DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4-6,12-14 and 18-19 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 04/02/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-11, 15-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pat. 9,725,948 – Mullet et al., hereinafter Mullet.
Regarding claim 1.
Mullet discloses a manual automatic integrated sunshade panel (Examiner notes that unless otherwise noted, the embodiment of fig 7a is relied upon. However, other figures may be referred to for illustration purposes.) (10, fig 1b), comprising a motor (50, fig 7a), a power storage mechanism (including 65, fig 7a), a reel (32, as in fig 4), a curtain (20, fig 1b) connected with the reel (as at 30, fig 3), a main control module (47, fig 7a), and a sensor for recording a rotation stroke of a rotation shaft of the motor (Column 7, lines 47-53; In one embodiment, the shaft 51 of DC motor 50 protrudes into the circuit board housing 44, and a multi-pole magnet 49 is attached to the end of the motor shaft 51. A magnetic encoder (not shown for clarity) is mounted on the circuit board 47 to sense the rotation of the multi-pole magnet 49, and outputs a pulse for each pole of the multi-pole magnet 49 that moves past the encoder.), wherein the motor (Column 6, lines 38-39; The DC motor 50 is electrically connected to the circuit board 47) and the sensor (Column 7, lines 47-53; A magnetic encoder (not shown for clarity) is mounted on the circuit board 47) are electrically connected with the main control module respectively;
wherein a casing (67, fig 7a) or a core body of the power storage mechanism is connected with the reel in a transmission manner (Column 9, lines 27-38; The output shaft of the DC gear motor 55 is fixed to the support shaft 60, either directly (not shown for clarity) or through an intermediate shaft 62. When the motorized roller shade 20 is installed, support shaft 60 is attached to a mounting bracket that prevents the support shaft 60 from rotating. Because (a) the output shaft of the DC gear motor 55 is coupled to the support shaft 60 which is fixed to the mounting bracket, and (b) the DC gear motor 55 is mechanically-coupled to the shade tube, operation of the DC gear motor 55 causes the DC gear motor 55 to rotate about the fixed output shaft, which causes the shade tube 32 to rotate about the fixed output shaft as well.), and the motor is connected with the reel in the transmission manner (See fig 7a), or, the core body is connected with the reel in the transmission manner and the rotation shaft is connected with the core body in the transmission manner, and a casing of the motor maintains stationary relative to the casing of the power storage mechanism (See fig 5)
wherein in a manual state (Column 8, lines 37-38; the shade 22 may then be moved to the closed position, manually and/or electrically.), when the curtain is manually pulled, the power storage mechanism (including 65, fig 7a) starts to store power (65 is disclosed as a counterbalance spring), and the reel drives the rotation shaft of the motor to rotate, the sensor calculates the rotation stroke of the rotation shaft (Column 8, lines 29-41; In various preferred embodiments discussed below, the position of the shade 22 is determined and controlled based on the number of pulses that have been detected from a known position of shade 22. While the open position is preferred, the closed position may also be used as the known position. In order to determine the full range of motion of shade 22, for example, the shade may be electrically moved to the open position, an accumulated pulse counter may be reset and the shade 22 may then be moved to the closed position, manually and/or electrically.
The total number of accumulated pulses represents the limit of travel for the shade, and any desirable intermediate positions may be calculated based on this number.);
in an automatic state, the motor calculates a number of turns or a rotation angle when the curtain reaches a fully rolling up or unrolling state based on the rotation stroke, and rotates based on the number of turns or the rotation angle (Column7, line 62-column 8, line 3; The number of pulses output by the encoder may be associated with a linear displacement of the shade 22 by a distance/pulse conversion factor or a pulse/distance conversion factor. In one embodiment, this conversion factor is constant regardless of the position of shade 22. For example, using the outer diameter d of the shade tube 32, e.g., 1⅝ inches (1.625 inches), each rotation of the shade tube 32 moves the shade 22 a linear distance of .pi.*d, or about 5 inches.).
Regarding claim 2.
Mullet discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Mullet further discloses the motor (50, fig 7a) and the power storage mechanism (including 65, fig 7a) are respectively arranged at two ends of the reel (See fig 7b), and the rotation shaft (51, fig 7a) of the motor (50, fig 7a) is connected with the reel (32, as in fig 4) through a rotation terminal (See recesses in 67, fig 7a) coaxially arranged with the reel (See fig 5);
the casing (67, fig 7a) of the power storage mechanism (including 65, fig 7a) is connected with the reel, and the core body of the power storage mechanism is connected with an external fixing unit (Column 9, lines 27-38; The output shaft of the DC gear motor 55 is fixed to the support shaft 60, either directly (not shown for clarity) or through an intermediate shaft 62. When the motorized roller shade 20 is installed, support shaft 60 is attached to a mounting bracket that prevents the support shaft 60 from rotating. Because (a) the output shaft of the DC gear motor 55 is coupled to the support shaft 60 which is fixed to the mounting bracket, and (b) the DC gear motor 55 is mechanically-coupled to the shade tube, operation of the DC gear motor 55 causes the DC gear motor 55 to rotate about the fixed output shaft, which causes the shade tube 32 to rotate about the fixed output shaft as well.).
Regarding claim 3.
Mullet discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Mullet further discloses a rotation terminal (See recesses in 67, fig 7a) coaxially arranged and connected with the reel (See fig 5), the rotation shaft of the motor (51, fig 7a) and an input shaft of the core body (60, fig 7a) of the power storage mechanism are connected with each other by shaft transmission (at 53, fig 7a), an output shaft of the core body of the power storage mechanism and a shaft of the rotation terminal are connected with each other by shaft transmission (at 53, fig 7a).
Regarding claim 9.
