DETAILED ACTION
Claims StatusClaims 1, 2, 4-12, 16-17, 19 & 20 filed 03/04/2026 have been amended. Claims 1-21 were previously canceled. Claim 21 is a newly added claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s representative asserts that the prior art of Shrivastava does not disclose "a first timer configuration corresponding to a first priority level of the set of priority levels and a second timer configuration corresponding to a second priority level of the set of priority levels, and wherein the first priority level is higher than the second priority level, and wherein the first timer configuration indicates a first timer duration that is greater than a second timer duration associated with the second timer configuration”. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees as paragraphs 0092 and 0147-0149, discloses the packet discard handler starts the second discard timer, when the at least one PDCP SDU is a first PDCP SDU of the at least one PDU set is received, when the PDCP SDU is associated with a PSI of high importance, and/or when the PDU set discard is configured as TRUE. One or more values for the first discardTimer for low importance and/or the second discardTimer (high importance) are configured for different values of the PSI for the PDU sets. The receiving PDCP entity configures the UE non-access stratum (NAS) layer with a priority filter which is used to perform tagging of PDUs belonging to different PDU sets from different QoS flows with a priority level.
As it is Applicant's right to claim as broadly as possible their invention, it is also the Examiner's right to interpret the claim language as broadly as possible. It is the Examiner's position that the detailed functionality that allows for Applicant's invention to overcome the prior art used in the rejection, fails to differentiate in detail how these features are unique. It is clear that Applicant must be able to submit claim language to distinguish over the prior arts used in the above rejection sections that discloses distinctive features of Applicant's claimed invention. It is suggested that Applicant compare the original specification and claim language with the cited prior art used in the rejection section above or the remark section below to draw an amended claim set to further the prosecution.
Failure for Applicant to narrow the definition/scope of the claims and supply arguments commensurate in scope with the claims implies the Applicant's intent to broaden claimed invention.
Based on the rationale explained above, the Examiner disagrees with the prior arts being silent to the claimed embodiment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Shrivastava et al. (U.S. Publication 2024/0334237), hereinafter “Shrivastava”.
As to claim 1, Shrivastava discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory (Shrivastava, see fig. 2A and 2B, memory); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Shrivastava, see fig. 2A and 2B, processor coupled to memory) and operable to cause the UE to: receive, from a radio access network, a configuration message for a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity of the UE, the configuration message indicating a set of timer configurations corresponding to a set of priority levels (Shrivastava, see [0069], PCDP entity sends configuration message including information of a first discard timer for low importance based on received XR radio bearer configuration message. See [0081], the UE comprises a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity); receive, at the PDCP entity, at least one service data unit (SDU) for transmission, the SDU associated with a radio bearer and a priority level of the set of priority levels (Shrivastava, see [0090], the XR radio bearer configuration message can be received at the transmitting PDCP entity from upper layers. See [0148], the receiving PDCP entity configures the XR radio bearer with the first discardTimer for low importance through RRC signaling (e.g., RRC reconfiguration carries the RadioBearerConfig consisting of first discard Timer for a XR RB)), wherein the set of timer configurations includes at least a first timer configuration corresponding to a first priority level of the set of priority levels and a second timer configuration corresponding to a second priority level of the set of priority levels, and wherein the first priority level is higher than the second priority level, and wherein the first timer configuration indicates a first timer duration that is greater than a second timer duration associated with the second timer configuration (Shrivastava, see [0098] & [0147-0149], one or more values for the first discardTimer for low importance and/or the second discardTimer (high importance) are configured for different values of the PSI for the PDU sets. The receiving PDCP entity configures the UE non-access stratum (NAS) layer with a priority filter which is used to perform tagging of PDUs belonging to different PDU sets from different QoS flows with a priority level); and select a timer configuration from the set of timer configurations based at least in part on the priority level associated with the SDU (Shrivastava, see [0147-0149], the packet discard handler starts the PDU set level re-ordering timer when the first SDU of the at least one PDU set is received from the transmitting PDCP entity. One or more values for the first discardTimer for low importance and/or the second discardTimer are configured for different values of the PSI for the PDU sets. The receiving PDCP entity configures the UE non-access stratum (NAS) layer with a priority filter which is used to perform tagging of PDUs belonging to different PDU sets from different QoS flows with a priority level).
