DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed July 3, 2024, claims 1-20 are presented for examination. Claims 1, 9 and 17 are independent claims.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), and based on application # 202310809498.5 filed in China on July 3, 2023 which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Oath/Declaration
The Office acknowledges no receipt of a properly signed Oath/Declaration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement filed (July 3, 2024) has been received, entered into the record, and considered.
Drawings
The drawings filed July 3, 2024 are accepted by the examiner.
Abstract
The abstract filed July 3, 2024 is accepted by the examiner
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 7, 9, 10, 11, 15, 17, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gitter et al (US 20240420435 Al) in view of Saquib (US 20210150731 A1).
As to Claim 1:
Gitter et al. discloses a method for displaying a virtual object (Gitter, see Abstract, where Gitter discloses that a computer system facilitates movement, including rotation, of a virtual object in a three-dimensional environment. In some embodiments, a computer system facilitates movement of a virtual object in a three-dimensional environment toward a movement boundary.
In some embodiments, a computer system facilitates dynamic scaling of a virtual object in a three-dimensional environment based on movement of the virtual object in the three-dimensional environment. In some embodiments, a computer system facilitates inertial movement of a virtual
object in a three-dimensional environment. In some embodiments, a computer system facilitates converging offsets between a portion of a user and a virtual object. In some embodiments, a computer system facilitates rotation of a volumetric virtual object in a three-dimensional environment), comprising: obtaining an effect processing request (Gitter, see 802a in figure 8A, Gitter discloses that while displaying, via the display generation component, an object in an environment, detect, via the one or more input devices, a first input corresponding to a request to move the object within the environment) triggered by a user (Gitter, see 802b in figure 8A, where Gitter discloses that in response to detecting the first input, change a position of the object within the environment based on the first input), the effect processing request comprising identification information of target effect (Gitter, see paragraph [0162], where Gitter discloses determining the target of the user input ( e.g., for direct inputs, as described below). Thus, in implementations involving air gestures, the input gesture is, for example, detected attention (e.g., gaze) toward the user interface element in combination (e.g., concurrent) with movement of a user's finger(s) and/or hands to perform a pinch and/or tap input); displaying, in a media content generating page, at least one target image frame and a virtual object associated with the target effect (Gitter, see paragraph [0052], where Gitter discloses that the system composites the images or video with virtual objects); determining a first motion parameter of the virtual object in a first direction based on the at least one target image frame (Gitter, see 1938 in figure 19C and 1920 in figure 19D), and determining a second motion parameter of the virtual object in a second direction (Gitter, 1920 in figure 19E) based on predetermined content associated with the virtual object (Gitter, 1903 in figure 19E and paragraphs [0202] and [0203], where Gitter discloses that the virtual object 706a is a user interface of a web-browsing application containing website content, such as text, images, video, hyperlinks, and/or audio content, from the website, or
a user interface of an audio playback application including a list of selectable categories of music and a plurality of selectable user interface objects corresponding to a plurality of albums of music. The virtual objects are displayed in three-dimensional environment 702 with respective orientations
relative to a viewpoint of user 726 (e.g., prior to receiving input interacting with the virtual objects, which will be described later, in three-dimensional environment 702). As shown in FIG. 7A, the virtual object 706a optionally has a first orientation in the three-dimensional environment 702 (e.g., the front-facing surface of the virtual object 706a that faces the viewpoint of user 726 is flat relative to the viewpoint of user 726)), wherein the predetermined content comprises skeleton animation information or a predetermined parameter (Gitter, see 1903 in figure 19E); and driving, through a predetermined dynamic component (Gitter, see 1900 in figure 19E), the virtual object to move (Gitter, see 1920 in figure 19D and 1920 in figure 19E) according to the first motion parameter (Gitter, see 1903 and 1920 in figure 19F) and the second motion parameter (Gitter, see 1903 and 1920 in figure 19G), the predetermined dynamic component (Gitter, see 120 in figure 4) being on a skeleton part (Gitter, see 414 in figure 4) corresponding to the virtual object (Gitter, see 120 in figure 4 and 1903 and 1922 in figures 19E through 19L).
