DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged with the benefit of an earlier filing date of December 23, 2022 for PCT/JP2022/047582.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 with the benefit of a prior-filed application with the priority of Japanese Patent Application No. 2022-001325 filed on January 6, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 3, 2024, May 14, 2025, and April 23, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mattam et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0132333). Hereinafter Mattam.
Regarding claim 7, Mattam discloses a master node managing a master cell group (MCG), the master node configured to connect to a communication apparatus and a secondary node managing a secondary cell group (SCG) (network environment includes user equipments (UEs) and network nodes (eNB/gNB) in master cell group (MCG) and secondary cell group (SCG), Fig. 1), the master node (network node) comprising:
a transmitter (the network node includes communication unit, paragraph [0049]) configured to transmit information instructing deactivation of the SCG to the communication apparatus (the UE receives a deactivation request for an activated SCG from the network node, paragraphs [0059], [0061] – [0063]), and
a controller (the network node includes activation/deactivation controller, paragraphs [0049] – [0050]) configured to control a beam failure detection (BFD) parameter for performing BFD on the SCG (the UE action set for MAC entities include continuing monitoring for detection of beam failure in SCG, where the network entity indicates whether to continue or stop monitoring BFD upon SCG deactivation to the UE, and the indication is indicated along with the SCG deactivation message, paragraphs [0122] – [0126], [0128]; the network node controls the BFD parameter to transmit the deactivation request to the UE for the UE to perform the BFD on the SCG ),
wherein in a case where the deactivation of the SCG is instructed and the communication apparatus is configured to perform the BFD, the BFD parameter is not reset or not stopped in a process of resetting a MAC entity in the communication apparatus (the UE receives a deactivation request, where the UE performs a set of actions for Data Radio Bearers including the timing alignment (TA) timer is maintained after the SCG deactivation and SCG MAC is not reset, and the UE actions for MAC entities correspond to the operations described in Figs. 4 and 5, paragraphs [0059], [0061] – [0063], [0068], [0128]).
Regarding claim 8, Mattam discloses the master node according to claim 7, wherein
in a case where the deactivation of the SCG is instructed and the communication apparatus is not configured to perform the BFD, the BFD parameter is reset or stopped in the process of resetting the MAC entity in the communication apparatus (the UE receives a deactivation request, where the UE performs resetting of MAC associated with the SCG, and the UE actions for MAC entities correspond to the operations described in Figs. 4 and 5, paragraphs [0059], [0061] – [0063], [0068], [0128]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6, and 9 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattam et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0132333), and further in view of Da Silva et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0337020). Hereinafter Mattam and Da Silva.
Regarding claim 1, Mattam discloses a communication apparatus configured to perform communication with a master cell group (MCG) managed by a master node and a secondary cell group (SCG) managed by a secondary node (network environment includes user equipments (UEs) and network nodes (eNB/gNB) in master cell group (MCG) and secondary cell group (SCG), Fig. 1), the communication apparatus (UE) comprising:
a controller (the UE includes activation/deactivation controller, paragraphs [0054] – [0055]) associated with the SCG (the UE receives a deactivation request for an activated SCG, where the UE action set for MAC entities include continuing monitoring for detection of beam failure in SCG, paragraphs [0059], [0061] – [0063], [0122]); and
a receiver (the UE includes communication unit, paragraphs [0054] – [0055]) configured to receive information instructing deactivation of the SCG (the UE receives a deactivation request for an activated SCG, paragraphs [0059], [0061] – [0063]),
wherein the MAC entity manages a beam failure detection (BFD) parameter for performing BFD on the SCG (the UE action set for MAC entities include continuing monitoring for detection of beam failure in SCG, where the network entity indicates whether to continue or stop monitoring BFD upon SCG deactivation to the UE, and the indication is indicated along with the SCG deactivation message, paragraphs [0122] – [0126], [0128]), and
in a case where the deactivation of the SCG is instructed and the communication apparatus is configured to perform the BFD, the controller is configured to control not resetting or not stopping the BFD parameter in a process of resetting the MAC entity (the UE receives a deactivation request, where the UE performs a set of actions for Data Radio Bearers including the timing alignment (TA) timer is maintained after the SCG deactivation and SCG MAC is not reset, and the UE actions for MAC entities correspond to the operations described in Figs. 4 and 5, paragraphs [0059], [0061] – [0063], [0068], [0128]).