As to claim 2, Shrivastava discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is operable to cause the UE to initiate a timer based at least in part on reception of the SDU associated with the radio bearer, and wherein the timer configuration indicates a timer duration for the timer (Shrivastava, see [0069-0070], configuring, by a transmitting PDCP entity, a first discard timer for low importance, a second discard timer, and a PDU set integrated handling indication (PSIHI) represented by PDU set discard parameter configuration based on received XR radio bearer configuration message. Starting the first discard timer for low importance, when the at least one PDCP SDU is a first PDCP SDU of the at least one PDU set is received).
As to claim 3, Shrivastava discloses everything disclosed in claim 2, wherein the timer is a PDCP discard timer (Shrivastava, see [0069-0070], the first discard timer for low importance of the at least one PDCP SDU).
As to claim 4, Shrivastava discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the set of timer configurations further includes a third timer configuration corresponding to a legacy timer configuration (Shrivastava, see [0097-0098], the transmitting PDCP entity is configured with multiple discard timer values for different PSI values (more importance or low importance) for the PDU sets. See [0101], the transmitting PDCP entity is configured with and/or utilizes a legacy timer (e.g., the second discardTimer) for each SDU of the PDU set).
As to claim 5, Shrivastava discloses everything disclosed in claim 4, wherein the a first timer duration is greater than a third timer duration associated with the third timer configuration (Shrivastava, see [0097], multiple different timers values are configures for different PSI values for the PDU sets and starts the respective timer with the appropriate discard timer value based on the PSI of the PDU set).
As to claim 6, Shrivastava discloses everything disclosed in claim 4, wherein, to select the timer configuration, the at least one processor is operable to cause the UE to select the first timer configuration based at least in part on the SDU being associated with the first priority level (Shrivastava, [0098], the SDUs of the PDU set(s) (with higher PSI value(s)) are not discarded if the respective first discard timer(s) for low importance is/are still running. See [0124], PDCP duplication is configured and/or utilized selectively for the one or more PDU sets with different PSI values pertaining to the same XR service).
As to claim 7, Shrivastava discloses everything disclosed in claim 6, wherein the at least one processor is operable to cause the UE to initiate a first timer associated with the first timer configuration after expiry of a second timer associated with the legacy timer configuration (Shrivastava, see [0166], the UE is configured with and/or utilizes a legacy timer (e.g., discardTimer) for each SDU of the PDU set for the relevant QoS flow).
As to claim 8, Shrivastava discloses everything disclosed in claim 7, wherein the at least one processor is operable to cause the UE to initiate the first timer prior to delivery of the SDU to a lower layer for the transmission (Shrivastava, see [0053], the packet discard handler discards the received PDCP PDUs of the at least one PDU set of lower importance).
As to claim 9, Shrivastava discloses everything disclosed in claim 7, wherein the at least one processor is operable to cause the UE to transmit the SDU prior to expiry of the first timer (Shrivastava, see [0071], discarding the at least one PDCP SDU when the first discard timer for low importance expires).
As to claim 10, Shrivastava discloses everything disclosed in claim 7, wherein the at least one processor is operable to cause the UE to discard the SDU after expiry of the first timer (Shrivastava, see [0165], the transmitting PDCP entity can discard the at least one PDU SDU, when the second discard timer of the at least one PDCP SDU expires or when a PDCP status report is received from the receiving PDCP entity).
As to claim 11, Shrivastava discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is operable to cause the UE to determine the priority level associated with the SDU based at least in part on the SDU being a reference for decoding one or more other SDUs (Shrivastava, see [0108-0109], the DRB is configured with a PSI to common priority level mapping rule which is used to convert the PSI values of PDU sets belonging to different QoS flows mapped to that DRB to a common priority level. The priority mapping of PDU sets is done based on UE implementation and does not require configuration from the network. This can be done based on the inputs from the application layer such as the meta information tagged with the packet from the encoder etc.).