Gitter differs from the claimed subject matter in that Gitter does not explicitly disclose skeleton node. However in an analogous art, Saquib discloses skeleton node (Saquib, see 1502 in figure 15, where Saquib discloses creating a link between a node of a reference skeleton and a graphical element).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Gitter with Saquib. One would be motivated to modify Gitter by disclosing skeleton node as taught by Saquib, and thereby crafting an interactive and expressive performance with graphical elements interacting with a live performer without requiring technical programming or highly-specialized tools tailored for experts (Saquib, see paragraph [0002]).
As to Claim 2:
Gitter in view of Saquib discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the first motion parameter of the virtual object in the first direction based on the at least one target image frame comprises: tracking location information of a target object in the target image frame (Gitter, 1903 in figure 19E and paragraphs [0202] and [0203], where Gitter discloses that the virtual object 706a is a user interface of a web-browsing application containing website content, such as text, images, video, hyperlinks, and/or audio content, from the website, or a user interface of an audio playback application including a list of selectable categories of music and a plurality of selectable user interface objects corresponding to a plurality of albums of music. The virtual objects are displayed in three-dimensional environment 702 with respective orientations relative to a viewpoint of user 726 (e.g., prior to receiving input interacting with the virtual objects, which will be described later, in three-dimensional environment 702). As shown in FIG. 7A, the virtual object 706a optionally has a first orientation in the three-dimensional environment 702 (e.g., the front-facing surface of the virtual object 706a that faces the viewpoint of user 726 is flat relative to the viewpoint of user 726)); determining location movement information of the target object in two target image frames based on location information of the target object in a current target image frame and location information of the target object in a previous target image frame (Gitter, see 1938 in figure 19C and 1920 in figure 19D); and determining a first motion parameter in the first direction based on the location movement information (Gitter, see paragraph [0162], where Gitter discloses determining the target of the user input ( e.g., for direct inputs, as described below). Thus, in implementations involving air gestures, the input gesture is, for example, detected attention (e.g., gaze) toward the user interface element in combination (e.g., concurrent) with movement of a user's finger(s) and/or hands to perform a pinch and/or tap input).
As to Claim 3:
Gitter in view of Saquib discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the predetermined content associated with the virtual object comprises predetermined skeleton animation information (Gitter, see 414 in figure 4), wherein the skeleton animation information comprises a display location of a virtual object in each target image frame (Gitter, see 120 in figure 4); determining the second motion parameter of the virtual object in the second direction based on the predetermined content associated with the virtual object comprises (Gitter, see 120 in figure 4 and 1903 and 1922 in figures 19E through 19L): executing a predetermined number of frames of the skeleton animation information; and determining the second motion parameter of the virtual object in the second direction based on the executed predetermined number of frames (Gitter, see 120 in figure 4 and 1903 and 1922 in figures 19E through 19L) of the skeleton animation information (Gitter, see paragraph [0173], where Gitter discloses a hand skeleton 414 that controller 110 ultimately extracts from the depth map 410 of the hand 406, in accordance with some embodiments. In FIG. 4, the hand skeleton 414 is superimposed on a hand background 416 that has been segmented from the original depth map. In some embodiments, key feature points of the hand (e.g., points corresponding to knuckles, finger tips, center of the palm, end of the hand connecting to wrist, etc.) and optionally on the wrist or arm connected to the hand are identified and located on the hand skeleton 414. In some embodiments, location and movements of these key feature points over multiple image frames are used by the controller 110 to determine the hand gestures performed by the hand or the current state of the hand).
