DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/09/2026 and 09/07/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants’ Argument A:
“Frederiksen lacks any teaching of starting a timer set to a received valid duration and utilizing the expiration of that timer as the direct, active trigger to fetch non-terrestrial network specific system information. In the scheme of Frederiksen, timer expiration is treated as a passive failure state rather than an active command to retrieve specific system information blocks, meaning that Frederiksen does not disclose all the limitations of independent Claim 1” [Reply; page 10].
In response to applicants’ argument:
The newly amended independent claims added “acquiring non-terrestrial network specific system information when the timer expires”. The claim language does not specifically disclose when the acquiring step is begun, except sometime after a timer expires. The Frederiksen reference teaches starting a timer for a valid duration and then the timer expires (“when the timer expires”). The Frederiksen reference, also, teaches another timer is started and the UE (“terminal”) acquires non-terrestrial network information; Frederiksen; fig 4; para 0077, 0088-0090, and 0097-0098]. The argument by the applications state the expiration of a timer as a “direct, active trigger to fetch” the data. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e. “active command to retrieve”), are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, based on the new amendments to the independent claims, there is a new 102 rejection of independent claims with the Frederiksen reference.
Applicants’ Argument B:
“Medeiros does disclose a terminal device that actively acquires system information upon the expiration of a validity timer” [Reply; page 10].
In response to applicants’ argument:
The Medeiros reference was not shown to teach a timer. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In any case, the new 102 rejection of claim 1 does not cite the Medeiros reference.
Applicants’ Argument C:
“Frederiksen and Medeiros treat timer expiration as a negative failure state requiring re-synchronization from scratch, rather than a positive operational command to retrieve system information” [Reply; page 10].
In response to applicants’ argument:
The new 102 rejection, based on amendments, of claim 1 does not cite the Medeiros reference. The claim language does not specifically disclose “a positive operational command to retrieve system information”, as shown in the arguments by the applicants. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “a positive operational command”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, based on the new amendments to the independent claims, there is a new 102 rejection of independent claims with the Frederiksen reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, 7, 8, 11, 12, and 15 recites the limitation "the update indication". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Frederiksen et al. ("Frederiksen") [PGPUB 2024/0292351].
Regarding claim 1, the Frederiksen discloses a wireless communication method for use in a wireless terminal, the method comprising: receiving, from a wireless network node, a valid duration for uplink synchronization assistance information starting a timer with the value set to the valid duration [indication of timing advance ("update") from a network node; Frederiksen; figures 1 and 4; paragraphs 0077, 0088-0089, 0091, 0099, and 0106], and
acquiring non-terrestrial network specific system information when the timer expires [The claim language does not specifically show a timeline of when the information is acquired but only after a timer is expired. The Frederiksen reference teaches starting a timer for a valid duration and then the timer expires (“when the timer expires”). The Frederiksen reference, also, teaches another timer is started and the UE (“terminal”) acquires non-terrestrial network information; Frederiksen; fig 4; para 0077, 0088-0090, and 0097-0098].
Regarding claim 2, the Frederiksen reference further discloses the system information comprises at least one of: a common timing advance (TA), a drift rate of the common TA, a variation of the drift rate of the common TA, ax-coordinate of a serving node position state vector in an Earth-centered Earth-fixed(ECEF), coordinate system, a y-coordinate of the serving node position state vector in the ECEF coordinate system, a z-coordinate of serving node position state vector in the ECEF coordinate system, ax-coordinate of serving node velocity state vector in the ECEF coordinate system, a y-coordinate of serving node velocity state vector in the ECEF coordinate system, a z-coordinate of serving node velocity state vector in the ECEF coordinate system, a semi-major axis of a serving node, an eccentricity of the serving node, an argument of periapsis of the serving node, a longitude of ascending node of the serving node, an inclination of the serving node, a mean anomaly at an epoch time of the serving node, a validity duration of the system information, an epoch time of the system information, polarization information for downlink transmissions on a service link, polarization information for an uplink service link, a reference location of a serving cell, time information indicating when a cell is going to stop serving the area covered by the cell, or an indication of terminal specific TA reporting [ie. common TA, drift rate, state vector; Frederiksen; para 0077, 0088-0089, and 0098].
