DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 27, 33, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2016/0315745 A1)(hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Xu et al. (US 2020/0267746 A1)(hereinafter “Xu”)(submitted with IDS filed March 11, 2025).
Regarding claim 21, Kim discloses a method, comprising:
receiving first frame information and second frame information…, wherein the first frame information indicates to divide a resource block in a subframe into M*N time-frequency resource areas (Fig. 1, [0052]: FIG. 1(a) is a diagram for a structure of a downlink radio frame of type 1. A DL (downlink) radio frame includes 10 subframes. Each of the subframes includes 2 slots. And, a time taken to transmit one subframe is defined as a transmission time interval (hereinafter abbreviated TTI). For instance, one subframe may have a length of 1 ms and one slot may have a length of 0.5 ms. One slot may include a plurality of OFDM symbols in time domain or may include a plurality of resource blocks (RBs) in frequency domain. Since 3GPP system uses OFDMA in downlink, OFDM symbol indicates one symbol duration. The OFDM symbol may be named SC-FDMA symbol or symbol duration. Resource block (RB) is a resource allocation unit and may include a plurality of contiguous subcarriers in one slot. Fig. 2, [0057]: a resource block is divided into 12x7 resource elements (“time-frequency resource areas”.), and indicates that O time-frequency resource areas in the M*N time-frequency resource areas are used for signal transmission (Examiner notes that nothing in the language of the claim prevents the value O to be set to be equal to the value of M*N such that every “resource area” within the “resource block” is used for signal transmission.), and the second frame information indicates that R time-frequency resource units in each of the O time-frequency resource areas are used for signal transmission (Fig. 3, [0058]: resource elements are divided into one or more slots that are used for transmission. Examiner notes that nothing in the language of the claim prevents R being set to a value of 1 such that each of the O time-frequency resource areas includes one “time-frequency resource area”), wherein the resource block comprises PM*QN time-frequency resource units, M, N, O, P, Q, and R are integers greater than or equal to 1, O is less than or equal to M*N, and R is less than or equal to P*Q (Examiner notes that nothing in the language of the claim prevents one or more of the variables M, N, O, P, Q, and R from being set to a value of, for example, 1, or for the value O to be equal to the value of M*N such that every “resource area” within the “resource block” is used for signal transmission); and
sending a signal based on the O time-frequency resource areas ([0057]: FIG. 2 is a diagram for one example of a resource grid for a downlink (DL) slot. This corresponds to a case that OFDM symbol includes a normal CP. Referring to FIG. 2, a downlink slot includes a plurality of OFDM symbols in time domain and includes a plurality of resource blocks in frequency domain. Accordingly, a downlink signal is sent).
Kim does not specifically disclose that the first frame information and the second frame information are received from a network device. However, Xu discloses receiving first frame information and second frame information from a network device from a network device (Fig. 5, [0213]: S301: Receive an indication message sent by a network device, where the indication message includes first information and second information, the first information is used to indicate M transmission areas allocated by the network device, the second information is used to indicate a transport block size of each transmission area of the M transmission areas, M is a positive integer, and the transmission area represents an air interface time-frequency resource that includes a time range and a frequency range that are specified by a communications system.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive the first frame information and the second frame information, as taught by Kim, in an indication message sent by a network device, as taught by Xu. Doing so allows for the network device to coordinate resource allocation among multiple terminal devices to improve the performance of the communication system (See Xu [0040], [0063].).