As to Claim 7:
Gitter in view of Saquib discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the predetermined content associated with the virtual object comprises a predetermined parameter object (Gitter, 1903 in figure 19E and paragraphs [0202] and [0203], where Gitter discloses that the virtual object 706a is a user interface of a web-browsing application containing website content, such as text, images, video, hyperlinks, and/or audio content, from the website, or a user interface of an audio playback application including a list of selectable categories of music and a plurality of selectable user interface objects corresponding to a plurality of albums of music. The virtual objects are displayed in three-dimensional environment 702 with respective orientations relative to a viewpoint of user 726 (e.g., prior to receiving input interacting with the virtual objects, which will be described later, in three-dimensional environment 702). As shown in FIG. 7A, the virtual object 706a optionally has a first orientation in the three-dimensional environment 702 (e.g., the front-facing surface of the virtual object 706a that faces the viewpoint of user 726 is flat relative to the viewpoint of user 726)); determining the second motion parameter of the virtual object in the second direction based on predetermined content associated with the virtual object (Gitter, 1903 in figure 19E and paragraphs [0202] and [0203] and 1521 and 1503D in figures 15G through 15I) comprises: determining the predetermined parameter as the first motion parameter of the virtual object in the first direction (Gitter, see 1903 and 1920 in figure 19F).
As to Claim 9:
Gitter et al. discloses an electronic device (Gitter, see Abstract, where Gitter discloses that a computer system facilitates movement, including rotation, of a virtual object in a three-dimensional environment. In some embodiments, a computer system facilitates movement of a virtual object in a three-dimensional environment toward a movement boundary. In some embodiments, a computer system facilitates dynamic scaling of a virtual object in a three-dimensional environment based on movement of the virtual object in the three-dimensional environment. In some embodiments, a computer system facilitates inertial movement of a virtual object in a three-dimensional environment. In some embodiments, a computer system facilitates converging offsets between a portion of a user and a virtual object. In some embodiments, a computer system facilitates rotation of a volumetric virtual object in a three-dimensional environment), comprising: a processor (Gitter, see processing unit 302 in figure 3) and a memory (Gitter, see memory 320 in figure 3); the memory storing computer-executed instructions (Gitter, see paragraph [0006], where Gitter discloses that one or more processors, memory and one or more modules, programs or sets of instructions stored in the memory for performing multiple functions); the processor executing the computer-executed instructions stored in the memory to cause the processor (Gitter, see paragraph [0006], where Gitter discloses that one or more processors, memory and one or more modules, programs or sets of instructions stored in the memory for performing multiple functions) to implement a method for displaying a virtual object (Gitter, see Abstract, where Gitter discloses that a computer system facilitates movement, including rotation, of a virtual object in a three-dimensional environment. In some embodiments, a computer system facilitates movement of a virtual object in a three-dimensional environment toward a movement boundary. In some embodiments, a computer system facilitates dynamic scaling of a virtual object in a three-dimensional environment based on movement of the virtual object in the three-dimensional environment. In some embodiments, a computer system facilitates inertial movement of a virtual object in a three-dimensional environment. In some embodiments, a computer system facilitates converging offsets between a portion of a user and a virtual object. In some embodiments, a computer system facilitates rotation of a volumetric virtual object in a three-dimensional environment), comprising: obtaining an effect processing request (Gitter, see 802a in figure 8A, Gitter discloses that while displaying, via the display generation component, an object in an environment, detect, via the one or more input devices, a first input corresponding to a request to move the object within the environment) triggered by a user (Gitter, see 802b in figure 8A, where Gitter discloses that in response to detecting the first input, change a position of the object within the environment based on the first input), the effect processing request comprising identification information of target effect (Gitter, see paragraph [0162], where Gitter discloses determining the target of the user input ( e.g., for direct inputs, as described below). Thus, in implementations involving air gestures, the input gesture is, for example, detected attention (e.g., gaze) toward the user interface element in combination (e.g., concurrent) with movement of a user's finger(s) and/or hands to perform a pinch