However, Mattam does not explicitly disclose “a controller including a medium access control (MAC) entity.” Da Silva discloses the UE supports MCG, SCG, and split bearers, where the UE includes MAC layers such as LTE MAC and NR MAC (paragraph [0134]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mattam and Da Silva before him or her, to incorporate the control plan (CP) protocol stack supporting MCG and SCG as taught by Da Silva, to improve the UE actions of Mattam for enabling SCG deactivation. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an efficient activation/deactivation procedure for SCG/SCell (paragraph [0018] of Da Silva).
Regarding claim 2, Mattam and Da Silva disclose the communication apparatus according to claim 1, Mattam discloses
wherein, in a case where the deactivation of the SCG is instructed and the communication apparatus is not configured to perform the BFD, the controller is configured to control resetting or stopping the BFD parameter in the process of resetting the MAC entity (the UE receives a deactivation request, where the UE performs resetting of MAC associated with the SCG, and the UE actions for MAC entities correspond to the operations described in Figs. 4 and 5, paragraphs [0059], [0061] – [0063], [0068], [0128]).
Regarding claim 3, Mattam and Da Silva disclose the communication apparatus according to claim 1, but Mattam does not explicitly disclose
wherein the BFD parameter includes a count value obtained by counting a beam failure instance indicator notified from a physical layer of the communication apparatus to the MAC entity,
the MAC entity detects a beam failure in response to the count value reaching a threshold value, and
in a case where the deactivation of the SCG is instructed and the communication apparatus is configured to perform the BFD, the controller is configured to control not resetting the count value in the process of resetting the MAC entity.
Da Silva discloses the network configures the UE with BFD reference signals and the UE declares beam failure when the number of beam failure instance indications from L1 reaches a configured threshold before a configured timer expires, and the UE determines if BFD should be declared while the second cell group is deactivated, where the determination includes MAC entity starts or restarts a BFR timer and increments BFI_COUNTER by one for each BFI received from L1, compares between the BFI_COUNTER and a configured maximum number of BFI instances that can occurs within a pre-determined time and BFI_COUNTER is set to zero if the BFR timer expires, where the BFI_COUNTER is reset when the second cell group enters deactivated mode and/or when it enters the normal mode (paragraphs [0212], [0313] – [0315], [0375]- [0379]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mattam and Da Silva before him or her, to incorporate the UE receiving beam failure instance indications from L1 as taught by Da Silva, to improve the UE action of Mattam for the MAC entity to utilize the BFR timer and BFI_COUNTER for the SCG entering deactivation mode. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an efficient activation/deactivation procedure for SCG/SCell (paragraph [0018] of Da Silva).
Regarding claim 4, Mattam and Da Silva disclose the communication apparatus according to claim 1, but Mattam does not explicitly disclose
wherein, the BFD parameter includes a count value obtained by counting a beam failure instance indicator notified from a physical layer of the communication apparatus to the MAC entity,
the MAC entity detects a beam failure in response to the count value reaching a threshold value, and
in a case where the deactivation of the SCG is instructed and the communication apparatus is not configured to perform the BFD, the controller is configured to control resetting the count value in the process of resetting the MAC entity.
Da Silva discloses the network configures the UE with BFD reference signals and the UE declares beam failure when the number of beam failure instance indications from L1 reaches a configured threshold before a configured timer expires, and the UE determines if BFD should be declared while the second cell group is deactivated, where the determination includes MAC entity starts or restarts a BFR timer and increments BFI_COUNTER by one for each BFI received from L1, compares between the BFI_COUNTER and a configured maximum number of BFI instances that can occurs within a pre-determined time and BFI_COUNTER is set to zero if the BFR timer expires, where the BFI_COUNTER is reset when the second cell group enters deactivated mode and/or when it enters the normal mode (paragraphs [0212], [0313] – [0315], [0375]- [0379]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mattam and Da Silva before him or her, to incorporate the UE receiving beam failure instance indications from L1 as taught by Da Silva, to improve the UE action of Mattam for the MAC entity to utilize the BFR timer and BFI_COUNTER for the SCG entering deactivation mode. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an efficient activation/deactivation procedure for SCG/SCell (paragraph [0018] of Da Silva).
Regarding claim 5, Mattam and Da Silva disclose the communication apparatus according to claim 1, but Mattam does not explicitly disclose
wherein the BFD parameter includes a BFD timer for the BFD and a count value obtained by counting a beam failure instance indicator notified from a physical layer of the communication apparatus to the MAC entity,
the MAC entity detects the beam failure in response to the count value reaching the threshold value before the BFD timer expires, and
in a case where the deactivation of the SCG is instructed and the communication apparatus is configured to perform the BFD, the controller is configured to control not stopping the BFD timer in the process of resetting the MAC entity.
