The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. There are a total of 20 claims and claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/03/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (US 2019/0331473 A1 ) in view of Gerlach ( US 2021/0104873 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Johnson discloses a self-mixing interferometry (SMI) sensor([para 0010]-a self-mixing sensor), comprising: a substrate([para 0010]-substrate); a photonic crystal surface-emitting laser diode disposed on the substrate and configured to make a primary light emission through the substrate, the photonic crystal surface-emitting laser diode comprising([para 0023]- The laser may be a VCSEL and the light may be emitted through a bottom surface of the VCSEL. The laser may comprise a bottom emitting surface with a coating. The coating may be antireflective or reflective at the wavelength of the laser light emission. The detector may be selected from the group consisting of: a photodetector, PIN photodetector, a resonant cavity photodetector, or an avalanche photodiode. The laser may be an edge-emitting laser, a VCSEL, a solid-state laser, a gas laser, or any other suitable laser. The light, in some embodiments, may have a wavelength between about 800 nm and 1000 nm).
However, Johnson does not exclusively disclose a photonic crystal layer; an active region disposed between the photonic crystal layer and the substrate, having a primary emission side through which the primary light emission occurs; a first semiconductor cladding layer disposed on the primary emission side of the active region and disposed between the active region and the substrate; and a second semiconductor cladding layer disposed on a secondary light emission side of the active region, the secondary light emission side opposite from the primary emission side, the photonic crystal layer disposed between the second semiconductor cladding layer and the active region; a distributed Bragg reflector (DBR) disposed on the second semiconductor cladding layer such that the second semiconductor cladding layer is disposed between the DBR and the photonic crystal layer; and a photodetector positioned proximate to the DBR and configured to receive a secondary light emission emitted from the photonic crystal surface-emitting laser diode through the second semiconductor cladding layer and the DBR, the photodetector configured to produce a measurable electrical parameter related to self-mixing of light within the photonic crystal surface-emitting laser diode.
In an analogous art, Gerlach discloses disclose a photonic crystal layer([see in Fig. 1]- an active layer 120 which is equivalent to a photonic crystal layer); an active region disposed between the photonic crystal layer and the substrate, having a primary emission side through which the primary light emission occurs; a first semiconductor cladding layer disposed on the primary emission side of the active region and disposed between the active region and the substrate([see in Fig. 4]- a first aspect a Vertical Cavity Surface Emitting Laser (VCSEL) device for a self-mixing interference sensor for recording three-dimensional pictures is provided. The VCSEL device comprises a VCSEL array, a multitude of detectors (e.g. optical detector like photodiodes or photo transistors), a first electrical laser contact and at least one second electrical laser contact. The VCSEL array comprises a multitude of laser diodes (VCSEL). The multitude of laser diodes may be arranged on a common substrate. The common substrate may, for example, be a growth substrate for growing semiconductor layers the VCSEL array consists of or a substrate which is bonded to the VCSEL array in a subsequent processing step. Each laser diode comprises an optical resonator. The optical resonator comprises a first distributed Bragg reflector, a second distributed Bragg reflector and an active layer for light emission. The active layer is arranged between the first distributed Bragg reflector and the second distributed Bragg reflector. The first electrical laser contact and the at least one second electrical laser contact are arranged to provide an electrical drive current to electrically pump the optical resonators of the laser diodes); and a second semiconductor cladding layer disposed on a secondary light emission side of the active region, the secondary light emission side opposite from the primary emission side, the photonic crystal layer disposed between the second semiconductor cladding layer and the active region; a distributed Bragg reflector (DBR) disposed on the second semiconductor cladding layer such that the second semiconductor cladding layer is disposed between the DBR and the photonic crystal layer([see in Fig. 4]- a first aspect a Vertical Cavity Surface Emitting Laser (VCSEL) device for a self-mixing interference sensor for recording three-dimensional pictures is provided. The VCSEL device comprises a VCSEL array, a multitude of detectors (e.g. optical detector like photodiodes or photo transistors), a first electrical laser contact and at least one second electrical laser contact. The VCSEL array comprises a multitude of laser diodes (VCSEL). The multitude of laser diodes may be arranged on a common substrate. The common substrate may, for example, be a growth substrate for growing semiconductor layers the VCSEL array consists of or a substrate which is bonded to the VCSEL array in a subsequent processing step. Each laser diode comprises an optical resonator. The optical resonator comprises a first distributed Bragg reflector, a second distributed Bragg reflector and an active layer for light emission. The active layer is arranged between the first distributed Bragg reflector and the second distributed Bragg reflector. The