and/or tap input); displaying, in a media content generating page, at least one target image frame and a virtual object associated with the target effect (Gitter, see paragraph [0052], where Gitter discloses that the system composites the images or video with virtual objects); determining a first motion parameter of the virtual object in a first direction based on the at least one target image frame (Gitter, see 1938 in figure 19C and 1920 in figure 19D), and determining a second motion parameter of the virtual object in a second direction (Gitter, 1920 in figure 19E) based on predetermined content associated with the virtual object (Gitter, 1903 in figure 19E and paragraphs [0202] and [0203], where Gitter discloses that the virtual object 706a is a user interface of a web-browsing application containing website content, such as text, images, video, hyperlinks, and/or audio content, from the website, or a user interface of an audio playback application including a list of selectable categories of music and a plurality of selectable user interface objects corresponding to a plurality of albums of music. The virtual objects are displayed in three-dimensional environment 702 with respective orientations relative to a viewpoint of user 726 (e.g., prior to receiving input interacting with the virtual objects, which will be described later, in three-dimensional environment 702). As shown in FIG. 7A, the virtual object 706a optionally has a first orientation in the three-dimensional environment 702 (e.g., the front-facing surface of the virtual object 706a that faces the viewpoint of user 726 is flat relative to the viewpoint of user 726)), wherein the predetermined content comprises skeleton animation information or a predetermined parameter (Gitter, see 1903 in figure 19E); and driving, through a predetermined dynamic component (Gitter, see 1900 in figure 19E), the virtual object (Gitter, see 1920 in figure 19D and 1920 in figure 19E) to move according to the first motion parameter (Gitter, see 1903 and 1920 in figure 19F) and the second motion parameter (Gitter, see 1903 and 1920 in figure 19G), the predetermined dynamic (Gitter, see 120 in figure 4) component being on a skeleton part (Gitter, see 414 in figure 4) corresponding to the virtual object (Gitter, see 120 in figure 4 and 1903 and 1922 in figures 19E through 19L).
Gitter differs from the claimed subject matter in that Gitter does not explicitly disclose skeleton node. However in an analogous art, Saquib discloses skeleton node (Saquib, see 1502 in figure 15, where Saquib discloses creating a link between a node of a reference skeleton and a graphical element).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Gitter with Saquib. One would be motivated to modify Gitter by disclosing skeleton node as taught by Saquib, and thereby crafting an interactive and expressive performance with graphical elements interacting with a live performer without requiring technical programming or highly-specialized tools tailored for experts (Saquib, see paragraph [0002]).
As to Claim 10:
Gitter in view of Saquib discloses the device of claim 9, wherein determining the first motion parameter of the virtual object in the first direction based on the at least one target image frame comprises: tracking location information of a target object in the target image frame (Gitter, 1903 in figure 19E and paragraphs [0202] and [0203], where Gitter discloses that the virtual object 706a is a user interface of a web-browsing application containing website content, such as text, images, video, hyperlinks, and/or audio content, from the website, or a user interface of an audio playback application including a list of selectable categories of music and a plurality of selectable user interface objects corresponding to a plurality of albums of music. The virtual objects are displayed in three-dimensional environment 702 with respective orientations relative to a viewpoint of user 726 (e.g., prior to receiving input interacting with the virtual objects, which will be described later, in three-dimensional environment 702). As shown in FIG. 7A, the virtual object 706a optionally has a first orientation in the three-dimensional environment 702 (e.g., the front-facing surface of the virtual object 706a that faces the viewpoint of user 726 is flat relative to the viewpoint of user 726)); determining location movement information of the target object in two target image frames based on location information of the target object in a current target image frame and location information of the target object in a previous target image frame (Gitter, see 1938 in figure 19C and 1920 in figure 19D); and determining a first motion parameter in the first direction based on the location movement information (Gitter, see paragraph [0162], where Gitter discloses determining the target of the user input ( e.g., for direct inputs, as described below). Thus, in implementations involving air gestures, the input gesture is, for example, detected attention (e.g., gaze) toward the user interface element in combination (e.g., concurrent) with movement of a user's finger(s) and/or hands to perform a pinch and/or tap input).
