DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The applicant is requested to update the status of related application on page 1 of the specification. Application No. 16/898,817 is now US Patent No. 12,082,201.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9, line 1, it is suggested to replace “thefirst-stage DCI” with “the first-stage DCI”.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-6, and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,082,201. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because independent claims 1, 10, and 19 have the same feature as claims 1 of 12,082,201 has except that the features “indicating an absence…” and “an unsuccessful decoding…” are removed from the independent claim of 12,082,201. Other features claimed in dependent claims are described in independent and/or dependent claims of 12,082,201. Claims 1-27 are, therefore, obvious in view of claims 1-2, 4-6, and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,082,201.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-17, and 19-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jayasinghe et al (2019/0312679) in view of Takeda et al (2021/0204308).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 19, Jayasinghe discloses a wireless device and a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, one or more radio resource control messages indicating one or more configuration parameters for multi-stage downlink control information (DCI) (see DCI is sent to the user device as multi-stage DCI or a segmented DCI in paragraph 0034); receiving first-stage DCI of the multi-stage DCI, wherein the first-stage DCI comprises an indication of allocated resources (see the first stage or DCI segment 1 in paragraph 0058; a first information word that includes a first downlink control information segment of a segmented downlink control information and a pointer to a second resource to receive a second information word including a second downlink control information segment of the segmented downlink control information in paragraph 0039); receiving, by the wireless device and via the allocated resources, data (see receiving and/or transmitting data in paragraph 0057); Jayasinghe further discloses that if the attempting to decode is unsuccessful, making an assumption of a non-segmented downlink control information (see paragraph 0007). This means that no transmission of feedback (skip a scheduled transmission) is needed for the second segment because no second segment is received. Takeda discloses The user terminal does not have to feed back the HARQ-ACK (ACK and NACK) for the PDSCH. Alternatively, the user terminal may feed back only the ACK for the PDSCH (see paragraphs 0115). The claim would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
Regarding claims 2, 11, and 20, Takeda discloses the scheduled transmission comprises hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback associated with the data (see HARQ-ACK in paragraph 0110).
Regarding claims 3, 12, and 21, Takeda discloses the scheduled transmission comprises a sounding reference signal (see sounding reference signal (SRS) in paragraph 0172).
Regarding claims 4, 13, and 22, Takeda discloses the scheduled transmission comprises channel state information (CSI) feedback associated with the multi-stage DCI (see channel state information (CSI in paragraphs 0199; a two-stage DCI including the first and second DCIs in paragraph 0214).
Regarding claims 5, 14, and 23, Jayasinghe discloses a search space associated with the multi-stage DCI (see the search space for DCI in paragraphs 0062) and Takeda discloses a default behavior associated with skipping the scheduled transmission (see behavior and default operation in paragraphs 0116-0118).
Regarding claims 6, 15, and 24, Jayasinghe discloses the allocated resources comprise at least one of: a downlink resource for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (see PDSCH resource in paragraph 0059); or a resource for a sidelink.
Regarding claims 7, 16, and 25, Jayasinghe discloses the first-stage DCI indicates at least one resource for second-stage DCI of the multi-stage DCI (see a first downlink control information segment and a pointer to a second downlink control information segment of a segmented downlink control information in paragraph 0006).
Regarding claims 8, 17, and 26, Jayasinghe discloses the first-stage DCI comprises information associated with second-stage DCI of the multi-stage DCI, and wherein the determining to skip the scheduled transmission is based on the information associated with the second-stage DCI (see a pointer to a second downlink control information segment in step 410 and if the attempting to decode is unsuccessful, making an assumption of a non-segmented down link control information in step 430 of figure 4).
Claims 9, 18, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jayasinghe in view of Takeda as applied to claims 1, 10, and 19 above, and further in view of Guo et al (2019/0297603).
Regarding claims 9, 18, and 27, Jayasinghe doesn't specifically disclose the first-stage DCI indicates an absence of second-stage DCI of the multi-stage DCI. However, Guo discloses this feature (see the first level DCI, DCI.sub.1, can include a B-bit field addtionalCW to indicate the absence or presence of second level DC in paragraph 0124). The claim would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
Conclusion
/BRIAN D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475