Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-18 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kidd et al (US PGPub No. 2010/0310382) in view of Zhou et al (US PGPub No. 2014/0303805) in view of Aikman et al (US PGPub No. 2021/0396234.
Kidd teaches:
limitations from claim 11, a system (FIG. 6) for controlling an actual pressure of liquid in a liquid system (paragraph 72), comprising: a motor drive (10) including a controller (75); a motor (11); a pump (12) connected to the motor, the pump being configured to deliver liquid to at least one conduit (to water tank 17 for example; paragraph 84; FIG. 5-6) of the liquid system; and a pressure sensor (15) configured to provide the controller measurements of an actual pressure of liquid in the at least one conduit (paragraph 84); wherein the controller controls an operating frequency of the motor in response to the actual pressure from the pressure sensor to cause the pump to maintain the actual pressure at or near a first pressure (paragraphs 72, 87, and 93 for example); and wherein the controller responds to a first timer elapsing by initiating a sleep mode determination (paragraph 96; FIG. 12; 126, 128, 130, 132, 134), wherein: the controller ramps the operating frequency to a low frequency (142); the controller determines whether the actual pressure remains above a second pressure (146, 148) for a duration of a second timer (144); and the controller responds to the actual pressure remaining above the second pressure for the duration of the second timer by causing the motor to enter a sleep mode (150; paragraph 94-95);
Kidd teaches ramping the operating frequency and monitoring a pressure decrease over time, and that sleep mode determination settings are variable and user-set, but teaches that the second pressure is the same as the first pressure (maintained pressure) rather than below the first pressure;
However, Zhou teaches a compressor control (~200), and that deadbands of sensed parameters be selected at an appropriate width to reduce cycling;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of pumps at the time the invention was filed to select a lower threshold for the pump control of Kidd at various levels, including below the first maintained pressure level, as a matter of design choice in order to control the on/off of the pump and the initiation of sleep mode with reduced cycling foe example. The examiner notes that the applicant’s disclosure does not provide a particular criticality for the second pressure level value.
Kidd does not expressly teach an inverter as part of the pump motor drive;
However, Aikman teaches a pump system (10) including a pump (30, 36) driven by a motor (32) that is controlled by a VFD (100) with a controller (102) and an inverter (130; paragraph 37, 40);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill int eh art of pumps at the time the invention was filed to include an inverter with the VFD of Kidd, as is commonly known and taught by Aikman, in order to allow for the conditioning and control of various input power;
Kidd further teaches:
limitations from claim 12, wherein the low frequency is a PID Lo Limit (see STEP 142 and paragraph 95 in which the frequency is lowered until pressure is maintained at a lowest pressure point 148);
limitations from claim 13, wherein the controller is configured to: determine whether the actual pressure drops below a third pressure (see STEP 154, “wake up differential pressure”) which is less than the second pressure while the motor is in the sleep mode (paragraph 95); and respond to the actual pressure dropping below the third pressure by causing the motor to exit the sleep mode (paragraph 95 in which the process returns to STEP 123 and PID control);
limitations from claim 16, wherein the sleep mode determination further comprises the controller responding to the actual pressure dropping below the second pressure during the second timer by exiting the sleep mode determination (see STEP 146 leading to PID Mode 126);
limitations from claim 17, wherein the controller is configured to control the operating frequency of the motor by controlling the inverter to vary power provided to the motor (Kidd teaches varying the operating frequency of the motor, paragraph 72 and 93, and Aikman teaches the use of an inverter in motor frequency control, paragraph 37 and 40 of Aikman);
limitations from claim 18, wherein the duration of the second timer is based upon the operating frequency of the motor when the first timer has elapsed (see STEP 128 in which the frequency must be stable for the timing and monitoring process to occur);
Regarding claims 14-15:
Kidd teaches comparing an actual pressure tom the second threshold (STEP 148 for example; see paragraph 95 “differential pressure”; the process sets a pressure about 5 PSI below the lower limit and necessarily performs a comparison to that pressure), but does not explicitly teach computing a pressure error;
However, Aikman teaches the use of an error value between a desired and an actual parameter value as a known computing and control process in pumps (see paragraph 8-10);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of pumps at the time the invention was filed to substitute one known threshold comparison method for another, such as the error-based process of Aikman for the apparent direct comparison of Kidd, as a matter of design choice in order to reach an expected result; in this case the comparison of an actual value to a desired value, and the subsequent pump-based control).