As to Claim 11:
Gitter in view of Saquib discloses the device of claim 9, wherein the predetermined content associated with the virtual object comprises predetermined skeleton animation information (Gitter, see 414 in figure 4), wherein the skeleton animation information comprises a display location of a virtual object in each target image frame (Gitter, see 120 in figure 4); determining the second motion parameter of the virtual object in the second direction based on the predetermined content associated with the virtual object (Gitter, see 120 in figure 4 and 1903 and 1922 in figures 19E through 19L) comprises: executing a predetermined number of frames of the skeleton animation information; and determining the second motion parameter of the virtual object in the second direction based on the executed predetermined number of frames (Gitter, see 120 in figure 4 and 1903 and 1922 in figures 19E through 19L) of the skeleton animation information (Gitter, see paragraph [0173], where Gitter discloses a hand skeleton 414 that controller 110 ultimately extracts from the depth map 410 of the hand 406, in accordance with some embodiments. In FIG. 4, the hand skeleton 414 is superimposed on a hand background 416 that has been segmented from the original depth map. In some embodiments, key feature points of the hand (e.g., points corresponding to knuckles, finger tips, center of the palm, end of the hand connecting to wrist, etc.) and optionally on the wrist or arm connected to the hand are identified and located on the hand skeleton 414. In some embodiments, location and movements of these key feature points over multiple image frames are used by the controller 110 to determine the hand gestures performed by the hand or the current state of the hand).
As to Claim 15:
Gitter in view of Saquib discloses the device of claim 9, wherein the predetermined content associated with the virtual object comprises a predetermined parameter (Gitter, 1903 in figure 19E and paragraphs [0202] and [0203], where Gitter discloses that the virtual object 706a is a user interface of a web-browsing application containing website content, such as text, images, video, hyperlinks, and/or audio content, from the website, or a user interface of an audio playback application including a list of selectable categories of music and a plurality of selectable user interface objects corresponding to a plurality of albums of music. The virtual objects are displayed in three-dimensional environment 702 with respective orientations relative to a viewpoint of user 726 (e.g., prior to receiving input interacting with the virtual objects, which will be described later, in three-dimensional environment 702). As shown in FIG. 7A, the virtual object 706a optionally has a first orientation in the three-dimensional environment 702 (e.g., the front-facing surface of the virtual object 706a that faces the viewpoint of user 726 is flat relative to the viewpoint of user 726); determining the second motion parameter of the virtual object in the second direction based on predetermined content associated with the virtual object (Gitter, 1903 in figure 19E and paragraphs [0202] and [0203] and 1521 and 1503D in figures 15G through 15I) comprises: determining the predetermined parameter as the first motion parameter of the virtual object in the first direction (Gitter, see 1903 and 1920 in figure 19F).
As to Claim 17:
Gitter et al. discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the computer readable storage medium stores computer-executed instructions which, when executed by a processor, implement a method for displaying a virtual object (Gitter, see Abstract, where Gitter discloses that a computer system facilitates movement, including rotation, of a virtual object in a three-dimensional environment. In some embodiments, a computer system facilitates movement of a virtual object in a three-dimensional environment toward a movement boundary.
In some embodiments, a computer system facilitates dynamic scaling of a virtual object in a three-dimensional environment based on movement of the virtual object in the three-dimensional environment. In some embodiments, a computer system facilitates inertial movement of a virtual
object in a three-dimensional environment. In some embodiments, a computer system facilitates converging offsets between a portion of a user and a virtual object. In some embodiments, a computer system facilitates rotation of a volumetric virtual object in a three-dimensional environment), obtaining an effect processing request (Gitter, see 802a in figure 8A, Gitter discloses that while displaying, via the display generation component, an object in an environment, detect, via the one or more input devices, a first input corresponding to a request to move the object within the environment) triggered by a user (Gitter, see 802b in figure 8A, where Gitter discloses that in response to detecting the first input, change a position of the object within the environment based on the first input), the effect processing request comprising identification information of target effect (Gitter, see paragraph [0162], where Gitter discloses determining the target of the user input (e.g., for direct inputs, as described below). Thus, in implementations involving air gestures, the input gesture is, for example, detected attention (e.g., gaze) toward the user interface element in combination (e.g., concurrent) with movement of a user's finger(s) and/or hands to perform a pinch and/or tap input); displaying, in a media content generating page, at least one target image frame and a virtual object associated with the target effect (Gitter, see paragraph [0052], where Gitter discloses that the system composites the images or video with virtual objects); determining a first motion parameter of the virtual object in a first direction based on the at least one target image frame (Gitter, see 1938 in figure 19C and 1920 in figure 19D), and determining a second motion parameter of the virtual object in a second direction (Gitter, 1920 in figure 19E) based on predetermined content associated with the virtual object (Gitter, 1903 in figure 19E and paragraphs [0202] and [0203], where Gitter discloses that the virtual object 706a is a user interface of a web-browsing application containing website content, such as text, images, video, hyperlinks, and/or audio content, from the website, or
a user interface of an audio playback application including a list of selectable categories of music and a plurality of selectable user interface objects corresponding to a plurality of albums of music. The virtual objects are displayed in three-dimensional environment 702 with respective orientations
relative to a viewpoint of user 726 (e.g., prior to receiving input interacting with the virtual objects, which will be described later, in three-dimensional environment 702). As shown in FIG. 7A, the virtual object 706a optionally has a first orientation in the three-dimensional environment 702 (e.g., the front-facing surface of the virtual object 706a that faces the viewpoint of user 726 is flat relative to the viewpoint of user 726)), wherein the predetermined content comprises skeleton animation information or a predetermined parameter (Gitter, see 1903 in figure 19E); and driving, through a predetermined dynamic component (Gitter, see 1900 in figure 19E), the virtual object to move (Gitter, see 1920 in figure 19D and 1920 in figure 19E) according to the first motion parameter (Gitter, see 1903 and 1920 in figure 19F) and the second motion parameter (Gitter, see 1903 and 1920 in figure 19G), the predetermined dynamic component (Gitter, see 120 in figure 4) being on a skeleton part (Gitter, see 414 in figure 4) corresponding to the virtual object (Gitter, see 120 in figure 4 and 1903 and 1922 in figures 19E through 19L).
Gitter differs from the claimed subject matter in that Gitter does not explicitly disclose skeleton node. However in an analogous art, Saquib discloses skeleton node (Saquib, see 1502 in figure 15, where Saquib discloses creating a link between a node of a reference skeleton and a graphical element).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Gitter with Saquib. One would be motivated to modify Gitter by disclosing skeleton node as taught by Saquib, and thereby crafting an interactive and expressive performance with graphical elements interacting with a live performer without requiring technical programming or highly-specialized tools tailored for experts (Saquib, see paragraph [0002]).
As to Claim 18:
Gitter in view of Saquib discloses the medium of claim 17, wherein determining the first motion parameter of the virtual object in the first direction based on the at least one target image frame comprises: tracking location information of a target object in the target image frame (Gitter, 1903 in figure 19E and paragraphs [0202] and [0203], where Gitter discloses that the virtual object 706a is a user interface of a web-browsing application containing website content, such as text, images, video, hyperlinks, and/or audio content, from the website, or a user interface of an audio playback application including a list of selectable categories of music and a plurality of selectable user interface objects corresponding to a plurality of albums of music. The virtual objects are displayed in three-dimensional environment 702 with respective orientations relative to a viewpoint of user 726 (e.g., prior to receiving input interacting with the virtual objects, which will be described later, in three-dimensional environment 702). As shown in FIG. 7A, the virtual object 706a optionally has a first orientation in the three-dimensional environment 702 (e.g., the front-facing surface of the virtual object 706a that faces the viewpoint of user 726 is flat relative to the viewpoint of user 726)); determining location movement information of the target object in two target image frames based on location information of the target object in a current target image frame and location information of the target object in a previous target image frame (Gitter, see 1938 in figure 19C and 1920 in figure 19D); and determining a first motion parameter in the first direction based on the location movement information (Gitter, see paragraph [0162], where Gitter discloses determining the target of the user input ( e.g., for direct inputs, as described below). Thus, in implementations involving air gestures, the input gesture is, for example, detected attention (e.g., gaze) toward the user interface element in combination (e.g., concurrent) with movement of a user's finger(s) and/or hands to perform a pinch and/or tap input).