As to claim 12, Shrivastava discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is operable to cause the UE to select the timer configuration based at least in part on protocol data unit (PDU) set importance (PSI)-based discard being enabled or disabled (Shrivastava , see [0082], the UE sends a UE capability message to the network apparatus for indicating the capability to support the PSI based discard, wherein this enables the network apparatus to configure the UE for the PSI based discard).
As to claim 13, Shrivastava discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the configuration message indicates a mapping between the set of timer configurations and the set of priority levels (Shrivastava, see [0097], the transmitting PDCP entity is configured with multiple discard timer values for different PSI values for the PDU sets).
As to claim 14, Shrivastava discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein each priority level of the set of priority levels corresponds to a respective protocol data unit (PDU) set importance (PSI) level (Shrivastava, see [0108], the DRB is configured with a PSI to common priority level mapping rule which is used to convert the PSI values of PDU sets).
As to claim 15, Shrivastava discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the configuration message indicates a respective delay status report threshold associated with each timer configuration of the set of timer configurations (Shrivastava, see [0097], multiple different timer values are configures for different PSI values for the PDU sets and starts the respective timer with the appropriate discard timer value based on the PSI of the PDU set. See [0146], the packet discard handler configures first discard timer for low importance, a second discard timer, and a PDU set integrated handling indication (PSIHI) represented by PDU set discard parameter configuration based on received XR radio bearer configuration message).
As to claim 16, Shrivastava discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is operable to cause the UE to receive protocol data unit (PDU) set information indicating at least one priority level of the set of priority levels, a PDU importance (PSI) level associated with the SDU, or whether the SDU is a reference for decoding one or more other SDUs (Shrivastava, see [0041], the transmitting PDCP entity is at least one of the UE. See [0052], the PDU set level re-ordering timer when the at least one SDU of the at least one PDU set is received from the transmitting PDCP entity).
As to claim 17, Shrivastava discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is operable to cause the UE to indicate, within a PDCP header of the SDU, whether the SDU is to be delivered to an upper layer after expiry of a protocol data unit (PDU) set delay budget (Shrivastava, see [0150-0151], on the expiry of PDU set level reordering timer for a sequence delivery, all the SDUs belonging to the incompletely received PDU set are discarded or delivered to the upper layer).
As to claim 19, Shrivastava discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving, from a radio access network, a configuration message for a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity of the UE, the configuration message indicating a set of timer configurations corresponding to a set of priority levels (Shrivastava, see [0069], PCDP entity sends configuration message including information of a first discard timer for low importance based on received XR radio bearer configuration message. See [0081], the UE comprises a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity); receiving, at the PDCP entity, at least one service data unit (SDU) for transmission, the SDU associated with a radio bearer and a priority level of the set of priority levels (Shrivastava, see [0090], the XR radio bearer configuration message can be received at the transmitting PDCP entity from upper layers. See [0148], the receiving PDCP entity configures the XR radio bearer with the first discardTimer for low importance through RRC signaling (e.g., RRC reconfiguration carries the RadioBearerConfig consisting of first discard Timer for a XR RB)), wherein the set of timer configurations includes at least a first timer configuration corresponding to a first priority level of the set of priority levels and a second timer configuration corresponding to a second priority level of the set of priority levels, and wherein the first priority level is higher than the second priority level, and wherein the first timer configuration indicates a first timer duration that is greater than a second timer duration associated with the second timer configuration (Shrivastava, see [0098] & [0147-0149], one or more values for the first discardTimer for low importance and/or the second discardTimer (high importance) are configured for different values of the PSI for the PDU sets. The receiving PDCP entity configures the UE non-access stratum (NAS) layer with a priority filter which is used to perform tagging of PDUs belonging to different PDU sets from different QoS flows with a priority level); and selecting a timer configuration from the set of timer configurations based at least in part on the priority level associated with the SDU (Shrivastava, see [0147-0149], the packet discard handler starts the PDU set level re-ordering timer when the first SDU of the at least one PDU set is received from the transmitting PDCP entity. One or more values for the first discardTimer for low importance and/or the second discardTimer are configured for different values of the PSI for the PDU sets. The receiving PDCP entity configures the UE non-access stratum (NAS) layer with a priority filter which is used to perform tagging of PDUs belonging to different PDU sets from different QoS flows with a priority level).