first electrical laser contact and the at least one second electrical laser contact are arranged to provide an electrical drive current to electrically pump the optical resonators of the laser diodes. The first electrical laser contact is a common contact for all laser diodes of the VCSEL array. The at least one second electrical laser contact is arranged to electrically contact at least a subgroup of the multitude of laser diodes of the VCSEL array. Each detector may be arranged to receive laser light from at least one laser diode of the VCSEL array (optical detector). Each detector is arranged to generate a self-mixing interference measurement signal associated to the at least one laser diode upon reception of the laser light (optical detector, electrical detector etc.). Each detector may be associated to one, two, three, four or more laser diodes. A subgroup of the multitude of laser diodes of the VCSEL array may comprise, for example, a column or a row of the VCSEL array. A self-mixing interference signal is generated if a laser diode (VCSEL) emits laser light and a part of the emitted laser light is reflected back to the optical resonator of the respective laser diode. The reflected laser light interferes with the standing wave pattern within the optical resonator or laser cavity resulting in the self-mixing interference signal. The self-mixing interference signal can be detected by means of the detector (e.g. variations of the laser intensity within the optical resonator which can, for example, be detected by means of a photodiode)); and a photodetector positioned proximate to the DBR and configured to receive a secondary light emission emitted from the photonic crystal surface-emitting laser diode through the second semiconductor cladding layer and the DBR, the photodetector configured to produce a measurable electrical parameter related to self-mixing of light within the photonic crystal surface-emitting laser diode([see in Fig. 8]- FIG. 8 shows a principal sketch of a process flow of a method of fabricating a VCSEL device 100 according to the present invention. A substrate 110 is provided in step 410. A VCSEL array comprising a multitude of laser diodes is provided in step 415 on the substrate. Each laser diode comprises an optical resonator. The optical resonator comprises a first distributed Bragg reflector, a second distributed Bragg reflector and an active layer for light emission. The active layer is arranged between the first distributed Bragg reflector 115 and the second distributed Bragg reflector. A first electrical laser contact is provided in step 420. The first electrical laser contact 105 is a common contact for all laser diodes of the VCSEL. An at least one second electrical laser contact is provided in step 425. The first electrical laser contact and the at least one second electrical laser contact are arranged to provide an electrical drive current to electrically pump the optical resonators of the laser diodes. The at least one second electrical laser contact is further arranged to electrically contact at least a subgroup of the multitude of laser diodes 122 of the VCSEL array. In step 430 detectors are provided. Each detector is arranged to generate an electrical self-mixing interference measurement signal associated to the at least one laser diode upon reception of laser light). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Gerlach to the modified system of Johnson a Vertical Cavity Surface Emitting Laser (VCSEL) device for a self-mixing interference (SMI) sensor for recording three-dimensional (3D) pictures, the SMI sensor and a mobile communication device comprising the VCSEL device or the SMI sensor which is an improved VCSEL device for an SMI sensor for recording three-dimensional pictures [Gerlach; abstract].
Regarding claim 2, Gerlach discloses wherein the photonic crystal layer defines a patterned photonic crystal structure([see in Fig. 6]- The self-mixing interference sensor 300 further comprises an evaluator 323. The detectors 140 (e.g. photodiodes) comprised by the VCSEL device 100 are arranged to determine variations in the standing wave pattern within the laser cavity coupled to the respective photodiode).
Regarding claim 3, Johnson discloses wherein: the DBR is a first DBR; and the photodetector comprises: a photodetector absorption layer adjacent to the first DBR and opposite to the second semiconductor cladding layer; and a second DBR adjacent to the photodetector absorption layer and opposite to the first DBR([see in Fig. 7]- FIG. 7 shows a generic VCSEL structure 700 comprised of a quantum-well active region 702 located within an optical cavity spacer region 704. Next to the cavity region 704, on one side, is disposed a first DBR mirror 706, itself comprised of a number of high/low refractive index layer pairs 707. Disposed on this first DBR mirror 706, on the opposite side from the cavity 704, is a first partial metal layer 708 with a first hole or aperture 710 through which laser light can escape the cavity 704. On the opposite side of the cavity from the first DBR mirror is a second DBR mirror 712, itself comprised of a number of high/low refractive index layer pairs 713. The second DBR mirror 712 is disposed upon a substrate layer 714 of a material which may have a high degree of transparency at the laser emitting wavelength. Disposed upon this substrate layer 714, on the opposite side from the second DBR mirror, is a second partial metal layer 718 with a second hole or aperture 720 along the axis of light emission through which laser light can escape the cavity. The surface of the substrate in the region defining the second hole in this second metal layer may be coated or uncoated with additional material or materials, such as coating layer 722).