Regarding claim 3, the Frederiksen reference further discloses acquiring the system information based on the update indication comprises: acquiring the system information when a valid duration indicated by the update indication passes; or the system information is transmitted via a broadcast channel or a radio resource control message; or the system information comprises at least one of uplink synchronization assistance information or system information dedicated for the non-terrestrial network [Frederiksen; para0073 and 0089 ("validity period"), 0074 ("uplinksynchronization assistance"), and 0077 ("broadcast channel")].
Regarding claim 4, the Frederiksen reference further discloses receiving, from the wireless network node, an indication bit set to indicate a modification of a broadcast channel, wherein acquiring the system information based on the update indication comprises: acquiring the system information when a value tag comprised in the update indication is updated [Frederiksen; para 0081, 0087-0089, 0099, and 0117].
Regarding claim 6, the Frederiksen reference further discloses the value tag is configured for a system information block comprising the system information [ie. SIB; Frederiksen; para 0077 and 0089].
Regarding claim 7, the Frederiksen reference further discloses acquiring the system information based on the update indication comprises: acquiring the system information when an indication bit comprised in the update indication indicates that the system information is updated [Frederiksen; para 0081, 0087-0089, 0099, and 0117].
Regarding claim 8, the Frederiksen reference further discloses the indication bit is in a short message or paging downlink control information [Frederiksen; para 0081, 0087-0089, 0099, and 0117-0118].
Regarding claim 9, the Frederiksen reference discloses a wireless communication method for use in a wireless network node, the method comprising: transmitting, to a wireless terminal, a valid duration for uplink synchronization assistance information [Frederiksen; figures 1 and 4; paragraphs 0077, 0088-0089, 0091, 0099, and 0107-0109], and
transmitting, in response to the wireless terminal acquiring non-terrestrial network specific system information when the timer expires, non-terrestrial network specific system information [The claim language does not specifically show a timeline of when the information is transmitted but only after a timer is expired. The Frederiksen reference teaches starting a timer for a valid duration and then the timer expires (“when the timer expires”). The Frederiksen reference, also, teaches another timer is started and the node transmits the non-terrestrial network information; Frederiksen; fig 4; para 0077, 0088-0090, and 0097-0098].
Regarding claim 10, the Frederiksen reference further discloses the system information comprises at least one of: a common timing advance (TA), a drift rate of the common TA, a variation of the drift rate of the common TA, ax-coordinate of a serving node position state vector in an Earth-centered Earth-fixed (ECEF), coordinate system, a y-coordinate of the serving node position state vector in the ECEF coordinate system, a z-coordinate of serving node position state vector in the ECEF coordinate system, ax-coordinate of serving node velocity state vector in the ECEF coordinate system, a y-coordinate of serving node velocity state vector in the ECEF coordinate system, a z-coordinate of serving node velocity state vector in the ECEF coordinate system, a semi-major axis of a serving node, an eccentricity of the serving node, an argument of periapsis of the serving node, a longitude of ascending node of the serving node, an inclination of the serving node, a mean anomaly at an epoch time of the serving node, a validity duration of the system information, an epoch time of the system information, polarization information for downlink transmissions on a service link, or polarization information for an uplink service link, a reference location of a serving cell, time information indicating when a cell is going to stop serving the area covered by the cell, or an indication of terminal specific TA reporting [ie. common TA, drift rate, state vector; Frederiksen; para 0077, 0088-0089, and 0098].
Regarding claim 11, the Frederiksen reference further discloses the update indication comprises a valid duration of the system information; or the system information is transmitted via a broadcast channel or a radio resource control message; or the system information comprises at least one of uplink synchronization assistance information or system information dedicated for the non-terrestrial network; or the update indication comprises an indication bit set to indicate that the system information is updated [Frederiksen; para0073 and 0089 ("validity period"), 0074 ("uplink synchronization assistance"), and 0077 ("broadcast channel")].
Regarding claim 12, the Frederiksen reference further discloses the update indication comprises a value tag which is updated; and wherein the method further comprises: transmitting, to the wireless terminal, an indication bit set to indicate a modification of a broadcast channel [ie. timing advanced command (TAC) field; Frederiksen; para 0081 and 0087-0089].
