Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a shell; a top shell fixedly connected to a top of the shell; a conical head arranged in the shell and capable of being extended and retracted." Based on Applicant’s figures, the conical head is arranged in the top shell, not the shell. Accordingly, it seems that the top shell, not the shell was intended, and it is therefore unclear which is being conveyed by the claim limitation. For the purpose of examination, both interpretations will be considered to be within the scope of this limitation. Claims 2-9 rejected as depending from claim 1.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the internal shell sleeve." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. An internal shell sleeve is not recited in parent claim 1. Of note, there is an internal shell sleeve recited in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by McManus (US 2025/0235921).
Regarding claim 1, McManus discloses a pipe expander (abstract), comprising: a shell (top housing, Fig. 1); a top shell fixedly connected to a top of the shell (housing connected to the top housing, Fig. 1); a conical head arranged in the shell and capable of being extended and retracted (jaw 31 with cylindrical segmented portion 31C, [0027], Figs. 6A-C); a ratchet mechanism sleeved on the conical head and configured for connection and mounting of a pipe-expanding head die (jaws rotating/expanding mechanism 20, including collar 26, wedge 24, clutch ring 24C, rotation ring 24R, [0019-23]); cam ring 35C, and adjustment ring 35A, [0040 ]); a cam located behind the conical head and configured to push the conical head forward (index cam 22, [0018]); a deflection mechanism located in the shell and configured to control the ratchet mechanism to defect (radial cam 21, [0018]); a central shaft configured for mounting of the deflection mechanism and the cam and configured to drive the deflection mechanism and the cam to rotate (Spindle 16S drives shaft 23 with gear 23G, [0018]); a plurality of sets of planetary gear assemblies arranged in the shell and matched with the central shaft (four-stage planetary gear transmission 16 with output spindle 16S, [0017]); and a driving motor driving the central shaft to rotate (motor 15, [0017]).
Regarding claim 3, McManus discloses wherein the deflection mechanism comprises an indexing disc (index cam 22, [0018], Fig. 5) and an indexing wheel located outside the indexing disc (radial cam 21, [0018], Fig. 4), a peripheral wall of the indexing wheel is provided with a plurality of deflecting blades (21C and opposite side of radial cam 21, [0030], Fig. 4), the indexing disc is provided with a guide groove for the deflecting blades to enter (flat surface 22F, second flat surface 22F’, [0032-33], Fig. 5), an inclined guide plate passing through the guide groove is arranged between a top and bottom of the indexing disc (protrusion 23P, [0032-33]), the top of the indexing disc is provided with an upper transition groove at a position corresponding to the inclined guide plate (groove to surface 22F, [0032-33], Fig. 5), the bottom of the indexing disc is provided with a lower transition groove at a position corresponding to the inclined guide plate (point 22A, [0030], Fig. 5), an indexing shaft is mounted in the center of the indexing wheel (shaft 23, [0030-32]), and an end of the indexing shaft is provided with a planetary gear meshed with external teeth (gear 23G, [0031]).
Regarding claim 4, McManus discloses wherein an internal shell sleeve is arranged on a rear part of the ratchet mechanism (wedge 24 and sleeve 25, [0019]).
Regarding claim 5, McManus discloseswherein a spring is arranged on the conical head and between the conical head and the internal shell sleeve (spring 320, [0026]).
Regarding claim 6, McManus discloses wherein the plurality of sets of planetary gear assemblies are arranged in a longitudinal superposition manner (four-stage planetary gear transmission 16, [0017], Fig. 2), each set of planetary gear assembly consists of a planetary carrier and a plurality of planetary gears meshed on the planetary carrier (four-stage planetary gear transmission 16, [0017]), and an internal gear sleeve meshed with the plurality of planetary gears is arranged in the shell (meshed with output spindle 16S, [0017-18], Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, McManus discloses wherein a bottom of the shell is provided with a connecting plate fixedly connected with the shell (structure below transmission 16 in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, McManus discloses wherein an output disc is arranged between the planetary gear assemblies and the central shaft (a structure is shown surrounding the base of spindle 16S in Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McManus (US 2025/0235921) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wekwert (US 2020/0261959).
Regarding claim 2, McManus discloses wherein the ratchet mechanism comprises a ratchet sleeve (collar 26, clutch ring 24C, rotation ring 24R, [0019-23]), a peripheral wall of a front end of the ratchet sleeve is provided with an external thread (collar 26 threadingly engaged with cap 32, [0028], Fig. 3C), a rear end of the ratchet sleeve is provided with external teeth (clutch ring and rotation ring have sawtooth-shaped teeth 24S, clutch ring 24C, rotation ring 24R, [0019-23]).
McManus teaches a pipe expander substantially as claimed. McManus does not disclose a front wall of the ratchet sleeve is provided with ratchet teeth.
However, in the same field of endeavor of a pipe expander, Wekwert teaches a front wall of the ratchet sleeve is provided with ratchet teeth (axial projections 2036 from rotation collar 2024, [0205], Figs. 30-31).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified collar 26 of McManus to have axial projections as in Wekwert because [0205] of Wekwert to engage jaws and drive them forward (see [0010]) as an alternative way in the same technical context to achieve the same end.
Regarding claim 8, McManus discloses a pipe expander substantially as claimed. McManus does not disclose wherein bearings are arranged between the central shaft and the shell and between the central shaft and the top shell respectively.
However, in the same field of endeavor of a pipe expander, Wekwert teaches wherein bearings are arranged between the central shaft and the shell and between the central shaft and the top shell respectively ([0069]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pipe expander of McManus to include bearings between spindle 16S and top housing and spindle 16S and the base housing because [0069] of Wekwert teaches that including such bearings permit rotation of the spindle and prohibit undesired movement because they are bearings.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wekwert (US 2023/0256498; US 11,633,775) teaches subject matter similar to Wekwert (US 2020/0261959), cited above.
/NICHOLAS J CHIDIAC/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744