Regarding claim 4, Johnson discloses wherein: the photonic crystal surf ace-emitting laser diode and the photodetector comprise epitaxial layers on the substrate; and the measurable electrical parameter related to the self-mixing is a photocurrent of the photodetector([see in Fig. 10 and para 0071 and 0076]- The substrate 1126 may have a channel 1128 etched into the substrate. In at least one embodiment, the channel 1128 may be etched all the way to the epitaxial layers the VCSEL or the bottom DBR mirror 1124).
Regarding claim 5, Johnson discloses wherein: the substrate comprises a semiconductor doped to be n-type([para 0071]-ntype doping); and the semiconductor of the substrate comprises one of gallium arsenide (GaAs) or indium phosphide (lnP)([para 0071]- where the n- designates n-type doping. A spacer, such as but not limited to AlGaAs may be formed).
Regarding claim 6, Johnson discloses wherein: the first DBR has n-type doping and the second DBR hasp-type doping; the photodetector absorption layer is joined to the first DBR; and at least during the secondary light emission from the photonic crystal surface-emitting laser diode, the first DBR is biased with a first voltage higher than a second voltage applied to the second DBR([para 0071]- a VCSEL may typically be formed on a substrate material, such as a GaAs substrate. On the substrate, single crystal quarter wavelength thick semiconductor layers may be said to be “grown” to form mirrors (e.g., n- and p-distributed Bragg reflectors (DBRs)) around a quantum well based active region to create a laser cavity in the vertical direction. As used herein, the terms “grown” may be considered to have a similar meaning to “generated,” “formed,” or “produced,” or other similar terms. Likewise, as used herein, the terms “formed” may be considered to be analogous to “generated” or “produced,” or other similar terms. For example, on the substrate, first mirror layers may be grown, such as but not limited to layers forming an AlGaAs n-DBR, where the n- designates n-type doping).
Regarding claim 7, Gerlach discloses wherein: the photodetector is spaced apart from the DBR; and the photodetector is electrically connected to the DBR by metallic links between at least a first electrode on the DBR and at least a second electrode on the photodetector([see in Fig. 4]- a detector chip 144. The second VCSEL device 100 comprises in this embodiment a bottom emitting VCSEL array comprising an optical resonator with a first DBR, a second DBR 135 and an active layer 120 sandwiched between the first DBR 115 and the second DBR 135. The active layer 120 typically comprises one or several quantum well layers. A first electrical laser contact 105 (usually n-contact) is provided on a backside of the substrate 110 opposing the side of the substrate 110 on which the optical resonators are provided. An at least one second electrical laser contact 127 (usually p-contact) is provided on top of the second DBR 135. The first and the second electrical laser contacts 105, 127 are arranged to provide an electrical drive current (electrically pump) the optical resonator. The VCSEL device 100 may comprise further layers as, for example, current distribution layers, current confinement layers and the like which are not explicitly shown in FIG. 4 but well known to those skilled in the art. The first electrical laser contact 105 as well as the second electrical laser contact(s) 127 (both may comprise metal layers) may surround a hole through which laser light 10 can be emitted if a drive current above a laser threshold current of the VCSEL device 100 is supplied).