Mullet discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Mullet further discloses an inner cylinder (Portion of 60 attaching to 53 in fig 7a) is provided in the reel (as in fig 4), and the motor is fixed on the inner cylinder (at 53 in fig 7a);
the inner cylinder is connected (via shaft of 60) with an external fixing unit (7, fig 3).
Regarding claim 10.
Mullet discloses all limitations of claim 2.
Mullet further discloses an inner cylinder (Portion of 60 attaching to 53 in fig 7a) is provided in the reel (as in fig 4), and the motor is fixed on the inner cylinder (at 53 in fig 7a);
the inner cylinder is connected (via shaft of 60) with an external fixing unit (7, fig 3).
Regarding claim 11.
Mullet discloses all limitations of claim 3.
Mullet further discloses an inner cylinder (Portion of 60 attaching to 53 in fig 7a) is provided in the reel (as in fig 4), and the motor is fixed on the inner cylinder (at 53 in fig 7a);
the inner cylinder is connected (via shaft of 60) with an external fixing unit (7, fig 3).
Regarding claim 15.
Mullet discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Mullet further discloses both ends of the reel (32, fig 4) are connected with an external fixing unit (5 and 7, fig 3) via a bearing (64, fig 7a and 90, fig 8a).
Regarding claim 16.
Mullet discloses all limitations of claim 2.
Mullet further discloses both ends of the reel (32, fig 4) are connected with an external fixing unit (5 and 7, fig 3) via a bearing (64, fig 7a and 90, fig 8a).
Regarding claim 17.
Mullet discloses all limitations of claim 3.
Mullet further discloses both ends of the reel (32, fig 4) are connected with an external fixing unit (5 and 7, fig 3) via a bearing (64, fig 7a and 90, fig 8a).
Regarding claim 20.
Mullet discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Mullet further discloses comprising a counterweight rod (28, fig 1a) connected with a free side of the curtain (See fig 1a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mullet in view of PG Pub. US 2021/0262286 A1 – Campagna et al., hereinafter Campagna.
Regarding claim 7.
Mullet discloses all limitations of claim 2.
Mullet further discloses an outer periphery of the rotation terminal is provided with a ridge member (at reference character 67 in fig 7a) that is connected with the reel in the transmission manner (Column 9, lines 27-38; The output shaft of the DC gear motor 55 is fixed to the support shaft 60, either directly (not shown for clarity) or through an intermediate shaft 62. When the motorized roller shade 20 is installed, support shaft 60 is attached to a mounting bracket that prevents the support shaft 60 from rotating. Because (a) the output shaft of the DC gear motor 55 is coupled to the support shaft 60 which is fixed to the mounting bracket, and (b) the DC gear motor 55 is mechanically-coupled to the shade tube, operation of the DC gear motor 55 causes the DC gear motor 55 to rotate about the fixed output shaft, which causes the shade tube 32 to rotate about the fixed output shaft as well.).
Mullet does not disclose a plurality of ridge members.
However, Campagna teaches a plurality of ridge members (at 422, fig 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the panel of Mullet with the plurality of ridge members of Campagna. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of improving the connection between the rotation terminal and the reel, while reducing the likelihood of binding.
Regarding claim 8.
Mullet discloses all limitations of claim 3.
Mullet further discloses an outer periphery of the rotation terminal is provided with a ridge member (at reference character 67 in fig 7a) that is connected with the reel in the transmission manner (Column 9, lines 27-38; The output shaft of the DC gear motor 55 is fixed to the support shaft 60, either directly (not shown for clarity) or through an intermediate shaft 62. When the motorized roller shade 20 is installed, support shaft 60 is attached to a mounting bracket that prevents the support shaft 60 from rotating. Because (a) the output shaft of the DC gear motor 55 is coupled to the support shaft 60 which is fixed to the mounting bracket, and (b) the DC gear motor 55 is mechanically-coupled to the shade tube, operation of the DC gear motor 55 causes the DC gear motor 55 to rotate about the fixed output shaft, which causes the shade tube 32 to rotate about the fixed output shaft as well.).
Mullet does not disclose a plurality of ridge members.
However, Campagna teaches a plurality of ridge members (at 422, fig 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the panel of Mullet with the plurality of ridge members of Campagna. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of improving the connection between the rotation terminal and the reel, while reducing the likelihood of binding.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Mullet fails to disclose wherein in a manual state, when the curtain is manually pulled, the power storage mechanism starts to store power, and the reel drives the rotation shaft of the motor to rotate, the sensor calculates the rotation stroke of the rotation shaft; in an automatic state, the motor calculates a number of turns or a rotation angle when the curtain reaches a fully rolling up or unrolling state based on the rotation stroke, and rotates based on the number of turns or the rotation angle. Applicant further argues that in Mullet, the encoder pulses serve only to detect a micro manual displacement for triggering a jump to a preset position. This is not persuasive, as Mullet discloses in Column 8, lines 29-41 “In various preferred embodiments discussed below, the position of the shade 22 is determined and controlled based on the number of pulses that have been detected from a known position of shade 22. While the open position is preferred, the closed position may also be used as the known position. In order to determine the full range of motion of shade 22, for example, the shade may be electrically moved to the open position, an accumulated pulse counter may be reset and the shade 22 may then be moved to the closed position, manually and/or electrically.
The total number of accumulated pulses represents the limit of travel for the shade, and any desirable intermediate positions may be calculated based on this number.”. of particular note are lines 37-38 of column 8, “the shade 22 may then be moved to the closed position, manually and/or electrically.” which discloses a full travel manual movement to the closed position, which is tracked by the encoder for tracking a position of the shade. Examiner further notes that the language of the claim fails to distinguish between the claimed “manual state” and the argued “micro manual displacement”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634