Regarding claim 14, the Frederiksen reference further discloses the value tag is configured for a system information block comprising the system information [ie. SIB; Frederiksen; para 0077 and 0089].
Regarding claim 15, the Frederiksen reference further discloses the update indication comprises an indication bit set to indicate that the system information is updated, and the indication bit is in a short message or paging downlink control information [Frederiksen; para 0081, 0087-0089, 0099, and 0117].
Regarding claim 16, the apparatus of claim 16 performs the similar steps as the method of claim 1. The Frederiksen reference teaches the method of claim 1, as referenced above. The additional limitations of a "memory" and "processor" are rejected with the citation of paragraphs 0124-0125 of Frederiksen. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above in the rejection of claim 1, by the teachings of Frederiksen.
Regarding claim 17, the apparatus of claim 17 performs the similar steps as the method of claim 9. The Frederiksen reference teaches the method of claim 9, as referenced above. The additional limitations of a "memory" and "processor" are rejected with the citation of figure 6 and paragraphs 0124-0125 of Frederiksen. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above in the rejection of claim 9, by the teachings of Frederiksen.
Regarding claim 18, the article of manufacture of claim 18 performs the similar steps as the method of claim 1. The Frederiksen reference further teaches the method of claim 1, as referenced above. The additional limitations of a "non-transitory computer-readable storage medium" and "processor" are rejected with the citation of figure 6 and paragraphs 0124-0125 of Frederiksen. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above in the rejection of claim 1, by the teachings of Frederiksen.
Regarding claim 19, the article of manufacture of claim 19 performs the similar steps as the method of claim 9. The Frederiksen reference teaches the method of claim 9, as referenced above. The additional limitations of a "non-transitory computer-readable storage medium" and "processor" are rejected with the citation of figure 6 and paragraphs 0124-0125 of Frederiksen. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above in the rejection of claim 9, by the teachings of Frederiksen.
Regarding claim 20, the Frederiksen reference discloses a wireless communication system, comprising: a wireless terminal configured to: receive, from a wireless network node, a valid duration for uplink synchronization assistance information, start a timer with the value set to the valid duration [indication of timing advance ("update") from a network node; Frederiksen; figures 1 and 4; paragraphs 0077, 0088-0089, 0091, 0099, and 0106], and acquire non-terrestrial network specific system information when the timer expires [The claim language does not specifically show a timeline of when the information is acquired but only after a timer is expired. The Frederiksen reference teaches starting a timer for a valid duration and then the timer expires (“when the timer expires”). The Frederiksen reference, also, teaches another timer is started and the UE (“terminal”) acquires non-terrestrial network information; Frederiksen; fig 4; para 0077, 0088-0090, and 0097-0098]
a wireless network node configured to: transmit, in response to the wireless terminal acquiring non-terrestrial network specific system information when the timer expires, the non-terrestrial network specific system information [The claim language does not specifically show a timeline of when the information is transmitted but only after a timer is expired. The Frederiksen reference teaches starting a timer for a valid duration and then the timer expires (“when the timer expires”). The Frederiksen reference, also, teaches another timer is started and the node transmits the non-terrestrial network information; Frederiksen; fig 4; para 0077, 0088-0090, and 0097-0098].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frederiksen in view of MEDEIROS DE AMORIM et al. ("Medeiros") [PGPUB 2024/0364416] (support shown in related provisional application 63/276,332, filed 11/05/2021).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, the claim terminology of “31” does not have a unit of measurement or designation assigned to it but Frederiksen reference does not specifically disclose a maximum value of the value tag is greater than 31.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Medeiros reference discloses a maximum value of the value tag is greater than 31 [ie. value tag is the first bit in an 8 bit short message, which has a max binary value over 31; Medeiros; fig 3; para 0004, 0056-0057, 0061, and 0067]. The Frederiksen and Medeiros references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to have nodes provide radio access functionality to user equipment. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of a value, taught by Medeiros, into the system, taught by Frederiksen. The motivation for doing so would have been for "management of updates in scheduling offset via system information and soft indication of system information modification" [Medeiros; para 0001].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rugeland et al. [PGPUB 2022/0394806] discloses resuming an RRC connection.
Rajendran et al. [PGPUB 2024/0187981] discloses an expiring timer for removing SNPN entries.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON D CARDONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458