Regarding claim 8, Johnson discloses wherein: the substrate comprises a semiconductor doped to be n-type([para 0071]- a VCSEL may typically be formed on a substrate material, such as a GaAs substrate. On the substrate, single crystal quarter wavelength thick semiconductor layers may be said to be “grown” to form mirrors (e.g., n- and p-distributed Bragg reflectors (DBRs)) around a quantum well based active region to create a laser cavity in the vertical direction. As used herein, the terms “grown” may be considered to have a similar meaning to “generated,” “formed,” or “produced,” or other similar terms. Likewise, as used herein, the terms “formed” may be considered to be analogous to “generated” or “produced,” or other similar terms. For example, on the substrate, first mirror layers may be grown, such as but not limited to layers forming an AlGaAs n-DBR, where the n- designates n-type doping. A spacer, such as but not limited to AlGaAs may be formed, produced or generated over the first mirror layers. Then, a quantum well based active region, such as but not limited to an AlGaAs/InGaAs multiple quantum well (MQW) active region, may be formed, produced or generated. along with another spacer layer, such as but not limited to an AlGaAs spacer. Over that, second mirror layers may be grown, such as but not limited to layers forming an AlGaAs p-DBR, where the p- designates p-type doping); the semiconductor comprises one of gallium arsenide (GaAs), indium phosphide (lnP), indium gallium arsenide (lnGaAs), aluminum gallium arsenide (AlGaAs), or indium gallium arsenide phosphorus (lnGaAsP)([para 0071]- A spacer, such as but not limited to AlGaAs may be formed, produced or generated over the first mirror layers. Then, a quantum well based active region, such as but not limited to an AlGaAs/InGaAs multiple quantum well (MQW) active region, may be formed, produced or generated. along with another spacer layer, such as but not limited to an AlGaAs spacer. Over that, second mirror layers may be grown, such as but not limited to layers forming an AlGaAs p-DBR, where the p- designates p-type doping) the photonic crystal surface-emitting laser diode and the DBR comprise epitaxial layers on the substrate; and the measurable electrical parameter related to the self-mixing is a photocurrent of the photodetector([para 0071]- epitaxial layers of a VCSEL may typically be formed on a substrate material).
Regarding claim 9, Johnson discloses further comprising an additional DBR adjacent to the substrate opposite to the first semiconductor cladding layer, the additional DBR having fewer alternating layers than the DBR([see in Fig. 7]- FIG. 7 shows a generic VCSEL structure 700 comprised of a quantum-well active region 702 located within an optical cavity spacer region 704. Next to the cavity region 704, on one side, is disposed a first DBR mirror 706, itself comprised of a number of high/low refractive index layer pairs 707. Disposed on this first DBR mirror 706, on the opposite side from the cavity 704, is a first partial metal layer 708 with a first hole or aperture 710 through which laser light can escape the cavity 704. On the opposite side of the cavity from the first DBR mirror is a second DBR mirror 712, itself comprised of a number of high/low refractive index layer pairs 713. The second DBR mirror 712 is disposed upon a substrate layer 714 of a material which may have a high degree of transparency at the laser emitting wavelength. Disposed upon this substrate layer 714, on the opposite side from the second DBR mirror, is a second partial metal layer 718 with a second hole or aperture 720 along the axis of light emission through which laser light can escape the cavity. The surface of the substrate in the region defining the second hole in this second metal layer may be coated or uncoated with additional material or materials, such as coating layer 722).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NODA et al. (US 2022/0128696 A1 ) in view of BAUMHEINRICH et al.( US 2022/0102583 A1) and further in view of Johnson et al. (US 2019/0331473 A1).
