DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 7-9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “topography characterized by” in line 1 should be “topography is characterized by”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “and inflammatory” in line 1 should be “an inflammatory”. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-2, 10-12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-4 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,042,284. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 4-9, 13 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,042,284. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 4-9, 13 and 14 disclose the same structure as claims 1-4 of the patent.
Application
US 12,042,284
4
Claim 1 discloses the same structure recited in claim 4 which would give the result of a decrease in MIP-1α polypeptide expression of at least 10%.
5
Claim 1 discloses the same structure recited in claim 5 which would inhibit macrophage adherence to the surface by at least 10%.
6, 13
Claims 1 and 4 recite a polyamide
7-9
Claim 1 recites the same structure
14
Claim 1 discloses the same structure recited in claim 14 which would inhibit macrophage adherence to the surface by at least 10% and would give the result of a decrease in MIP-1α polypeptide expression of at least 10%.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,042,284 in view of Pesantez et al. US 2014/0163346. ‘284 does not disclose the electrode structure but Pesantez teaches a similar medical device that teaches a base layer (106) a working electrode, a reference electrode and counter electrode disposed on the base layer ([FIG2][¶17,43]) an analyte sensing layer disposed over the working electrode wherein the analyte sensing layer comprises glucose oxidase ([FIG2][¶45] sensing layer 110) and an analyte modulating layer dispose over the analytes sensing layer, wherein the analyte modulating layer modulates the diffusion of glucose there through ([¶45] modulating layer 112). Therefore it would have been one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the teachings of Pesantez with Ross as it would allow for sensing with the microneedle array ([¶39]).
the base layer ([¶43]); an analyte sensing layer disposed over the working electrode, wherein the analyte sensing layer comprises glucose oxidase ([¶44]); and an analyte modulating layer disposed over the analyte sensing layer, wherein the analyte modulating layer modulates the diffusion of glucose there through ([¶44]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ross US 2017/0157380 in view of Pesantez et al. US 2014/0163346.
Regarding claims 1, 6 and 15, Ross discloses a medical device comprising a surfaced adapted to contact an in vivo environment, the surface comprising a polymer composition having the following characteristics: 5
a surface hydrophobicity of between 75˚ and 90˚ ([¶115] 80 degrees. The angle is dependent on the topography);
a surface topography characterized by:
grooves having an average peak-to-valley height of between 0.3 µm and 5 µm ([¶85,91-92,98-101]);
wells having an average peak-to-valley height of between 1 µm and 2 µm ([¶85,91-92,98-101]); or
grids having an average peak-to-valley height of between 2 µm and 4 µm ([¶85,91-92,98-101] the various topographies have grooves, wells and grids that are within the ranges recited and micro and nanostructure pillars);
Pesantez teaches a medical device comprising a surface adapted to contact an in vivo environment ([FIG2]) and a polyimide layer and a carbon-to-oxygen ratio greater than 5 to 1 ([¶36,55] Polyimide inherently has a carbon-to-oxygen ratio greater than 5 to 1).
Therefore it would have been one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the teachings of Pesantez with Ross as it is just the simple substitution of one known biocompatible layer for another.
Ross as modified teaches when exposed to the surface comprising the 5polymer composition, RAW264.7 macrophages are influenced in a manner that inhibits their differentiation into an inflammatory (M1) phenotype, and/or influenced in a manner that facilitates their differentiation into an anti-inflammatory (M2) phenotype (as this is a function of the surface topography and base material, since the combination as modified discloses the appropriate topography and composition it discloses the macrophage behavior).
Regarding claims 2, Pesantez teaches a glucose sensor that uses a microneedle array ([¶39]).
Regarding claim 3, Pesantez teaches the glucose sensor comprises:
a base layer ([FIG2] base layer 106) a base layer ([¶45] substrate 130); a working electrode, a reference electrode, and a counter electrode disposed on
a working electrode ([¶17,43]), a reference electrode ([¶17,43]) and a counter electrode ([¶17,43]) disposed on the base layer ([FIG2])
an analyte sensing layer disposed over the working electrode wherein the analyte sensing layer comprises glucose oxidase ([FIG2][¶45] sensing layer 110)
an analyte modulating layer dispose over the analytes sensing layer, wherein the analyte modulating layer modulates the diffusion of glucose there through ([¶45] modulating layer 112). the base layer ([¶43]); an analyte sensing layer disposed over the working electrode, wherein the analyte sensing layer comprises glucose oxidase ([¶44]); and an analyte modulating layer disposed over the analyte sensing layer, wherein the analyte modulating layer modulates the diffusion of glucose there through ([¶44]).
Regarding claim 4 and 7-9, Ross discloses a surface topography characterized by:
grooves having an average peak-to-valley height of between 0.3 µm and 5 µm ([¶85,91-92,98-101]);
wells having an average peak-to-valley height of between 1 µm and 2 µm ([¶85,91-92,98-101]); or
grids having an average peak-to-valley height of between 2 µm and 4 µm ([¶85,91-92,98-101] the various topographies have grooves, wells and grids that are within the ranges recited and micro and nanostructure pillars);
Ross as modified teaches when exposed to the surface comprising the 5polymer composition, RAW264.7 macrophages exhibit a decrease in MIP-1α polypeptide expression of at least 10% as compared to an equivalent polymer surface not having the same surface topography (as this is a function of the surface topography and base material, since the combination as modified discloses the appropriate topography and composition it discloses the macrophage behavior).
Regarding claim 5, Ross discloses a surface topography characterized by:
grooves having an average peak-to-valley height of between 0.3 µm and 5 µm ([¶85,91-92,98-101]);
wells having an average peak-to-valley height of between 1 µm and 2 µm ([¶85,91-92,98-101]); or
grids having an average peak-to-valley height of between 2 µm and 4 µm ([¶85,91-92,98-101] the various topographies have grooves, wells and grids that are within the ranges recited and micro and nanostructure pillars);
Ross as modified teaches when exposed to the surface comprising the 5polymer composition, RAW264.7 macrophages adherence to the surface is inhibited by at least 10% as compared to an equivalent polymer surface not having the surface topography (as this is a function of the surface topography and base material, since the combination as modified discloses the appropriate topography and composition it discloses the macrophage behavior).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Luu et al. “Micro- and Nanopatterned Topographical Cues for Regulating Macrophage Cell Shape and Phenotype” relating to a fully implantable device.
Neacsu et al. “Reduced inflammatory activity of RAW 264.7 macrophages on titania nanotube modified Ti surface” relating to another fully implantable device.
/MICHAEL A CATINA/Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /TSE CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791