DETAILED ACTION
Miscellaneous
Claims pending: 1-20
Claims amended: 1, 3, 9, 11, 17,
Claims cancelled: 2, 10, 18,
New claims: n/a
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 9, 17, have been fully considered.
Regarding applicant’s remarks dated 12/01/2025, regarding none of the currently cited reference teach the amended portions of claims 1, 9, 17.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ben-Itzhak in combination with Adimatyam, see below action for detailed explanation.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of dependent claim(s) 3-8, 11-16, 19-20, have been fully considered, they are rejected based on the same reasons as independent claims 1, 9, 17, above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 9, 11-13, 15, 17, 19-20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20170250930) to (Ben-Itzhak) in view of (US 20100262986) to (Adimatyam)
Regarding claim(s) 1, 9, 17, Ben-Itzhak teach identifying, by a processing device of a content sharing platform, a media item associated with a channel of the content sharing platform; obtaining data related to the media item; providing, as input to an artificial intelligence (AI) model, a prompt to cause the AI model to identify, from the data related to the media item, one or more mentions of channel memberships associated with the channel; receiving an output from the artificial intelligence (AI) model; and performing an action based on the output. (P. 16, 20-21, 38, 42, 67, 70, engage in an interaction such as dialog between the user and the conversation agent is executed using an AI engine to enable an automated conversation. The personalized content recommendation system (“Chatbot system”) receives the one or more messages (e.g., text, voice, video, gesture, etc.) from the user in an active conservation or user session and generates one or more personalized content recommendations, conversation agent provides prompts and/or dialogue to engage the user and collect user signals, a conversation agent 120 is operatively coupled to an AI engine 122 configured to receive messages from the user device 10, analyze the received messages, and transmit a contextually appropriate response to the user device 10, the user interactive communication platform (e.g., a messaging application, an Internet of Things device, a Virtual Reality device, an Augmented Reality device, a webpage, a website etc.), provide interactions with users on behalf of a particular publisher (e.g., CNN, ESPN, etc.), which reads on (memberships associated with channel)).
Ben-Itzhak further teach a system comprising: a memory; and a processing device, coupled to the memory, the processing device to perform operations, and A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, responsive to execution by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations. (P. 34, 45, 111-116, 121)
Ben-Itzhak further teach wherein the action comprises: generating a recommendation reflecting enabling channel memberships on the channel; … wherein a channel membership provides users of the content sharing platform with one or more particular tiers of content access to the channel. (P. 38, 60, 90, multiple conversation agents 120 may be maintained by the Chatbot system 100. The individual conversation agents 120 may be configured to provide interactions with users on behalf of a particular publisher (e.g., CNN, ESPN, etc.) a user may elect to subscribe to a CNN Chatbot, wherein the user engages in interactions (e.g., conversations) with a conversation agent configured to converse and provide recommendations relating to the information and content served by the CNN publisher, in addition, Chatbot system 100 may provide a content recommendation which includes an invitation, suggestion, of link to subscribe to a publisher-specific or topic-specific Chatbot, depending on the interests identified of the user, Chatbots and their associated conversation agents may be “nested” as part of a recommendation provided by the Chatbot system, which reads on (a channel membership provides users of the content sharing platform with one or more particular tiers of content access to the channel), For example, the user may subscribe to an ESPN Chatbot which filters or scopes the conversations to sports related content. In this regard, the user may add to his or her contact list multiple contacts relating respectively to many different publishers, companies, services, websites, applications, and systems to enable engagement in conversations that are scoped to a particular genre, topic, category, knowledge area, product etc.).
Ben-Itzhak teach the recommendation.
Ben-Itzhak fail to specifically teach providing, for a channel owner of channel, an indicator referencing content.
Adimatyam teach providing, for a channel owner of channel, an indicator referencing content. (Fig 1, 6, P. 8-10, 12, 14, 16, 57-59, collectively record the viewing history of viewers and update their profiles, report back to the content provider 140 from media center computing device 120, for better accurately target viewer interested content in future content selection)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ben-Itzhak by providing, for a channel owner of channel, an indicator referencing content as taught by Adimatyam in order to deliver many different types of content in an easy manner.
Regrading claim(s) 3, 11, Ben-Itzhak in view of Adimatyam teach the method, the system, and the non-transitory computer-readable medium, the data related to the media item, the output.
Ben-Itzhak further teach providing, for a channel owner of the channel, an indicator referencing the recommendation. (P. 16, 20-21, 38, 42, 67, 70, engage in an interaction such as dialog between the user and the conversation agent is executed using an AI engine to enable an automated conversation Via one or more messages (e.g., text, voice, video, gesture, etc.) from the user in an active conservation or user session and generates one or more personalized content recommendations).
Regrading claim(s) 4, 12, 19, Ben-Itzhak in view of Adimatyam teach the method, the system, and the non-transitory computer-readable medium, the action, the media item, the channel memberships.
Ben-Itzhak further teach embedding, in media item, a trigger to emphasis, during one or more portions of the media item, a button associated with channel memberships. (Fig. 7, 8, P. 24, 77, user action trigger choices or options include: keyword or input action buttons).
Regrading claim(s) 5, 13, 20, Ben-Itzhak in view of Adimatyam the method, the system, and the non-transitory computer-readable medium, the output, the media item, the channel memberships.
Ben-Itzhak further teach output classifies each identified mention into one or more categories. (P. 58, 75-77, 80 content recommendation scope used to organize and/or constrain the content recommendation entities based on one or more content characteristics (e.g., a source of the content, a category associated with the content,)).
Regrading claim(s) 7, 15, Ben-Itzhak in view of Adimatyam teach the method, the system, and the non-transitory computer-readable medium.
Ben-Itzhak further teach prompt includes a type of format to structure the output. (P. 67, 69, prompts relating to preferred reading topics for the user (e.g., news, technology, sports, finance, trending topics, entertainment, etc.), preferred sources of information (e.g., leading publishers or websites, news channels, etc.), a location of the user device, a preferred language, etc. In an implementation, the conversation agent may provide the user with a list of conversational commands configured to guide the user through various optimal or exemplary interactions with the conversation agent).
Claim(s) 6, 14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20170250930) to (Ben-Itzhak) in view of (US 20100262986) to (Adimatyam) in view of (US 12363397) to (Yanamandra)
Regarding claim(s) 6, 14, Ben-Itzhak in view of Adimatyam teach the method, the system, and the non-transitory computer-readable medium, the data related to the media item, the output.
Yanamandra further teach output includes a timestamp of each identified mention. (C. 13, L. 42-50, the question 150 includes (or is associated with) a timestamp 152 that indicates a portion of the video that has been output (e.g., displayed as video and/or output as audio) by the viewer device 130 when the question was generated during the playing.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ben-Itzhak in view of Adimatyam by output includes a timestamp of each identified mention as taught by Yanamandra in order to effectively performing a machine learning (ML) cinematic (e.g., movie) question answering.
Claim(s) 8, 16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20170250930) to (Ben-Itzhak) in view of (US 20100262986) to (Adimatyam) in view of (US 20250133275) to (Sahasi)
Regarding claim(s) 8, 16, Ben-Itzhak in view of Adimatyam teach the method, the system, and the non-transitory computer-readable medium, the data related to the media item.
Sahasi further teach an audio transcription of media item. (P. 124, automated speech recognition engine may process audio data and output a transcription(s) of the audio portions of the media content provided).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ben-Itzhak in view of Adimatyam by an audio transcription of media item as taught by Sahasi in order to efficiently or adequately determine the most important portions of the content provided, such as those that may highly interest a viewer(s).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RONG LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421