 135. At 520, the source base station 135 can make a handover preparation decision.”)
In other words, the measurement signal indicates that the terminal 110 moves closer to the target base station trigger the MS to send the first report to the source base station and/or the target base station.
(WO 02/11485) also teaches (“When the MS and serving BTS recognize the need to perform a cell handover, by say the RSSI level for signals received at both the MS and its serving BTS falling below a predetermined acceptable threshold level”). When the RSSI level falling below a predetermined threshold trigger the MS to send report to the BTS for preparation of handover.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8,10, 15, 18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
BRENDA H. PHAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2412
/BRENDA H PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412