DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status: Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “at least one detection section for detecting signals from the brain region” in claim 1.
Based on the review of instant specification, the corresponding structure is an electrical circuit that receives electrical signals from electrode section (para. [0033], fig. 1)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “at least one digitization section for generating at least one digital data stream from the signals detected by the at least one detection section” in claim 1.
Based on the review of instant specification, the corresponding structure is an analog-to-digital converter (para. [0045]).
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a data reduction section designed to discard data points in the sequence of data points from the at least one data stream according to a predetermined scheme” in claim 1.
Based on the review of instant specification, the corresponding structure is an algorithm on a chip that discards data points (para. [0047], [0052], [0053], fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Howard (US 2022/0111212).
Re Claim 1, Howard discloses a neuroimplant for the brain region, comprising:
at least one detection section for detecting signals from the brain region (para. [0182]-[0186], neural sensing, Electrodes can perform electrical recording and stimulation),
an electrode section having at least one electrode which can be coupled to the detection section and can be arranged in the brain region and is designed for electrically contacting the brain region (para. [0182]-[0186], neural sensing, Electrodes can perform electrical recording and stimulation. CNTs can be used for deep brain recordings of voltages from neural tissues in their vicinity. CNT based electrode arrays enable high-density neural connections in a manner that is non-destructive to the neuronal tissue),
at least one digitization section for generating at least one digital data stream from the signals detected by the at least one detection section (para. [0261], analog-to-digital converter circuitry (ADC)),
wherein the at least one data stream in each case comprises a sequence of data points (para. [0186], [0199], [0201], CNTs can be used for deep brain recordings of voltages from neural tissues in their vicinity; para. [0537], data recorded over a large interval of time), and
a data reduction section designed to discard data points in the sequence of data points from the at least one data stream according to a predetermined scheme (para. [0440], the first step in processing the data may be to apply a filter in order to remove noise. A band pass filter between 300 and 3000 Hz may be employed for electrical signals recorded from neurons).
Re Claim 2, Howard discloses that the scheme comprises discarding all data points of a data stream (para. [0515], the older entries may be deleted in order to make room for new incoming data).
Re Claim 3, Howard discloses that the scheme comprises regularly discarding a predetermined number of data points from the at least one data stream (para. [0515], the persistence buffer may have a pre-configured size. In embodiments, once this size is exceeded, the Gateway may apply a first-in-first-out (FIFO) eviction policy. Thus, the older entries may be deleted in order to make room for new incoming data.).
Re Claim 4, Howard discloses that the scheme comprises discarding n data points from each sequence of m data points of a data stream, where m and n are natural numbers (para. [0515], the persistence buffer may have a pre-configured size. In embodiments, once this size is exceeded, the Gateway may apply a first-in-first-out (FIFO) eviction policy. Thus, the older entries may be deleted in order to make room for new incoming data.).
Re Claim 5, Howard discloses that a first register is provided which contains, for each of the at least one data stream, a value representative of whether or not all data points of the respective data stream are discarded (para. [0515], the persistence buffer may have a pre-configured size. In embodiments, once this size is exceeded, the Gateway may apply a first-in-first-out (FIFO) eviction policy. Thus, the older entries may be deleted in order to make room for new incoming data.).
Re Claim 6, Howard discloses that a second register is provided which contains a value representative of discarding n data points from each sequence of m data points of at least one data stream (para. [0515], the persistence buffer may have a pre-configured size. In embodiments, once this size is exceeded, the Gateway may apply a first-in-first-out (FIFO) eviction policy. Thus, the older entries may be deleted in order to make room for new incoming data.).
Re Claim 7, Howard discloses that at least one of the first and second registers is programmable (para. [0515] describes programmed buffer size and FIFO eviction policy).
Re Claim 8, Howard discloses that the at least one detection section, the at least one digitization section and the data reduction section are arranged on a common semiconductor substrate (para. [0242], processor and associated circuitry such as system on a chip provided by on semiconductor, fig. 129).
Re Claim 9, Howard discloses that the at least one detection section, the at least one digitization section and the data reduction section are implemented as an ASIC chip (para. [0354], [0360], processing circuitry may include ASICs; para. [0611], ADC, channels, hardware processing such as multiplication to increase SNR, are implemented in ASIC).
Re Claim 10, Howard discloses at least one stimulation section for generating stimulation signals for the brain region (para. [0185], ELECTRODES—The configuration and implant position of the KIWI system 12000 offers superior conditions for multi-point electric stimulation. For example, KIWI system 12000 may be able to connect to layers I to VI due to the length and geometrical configuration of the CNTs.).
Re Claim 11, Howard discloses that the neuroimplant is divided into a number of channels (para. [0185], 2000+ CNT fibers), each channel comprising a stimulation section, a detection section and an electrode of the electrode section (para. [0184]-[0186], Electrodes can perform electrical recording and stimulation. The configuration and implant position of the KIWI system 12000 offers superior conditions for multi-point electric stimulation. CNTs can be used for deep brain recordings of voltages from neural tissues in their vicinity).
Re Claim 12, Howard discloses that the detection section is designed to perform signal high-pass filtering, which is adjustable according to the predetermined scheme (para. [0440], the first step in processing the data may be to apply a filter in order to remove noise. A band pass filter between 300 and 3000 Hz may be employed for electrical signals recorded from neurons; para. [0585], Filtering (ex. High/Low Pass)).
Re Claim 13, Howard discloses that a switch matrix section arranged between the electrode section and the at least one detection section, wherein the switch matrix section comprises switching devices for coupling the electrode of each channel to the detection section of the channel or for decoupling it therefrom (para. [0526], Command Executor may apply the required activation/inactivation on the specified channels; para. [0397], [0460]-[0462], selection of channels, para. [0406], Gateway communication module 3312 may modify the list of active channels for recording in order to read a different set of channels than the ones that are in use by closed loop control module 3310).
Re Claim 14, Howard discloses that the switch matrix section comprises switching devices by means of which an electrode can be respectively connected to an earth point (para. [0180], 1 ground/reference channel; para. [0309], Each tile may include, for example, one Reference Pin 1002, five Ground Pins 1004, six Recording Pins 1006).
Re Claim 15, Howard discloses that the switch matrix section comprises switching devices by means of which a predetermined electrode can be connected as a reference electrode for the at least one detection section (para. [0180], 1 ground/reference channel; para. [0309], Each tile may include, for example, one Reference Pin 1002, five Ground Pins 1004, six Recording Pins 1006).
Conclusion
/Benjamin J Klein/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/V.V.H./
Vynn Huh, February 21, 2026Examiner, Art Unit 3792