Da Silva discloses the network configures the UE with BFD reference signals and the UE declares beam failure when the number of beam failure instance indications from L1 reaches a configured threshold before a configured timer expires, and the UE determines if BFD should be declared while the second cell group is deactivated, where the determination includes MAC entity starts or restarts a BFR timer and increments BFI_COUNTER by one for each BFI received from L1, compares between the BFI_COUNTER and a configured maximum number of BFI instances that can occurs within a pre-determined time and BFI_COUNTER is set to zero if the BFR timer expires, where the BFI_COUNTER is reset when the second cell group enters deactivated mode and/or when it enters the normal mode (paragraphs [0212], [0313] – [0315], [0375]- [0379]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mattam and Da Silva before him or her, to incorporate the UE receiving beam failure instance indications from L1 as taught by Da Silva, to improve the UE action of Mattam for the MAC entity to utilize the BFR timer and BFI_COUNTER for the SCG entering deactivation mode. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an efficient activation/deactivation procedure for SCG/SCell (paragraph [0018] of Da Silva).
Regarding claim 6, Mattam and Da Silva disclose the communication apparatus according to claim 5, but Mattam does not explicitly disclose
wherein, the BFD parameter includes a count value obtained by counting a beam failure instance indicator notified from a physical layer of the communication apparatus to the MAC entity,
the MAC entity detects a beam failure in response to the count value reaching a threshold value, and
in a case where the deactivation of the SCG is instructed and the communication apparatus is not configured to perform the BFD, the controller is configured to control stopping the BFD timer in the process of resetting the MAC entity.
Da Silva discloses the network configures the UE with BFD reference signals and the UE declares beam failure when the number of beam failure instance indications from L1 reaches a configured threshold before a configured timer expires, and the UE determines if BFD should be declared while the second cell group is deactivated, where the determination includes MAC entity starts or restarts a BFR timer and increments BFI_COUNTER by one for each BFI received from L1, compares between the BFI_COUNTER and a configured maximum number of BFI instances that can occurs within a pre-determined time and BFI_COUNTER is set to zero if the BFR timer expires, where the BFI_COUNTER is reset when the second cell group enters deactivated mode and/or when it enters the normal mode (paragraphs [0212], [0313] – [0315], [0375]- [0379]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mattam and Da Silva before him or her, to incorporate the UE receiving beam failure instance indications from L1 as taught by Da Silva, to improve the UE action of Mattam for the MAC entity to utilize the BFR timer and BFI_COUNTER for the SCG entering deactivation mode. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an efficient activation/deactivation procedure for SCG/SCell (paragraph [0018] of Da Silva).
Regarding claim 9, Mattam discloses the master node according to claim 7, but does not explicitly disclose wherein
the BFD parameter includes a count value obtained by counting a beam failure instance indicator notified from a physical layer of the communication apparatus to the MAC entity,
the controller is configured to configure a threshold value of the count value, and
in a case where the deactivation of the SCG is instructed and the communication apparatus is configured to perform the BFD, the count value is not reset in the process of resetting the MAC entity in the communication apparatus.
Da Silva discloses the network configures the UE with BFD reference signals and the UE declares beam failure when the number of beam failure instance indications from L1 reaches a configured threshold before a configured timer expires, and the UE determines if BFD should be declared while the second cell group is deactivated, where the determination includes MAC entity starts or restarts a BFR timer and increments BFI_COUNTER by one for each BFI received from L1, compares between the BFI_COUNTER and a configured maximum number of BFI instances that can occurs within a pre-determined time and BFI_COUNTER is set to zero if the BFR timer expires, where the BFI_COUNTER is reset when the second cell group enters deactivated mode and/or when it enters the normal mode (paragraphs [0212], [0313] – [0315], [0375]- [0379]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mattam and Da Silva before him or her, to incorporate the UE receiving beam failure instance indications from L1 as taught by Da Silva, to improve the UE action of Mattam for the MAC entity to utilize the BFR timer and BFI_COUNTER for the SCG entering deactivation mode. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an efficient activation/deactivation procedure for SCG/SCell (paragraph [0018] of Da Silva).
Regarding claim 10, Mattam discloses the master node according to claim 7, but does not explicitly disclose wherein,
the BFD parameter includes a count value obtained by counting a beam failure instance indicator notified from a physical layer of the communication apparatus to the MAC entity,
the controller is configured to configure a threshold value of the count value, and
in a case where the deactivation of the SCG is instructed and the communication apparatus is not configured to perform the BFD, the count value is reset in the process of resetting the MAC entity in the communication apparatus.