Regarding claim 17, NODA discloses an electronic device, comprising([abstract]- a three-dimensional (3D) sensing system): an array of photonic crystal surface-emitting laser diodes, each photonic crystal surface emitting laser diode operable to emit a primary light emission from the photonic crystal surface emitting laser diodes through a light emission surf ace of the electronic device toward one or more objects exterior to the electronic device([para 0013]- : a signal transmitting unit comprising a two-dimensional photonic crystal surface emitting laser cell array configured to emit laser light to a measuring object; a signal receiving unit comprising an optical system and an image sensor configured to receive reflected light emitted from the signal transmitting unit and reflected from the measuring object; a control unit configured to control an operation mode of a light source of the laser light; transmission direction recognition unit configured to recognize an emitting direction of the laser light emitted from the two-dimensional photonic crystal surface emitting laser cell array; a two-dimensional photonic crystal cell array driving unit configured to execute a drive control of the two-dimensional photonic crystal surface emitting laser cell array on the basis of the emitting direction of the laser light recognized by the transmission direction recognition unit, in accordance with the operation mode; and a signal processing unit comprising a distance detection unit configured to calculate a distance to the measuring object on the basis of a light receiving position on an imaging surface of the image sensor and a time from light emission to light reception in accordance with the operation mode); an array of photodetectors configured to receive at least a secondary light emission emitted from the photonic crystal surface-emitting laser diodes of the array of photonic crystal surface-emitting laser diodes toward the array of photodetectors([para 0013]- : a signal transmitting unit comprising a two-dimensional photonic crystal surface emitting laser cell array configured to emit laser light to a measuring object; a signal receiving unit comprising an optical system and an image sensor configured to receive reflected light emitted from the signal transmitting unit and reflected from the measuring object; a control unit configured to control an operation mode of a light source of the laser light; transmission direction recognition unit configured to recognize an emitting direction of the laser light emitted from the two-dimensional photonic crystal surface emitting laser cell array; a two-dimensional photonic crystal cell array driving unit configured to execute a drive control of the two-dimensional photonic crystal surface emitting laser cell array on the basis of the emitting direction of the laser light recognized by the transmission direction recognition unit, in accordance with the operation mode; and a signal processing unit comprising a distance detection unit configured to calculate a distance to the measuring object on the basis of a light receiving position on an imaging surface of the image sensor and a time from light emission to light reception in accordance with the operation mode); and electronic circuitry configured to receive measurable output signals from photodetectors of the array of photodetectors; wherein([see in claim 3 and abstract]- a driving unit configured to execute a drive control of the PC laser array in accordance with an operation mode controlled by the control unit; a light receiving unit configured to receive reflected light that is laser light emitted from the PC laser array and reflected from a measuring object; a signal processing unit configured to execute signal processing of the reflected light received by the light receiving unit in accordance with the operation mode; and a distance calculation unit configure to execute calculation processing of a distance to the measuring object with respect to a signal processed by the signal processing unit, in accordance with the operation mode, and to output distance data).
However, NODA does not explicitly discloses wherein: each photonic crystal surface-emitting laser diode of the array of photonic crystal surface emitting laser diodes comprises: an n-doped current distribution layer proximate to the light emission surface of the electronic device through which the primary light emission is emitted from the electronic device; an n-type cladding layer adjacent to then-doped current distribution layer and opposite to the light emission surface of the electronic device; an active region adjacent to then-type cladding layer and opposite to the semiconductor substrate layer; a photonic crystal layer adjacent to the active region and opposite to the n-type cladding layer; a p-type cladding layer adjacent to the photonic crystal layer and opposite to the active region; and a p-type distributed Bragg reflector (DBR) layer adjacent to the p-type cladding layer and opposite to the photonic crystal layer.
In an analogous art, BAUMHEINRICH discloses wherein: each photonic crystal surface-emitting laser diode of the array of photonic crystal surface emitting laser diodes comprises: an n-doped current distribution layer proximate to the light emission surface of the electronic device through which the primary light emission is emitted from the electronic device([para 0378]- an n-doped layer and a p-doped layer is provided, between which an active zone suitable for light emission is formed); an n-type cladding layer adjacent to the n-doped current distribution layer and opposite to the light emission surface of the electronic device([para 0378]- a method for the production of an array of optoelectronic pixels or subpixels is proposed, in which in a first step along the array a whole-surface layer sequence with an n-doped layer and a p-doped layer is provided, between which an active zone suitable for light emission is formed. Subsequently, between adjacent pixels to be formed, material of the layer sequence is removed from the n-doped side and from the p-doped side up to or into undoped cladding layers or up to shortly before or to the active zone). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of BAUMHEINRICH to the modified system of NODA various aspects of a μ-LED or a μ-LED array for augmented reality or lighting applications, in particular in the automotive field that can be used to improve natural environmental situations, enriching the user's experience or supporting the user in performing certain tasks [BAUMHEINRICH; para 0006 ].
However, the combination of NODA and BAUMHEINRICH do no exclusively discloses an active region adjacent to then-type cladding layer and opposite to the semiconductor substrate layer; a photonic crystal layer adjacent to the active region and opposite to the n-type cladding layer; a p-type cladding layer adjacent to the photonic crystal layer and opposite to the active region; and a p-type distributed Bragg reflector (DBR) layer adjacent to the p-type cladding layer and opposite to the photonic crystal layer.