Regarding claim 27, Kim discloses a method, comprising:
determining first frame information and second frame information, wherein the first frame information indicates to divide a resource block in a subframe into M*N time-frequency resource areas (Fig. 1, [0052]: FIG. 1(a) is a diagram for a structure of a downlink radio frame of type 1. A DL (downlink) radio frame includes 10 subframes. Each of the subframes includes 2 slots. And, a time taken to transmit one subframe is defined as a transmission time interval (hereinafter abbreviated TTI). For instance, one subframe may have a length of 1 ms and one slot may have a length of 0.5 ms. One slot may include a plurality of OFDM symbols in time domain or may include a plurality of resource blocks (RBs) in frequency domain. Since 3GPP system uses OFDMA in downlink, OFDM symbol indicates one symbol duration. The OFDM symbol may be named SC-FDMA symbol or symbol duration. Resource block (RB) is a resource allocation unit and may include a plurality of contiguous subcarriers in one slot. Fig. 2, [0057]: a resource block is divided into 12x7 resource elements (“time-frequency resource areas”.), and indicates that O time-frequency resource areas in the M*N time-frequency resource areas are used for signal transmission (Examiner notes that nothing in the language of the claim prevents the value O to be set to be equal to the value of M*N such that every “resource area” within the “resource block” is used for signal transmission.), and the second frame information indicates that R time-frequency resource units in each of the O time-frequency resource areas are used for signal transmission (Fig. 3, [0058]: resource elements are divided into one or more slots that are used for transmission. Examiner notes that nothing precludes in the language of the claim prevents R being set to a value of 1 such that each of the O time-frequency resource areas includes one “time-frequency resource area”), wherein the resource block comprises PM*QN time-frequency resource units, M, N, O, P, Q, and R are integers greater than or equal to 1, O is less than or equal to M*N, and R is less than or equal to P*Q (Examiner notes that nothing in the language of the claim prevents one or more of the variables M, N, O, P, Q, and R from being set to a value of, for example, 1, or for the value O to be equal to the value of M*N such that every “resource area” within the “resource block” is used for signal transmission); and…
Kim does not specifically disclose sending the first frame information and the second frame information. However, Xu discloses sending the first frame information and the second frame information (Fig. 2, [0105]-[0106]: S203: send an indication message to the terminal device, so that the terminal device transmits uplink data according to the indication message, where the indication message includes the first information and the second information. Therefore, in the uplink data transmission method provided in this embodiment of the present invention, at least one transmission area is determined, and related information about a transport block size is assigned to the transmission area, so that a terminal device transmits uplink data on the transmission area by using the corresponding transport block size. Therefore, uplink data can be decoded on a transmission area according to a transport block size.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to send the first frame information and the second frame information, as taught by Kim, in an indication message sent by a network device, as taught by Xu. Doing so allows for the network device to coordinate resource allocation among multiple terminal devices to improve the performance of the communication system (See Xu [0040], [0063].).
Regarding claim 33, Kim discloses an apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor coupling with a memory storing computer instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to ([0254]: in a firmware or software configuration, the method according to the embodiments of the present invention may be implemented in the form of modules, procedures, functions, etc. performing the above-described functions or operations. Software code may be stored in a memory unit and executed by a processor. The memory unit may be located at the interior or exterior of the processor and may transmit and receive data to and from the processor via various known means.):
receive first frame information and second frame information…, wherein the first frame information indicates to divide a resource block in a subframe into M*N time-frequency resource areas (Fig. 1, [0052]: FIG. 1(a) is a diagram for a structure of a downlink radio frame of type 1. A DL (downlink) radio frame includes 10 subframes. Each of the subframes includes 2 slots. And, a time taken to transmit one subframe is defined as a transmission time interval (hereinafter abbreviated TTI). For instance, one subframe may have a length of 1 ms and one slot may have a length of 0.5 ms. One slot may include a plurality of OFDM symbols in time domain or may include a plurality of resource blocks (RBs) in frequency domain. Since 3GPP system uses OFDMA in downlink, OFDM symbol indicates one symbol duration. The OFDM symbol may be named SC-FDMA symbol or symbol duration. Resource block (RB) is a resource allocation unit and may include a plurality of contiguous subcarriers in one slot. Fig. 2, [0057]: a resource block is divided into 12x7 resource elements (“time-frequency resource areas”.), and indicates that O time-frequency resource areas in the M*N time-frequency resource areas are used for signal transmission (Examiner notes that nothing in the language of the claim prevents the value O to be set to be equal to the value of M*N such that every “resource area” within the “resource block” is used for signal transmission.), and the second frame information indicates that R time-frequency resource units in each of the O time-frequency resource areas are used for signal transmission (Fig. 3, [0058]: resource elements are divided into one or more slots that are used for transmission. Examiner notes that nothing in the language of the claim prevents R being set to a value of 1 such that each of the O time-frequency resource areas includes one “time-frequency resource area”), wherein the resource block comprises PM*QN time-frequency resource units, M, N, O, P, Q, and R are integers greater than or equal to 1, O is less than or equal to M*N, and R is less than or equal to P*Q; and
send a signal ([0057]: FIG. 2 is a diagram for one example of a resource grid for a downlink (DL) slot. This corresponds to a case that OFDM symbol includes a normal CP. Referring to FIG. 2, a downlink slot includes a plurality of OFDM symbols in time domain and includes a plurality of resource blocks in frequency domain. Accordingly, a downlink signal is sent).
