DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention(s) in the reply filed on 1/5/26 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a new drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
Varying air hole angle has not actually been depicted.
The examiner reminds the applicant of the utility in a “no new matter” statement.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line(s) 1, “is” should be --are--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “air volume control for controlling” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim(s) 1, line(s) 5, “table” lack(s) antecedent basis. In line(s) 9, “tabletop” lack(s) antecedent basis. In line(s) 10, “upper surface of the tabletop” lack(s) antecedent basis.
With regard to claim(s) 2-5, “longitudinal axis” lack(s) antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlier et al. (4,944,636) in view of Swackhamer (2,879,875).
Carlier et al. (4,944,636) disclose(s):
Air distribution system, figure(s) 2;
Containers 10;
Planar surface 9;
Upper surface of planar surface, surface of 9 facing 17;
Lower surface, surface of 9 facing 8;
a plurality of linearly aligned air holes in a first region 11;
body, between 8 & 9, figure(s) 4;
blower 19 comprising unlabeled intake and outlet(s);
varyingly aligned air holes 11A;
second region with perpendicular air holes 11B
With regard to claim(s) 1, Carlier et al. (4,944,636) disclose(s) an air distribution system, figure(s) 2, for moving containers 10 comprising: a planar surface 9 having an upper surface configured to support a container, a lower surface, and a plurality of air holes 11 passing through the planar surface at an angle from the lower surface to the upper surface; a substantially airtight body 9 enclosing lower surface of the table; a blower 19 having an intake and outlet, the outlet in communication with the airtight body 9 to move air through the plurality of air holes 11; Carlier et al. (4,944,636) lack(s) an air volume control for controlling airflow into the airtight body so that a desired amount of air passes through air holes of the tabletop to float the container and move the container across the upper surface of the tabletop in the same direction as the angle of the plurality of air holes; wherein the angle of the air holes relative to the upper surface of the planar surface varies in a region of the planar surface.
Carlier et al. (4,944,636) lack(s) air volume control. Swackhamer (2,879,875) teach(es) air volume control in an air distribution system employing a blower; column 2, third full paragraph.
Note that Carlier et al. (4,944,636) disclose(s) a substantially airtight body as would be required for the system to be operable. Additionally, Carlier et al. (4,944,636) disclose(s) varying hole angles relative to upper & lower surfaces; figure(s) 4.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Carlier et al. (4,944,636) to provide air volume control in order to increase efficiency as taught by Swackhamer (2,879,875).
With regard to claim(s) 5, Carlier et al. (4,944,636) disclose(s) containers exiting in single file at 28.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The applicant is to note that Wellmar (6,447,215) teach(es) state variable equivalency in a control action; such as modulating linear velocity being equivalent to modulating volumetric control, for example.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (703)308-1134.
/JOSEPH A DILLON JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653