In an analogous art Johnson discloses an active region adjacent to the n-type cladding layer and opposite to the semiconductor substrate layer([[para 0071]- on the substrate, first mirror layers may be grown, such as but not limited to layers forming an AlGaAs n-DBR, where the n- designates n-type doping); a photonic crystal layer adjacent to the active region and opposite to the n-type cladding layer([[para 0071]- on the substrate, first mirror layers may be grown, such as but not limited to layers forming an AlGaAs n-DBR, where the n- designates n-type doping); a p-type cladding layer adjacent to the photonic crystal layer and opposite to the active region([para 0071]-p-type layer); and a p-type distributed Bragg reflector (DBR) layer adjacent to the p-type cladding layer and opposite to the photonic crystal layer([para 0071]- on the substrate, first mirror layers may be grown, such as but not limited to layers forming an AlGaAs n-DBR, where the n- designates n-type doping. A spacer, such as but not limited to AlGaAs may be formed, produced or generated over the first mirror layers. Then, a quantum well based active region, such as but not limited to an AlGaAs/InGaAs multiple quantum well (MQW) active region, may be formed, produced or generated. along with another spacer layer, such as but not limited to an AlGaAs spacer. Over that, second mirror layers may be grown, such as but not limited to layers forming an AlGaAs p-DBR, where the p- designates p-type doping, over which a current spreader/cap layer may be formed, such as but not limited to, an AlGaAs/GaAs current spreader/cap layer). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Johnson to the modified system of NODA and BAUMHEINRICH processing of signals and to sensors based on the mechanism of laser self-mixing. Also disclosed are means for improved packaging for the sensors [ Johnson; para 0002].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-16 are allowed.
The following is an examiner' s statement of reasons for allowance: Lin etal. (US 2023/0358867 A1) discloses a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) transceiver includes optical antenna arrays and an optical switch. Some of the optical antenna arrays include a number of optical antennas and an optical splitter coupled to the optical antennas. The optical splitter may include a number of passive optical splitters. The optical splitter provides a portion of an input signal to the optical antennas. The optical switch is configured to selectively provide the input signal to at least one of the plurality of optical antenna arrays. The optical switch enables addressable field of view scanning by selectively providing the input signal to the plurality of antenna arrays, one array at a time. Lin does not specially disclose a light beam combiner positioned across a gap from the semiconductor substrate layer of the photonic crystal surface-emitting laser diode and configured to produce an FMCW optical output by combining a reflection of the primary light emission emitted from the primary emission side of the active region and a secondary light emission emitted from the secondary light emission side of the active region, the secondary light emission emitted through the semiconductor substrate layer; and an optoelectronic circuit configured to receive the FMCW optical output and produce a measurable electrical parameter related to a modulation of the FMCW optical output.
Claim 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 18, The electronic device of claim 17, wherein: the photonic crystal surface-emitting laser diodes of the array of photonic crystal surface emitting laser diodes are individually addressable by the electronic circuitry; and the electronic circuitry is operable to produce a depth map of the one or more objects exterior to the electronic device using the measurable output signals from the photodetectors of the array of photodetectors..
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art are made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
1. Chen et al., US 2024/0006858 A1, discloses self-mixing interferometry (SMI) sensors that include a multi-junction (MJ) vertical-cavity surface-emitting laser (VCSEL) diode that emits laser light in two directions.
2. Chen et. al., US 2023/0089141 A1, discloses Self-mixing interferometry (SMI) sensors may include vertical cavity surface emitting lasers (VCSEL), photodetectors.
3. Fishman et al., US 2019/0090068 A1, discloses a device has a laser unit, which includes: a top-side p-type DBR region; which is on top of and in direct touch with an active region; which is on top of and in direct touch with a bottom-side n-type Distributed Bragg Reflector (DBR) region; which is on top of a n-type substrate.
4. NEVOU et al., US. 2025/0372952 A1, discloses a self-mixing interferometric (SMI) laser sensor includes a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL) configured to emit laser radiation with a linear polarization through an emission surface.
5. Han et al., US 2011/0184624 A1, discloses a gas detection device comprising a laser sensor unit, a control system comprising such a gas detection device and a vehicle comprising such a control system.
6. TAMMA et al., US 2025/0314533 A1, discloses an optical sensor element for detecting thermal radiation, a thermal image sensor comprising a plurality of such optical sensor elements, and to a method of detecting thermal radiation.
Conclusion
/MD N HAQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487