Kim does not specifically disclose that the first frame information and the second frame information are received from a network device. However, Xu discloses to receive first frame information and second frame information from a network device from a network device (Fig. 5, [0213]: S301: Receive an indication message sent by a network device, where the indication message includes first information and second information, the first information is used to indicate M transmission areas allocated by the network device, the second information is used to indicate a transport block size of each transmission area of the M transmission areas, M is a positive integer, and the transmission area represents an air interface time-frequency resource that includes a time range and a frequency range that are specified by a communications system.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive the first frame information and the second frame information, as taught by Kim, in an indication message sent by a network device, as taught by Xu. Doing so allows for the network device to coordinate resource allocation among multiple terminal devices to improve the performance of the communication system (See Xu [0040], [0063].).
Regarding claim 39, Kim discloses an apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor coupling with a memory storing computer instructions, which when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to ([0254]: in a firmware or software configuration, the method according to the embodiments of the present invention may be implemented in the form of modules, procedures, functions, etc. performing the above-described functions or operations. Software code may be stored in a memory unit and executed by a processor. The memory unit may be located at the interior or exterior of the processor and may transmit and receive data to and from the processor via various known means.):
determine first frame information and second frame information, wherein the first frame information indicates to divide a resource block in a subframe into M*N time-frequency resource areas (Fig. 1, [0052]: FIG. 1(a) is a diagram for a structure of a downlink radio frame of type 1. A DL (downlink) radio frame includes 10 subframes. Each of the subframes includes 2 slots. And, a time taken to transmit one subframe is defined as a transmission time interval (hereinafter abbreviated TTI). For instance, one subframe may have a length of 1 ms and one slot may have a length of 0.5 ms. One slot may include a plurality of OFDM symbols in time domain or may include a plurality of resource blocks (RBs) in frequency domain. Since 3GPP system uses OFDMA in downlink, OFDM symbol indicates one symbol duration. The OFDM symbol may be named SC-FDMA symbol or symbol duration. Resource block (RB) is a resource allocation unit and may include a plurality of contiguous subcarriers in one slot. Fig. 2, [0057]: a resource block is divided into 12x7 resource elements (“time-frequency resource areas”.), and indicates that O time-frequency resource areas in the M*N time-frequency resource areas are used for signal transmission (Examiner notes that nothing in the language of the claim prevents the value O to be set to be equal to the value of M*N such that every “resource area” within the “resource block” is used for signal transmission.), and the second frame information indicates that R time-frequency resource units in each of the O time-frequency resource areas are used for signal transmission (Fig. 3, [0058]: resource elements are divided into one or more slots that are used for transmission. Examiner notes that nothing precludes in the language of the claim prevents R being set to a value of 1 such that each of the O time-frequency resource areas includes one “time-frequency resource area”), wherein the resource block comprises PM*QN time-frequency resource units, M, N, O, P, Q, and R are integers greater than or equal to 1, O is less than or equal to M*N, and R is less than or equal to P*Q (Examiner notes that nothing in the language of the claim prevents one or more of the variables M, N, O, P, Q, and R from being set to a value of, for example, 1, or for the value O to be equal to the value of M*N such that every “resource area” within the “resource block” is used for signal transmission); and
Kim does not specifically disclose sending the first frame information and the second frame information. However, Xu discloses to send the first frame information and the second frame information (Fig. 2, [0105]-[0106]: S203: send an indication message to the terminal device, so that the terminal device transmits uplink data according to the indication message, where the indication message includes the first information and the second information. Therefore, in the uplink data transmission method provided in this embodiment of the present invention, at least one transmission area is determined, and related information about a transport block size is assigned to the transmission area, so that a terminal device transmits uplink data on the transmission area by using the corresponding transport block size. Therefore, uplink data can be decoded on a transmission area according to a transport block size.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to send the first frame information and the second frame information, as taught by Kim, in an indication message sent by a network device, as taught by Xu. Doing so allows for the network device to coordinate resource allocation among multiple terminal devices to improve the performance of the communication system (See Xu [0040], [0063].).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22-26, 28-32, 34-38, and 40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ren et al. (US 2019/0288816 A1) – Data Transmission Method, Network Device, and Terminal Device – discloses dividing a time-frequency resource block into resource units.
Zhang et al. (US 2019/0090270 A1) – Data Processing Method, Apparatus, and System – discloses mapping a data frame onto a resource block including a resource to carry a pilot and/or data.
/MICHAEL WAYNE MADDOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463