As to claim 20, Shrivastava discloses a network equipment for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory (Shrivastava, see fig. 2A and 2B, memory); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the network equipment to (Shrivastava, see fig. 2A and 2B, processor coupled to memory): configure, for a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity of a user equipment (UE), a mapping between a set of timer configurations and a set of priority levels (Shrivastava, see [0069], PCDP entity sends configuration message including information of a first discard timer for low importance based on received XR radio bearer configuration message. See [0081], the UE comprises a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity), wherein the set of timer configurations includes at least a first timer configuration corresponding to a first priority level of the set of priority levels and a second timer configuration corresponding to a second priority level of the set of priority levels, and wherein the first priority level is higher than the second priority level, and wherein the first timer configuration indicates a first timer duration that is greater than a second timer duration associated with the second timer configuration (Shrivastava, see [0098] & [0147-0149], one or more values for the first discardTimer for low importance and/or the second discardTimer (high importance) are configured for different values of the PSI for the PDU sets. The receiving PDCP entity configures the UE non-access stratum (NAS) layer with a priority filter which is used to perform tagging of PDUs belonging to different PDU sets from different QoS flows with a priority level); and transmit, to the UE, a configuration message indicating the set of timer configurations corresponding to the set of priority levels (Shrivastava, see [0147-0149], the packet discard handler starts the PDU set level re-ordering timer when the first SDU of the at least one PDU set is received from the transmitting PDCP entity. One or more values for the first discardTimer for low importance and/or the second discardTimer are configured for different values of the PSI for the PDU sets. The receiving PDCP entity configures the UE non-access stratum (NAS) layer with a priority filter which is used to perform tagging of PDUs belonging to different PDU sets from different QoS flows with a priority level). As to claim 21, Shrivastava discloses a method performed by a network equipment, the method comprising: configuring, for a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity of a user equipment (UE), a mapping between a set of timer configurations and a set of priority levels, wherein the set of timer configurations includes at least a first timer configuration corresponding to a first priority level of the set of priority levels and a second timer configuration corresponding to a second priority level of the set of priority levels, and wherein the first priority level is higher than the second priority level, and wherein the first timer configuration indicates a first timer duration that is greater than a second timer duration associated with the second timer configuration (Shrivastava, see [0098] & [0147-0149], one or more values for the first discardTimer for low importance and/or the second discardTimer (high importance) are configured for different values of the PSI for the PDU sets. The receiving PDCP entity configures the UE non-access stratum (NAS) layer with a priority filter which is used to perform tagging of PDUs belonging to different PDU sets from different QoS flows with a priority level); and transmitting, to the UE, a configuration message indicating the set of timer configurations corresponding to the set of priority levels (Shrivastava, see [0147-0149], the packet discard handler starts the PDU set level re-ordering timer when the first SDU of the at least one PDU set is received from the transmitting PDCP entity. One or more values for the first discardTimer for low importance and/or the second discardTimer are configured for different values of the PSI for the PDU sets. The receiving PDCP entity configures the UE non-access stratum (NAS) layer with a priority filter which is used to perform tagging of PDUs belonging to different PDU sets from different QoS flows with a priority level).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not listed upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. This includes:
U.S. Publication 2024/0089795, which describes data unit processing.
U.S. Publication 2025/0358677, which describes enhanced packet discarding in wireless communication system.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TANIA M PENA-SANTANA whose telephone number is (571)270-0627. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8am to 4pm EST.
/TANIA M PENA-SANTANA/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
/NICHOLAS R TAYLOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2443