Claims 14, wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the actual pressure drops below the third pressure by computing a pressure error between the actual pressure and the third pressure and determining whether the pressure error is greater than zero;
Claims 15, wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the actual pressure remains above the second pressure by computing a pressure error between the actual pressure and the second pressure and determining whether the pressure error is greater than zero.
Claim(s) 20-22 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kidd et al (US PGPub No. 2010/0310382) in view of Zhou et al (US PGPub No. 2014/0303805).
Kidd teaches:
limitations from claim 20, a non-transitory computer-readable medium with an executable program stored thereon for controlling a motor in a liquid system (see controller 75 and memory “EEPROM” for enacting the control process; paragraph 130), wherein the program instructs a controller (75) to perform the following steps: control an operating frequency of the motor to cause a pump to maintain an actual pressure of liquid in the liquid system at or near a first pressure (paragraphs 72, 87, and 93 for example) for a first timer; and respond to a determination that the first timer has elapsed by initiating a sleep mode determination (paragraph 96; FIG. 12; 126, 128, 130, 132, 134), comprising: ramping the operating frequency to a low frequency (FIG. 12, STEP 142); determining whether the actual pressure remains above a second pressure (STEPS 146, 148) for a second timer (STEP 144); and responding to the actual pressure remaining above the second pressure for the second timer by causing the motor to enter a sleep mode (STEP 150; paragraph 94-95);
Kidd teaches ramping the operating frequency and monitoring a pressure decrease over time, and that sleep mode determination settings are variable and user-set, but teaches that the second pressure is the same as the first pressure (maintained pressure) rather than below the first pressure;
However, Zhou teaches a compressor control (~200), and that deadbands of sensed parameters be selected at an appropriate width to reduce cycling;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of pumps at the time the invention was filed to select a lower threshold for the pump control of Kidd at various levels, including below the first maintained pressure level, as a matter of design choice in order to control the on/off of the pump and the initiation of sleep mode with reduced cycling foe example. The examiner notes that the applicant’s disclosure does not provide a particular criticality for the second pressure level value.
Kidd further teaches:
limitations from claim 21, wherein the low frequency is a PID Lo Limit (see STEP 142 and paragraph 95 in which the frequency is lowered until pressure is maintained at a lowest pressure point 148);
limitations from claim 22, wherein the program further instructs the controller to: determine whether the actual pressure drops below a third pressure (see STEP 154, “wake up differential pressure”) which is less than the second pressure while the motor is in the sleep mode (paragraph 95); and respond to the actual pressure dropping below the third pressure by causing the motor to exit the sleep mode (paragraph 95 in which the process returns to STEP 123 and PID control);
limitations from claim 25, wherein the sleep mode determination further comprises responding to the actual pressure dropping below the second pressure during the second timer by exiting the sleep mode determination (see STEP 146 leading to PID Mode 126);
Claim(s) 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kidd et al (US PGPub No. 2010/0310382) in view of Zhou et al (US PGPub No. 2014/0303805) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Aikman et al (US PGPub No. 2021/0396234.
Kidd teaches comparing an actual pressure tom the second threshold (STEP 148 for example; see paragraph 95 “differential pressure”; the process sets a pressure about 5 PSI below the lower limit and necessarily performs a comparison to that pressure), but does not explicitly teach computing a pressure error;
However, Aikman teaches the use of an error value between a desired and an actual parameter value as a known computing and control process in pumps (see paragraph 8-10);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of pumps at the time the invention was filed to substitute one known threshold comparison method for another, such as the error-based process of Aikman for the apparent direct comparison of Kidd, as a matter of design choice in order to reach an expected result; in this case the comparison of an actual value to a desired value, and the subsequent pump-based control).
Claim 23, wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the actual pressure drops below the third pressure by computing a pressure error between the actual pressure and the third pressure and determining whether the pressure error is greater than zero;
Claim 24, wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the actual pressure remains above the second pressure by computing a pressure error between the actual pressure and the second pressure and determining whether the pressure error is greater than zero.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 19 recites “…wherein a range of the operating frequency extends from the low frequency to a high frequency, the range being divided into a plurality of zones, and the duration of the second timer is based upon which of the plurality of zones the operating frequency of the motor falls when the first timer has elapsed.”. The closest prior art, while teaching frequency control and timers, does not teach dividing a frequency range into zones and basing a timer duration on said zones.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see response, filed 09/08/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 11 and 20 under Kidd have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kidd and Zhou.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER S BOBISH/Examiner, Art Unit 3746