Da Silva discloses the network configures the UE with BFD reference signals and the UE declares beam failure when the number of beam failure instance indications from L1 reaches a configured threshold before a configured timer expires, and the UE determines if BFD should be declared while the second cell group is deactivated, where the determination includes MAC entity starts or restarts a BFR timer and increments BFI_COUNTER by one for each BFI received from L1, compares between the BFI_COUNTER and a configured maximum number of BFI instances that can occurs within a pre-determined time and BFI_COUNTER is set to zero if the BFR timer expires, where the BFI_COUNTER is reset when the second cell group enters deactivated mode and/or when it enters the normal mode (paragraphs [0212], [0313] – [0315], [0375]- [0379]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mattam and Da Silva before him or her, to incorporate the UE receiving beam failure instance indications from L1 as taught by Da Silva, to improve the UE action of Mattam for the MAC entity to utilize the BFR timer and BFI_COUNTER for the SCG entering deactivation mode. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an efficient activation/deactivation procedure for SCG/SCell (paragraph [0018] of Da Silva).
Regarding claim 11, Mattam discloses the master node according to claim 7, but does not explicitly disclose wherein,
the BFD parameter further includes a BFD timer for the BFD and a count value obtained by counting a beam failure instance indicator notified from a physical layer of the communication apparatus to the MAC entity,
the controller is configured to configure a threshold value of the count value, and
in a case where the deactivation of the SCG is instructed and the communication apparatus is configured to perform the BFD, the BFD timer is not stopped in the process of resetting the MAC entity in the communication apparatus.
Da Silva discloses the network configures the UE with BFD reference signals and the UE declares beam failure when the number of beam failure instance indications from L1 reaches a configured threshold before a configured timer expires, and the UE determines if BFD should be declared while the second cell group is deactivated, where the determination includes MAC entity starts or restarts a BFR timer and increments BFI_COUNTER by one for each BFI received from L1, compares between the BFI_COUNTER and a configured maximum number of BFI instances that can occurs within a pre-determined time and BFI_COUNTER is set to zero if the BFR timer expires, where the BFI_COUNTER is reset when the second cell group enters deactivated mode and/or when it enters the normal mode (paragraphs [0212], [0313] – [0315], [0375]- [0379]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mattam and Da Silva before him or her, to incorporate the UE receiving beam failure instance indications from L1 as taught by Da Silva, to improve the UE action of Mattam for the MAC entity to utilize the BFR timer and BFI_COUNTER for the SCG entering deactivation mode. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an efficient activation/deactivation procedure for SCG/SCell (paragraph [0018] of Da Silva).
Regarding claim 12, Mattam discloses the master node according to claim 7, but does not explicitly disclose wherein,
the BFD parameter includes a count value obtained by counting a beam failure instance indicator notified from a physical layer of the communication apparatus to the MAC entity,
the controller is configured to configure a threshold value of the count value, and
in a case where the deactivation of the SCG is instructed and the communication apparatus is not configured to perform the BFD, the BFD timer is stopped in the process of resetting the MAC entity in the communication apparatus.
Da Silva discloses the network configures the UE with BFD reference signals and the UE declares beam failure when the number of beam failure instance indications from L1 reaches a configured threshold before a configured timer expires, and the UE determines if BFD should be declared while the second cell group is deactivated, where the determination includes MAC entity starts or restarts a BFR timer and increments BFI_COUNTER by one for each BFI received from L1, compares between the BFI_COUNTER and a configured maximum number of BFI instances that can occurs within a pre-determined time and BFI_COUNTER is set to zero if the BFR timer expires, where the BFI_COUNTER is reset when the second cell group enters deactivated mode and/or when it enters the normal mode (paragraphs [0212], [0313] – [0315], [0375]- [0379]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mattam and Da Silva before him or her, to incorporate the UE receiving beam failure instance indications from L1 as taught by Da Silva, to improve the UE action of Mattam for the MAC entity to utilize the BFR timer and BFI_COUNTER for the SCG entering deactivation mode. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an efficient activation/deactivation procedure for SCG/SCell (paragraph [0018] of Da Silva).