As to Claim 19:
Gitter in view of Saquib discloses the medium of claim 17, wherein the predetermined content associated with the virtual object comprises predetermined skeleton animation information (Gitter, see 414 in figure 4), wherein the skeleton animation information comprises a display location of a virtual object in each target image frame (Gitter, see 120 in figure 4); determining the second motion parameter of the virtual object in the second direction based on the predetermined content associated with the virtual object (Gitter, see 120 in figure 4 and 1903 and 1922 in figures 19E through 19L) comprises: executing a predetermined number of frames (Gitter, see 120 in figure 4 and 1903 and 1922 in figures 19E through 19L) of the skeleton animation information (Gitter, see paragraph [0173], where Gitter discloses a hand skeleton 414 that controller 110 ultimately extracts from the depth map 410 of the hand 406, in accordance with some embodiments. In FIG. 4, the hand skeleton 414 is superimposed on a hand background 416 that has been segmented from the original depth map. In some embodiments, key feature points of the hand (e.g., points corresponding to knuckles, finger tips, center of the palm, end of the hand connecting to wrist, etc.) and optionally on the wrist or arm connected to the hand are identified and located on the hand skeleton 414. In some embodiments, location and movements of these key feature points over multiple image frames are used by the controller 110 to determine the hand gestures performed by the hand or the current state of the hand); and determining the second motion parameter of the virtual object in the second direction based on the executed predetermined number of frames (Gitter, see 120 in figure 4 and 1903 and 1922 in figures 19E through 19L) of the skeleton animation information (Gitter, see paragraph [0173], where Gitter discloses a hand skeleton 414 that controller 110 ultimately extracts from the depth map 410 of the hand 406, in accordance with some embodiments. In FIG. 4, the hand skeleton 414 is superimposed on a hand background 416 that has been segmented from the original depth map. In some embodiments, key feature points of the hand (e.g., points corresponding to knuckles, finger tips, center of the palm, end of the hand connecting to wrist, etc.) and optionally on the wrist or arm connected to the hand are identified and located on the hand skeleton 414. In some embodiments, location and movements of these key feature points over multiple image frames are used by the controller 110 to determine the hand gestures performed by the hand or the current state of the hand).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 6, 8, 12, 13, 14, 16 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Referring to claims 4, 12 and 20, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the virtual object comprises a root node and at least one child node, the root node being a parent of the at least one child node or above; the method further comprising: before executing the predetermined number of frames of the skeleton animation information, adding the skeleton animation information to the root node; and adding a predetermined dynamic component to the at least one child node”.
Referring to claims 5 and 13, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein determining the second motion parameter of the virtual object in the second direction based on the executed predetermined number of frames of the skeleton animation information comprises: determining the second motion parameter of the root node in the second direction based on the executed predetermined number of frames of the skeleton animation information; and determining the second motion parameter of the root node in the second direction as the second motion parameter of the at least one child node of the virtual object in the second direction”.
Referring to claims 6 and 14, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the driving the virtual object to move according to the first and second motion parameters through the predetermined dynamic component on the skeleton node corresponding to the virtual object comprises: driving, through a predetermined dynamic component, the child node to move according to the first and second motion parameters, the predetermined dynamic component being on a skeleton node corresponding to the child node”.
Referring to claims 8 and 16, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the method further comprises: in response to a setting operation triggered by the user, obtaining a random motion parameter generated by the user, wherein the random motion parameter comprises one or more of an action coordinate axis, a gravity parameter range, and trigger timing; driving the virtual object to move according to the first and second motion parameters through the predetermined dynamic component on the skeleton node corresponding to the virtual node comprises: driving, through a predetermined dynamic component, the virtual object to move jointly according to the first motion parameter, the second motion parameter and the random motion parameter, the predetermined dynamic component being on a skeleton node corresponding to the virtual object”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure. Borke (US 20160267699 A1) discloses systems and methods herein are directed to avatar control systems. In one embodiment, interactive holographic avatar control is described. In another embodiment, remote kinetic avatar control is described. In still another embodiment, depth-based user tracking for avatar control is described. In still another embodiment, enhanced avatar kinetic movement interpolation is described. In still another embodiment, dynamic joint mapping for avatar control is described. In still another embodiment, dynamic animation population for avatar control is described.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NELSON ROSARIO whose telephone number is (571)270-1866. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday, 7:30am- 5:00pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Eason can be reached on (571) 270-7230. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NELSON M ROSARIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624