Regarding claim 13, Mattam discloses a communication method of a communication apparatus performing communication with a master cell group (MCG) managed by a master node and a secondary cell group (SCG) managed by a secondary node (network environment includes user equipments (UEs) and network nodes (eNB/gNB) in master cell group (MCG) and secondary cell group (SCG), Fig. 1), the communication apparatus associated with the SCG (the UE receives a deactivation request for an activated SCG, where the UE action set for MAC entities include continuing monitoring for detection of beam failure in SCG, paragraphs [0059], [0061] – [0063], [0122]), the communication method comprising the steps of:
receiving information indicating deactivation of the SCG (the UE receives a deactivation request for an activated SCG, paragraphs [0059], [0061] – [0063]);
managing, by a media access control (MAC) entity, a beam failure detection (BFD) parameter for performing a BFD on the SCG (the UE action set for MAC entities include continuing monitoring for detection of beam failure in SCG, where the network entity indicates whether to continue or stop monitoring BFD upon SCG deactivation to the UE, and the indication is indicated along with the SCG deactivation message, paragraphs [0122] – [0126], [0128]); and
controlling not resetting or not stopping the BFD parameter in a process of resetting the MAC entity in a case where the deactivation of the SCG is instructed and the communication apparatus is configured to perform the BFD (the UE receives a deactivation request, where the UE performs a set of actions for Data Radio Bearers including the timing alignment (TA) timer is maintained after the SCG deactivation and SCG MAC is not reset, and the UE actions for MAC entities correspond to the operations described in Figs. 4 and 5, paragraphs [0059], [0061] – [0063], [0068], [0128]).
However, Mattam does not explicitly disclose “the communication apparatus including a media access control (MAC) entity.” Da Silva discloses the UE supports MCG, SCG, and split bearers, where the UE includes MAC layers such as LTE MAC and NR MAC (paragraph [0134]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mattam and Da Silva before him or her, to incorporate the control plan (CP) protocol stack supporting MCG and SCG as taught by Da Silva, to improve the UE actions of Mattam for enabling SCG deactivation. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an efficient activation/deactivation procedure for SCG/SCell (paragraph [0018] of Da Silva).
Regarding claim 14, Mattam and Da Silva disclose the communication method according to claim 13, Mattam discloses further comprising
controlling resetting or stopping the BFD parameter in the process of resetting the MAC entity in a case where the deactivation of the SCG is instructed and the communication apparatus is not configured to perform the BFD (the UE receives a deactivation request, where the UE performs resetting of MAC associated with the SCG, and the UE actions for MAC entities correspond to the operations described in Figs. 4 and 5, paragraphs [0059], [0061] – [0063], [0068], [0128]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
DONG et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0123823) – a first device receives parameters configured to carry out beam failure detection and beam failure recovery for secondary cells associated with the first device, determines whether a beam failure event has occurred on at least one of the secondary cells based on at least one of the parameters, performs a beam failure recovery procedure for the secondary cell with the beam failure event upon a determination that the beam failure event has occurred, and terminating the beam failure recovery procedure upon an occurrence of a termination event
JANG et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0371109) – a terminal receives a deactivation command regarding a secondary cell group (SCG) from a first base station related to a master cell group (MCG), performs measurement on at least one beam related to the SCG in a deactivated state regarding the SCG, and performs a random access with a second base station related to the SCG on the basis of a random access preamble related to a downlink beam when beam failure is detected on the basis of the measurement
XU et al (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0196464) – detecting whether beam failure occurs to a specific SCG in response to a secondary cell group (SCG) and/or a primary SCG cell (PSCell) being in a deactivated state, in which the specific SCG is the SCG in the deactivated state or an SCG to which the PSCell in the deactivated state belongs, and reporting a message indicating beam failure to a report node in response to detecting that beam failure occurs to the specific SCG
KIM et al (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0388931) – the UE initiates a transmission of failure information for a cell group upon detecting a failure on the cell group, and determines whether to suspend a transmission on the cell group based on a cause of initiating the transmission of the failure information
KAWANO et al (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0430718) – the terminal apparatus determines whether to perform beam failure detection in the terminal apparatus based on whether information indicating whether to perform beam failure detection is included in an SCG deactivation command transmitted from the previous base station apparatus, and determines whether to perform beam failure detection based on a determination of whether to perform beam failure detection
WALLENTIN et al (US Patent Application Publication 2025/0007596) – performing beam failure detection (BFD) for at least one cell in the SCG while the SCG is deactivated according to a first BFD configuration, transmitting a first message indicating the initial beam failure to a RAN node configured to provide the MCG in response to detecting an initial beam failure in the deactivated SCG, and refraining from transmitting to the RAN any messages indicating the one or more subsequent beam failures (e.g., until receiving another BFD configuration) in response to detecting one or more subsequent beam failures in the deactivated SCG
/Kai Chang/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468